AI Semi-Final Dublin V Mayo

Lads, you are all ganging up on muckross, but he is 100% right. Dublin run the ball in attack. If that doesn't work, they keep running it. This was in fact the reason donegal were able to beat you last year, not your half back line. Your forwards still had enough ball to win the game, but they kept running into several donegal bodies and either fouling the ball, losing it, or taking on crazy shots. When they were turned over, your halfbacks were caught up the pitch, but it was the turnover that was the root of the problem. I sincerely hope you continue this method of attack.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/08/2015 10:32:11    1772991

Mollymalone

Clondalkindub, ye know that aul saying "ignorence is bliss", apt for Muckross...I hate when posters who know little about football dare to get on here makn fools of themselves...

Molly, a wee bit of advice.

If you are going to call someone else ignorant, it would be a good idea to learn how to spell the word properly.

Talk about making a fool of yourself....

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/08/2015 13:32:07    1773193

Mayo on the high horse now because it took them 3 years to establish that AOS should go full forward!

We don't just put the heads down and run... balls in over the top, balls into space, diagonal balls into forwards, lay offs left, right and centre...

The long/high/quick ball into O'Gara in 2013 effectively won us the All Ireland - yiz are not doing anything new lads. Is it very effective for you so far? Yes it is.. AOS only had 1 score from play against Donegal though, was enough that day and it may well be enough against Dublin but it won't always be.

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 20/08/2015 13:32:10    1773194

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=GVRg_UBgXSw

Not a bad goal for a one dimensional forward line that just run with the ball.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2015 14:01:02    1773227

Ah muck surely an experienced poster like yourself should know not to bring spelling into it....tut tut!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/08/2015 14:30:52    1773258

@themaster

The reason why Donegal hammered us is down to the fact Dublin defenders got pulled out of position that left huge uncontested avenues down the centre of our defense. While it may be convenient to state that Dublin created enough to win it's also naive to disregard the 2-3 goals that Donegal left behind.

The Dublin full court press in the first half nearly broke Donegals resolve, perhaps if a goal went in it would have, but once Donegal got a handle on the middle Dublin were in serious trouble.

A kicking style into a blanket defense would arguably yield more turnovers than carrying as kicking carries more risk. Turnovers per se are not a problem anyway, not protecting the full back line is.

I'd expect Dublin to play far more direct against Mayo as Mayo's style will allow it.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 20/08/2015 14:37:31    1773266

Since 2011 this one dimensional forward line has won two All Ireland's 5 Leinsters and 3 National league's.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2015 14:39:23    1773267

AthCliath87
We don't just put the heads down and run... balls in over the top, balls into space, diagonal balls into forwards, lay offs left, right and centre...

Why weren't you doing any of this against donegal?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/08/2015 14:43:19    1773270

Muckross is an outstanding poster on here for many a year.

I personally love reading his posts regularly.

I love the Dubs, But sometimes our fans on places like this are so thin skinned its sad.

Why do people get so easily offended and wound up if anyone dare speak or question the Dubs.

Come on lads. Less of the whinging about what people think of us. Hopefully we do our talking on the pitch next sunday.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 20/08/2015 14:54:21    1773280

People claiming Dublins attack is one-dimensional reminds me of Martin McHugh stating the Gooch is a one-trick pony.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 20/08/2015 15:18:25    1773302

1773270 AthCliath87

Why weren't you doing any of this against donegal?

Because Donegal got there tactics right,and were the better team on the day.

Why have Mayo lost 7 all Ireland finals since there last victory in 1951?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2850 - 20/08/2015 15:20:22    1773303

We scored 17 points against Donegal that day - on a day where many agree it was Donegal's most complete performance during McGuinness era.

We also created 2 clear goal chances (O'gara and Brogan cock up and Connollys) and Kev Mc carved out a half decent chance that went wide.

I can't remember any other side to get 17 scores against that Donegal side when they were on top form.

Where was Mayo's big man up front in the 2012 final?

O'Gara started that day and despite what you think, IMO he is up there as the best ball winner in the country.

As Seany said, we were beaten on our defensive issues that day - I fully agree we kicked awful wides in the last 20 mins of the second half but one dimensional is laughable.

