Players Who Were Not On The Meath Panel Last Year.

I heard Cillian O'Sullivan was back training,can anyone confirm this?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 11/09/2015 13:29:55    1786062

there is no one that has not been given a chance that should be on the panel. Cull the guys not good enough for it (there are a few) and work with what it there.Get a team bond going and move forward.

Back the Manager and selectors and move forward. Some of the players that are mentioned on these forums are not remotely up to inter county standard or will never be.

Best players are there so move on with it

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 11/09/2015 14:17:44    1786094

Thats a load of nonsense Pretender...you obviously don't go to too many club matches!

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 11/09/2015 14:58:59    1786126

pretender

I think in general the best players are there.But there are a few that defo deserve a go in the O'Byrne Cup etc.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 11/09/2015 16:17:51    1786164

What happened Alan Forde who looked promising a few years ago. Was it Injuries?

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 11/09/2015 16:43:06    1786169

Alan Forde is playing and an important player for NOM.Won't rejoin the panel while MOD is there..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 11/09/2015 17:17:19    1786186

Obviously Pretender does not see much football to come out with a statement like that. I see many players who are better than some of what is on the panel/team and most of them are on senior teams. I would also add that there are players who came through the county minors and u21's who are not now county standard but posters keep putting their names forward - mind you some are already on the panel/team. Selectors need to look at the players who do well consistently in their positions as 'one hit wonders' will win you little.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 11/09/2015 18:30:45    1786219

Pretender if what you said were to be true then we may as well pack it in now. But new blood will be added and I hope not necessarily young lads that can run like greyhounds.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 11/09/2015 19:19:51    1786239

Krankyfred

Thelutch
I would love to know where you get your information from. You are 100% wrong about the players meeting regarding numbers and players. I would sack my informer if I were you.
01/09/2015 18:14:22
head4dblackspot

thelutch

Your wrong about this one thelutch I also know that for a fact, you've being fed a porky pie there

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 29/09/2015 18:56:55    1793872

AS I TOLD YEE BOYS..STEPHEN BRAY WAS NOT GOING BACK & HE NOT THE ONLY ONE....

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 29/09/2015 19:09:05    1793874

Stephen bray was always retiring this year he was going to retire last year too ? Retirements are part of the game I'd expect to see a few more also ie mickey Burke, Kevin Riley
So still no big story yet,,,,,,!,!,!,!,,,,,,

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 29/09/2015 20:08:31    1793901

33 year old on the brink of his 16th inter county season, who a long history of injuries, young family, and has mentioned in the past how tough he finds the commitments retires. Apparently its still all because of the manager though. Is there anything ye won't turn into an anti MOD piece? Brian Hogan, Noel Hickey and J.J. Delaney all retired by 33, was that a sign that Brian Cody is a bad manager?

If there's mass dissatisfaction with the management, you'd see what we've seen in Mayo. Every panel in Ireland will have some retirements and breaks from year to year, its not the managers fault.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 29/09/2015 20:30:43    1793918

There is 10 players dissatisfied with current management that i know of, one has retired now i don't know if it has anything to do with management, but yes dissatisfaction is within Meath team, but unlike mayo they went to mod and told him to his face, after consultation and mod pleading his case they gave him one more chance, the dog's on the street know this, i could name the ten here but it wouldn't be posted. This is old news. However if mod does nit buck himself up then they will walk

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/09/2015 21:20:50    1793953

lol..ah sure yee all knew all along ??? give me a break will yee boys,royaldunne is spot on,a big divide in the meath camp over MOD.I know of 3 players under the age of 23 that are not going back under MOD.Signs were on it when the selectors went,they have no faith in him either.Its a farce of a set up and 2016 will be another short one for meath football,staying in division 2 in going to be tough enough.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 29/09/2015 21:47:51    1793979

Lutch and Royaldunne,

I generally respect you both as posters but could ye stop with this BS of I know 10 players who are dissatisfied, expect more retirements b*****x. If ye do go ahead and name them. Every man and his dog knew Stephen Bray was going to retire. He's given 15 years he owes nothing move on. Kevin Reilly and Mickey Burke might be next and they owe nothing either. Jeez I dislike MOD as much as the next man but I'm not going to grind an axe at him about players leaving for normal reasons.
These players that are U23 and not going back, go ahead and name them. Most likely under another manager they might not have been called up..

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 30/09/2015 08:27:36    1794004

RD

Name ten players in a thread and say nothing else then..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/09/2015 08:47:09    1794014

agree with Brian,name the 3 players Lutch if you are serious..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/09/2015 08:48:30    1794016

Brian......Im not naming anybody,you may just wait & see,i blew the whistle on this 5 weeks ago & was told im was talking shi**,the players meeting back then was for the 30 man panel we had in omagh,maybe some of them are been axed,i dont know but im just telling you what i do know,stephen bray made his mind up the minute MOD was voted back in.........I agree no one else wants the job but its clear to see with the selectors walking away there is no faith in the man,

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 30/09/2015 09:07:09    1794023

I believe ya Lutch. There's gonna be a serious overhaul with alot of new faces coming in. Its all starting back in the next couple of weeks so I believe. I'd say the O'Byrne cup team could be unrecognizable.

RedMeath12 (Meath) - Posts: 117 - 30/09/2015 12:13:55    1794153

That was not a nice thing to say to Lutch 5 weeks ago.
But Is his post to provoke a similiar response?
Why would anyone leave the Meath Panel to protest at MOD not picking players who were given a chance privately but who could not at this point achieve the fitness benchmarks.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 30/09/2015 12:51:47    1794185