AI Semi-Final Dublin V Mayo

Good to see some honest and we'll justified opinions from the Dublin supporters. After all the Blue Juggernaut plays with a swagger so why wouldn't a supporter shy away from being really brash and confident is beyond my comprehension.

Mayo will need everything going right on the day just to even have a possibility of winning, the odds say that it won't all come into place for them. I do think they are the second best team in the country and will manage to keep it to single digits the only team capable of doing so.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 18/08/2015 09:42:36    1771808

Cluxton v Clarke - Dublin
Rock v Cunniffe - Even
Andrews v Cafferky - Even
Brogan v Higgins - Even
Vaughan v Flynn - Mayo
Connolly v Keegan - Even
Kilkenny v Boyle - Even
Bastick v O Shea - Mayo
MDMA v Parsons - Dublin
McCaffrey v D O Connor - Dublin
O Sullivan v McLouglin - Dubln
McCarthy v Doherty -Even
McMahon v A Moran - Even
O Carroll v A O shea - Mayo
J Cooper v C O Connor - Mayo

Flynn vs. Vaughan will be interesting - Flynn will have to track back more that ever before, Vaughan will just run all day - will be interesting to see if Flynn can keep that running up or will it impact his game going forward.

Mc Carthy v Doherty - I would be more inclined to give Doherty the nod.
J Cooper v C o Connor - O'Connor needs to improve on his previous outing if he's to win this tussle

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 216 - 18/08/2015 09:46:04    1771812

@KYTitletown
yara season at full tilt in Kerry I see

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 216 - 18/08/2015 09:51:01    1771815

Flynn vs. Vaughan will be interesting - Flynn will have to track back more that ever before, Vaughan will just run all day - will be interesting to see if Flynn can keep that running up or will it impact his game going forward.

Flynn is a workhorse if you go back and watch his game from 2011 and 2012 he was a working wing forward far from a scoring one, that is when he really came on the scene.
He would be well able for Vaughan. That is of course if Vaughan is tasked with marking him. My guess would be Boyle to pick him up and Vaughan to pick up Kilkenny.

Don't be surprised to see Connolly spend long spells at full forward if Keegan is man marking him, best way to negate Keegans attacking threat is keep him further from goal and Connolly is well used to playing intercounty full forward.

Intriguing battle ahead.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 18/08/2015 09:56:59    1771819

Would be surprised if cafferkey and Andrews were on each other. Barrett marked Andrews out of it in 2013 and he or Cunniffe would be well able for him. Id say cafferkey will be on either rock or brogan, or he will be the spare man.

Who do people see Dublin using as a sweeper? O'Sullivan has been occupying this role up to now, but it hasn't been as full on a role as the next one will be.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/08/2015 09:57:18    1771820

Don't be surprised to see Connolly spend long spells at full forward if Keegan is man marking him, best way to negate Keegans attacking threat is keep him further from goal and Connolly is well used to playing intercounty full forward.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I would love to see Connolly spend long spells at full forward - I think he's the best footballer and playmaker in the country, having in FF limits his effectiveness. But honestly, can't see Gavin doing that.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 216 - 18/08/2015 10:33:28    1771850

Cluxton v Clarke - Dublin
Rock v Cunniffe - Dublin
Andrews/A Brogan v Cafferky - Dublin
Brogan v Higgins - Dublin
Vaughan v Flynn - Mayo (If Flynn was 100% it would be Dublin
Connolly v Keegan - Even
Kilkenny v Boyle - Dublin
Fenton v O' Shea - Mayo
MDMA v Parsons - Even
McCaffrey v O'Connor - Dublin
O'Sullivan v McLoughlin - Dublin
MCCarthy v Doherty - Mayo (McCarthy isn't 100%
McMahon v Moran - Mayo
O'Carroll v O'Shea - Mayo
Cooper v O'Connor - Mayo

Dublin 7/15
Mayo 6/15
Even 2/15

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 18/08/2015 10:33:56    1771851

yara season at full tilt in Kerry I see

I dont know what that is though I have an idea, I didn't mean to be disrespectful to Mayo (Apologies i did), I'm just giving an honest opinion. I have huge admiration and respect for Mayo football for the great football and players ye have showcased throughout the years.

As I stated I believe ye are clearly the 2nd best team in Ireland (The consistency of performance over the last 5 years is a good indicator) and have no doubt if ye do manage to scale and conquer the footballing equivalent of Mt.Everest on the 30th then Mr Sam Maguire will be making a long, long overdue stop to the Maritime County a few weeks later

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 18/08/2015 12:52:10    1771982

McMahon didn't give O Conor a kick in the '13 final so I think he'll leave Philly on him for the semi. We won't have a sweeper cause Mayo go man on man and we go man on man but if Mayo play a sweeper Cian will probably sit back but Mayo won't play a sweeper.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/08/2015 13:06:15    1771992

Match ups of 2013 will have NO RELEVANCE whatsoever come the 30th.

New game.

Some players from 2013 have improved.

Others have declined.

Only thing i'd be confident about in 12 days time, Is that Dublin will win by more than what they won by in 2013.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 18/08/2015 13:17:21    1772005

The Master - Dublin won't play a forward as a sweeper if that is what you are inferring.