If Mayo win the All Ireland this year, will they be 1 dimensional in only being able to win with a big target man up top?

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 20/08/2015 15:22:13    1773305

superbluedub

But how can donegal dictate how Dublin attack? That doesn't make any sense.

Why have Mayo lost 7 all Ireland finals since there last victory in 1951

A combination of not being the best team on the day, and/or not getting the few breaks you need to win any trophy.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/08/2015 17:24:54    1773408

I think Dublin will have too much for us Sunday week. We bet a Donegal team who are on a downward spiral and who will be rebuilding from winter on. Dublin have 6 scoring forwards ...we have four. Also if Dublin crowd midfield and starve ball going inside it will force mayo do take a o shea out to the middle of the park. Dublin by 5.

velo (Mayo) - Posts: 33 - 20/08/2015 17:52:27    1773428

To say any negative about the best attacking team in Ireland is wrong. I don't mind saying our midfield isn't the strongest or our defence can be suspect but to say any negative about our forwards is laughable.

I didn't realise that questioning the Dublin forward line was up there with the second secret of Fatima as a topic that is not up for questioning under any circumstances.

Such God like status is reserved for the very few, notably Gooch & Mickey Harte, & has for the first time been bestowed on an entire forward unit.

Those unappreciative few who would question this elevation to the first stage of sainthood by referring to the fact that the greatest forward line ever seen went awol last year when those heathenish pagans from Donegal put it up to them are to be flogged in the streets of Clondalkin until they repent of their errant ways.

Mayo, you have been warned. Teams like Meath, Kildare & Westmeath have shown you the required standard of respect that is to be shown these gods. Do not get above yourselves or the gates of hell await.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/08/2015 18:06:16    1773441

Alot of Dublin fans seem to miss O ' Gara . EOG offers a different route to goal ? When the pressure came on last year ; Brogan et al went into hiding and got very frustrated when things didn't go their way ie Brogans simple frees that went wide.

It is difficult for the Dubs when they dont get tested because you don't really know what some guys are like when it is in the melting pot.

This may be a classic.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 20/08/2015 18:07:47    1773443

1773408 superbluedub

But how can donegal dictate how Dublin attack? That doesn't make any sense.

Why have Mayo lost 7 all Ireland finals since there last victory in 1951

A combination of not being the best team on the day, and/or not getting the few breaks you need to win any trophy.

As was already stated,dublin kicked 17 pts,and missed a couple of very scorable goal chances,more than enough to win most games,the problem was not in attack it was in defense,does this clear it up for you?

In my opinion Mayo were more than good enough to win at least 3 all Ireland finals,but they simply Bottled it.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2850 - 20/08/2015 18:08:21    1773445

The winning of this game lies with the performance of the 2 full back lines. I expect both to be stretched but in different ways. Whichever one can break even will decide it for me

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 20/08/2015 18:37:05    1773462

It seems Dublin will have too much for this Mayo team if most of the posts are to be heeded. The fact is the last serious game Dublin played well in, against serious opposition in the championship was Mayo in the 2013 final. A far superior team that day we are told and they only won by a point. Since then all Mayo have done is run the All Ireland Champions to the wire in extra time in a replay again without any luck. As for Dublin? Improved greatly last year? Stayed the same? Move on to 2015. Again all Mayo have done is played against poor teams in Connacht and against a Donegal team we are led to believe had an average age of 59 the day they played in the quarter final. Where are Dublin compared to 2013, again I ask, Improved? The same? Or shock horror have declined(No O Gara). The fact is Mayo have improved 2 years on the bounce while I think Dublin have declined, not by much and still need a serious performance against serious opposition. With all that said I think Mayo will win. MAYO BY 6 or more.( Can't get odds on PP for this, anybody know why?)

peile (Mayo) - Posts: 180 - 20/08/2015 19:00:55    1773474

One thing is for certain, the myth of Dublin having 6 scoring forwards will be found out. All forwards will kick point with the possession Dublin get against Leinster teams that fold their tents after 10 minutes. Mayo had plenty of scoring forwards when hammering Sligo.

Dublins quantity of "scoring" forwards isn't so large when they are put under a bit of pressure or when the opposition match them for possession.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1511 - 20/08/2015 19:02:04    1773475