sure we all have them moments Jimmyk! Wasn't a bad wan!!
Riverboys, bit of cute whoorism infection spreading west? What has happened to the confident Mayo fans? This is your best team in years! The Breaffy Beast up top, there is no answer to this!!! ;)
AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 19/08/2015 14:45:48
AthCliath87 County: Dublin Posts: 112
1772569 sure we all have them moments Jimmyk! Wasn't a bad wan!!
Riverboys, bit of cute whoorism infection spreading west? What has happened to the confident Mayo fans? This is your best team in years! The Breaffy Beast up top, there is no answer to this!!! ;)
I wouldn't pay too much heed, riverboys is the most pessimistic Mayo poster on this board, and was all for getting rid of our managerial duo a couple of months back. Most Mayo fans I've talked to are a bit more optimistic about the Dublin clash.
Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/08/2015 15:02:19
Saved the day Gleebo!I think Riverboys might be playing the cute whoor anyway!
AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 19/08/2015 15:18:34
Dont why you are being disrespectful Dubh_linn Most Dublin I speak to regularly and fans I met and heard from at the QF double header were pretty flippant about the Kerry team, certainly not fooled by Kildare's collapse in the 2nd half. I cant see I agreed 100% with them (thought they were a bit harsh) but I respect their honest opinions rather the faux praise some give on here.
KYTitletown (Kerry) - 18/08/2015 21:41:34 I'll try again so. Very disrespectful I think on your part to be suggesting Mayo will be lucky to keep it to single digits. What on earth Mayo Dodd do you think is going to turn up , the minors? Most Kerry folk I have meg think the back to back is on for sure this year. We shall see!
Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 19/08/2015 15:22:26
Mayo couldn't keep ye under single digits in Castlebar for crying out loud! A whole different challenge trying to do it at HQ! Those Kerry people you met must have been referring to the minors as we are 5/6 favs although it's a completely different team and everyone minor level is impossible to predict
KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 19/08/2015 15:47:18
KYTitletown County: Kerry Posts: 154
1772633 Mayo couldn't keep ye under single digits in Castlebar for crying out loud! A whole different challenge trying to do it at HQ! Those Kerry people you met must have been referring to the minors as we are 5/6 favs although it's a completely different team and everyone minor level is impossible to predict
Are you seriously going to compare the League to the Championship? Sure if we're going by league performances Kerry wouldn't be Munster Champions since Cork beat them by 11 points in the League.
CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 19/08/2015 15:59:05
KYTitletown County: Kerry Posts: 154
1772633 Mayo couldn't keep ye under single digits in Castlebar for crying out loud! A whole different challenge trying to do it at HQ! Those Kerry people you met must have been referring to the minors as we are 5/6 favs although it's a completely different team and everyone minor level is impossible to predict
To replicate your logic: Kerry had difficulty keeping Mayo to single digits in the league. Does that mean we'd roll over Kerry at HQ? Of course not. The league is really no indicator at all when it comes to predicting outcomes at this stage of the season.
Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/08/2015 15:59:12
Lads no point in biting at the bait from KYlittetown, I have an oul laugh at him! His trolling and cute whoorism are fairly humourous do you not think?!
KY, aren't the Dubs set to win the next 5 All Ireland's back to back? Kerry be lucky to get a Munster in those 5 years, am I right KY?
AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 19/08/2015 16:36:20
Dubs will win this by at least 5 points, we've the better forwards, simples.
SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 19/08/2015 16:48:26
KYTitletown, is that you Dara
yerra yerra
BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 216 - 19/08/2015 17:01:25
Mayo couldn't keep ye under single digits in Castlebar for crying out loud! A whole different challenge trying to do it at HQ! Those Kerry people you met must have been referring to the minors as we are 5/6 favs although it's a completely different team and everyone minor level is impossible to predict
KYTitletown (Kerry) - 19/08/2015 15:47:18
Yeah, that makes perfect sense alright. Comparing league and championship to come up with some justification for that aul puke analysis.
Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 19/08/2015 17:14:57
clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 6572
1772531 Dublin lads our attack is one dimensional hahahaha sweet Jesus I have finally heard it all now hahahaha.
Poor oul clonalkin, still having a problem dealing with long sentences!!!
I didn't say Dublin were one dimensional full stop.
What I said was that brilliant & all as the attack is they never vary the style & have no one to bring on who can change it like a Donaghy, O'Sé or Murphy. If it's working great if it isn't then......
Please don't say O'Gara, just don't.
