Tyrone v Down

brendtheredhand

What it actually tells me MesAmis, is that Dublin supporters are demonstrating total disdain for the rest of Leinster, so much so they would rather talk about the USFC, tell me I'm wrong here, TV coverage or no TV coverage.

Of course we've got total disdain for the rest of Leinster, it's how we roll! Doesn't mean we're not interested in them!

We can't talk about games we didn't see!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13746 - 18/05/2014 19:38:37    1589489

brend

theres no threads up on the other games this weekend
thaught the second half in omagh was very enjoyable
I actually looked to talk about them but where?
laois kicked 21 points wanted to know if was as impressive as scoreline suggest?
louth had great win last night with the young fella burns kicking goal almost a minute or so after coming in as a sub
longford had hard fought win over offaly

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/05/2014 19:39:38    1589490

I'm not sure Down missed the boat, they'll be hard to beat in Newry!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8621 - 18/05/2014 19:41:12    1589492

Listen lad, if your determined to stick the knife into one of Irelands finest footballers do him the courtesy of spelling his name correct FFS!

Agree.

Can't take anyones criticism seriously if they dont even bother spelling the players name right !!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/05/2014 19:41:31    1589494

Alright, alright, I'm fecking pissed off, cut me some slack lads, another tough game ahead and we are only at the prelim stage in Ulster in mid May, somebody got to pay and this evening its you dubs, sorry, but thats just the way its going to be, for tonight anyway:o(

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/05/2014 19:49:24    1589502

Down blew it. Down have missed their chance.

Down will beat Tyrone in Newry in 6 days. Tyrone blew it, they should have been 10 points up by half-time. We're not as bad as people say...

peter_venkman (Down) - Posts: 320 - 18/05/2014 19:50:17    1589504

Great 2nd half in awful conditions. Down will have nightmares about the 21 yard free. I thought Tyrone showed good character to respond and will improve the next day. Down were really awful in the 1st half. Thought Morgan was lucky not to get a red card for his foul let alone a black. Criticism of Cavanagh is unwarranted, he goes down easy at times but many many more do as well. Showed great composure to land the last free, sign of a quality player!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 18/05/2014 19:52:08    1589505

Cavanagh went down easy but so did a few others, the worst one was mc bride in the corner. Thought the ref had a poor game.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/05/2014 19:55:07    1589507

Murfman
County: Monaghan

1589451 HEREBENJI

Usual histrionics from Kavanagh today. He was rolling about squealing in supposed agony when Laverty barely touched him. 10 seconds later when he succeeded in getting the Down man the yellow card he is up taking the free and nothing wrong with him. He also dived to get the last free. He's been doing this his whole career but Brolly is the only one brave enough to call it. I am not disputing his football ability.

2nd year in a row that Morgan has cost his team in first round of the championship.

Fully agree fair play to brolly

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/05/2014 19:56:08    1589508

peter_venkman
County: Down

1589504 Down blew it. Down have missed their chance.

Down will beat Tyrone in Newry in 6 days. Tyrone blew it, they should have been 10 points up by half-time. We're not as bad as people say...

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/05/2014 19:57:56    1589510

Ok Bren get the message, No Dubs should be allowed on here unless we are going to say positive things about Tyrone. Sure look what happened to Tomás Ó Shéa in the last few days after he said nice words about ye ,he's a legend now ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 18/05/2014 19:58:26    1589511

well its great to see so many Dubs interested in the trials and tribulations of Ulster football , I suspect thats where their nearest challengers for SAM 2014 will come form, no complaints about Morgans Black card but I do think the Down man should have also seen Black in the 1st half I also think the ref was supposed to play advantage rule so the goal should have stood and not a penalty awarded ,I could be wrong but the Down lad who conceded the pen was the same lad who scored Downs 3rd goal so justice was done in the end as a draw was a fair result. Coldrick had a pretty poor match , nothing new their then,

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 18/05/2014 19:59:55    1589513

Tyrone will win the replay easily.

The weather was poor today, the game was poor and the referee was poor. In fact it was a non-game as such.
Not a good advertisement for Ulster football BUT things will get better.
A draw was a fair result and both teams seemed to need the game.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 18/05/2014 20:01:27    1589514

well its great to see so many Dubs interested in the trials and tribulations of Ulster football , I suspect thats where their nearest challengers for SAM 2014 will come form

Two decent sides.

No reason why we wouldnt pay an interest.

