Thought mayo started trying to close out the game with 20 minutes left, madness. flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 05/09/2015 20:57:16 1783024 Link 0 |
Seamie o'shea going off was the turning point. Dublin got a foothold in midfield and mayo collapsed. Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 05/09/2015 21:22:02 1783047 Link 0 |
Mayo threw the game away, all our midfielders off the pitch and then kicked long ball down to midfield where Dublin had no opposition and they ran riot, the Mayo management are to blame for this defeat, they showed their lack of gameplans and tactics in the League where Dublin hammered us and Tyrone frustrated and beat us, the Connacht matches were a smoke screen, Donegal were tired after beating Galway 1 week earlier so it was a false dawn, Dublin are no world beaters and Mayo should have beaten them on both days, again management are to blame, sick of this nonsense 'we'll be back next year' bull, these lads are 5 or 6 years giving up their lives for the cause, will they have the stomach for another year, I don't know but either way I don't support this current management setup, you can be as fit as you like but you need gamelan and tactics from management to win titles and they don't have that, time for them to go? Yes riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 06/09/2015 09:19:12 1783106 Link 0 |
Mayo don't have the firepower to win an AI. Again the free count kept them ticking over. Dublin brought on a few rolls royces, pressed the turbo button and ran riot. This is an excellent Mayo team but lacking the killer edge up front. Dublin can afford to have their top forwards, like Flynn and DC, not playing and still nail 3-15. A lot of people question their strength in depth but I think that was answered on the pitch yesterday. Mayo still very much a top 3 side and with the likes of Parsons and DOC coming through will still be in the mix next year. Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4743 - 06/09/2015 09:50:33 1783115 Link 0 |
And thats how ye do the Ballymun Walk :))) g'wan the lads!! Thrilled to get the chance to take on the mighty Kerry. Gonna be some few weeks. My MOTM prob Fenton....or MDMA....what a time to return to form. Hopefully he finds that form again for the final. Commiserations to mayo. Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/09/2015 13:05:02 1783229 Link 0 |
The key moment was when Mayo scored the goal and went 4 points up, they had the chance to capitalise further, but got sloppy and wasted a few potential scoring passages of play. This a period where a team should kick on and win, but this is ultimately where the game turned. Shidoshi (Donegal) - Posts: 85 - 06/09/2015 13:14:06 1783236 Link 0 |
Seamus O se going off was a blessing. He was way out of his depth and we went 4 points up after he left sxckev (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 06/09/2015 13:21:23 1783242 Link 0 |
Absolutely gutted.. I truly believed Mayo had shown they had enough gile heart & never say die attitude along with enough quality to do it this year but no. Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 06/09/2015 14:02:52 1783262 Link 0 |
A good win for us considering 2 of our big game players Connolly and Flynn weren't really at the races. I'm sure they'll both be back to their best for the final which would be a huge boost for us, Kerry tend to bring out the big performances in us. Fingers crossed COS isn't carrying too serious a knock. CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 06/09/2015 14:10:03 1783264 Link 0 |
What a game - fair play to both sets of players. Ultimately the best team won out. Cherno_Samba (Louth) - Posts: 632 - 06/09/2015 14:21:34 1783273 Link 0 |
giveballaghback arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 06/09/2015 14:25:53 1783275 Link 0 |
It pains me to say it but I have to agree with Brolly. Poor last quarter from Mayo. They just seemed so disorganised and didn't know how to deploy the sweeper. Don't appear to have the mental toughness required when the chips are down. Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 321 - 06/09/2015 14:32:13 1783279 Link 0 |
I think the dubs will have to be worried about the high free count! Ya have to play the referee who ever it is and it seems ye a too susceptible to fouling especially with in scoring range which was a big help for us in both games. I can see Kerry exploiting it you watch donaghy and Aidan O'shea play full forward O'shea doesn't get a lot of the call from the refs whereas if the full back wins the ball against donaghy it is near always a free in! Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 06/09/2015 14:32:23 1783280 Link 0 |
People of Dublin I love you...... clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/09/2015 14:46:14 1783291 Link 0 |
Well done to the Dubs. Better team won in a good clean game. Philly McMahon really put us back in our box! pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 07/09/2015 08:40:56 1783653 Link 0 |
Delighted to get over the line and especially being 4 down I thought Mayo might close it out but we stuck in there and got a sniff of a goal and took that chance and got the momentum to push on finish off Mayo this time. Excellent game overall and some fantastic point scoring from both sides. Dublin v Kerry to renew the rivalry on Sunday week :) Bring them on. Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 07/09/2015 09:41:05 1783693 Link 0 |
Delighted to get through to the all ireland final hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/09/2015 11:20:27 1783803 Link 0 |