Intermediate championship 2014

Felt judge was hard done by yesterday. He has to be in meath panel come jan. Also bracks were titans yesterday.
They had huge team spirit man for man they worked their socks off.micko could talk to bracks manager how to instill that level of of dying for the shirt into meath team.
Bracks were by far the better team and I wish both them and ballinlough well in final.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 22/09/2014 12:55:20    1655252

Good man Lurch we need it we need it badly, I fear we will never win it now underage is poor up hear but i stick to my prediction that who ever beats us will win it, fair play to the brackys that was some win

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 22/09/2014 13:00:05    1655263

Wonderful game in trim yesterday evening, for Ballinabrackey to play most of the of the game with 14 men against the championship favourites and still win is outstanding. Have not seen a level of workrate like that in a long time. There was a 2 minute spell near the end of the game where Ratoath were piling on the pressure but simply could not get a shot off because of the Ballinabrackey pressure. Also the Ballinabrackey supporters easily outnumbered the Ratoath contingent at yesterday's game, they're a credit to the club

Smokin_Joe (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 22/09/2014 13:43:38    1655321

The lower ends of the Senior grade is definitely of a higher standard than the Intermediate grade. Rathkenny have two Meath player, not the six that Ratoath have between the Meath U21s and Senior team. Nor do they have the massive financial resources that Ratoath have.

Im just wondering why Meath management are picking so many players from a club that despite all its advantages,still cant get out of the Intermediate grade? I think its a perfectly valid question, especially considering the lack of fight or character in the Meath team against Dublin last year. To me it doesnt look like these lads have the fight/leadership to get out of Intermediate. So why are they populating the Meath teams in such numbers?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 22/09/2014 13:51:50    1655327

Its very easy to slate young lads on this. I don't think anyone should talk about individuals on a forum. Ratoath will be gutted but look they will develop and be better next year for it. Great young side, with some of the best ballers in the county.

Meath2010 (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 22/09/2014 14:55:15    1655387

What a great day it will be for either bracks or bal to be heading into senior, both clubs are very small in comparison to the bigger opposition they put out in inters.
Who would ever thought they'd see the day that bracks would be in intermediate final? Unreal.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 22/09/2014 15:20:19    1655422

the standard of football is dire in this county

anmhi99 (Meath) - Posts: 151 - 22/09/2014 15:30:53    1655438

Crinigan, there is so, so much wrong with what you've just posted, it's hard to know where to begin. But I'll try my best.

Firstly, if the lower end of the senior grade is of a higher standard, then how exactly do you explain the fact that so many IFC champions have gone on to do quite well in the following year's SFC? Kells comfortably survived this season and Na Fianna went all the way to the final in their first year in 2013. In fact, I can't remember a year when the previous year's IFC champions went straight back down. Conversely, when was the last time a team relegated from the SFC has gone straight back up? This year, Nobber barely stayed out of the Junior ranks after being unlucky to be relegated last season.

Onto the next point: Do you honestly think Ratoath GAA are rolling around in cash? If you do, you couldn't be further from the truth. Ratoath are in pretty awful financial straits mainly due to the massive mortgage on Brownstown. So maybe in future, don't equate the size of the club to the amount of money they have.

Onwards. You say Ratoath still can't get out of Intermediate. It's been two years since we got there. We were narrowly beaten by last year's champions and could very well have been beaten yesterday by this year's also. Also really looking forward to hearing about all these advantages we supposedly have. This is still an extremely young team (as far as I know, only 3 players from yesterday were over 25) so there is still massive room for improvement.

And the "lack of fight" that is supposedly in this team has brought a JFC title, two MFC titles and an U21 title. And all were hard fought wins which could have gone either way.