Unless of course we should only be paying attention on Leinster football??

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/05/2014 20:08:42    1589520

Spot on williewentwell. Down rode their luck, hope they can make a rare championship home advantage count next week!

peter_venkman (Down) - Posts: 320 - 18/05/2014 20:15:20    1589527

Just back from the match, was certainly a white knuckle ride and its not easy supporting Tyrone these days. Fair play to Down, they peaked at the right time and didnt do much wrong when it counted, very tidy on the ball with some lovely passing and team play.

For me Tyrone Management were much too slow to react to the problems arising...an often common criticism of Harte is that he takes too long to ring the changes and today was no different. Player selection as well for this game was highly questionable with the choice of full forward and the full back line. He simply has to start Gormley, Justin/Joe McMahon, S.Oneil and Penrose next day out or we'll be heading into the back door. To persist with players who threw away a 7 point lead and allowed Down to score three goals would be suicide on a massive scale....

Certainly some talking points again about the black cards and referee, but we can complain all day but the buck stops with our team and management......we need to create a backbone is this Tyrone team because we're looking a bit spineless to be fair.

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 18/05/2014 20:38:22    1589558

Just wanna applaud Brolly for calling Cavanagh's dive at the end....a DIVE.

I like everyone else understand Sean Cavanagh is a fantastic football player. But he lets himself and the sport down with that kinda nonsense.

Brolly didn't shirk it....it would have been easy for him to say nothing after his outburst last year and the criticism he received for questioning the dragging down Cavanagh did last year.

The game.....Tyrone should have won. Fair play to Down. Coming from a position of certain defeat to certain victory....

Have they missed the boat?

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 18/05/2014 20:42:48    1589567

The weather was bad. Some terrible calls by the ref. I am disappointed we blew such a significant lead to scrape a draw
In the end. Fairly dull first half but a nail biting last 20 mins or so made up for it. Down got lucky,there's no doubt about that.Any team that gets 3 goals in a half of football is gettin lucky and in this case they,like Dublin in the league,got lucky because of an at times very porous Tyrone defense and an overall few questionable starting players. Great time wasting by Coulter and co near the end,makes a joke out of rules to stamp out cynicism.Coldrick had no problem,and not without justification I might add,in reprimanding Morgan for taking too long to kick a free,no such effort to keep the play going near the end when Down we're wasting time. Tyrone will be disappointed but relieved to get the draw and Down will be delighted to take the replay to Newry. We seriously need to shore up our defensive play and stop this madness were our defenders are killing our forwards and play makers to continually give more and more because of their failings. Have to laugh at those criticizing big Sean,the Down player was pulling and hauling in the best example of cynical play you would ever see,other than his team mates effort on Mark Donnelly in the first half,trying to frustrate the player and the play and he got rightly blown up for it. Then Cavanagh saves the day,a great effort from a great player.
I'd love to know why the blatant haul down by Downs Mc Ginn on Mark Donnelly is not creating the same furor as the Cavanagh incident last year. Had Peter Harte not converted that penalty and Down had won by those lost 3 points it would have been a disgrace. Here you have a man hauled down who still manages to get his shot in and score the goal. Then a ref somehow decides that the "right"thing to do is to not give the offender the requisite black card as per the new rules and also to make Tyrone kick from the spot to get the goal again. Later in the game the Down offender in this incident gets a goal for his team and as Colm O Rourke rightly said he shouldn't even have been on the pitch at that point. In fairness lads if a scenario like that played out in a provincial final or All Ireland Final there would be uproar.It was a disgrace that Mc Ginn stayed on while Morgan got the line.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/05/2014 20:48:02    1589575

Just wanna applaud Brolly for calling Cavanagh's dive at the end....a DIVE.

I like everyone else understand Sean Cavanagh is a fantastic football player. But he lets himself and the sport down with that kinda nonsense.

Brolly didn't shirk it....it would have been easy for him to say nothing after his outburst last year and the criticism he received for questioning the dragging down Cavanagh did last year.

The game.....Tyrone should have won. Fair play to Down. Coming from a position of certain defeat to certain victory....

-------------------------------
It would have been decent of oul Joe if he had also pointed that the Down defender hauled Mark Donnelly to the ground and scored a goal later in the game when he shouldn't even have been on the pitch.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/05/2014 20:52:06    1589580

_______

Yea

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/05/2014 20:53:58    1589589