COS will sweep across the half back line all day though and has the speed and mobility to do that.

Clondalkin, you are insistent that Mayo won't play a sweeper because they don't play a sweeper, but they did against Donegal so it can't be ruled out. I know it could have been just for Murphy and we do not have the big target man up top

Reason why I think they will though is:

1. It worked very well against Donegal, forwards did not get a sniff of a goal
2. They want to stop Dublin scoring goals
3. Holmes and Connelly are much more conservative in their play e.g. last 20 mins against Donegal they protected the lead

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 18/08/2015 13:27:58    1772024

Spot on Wayno1, this year's meeting in Castlebar will have no relevance either. Would love for it to be a shootout but can't see it and I think Mayo will use the defensive tactics again and if not from the start, if they build up any lead will then introduce a defensive tactic again.

Jim McGuinness piece in the times today is interesting - http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/jim-mcguinness-five-key-battlegrounds-that-will-decide-mayo-s-fate-against-dublin-1.2319994

New game, new tactics. Hon the Dubs!

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 18/08/2015 13:31:59    1772032

AthCliath87
The Master - Dublin won't play a forward as a sweeper if that is what you are inferring.

Well when donaghy came on in the semi in 2012, Kerry put Paul Flynn back there to double up on him.

Some of you lads don't even know how your own team plays...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/08/2015 13:46:08    1772047

waynoI

Match ups of 2013 will have NO RELEVANCE whatsoever come the 30th.

New game.

Some players from 2013 have improved.

Others have declined.

Only thing i'd be confident about in 12 days time, Is that Dublin will win by more than what they won by in 2013.

In your opinion, but in mine Philly had a stormer on O Conor and managers never forget things like that and usually go for the same match ups if they were already successful.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/08/2015 13:50:48    1772052

The Master - Donaghy came on with 15 mins to go, we started 15 on 15. the second half saw COS move back to CB which was the main defensive change.

As you may have seen in previous posts, I have mentioned Flynn playing a defensive role in both the semi and final in 2013 and plucking balls from the sky and putting yards in. Flynn only dropped back onto Donaghy in that game when Kerry attacked and he pushed into midfield for kickouts and when we attacked. Other than that ROC picked him up. He was in the middle of the field off cluxos kickout when MDMA got his finger tips to knock it into Kev Mcs path for his goal.

Also regarding the match on the 30th I have said we will see a much deeper and defensive Paul Flynn, Flynner has the engine to get up and down the field.

I believe Philly will be the extra defender as Mayo will play the sweeper, so Philly will be the man to double up on AOS. Again, that IMO.

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 18/08/2015 14:50:57    1772090

As it's a sell out, anyone that's going to be looking for tickets whether through done deal/gum tree etc please think twice about buying the print at home tickets unless they're off someone you trust as they can be easily duplicated over and over again. I know someone who got taken for a few quid and didn't get to the Semi Final in 2013 as the person he bought 4 tickets from had sold them a number of times by just photo copying the tickets and selling them on (he wasn't the original owner, the original owner had sold them legitimately, the guy he'd sold them to was the scammer). My friend only found this out when he tried to go through the turnstiles to find out he wasn't the 1st to try use the tickets that day - he also wasn't the 2nd!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 18/08/2015 15:01:45    1772096

AthCliath87
The Master - Donaghy came on with 15 mins to go, we started 15 on 15. the second half saw COS move back to CB which was the main defensive change.

And when he did, Flynn went back to double up on him - which would constitute Dublin playing a forward as a sweeper...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/08/2015 15:07:36    1772099

Good to see some honest and we'll justified opinions from the Dublin supporters. After all the Blue Juggernaut plays with a swagger so why wouldn't a supporter shy away from being really brash and confident is beyond my comprehension. Mayo will need everything going right on the day just to even have a possibility of winning, the odds say that it won't all come into place for them. I do think they are the second best team in the country and will manage to keep it to single digits the only team capable of doing so.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - 18/08/2015 09:42:36

Jaysus, good to see you're still as honest as ever with your summation of the likely outcome and it will obviously have us all expecting a big win so. Thanks for the ingenious prediction and inside line on the game. I'm off to put the house on Dublin this minute.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 18/08/2015 16:01:27    1772122

I am not even from Dublin and I can guarentee that Dublin will play a sweeper.

Mayo will play a sweeper ( or two ) and because Gavin pushed up last year I think he will make them sit back this year and hold their positions. That doesnt meant Dublin wont be offensive .

If Mayo get their half forwards to play deep then I think Gavin cannot push up like last year.

From a Dublin perspective , O ' Carroll cannot be left isolated with AOS.

I think this will be a classic and a very open game however to think both sides wont play sweepers is insane IMO.

Having had plenty of experience of both sides between league and champo, Im finding it hard to call.

Ive a feeling Dublin will shade it because they have more scoring forwards inside. Then again if Mayo dominate that middle sector , they will create more chances.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 18/08/2015 17:05:01    1772159

The Right Stuff we won't play a sweeper unless Mayo play one and I don't think they will, what's so hard to believe about two teams that play man on man?. Now obviously Mayo were never going to go man on man with Donegal after seeing what we did last year and then seeing what Kerry did.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/08/2015 20:08:39    1772199