If you need me to simplify it even more for you, just ask
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 19/08/2015 18:28:46
MuckRoss shocking post even from a very intelligent man like yourself , to say any negative about the best attacking team in Ireland is wrong , like what do you want from us ? We beat every team by cricket scores yet you think our forward unit is "quite one dimensional" give over would you I don't mind saying our midfield isn't the strongest or our defence can be suspect but to say any negative about our forwards is laughable. I'm not going to say anymore but I've never seen a better set of forwards and subs that are forwards on a team in my lifetime.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/08/2015 19:22:05
Looking forward to this game a lot more than Kerry/Tyrone.
joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 19/08/2015 20:30:54
Clown you aren't much of a poker player you never show your hand too early, look at what happened to Roscommon, talking about winning All Irelands and forgot to beat Sligo
riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 19/08/2015 21:44:34
clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 6575
1772784 MuckRoss shocking post even from a very intelligent man like yourself , to say any negative about the best attacking team in Ireland is wrong , like what do you want from us ? We beat every team by cricket scores yet you think our forward unit is "quite one dimensional" give over would you I don't mind saying our midfield isn't the strongest or our defence can be suspect but to say any negative about our forwards is laughable. I'm not going to say anymore but I've never seen a better set of forwards and subs that are forwards on a team in my lifetime.
I don't know is it me that isn't explaining my point properly or you that isn't picking it up but you are missing my point .
If you reread the original post you will see that I refer to the Dublin forwards as brilliant. As individual players they are as good as have ever appeared on a team together, they are a pleasure to watch in action.
My argument is that Jim Gavin hasn't included a big strong ball winner a la O Sé, Donaghy or Murphy in there to allow his team mix it up a bit. Look at the difference O Sé has made this year, look at how Donaghy transformed things for Kerry when he came on as a sub against Mayo last year.
Dublin simply don't have that sort of player. Whether that is because there isn't one available or because Jim Gavin's footballing philosophy doesn't allow for it I don't know. I just think Dublin are the poorer for not having that option in their locker.
Ok, maybe "one dimensional" wasn't the best choice of words but I still think that when things are going well Dublin are unstoppable, especially up front. The problem is that they now have two teams in front of them who are not going to roll over & will have had all the time in the world to study their style of play.
It never does any harm to be able to throw in a curve ball, to keep them thinking. That's all I'm saying.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/08/2015 08:35:04
In the 2013 final the key battles were Flynn v Vaughan and MMDA v AOS and Dublin won both.
This year it will be AOS v ROC, B Brogan V whoever and MMDA v parsons. Whichever team wins 2 from 3 will win and if one teams wins all three it will by by a margin of more that 4 points.
From a Mayo point of view I really hope Dublin go man for man on Aiden O Shea. Should be plenty of goals for Mayo if that happens.
tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1511 - 20/08/2015 08:39:39
Clondalkindub, ye know that aul saying "ignorence is bliss", apt for Muckross...I hate when posters who know little about football dare to get on here makn fools of themselves...
Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 20/08/2015 08:55:28
Dearie me! I've been floored by an ABK tidal wave but not for being arrogant or cocky but the very opposite!. I'm down but not out as my honest replies to the criticisms will prove.
CroiGorm Nearly everyone on HS said we should have lost the Munster Final and didn't only because of a bail-out and a lucky point at the end, so the league form carried there.
Gleebo A few points. 1) We lost by 7 not 15 pts 2) That Kerry side had only returned from holiday about a week and no training whereas Mayo played their full XV in front of a 15,000 crowd 3) Finally, if Kerry were playing Mayo on Sunday then ye would definitely be the favourites just like ye were last year and ye have improved a lot since then
AthCliath87 Thou doth protest too much methinks, particularly in regard to the mighty Blue Juggernaut not being favourites. The great Jim McG didnt even mention the Kerry Tyrone game instead devoting all the article to trying to halt the unstoppable Blue Machine.
Dubh_linn Once again playing the man and not the ball, the idea that Mayo or any other team would decide not to try to win in front of 15,000 devoted fans is absolutely ridiculous and should be immediately panned. If they had a 2nd string side fair enough but they didn't.
People need to accept that by Kerry standards the current incarnation is a bog average team relying on multiple 30yr old even 35 yr old players, if we had our 70's, 80's our 00's team believe me I would be bloviating about our chances more than anyone else on here, but this side is no where near that level so I'd look like a clown if I tried to portay that plus it would be dishonest to do so.
KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 20/08/2015 09:52:35
The problem is that they now have two teams in front of them who are not going to roll over & will have had all the time in the world to study their style of play
Muck the above sfatement applies to all teams left.
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/08/2015 10:19:54