Finally, are you really scratching your head as to why the current U21 county champions had a fair few players on this year's U21 team? Really? I'd be the first to admit that this year probably was slightly too early for Wallace the Younger for the seniors, but Brian McMahon had a solid year for Meath and Éamonn Wallace more than earned his place going by last years performances before the dreaded cruciate injury.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 22/09/2014 16:41:35    1655517

Ratoath Royal good post. Don't mind the knockers Ratoath are a great club. Out of interest who won the 7s on Saturday? No mention of it on here.

lutch was it Kearney that picked up Wallace or was he on McMahon? Seen him play for Edenderry in the Hogan Cup final in 2012 and thought he was a real prospect for the county in years to come.

thevillage (Australia) - Posts: 51 - 22/09/2014 17:43:38    1655549

An Gaeltacht from Kerry (what a weekend it was for them) won the Sevens on Saturday. They beat Glenn John Martins of Down in the final 1-12 to 12 points.
Interestingly, Curraha did extremely well in getting to the quarter final. They beat Enniskillen Gaels and Mostrim of Longford in their group before beating Shandonagh of Westmeath in the second round. They didn't disgrace themselves in the quarters against Glenn John Martins.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 22/09/2014 17:56:37    1655554

Ratoath Royal

Everything you said is spot on

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 22/09/2014 19:21:43    1655582

@ ROYAL RATOATH........well said man.Ratoath are a fantastic club with a bright future and yee took your beaten yesterday like Men.You will always have a couple of experts and begrudgers in a parish but they mostly do their talking on a high stool and will do nothing for the club only criticising the people & players down putting in the work.I have no doubt Ratoath will be back stronger than ever next season.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 22/09/2014 21:45:43    1655669

The championship that keeps on giving. Proven again this weekend that its very unpredictable

seasiderblues (Meath) - Posts: 343 - 23/09/2014 08:33:03    1655694

Anmhi what happened to your prediction of rath winning a point a man? No need for the other comment man. Congratulate the bracks and move on. Special mention to Brendan Darby for putting out such a united and focused team. Roll on the final. I never thought bracks would get to inter final. Bring it on.
Hon the green and gold.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/09/2014 10:10:14    1655745

Fair play to the Bracks on Sunday. Deserved winners on the day. It annoys me though, to see posters like Crinigan havin a go at Ratotah. They were beaten because they lacked experience and they will learn from it. Some of their players are still the future od Meath football and should be encouraged by people from around the county not criticised by people who are ani "Dublin border" clubs.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 23/09/2014 10:31:52    1655760

Crinigan, that is Ratoath bashing at its highest!! (Unresolved issues you want to get off your chest??)..Echo everything RatoathRoyal said.

Looking forward to the final, Two similar sides - although it could mirror the All Ireland Final in terms of Defensive tactics which wont enthuse most neutrals.

dubsout (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 23/09/2014 11:14:10    1655785

Just to make a point,brendan darby no longer manager of bracks,its aiden coffey, a man who have given his heart and soul to his club for most his him l ife,now he has a chance with good people beside him and a great squad of players all pulling together and united again after a tough start but deserving of were they are and with stars like damo,chris,danny,nicky and work of trevor bannon and derek flynn and a lot of young hungry footballers will be hard work for peader and his boys

doublebbs (Offaly) - Posts: 32 - 23/09/2014 13:23:03    1655923

Doubleebbs. I was unaware of that. Well fair play to him.
Last weekend was second game in row I watched bracks this year, so I excuse my ignorance.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/09/2014 14:10:52    1655981

Ballinlough certainly in a rich vein of form. 13 straight wins in a row and in the final of Div 2 & Intermediate Cup. Saw them against Castletown and my view there was more between them than that the final score would suggest. Overall a very mobile and fit unit with a forward line that knows where the posts are (half forwards scored six points from play),add Peadar Byrne into the mix and you have a very potent attacking force. In addition the backs attacked at speed, No.6 who was playing wing half back was very comfortable and effective going forward.
At this stage I can't see them being beaten and they will be back in the senior ranks again next year

Shatter (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 23/09/2014 14:11:19    1655983

Was talking to a Bracks man yesterday told me they are already looking forward to hosting the Offaly champions in the Leinster quarter final!!! In all seriousness its a super achievement. I only seen them play once this year in Trim in the first round and they just got over the line but have obviously improved since then. Best wishes for the final.

PortInFaithful (Offaly) - Posts: 472 - 23/09/2014 14:33:59    1655995