AI Semi-Final Dublin V Mayo

Saw this on the mayogaa blog and agree. Lift Cluxton out of it early. Job done! They dont have the same options off the bench that we do either.

The key to stopping Cluxton is to get in his touch me not face - loses the plot time and again in moments after his feathers have been ruffled - the McLoughlin incident in the league - the push over try by Fermanagh .

Send a couple of balls into the square and just let O'Shea accidentally fall on him on purpose. Throw in a few verbals and I guarantee those kickouts will become hesitant a bit wayward.

Do whatever it takes

breaffy1978 (Mayo) - Posts: 3 - 18/08/2015 21:19:33    1772223

Dont why you are being disrespectful Dubh_linn

Most Dublin I speak to regularly and fans I met and heard from at the QF double header were pretty flippant about the Kerry team, certainly not fooled by Kildare's collapse in the 2nd half. I cant see I agreed 100% with them (thought they were a bit harsh) but I respect their honest opinions rather the faux praise some give on here.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 18/08/2015 21:41:34    1772229

I haven't looked forward to a game like this in a long long time , Im confident and as days pass am getting the butterflies , double second guessing myself with selections and match ups , for me we can win it with our overall squad which I feel is superior , were we could lose it would be the following
AOS hes getting better and previous games mean nothing .
Midfield and Cluckos kick outs will be pivotal in getting a result .
For me its time for Dermot Connoly to take centre stage and declare himself the best player in the country , hope it happens but its sport and I was just as confident going in against Donegal and we know how that went .
Hope to god after game we are not talking about the following
The Ref
Diving feigning injury
Time wasting
Looking for a hard physical game with no end of skill on show , hopefully see a great game up there with the spectacle that hurlers gave us at the weekend .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 19/08/2015 09:58:27    1772293

"I remember playing Mayo in Castlebar and that was a cracking game, both teams went hard at it that day. We can expect something similar on Sunday."

Abpve quote from Jim Gavin this week....was is he smoking? If we have a repeat of the league game it will be all one way traffic.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 19/08/2015 09:59:11    1772294

Was he defiantly talking about this years league game YewTree? Would be very happy if things went the same way, but we all know it will be far closer!

Was at that game, did not think it was hugely physical myself.

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 19/08/2015 10:19:19    1772318

All the best with that Breaffy!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/08/2015 10:37:15    1772340

He had to be talking about this year because I don't think he managed Dublin in Castlebar prior to that, anyway why bring up a game 3/4 years ago in the league.
It is a bit like when a manager comes out after his team hammers the other and says it was a "tough" game. Anyway lets hope its not a repeat although Dublin fans wont mind.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 19/08/2015 10:42:46    1772348

yew_tree much as I love the man , you cant take anything Jim says seriously in an interview , in fact most times he says nothing at all and takes quite some time to say it . .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 19/08/2015 11:54:23    1772417

Really like that Mayo team such speed & strength but same Naivety as always. Keeper Kicked two balls over the line the last day. Same match No 6 did not know his Role eventually taken off. Vaughan had a goal set on his mind first twenty min & it looked Bizarre ,like set piece stuff.

Dublin has a problem with inside strength Brogan is playing exceptional but they may deploy Connolly inside.

Tactics: Mayo wont start AOS inside he ll plunder the middle for 20 min & then go inside take his recovery. Why would he start inside? Dublin wont sweep sure he d knock a 35 tractor out off his way . They ll do their best to crowd midfield and cut the supply when hes inside.

The Outcome: If Moran & O Connor click Mayo will win. Dublin have serious depth a few new players blooded it might not be the biggest setback for them to lose tis year. But I ll be backing Dublin -5 for the variety of players/systems/Manager/Croke Park/Tackling

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 19/08/2015 11:58:04    1772421

Breaffy such a statement basically indicates a point of view that the Dublin team is superior.

Cannot wait for this game especially being a Dub down under sharing a house with some wild men from Achill Island :)

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 19/08/2015 12:04:19    1772427

Damothedub

yew_tree much as I love the man , you cant take anything Jim says seriously in an interview , in fact most times he says nothing at all and takes quite some time to say it . .

+1

I stopped taking Gavin's interviews seriously in the minutes after the 2013 All-Ireland, when he said it would be hard to motivate his players for the league the following season. You've just won Sam, crack a smile Jim!

Must also say that I'm enjoying some of the bullish posts from Dublin posters here. Finals aside, Mayo are probably the best underdog side in the country: we've turned over all of the big guns (bar Kerry) in the championship over the past decade or so. No harm to us to see the media and commentariat at large tipping Dublin by a comfortable margin (it's not like that hasn't happened in previous meetings...).

The centre eight will be crucial and Mayo will have a definite edge if we can apply pressure to Dublin's kickout, forcing Cluxton to go long, in which case I'd fancy us to win the majority of possession. On the other hand, it will be a long afternoon if we allow Dublin's half-backs to waltz out of defence from short kickouts. Both teams will play sweepers and I wouldn't be at all surprised to see a much lower scoring game than predicted.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/08/2015 12:10:48    1772436

Both teams will try to dominate from the start - but likelihood is that one of them will dominate for first 10-15 or maybe entire first half.
This could be either team and probably will be determined by the 2nd or 3rd minute.
Then the outcome will largely be determined by
A. How well the team that starts on top is able to capitalize on that domination
B. How well the other team is able to soak up that pressure without giving up too much of a lead

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 216 - 19/08/2015 12:27:40    1772445

The best thing about a game like this is nobody can say with absolute confidence what will happen (except wayno ;).
An early injury to a key player, a collision, a black card, sending off, penalty etc etc. The beauty of sport eh.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 19/08/2015 13:09:13    1772475

Thankfully got a ticket. Going with the old man (mayo)! Reckon there's a big game in C Kilkenny. If he clicks well with Connolly and Brogan I reckon we'll score well. If we ship goals early doors, we're gonners. Good money on draw, Dublin to win in e/t.

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 19/08/2015 13:14:29    1772482

is that extra time of a replay jimmyk?! ;) you be the only man waiting for extra time if it is a draw on the 30th ;)

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 19/08/2015 13:44:53    1772501

The closer this game gets the more I am inclined to favour Mayo.

I picked them at the start of the year as my pick for Sam simply because I felt that James Horan, good and all as he was, had made some tactical errors in big games & the new management team would inject a note of freshness into an already great set up.

Dublin on the other hand look a little undercooked this year & they still haven't sorted out the defence. They really have to come up with a soloution for Aidan O'Shea or their goose is truly cooked. I also feel that, brilliant and all as their forward play is, it is quite one dimensional in that there is never a change of approach, no big man at the edge of the square to vary things up a bit. If things aren't working out all they can do is bring on more of the same.

In all likelihood, this will be a very close game, but if the Muckross millions were going anywhere, they would be on Mayo.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 19/08/2015 13:51:56    1772508

Dublin lads our attack is one dimensional hahahaha sweet Jesus I have finally heard it all now hahahaha.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/08/2015 14:12:28    1772531

Muckross I have my head in my hands reading that... one dimensional? Good lord

In June we were getting split up for cakewalking Leinster...

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 19/08/2015 14:17:21    1772534

Some Mayo backs are dodgy Dublin forwards will run riot but that doesn't mean they will score, I expect a Dublin win by 3 or 4 points, it will come down to both sets of forwards and Dublin have more players than Mayo that can score from outside the 45 m line, a red card or 2 at the start for Dublin would help us

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 19/08/2015 14:21:30    1772540

You're right ath cliath! Sorry thought there was extra time on 30th... Face palm!

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 19/08/2015 14:38:00    1772557