Tyrone v Down

Cavanagh did go to ground but the question once agaian has to go to Coldrick, why allow a man be fouled for a good 10secs and let it go, then when he goes to ground award the free?
That's the real issue here poor refereeing not awarding frees for fouls?

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 18/05/2014 20:58:28    1589599

Actually how is the pot match talk here even about Sean C dive when David Coldrick had an absolute stinker today against Tyrone....

No Black card for a deliberate rugby tackle by a subsequent goalscorer?

Black card for an honest foul by a keeper being sent the wrong way?

Yellow card to C Lavery for striking ???

Sean C fouled multiple times and only awarded free after 10sec in a much more difficult position from where the first foul occured

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 18/05/2014 21:03:34    1589602

Down and Dublin were lucky to get 3 goals, huh? Down and Dublin were unlucky not to get more than 3 goals man your defence is terrible. I was disappointed with McCurry today beside's his goal he was poor and never got into the game, Coney was very good today he has all the tools to be one of the greats if he stays injury free.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/05/2014 21:08:26    1589603

omaghjoe

Actually how is the pot match talk here even about Sean C dive when David Coldrick had an absolute stinker today against Tyrone....

No Black card for a deliberate rugby tackle by a subsequent goalscorer?

Black card for an honest foul by a keeper being sent the wrong way?

Yellow card to C Lavery for striking ???

Sean C fouled multiple times and only awarded free after 10sec in a much more difficult position from where the first foul occured

Honest foul?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13746 - 18/05/2014 21:10:30    1589606

Having played at both ends of the pitch.....

Every forward fouls before frees and sideline balls. Well the good ones do. So Cavanagh pushed the defender to push off and gain a few yards. Technically a foul really.

Every defender grabs the forward, well the good ones do, as he attempts to push him to gain a few yards. Technically a foul. So the forward fouled first....so therefore it should be a free out.

Now....watching the incident, it was normal enough fare from a sideline ball. But Cavanagh had broke free and then DIVED. So pretty shocking behaviour to be honest.

He got the free...Tyrone fans wont care, why should they. They live to fight another day. They cant be blamed for the ref giving a ridiculous decision.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 18/05/2014 21:10:52    1589608

So you agree with me Clondalkin.....fair enough:)

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/05/2014 21:12:25    1589611

So Jay P you were saying that Sean C was fouled and it was shocking that he was awarded the free

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 18/05/2014 21:15:27    1589616

So Down cynicism laid bare for all to see, hopefully Down fans can climb off the moral high horses they've been riding for years and talking down to the rest of us,lets put this one to bed once and for all.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/05/2014 21:16:53    1589621

Cop on JayP the foul should have been awarded earlier in the incident, holding and dragging was already being done to stop Cavanagh from running so you boys who are reprimanding Sean need to wise up.I suppose you don't see much wrong with that type of tactic though when Dublin have been doin fairly great at oul cynical play themselves.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/05/2014 21:21:16    1589626

Yeah Mesamis honest foul Morgan had committed to the dive/block and was sent the wrong way by the Down player.

Penalty no doubt, black card no way!

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 18/05/2014 21:21:27    1589627

I assume Misamis that you agree with the rest of my points tho ;-)

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 18/05/2014 21:22:59    1589629

So Down cynicism laid bare for all to see, hopefully Down fans can climb off the moral high horses they've been riding for years and talking down to the rest of us,lets put this one to bed once and for all.

Here here !!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/05/2014 21:25:45    1589633

ben1977

I have just have a sneaky feeling for down, there is not a word about them, and I believe James Mc caftan would not have stayed around if he thought they could not win something, they have a full panel, they play very defensive and Tyrone usually struggle against this system as there last 3 encounters suggests this, then again Tyrone are at home and extremely difficult to beat in Omagh, so I'm gonna say it will be a draw with Down winning the replay......

I don't want to gloat and say I told you so but in my above post I did, don't be believing that Down have missed the boat, they haven't, they are extermely hard to beat in newry and I exect them to win this match and for the record I think whoever wants to win the ulster championship will have to beat them, that's why im a tad cautious abut donegals chances, I expect a down/donegal ulster final..... This makes me nervous as playing against a very dangerous hungry team like Down surely will cause a few unsettled sleeps me thinks.....

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 18/05/2014 21:26:45    1589635

Who are you trying to fool.

Stonewall black card.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/05/2014 21:26:50    1589636

omaghjoe

Yeah Mesamis honest foul Morgan had committed to the dive/block and was sent the wrong way by the Down player.

I'll give you the benefit of the doubt man and presume you were at the match and haven't seen the TV replays yet.

The only way it wasn't a black card was if the ref deemed it serious enough to issue a red card. Morgan clearly delibratetly tripped/kicked the Down forward.

The Down defender should've been black carded too but there's no way Tyrone can have any complaints in terms of Morgan having to leave the game.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13746 - 18/05/2014 21:28:37    1589642

omaghjoe

I assume Misamis that you agree with the rest of my points tho ;-)

Ref wasn't great but wasn't helped by both sets of players imo.

Players (on both sides) throwing themselves to the ground very at every opportunity.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13746 - 18/05/2014 21:30:28    1589645

Terrible day that it was... still doesn't excuse some of the below standard play at times

Dramatic ending to an ultimately forgettable game

Well done to Down for sticking it to a much fancied Tyrone team on their home patch

Really poor performance from them but expect them to win comfortably next time around

Tyrone would be lost without SC

Some might say he dived but it was a free and fair play to Tyrone for saving themselves

But they'd be out of Ulster if they performed like that against the form Ulster sides... simple as that

They need to vastly improve to win Ulster

But sure... they live to fight another day

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20616 - 18/05/2014 21:35:44    1589651

Mark Donnelly didn't throw himself to the ground but ye all seem to have list yer tongues on that incident,an incident that takes on greater significance later in the game when the offending player scores a goal.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/05/2014 21:35:58    1589652

Actually seen the replay's this is what happened:

Player through on goal

Goalie rushes out

Player prepares to pull the trigger

Goalie spreads himself

Player dummies the shot and trips over goalie's outstretched legs

Foul no doubt as he impeded the player

Deliberate...NO WAY? He had committed to blocking the ball that he thought was going to be unleashed..... not the player

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 18/05/2014 21:39:02    1589655

At 3.30 I backed Down @ 25/1 to win Ulster and alough the bet still stands , Down should have been in the first round proper. But I still think they will win in Newry. Down were poor in the first half alough they were set up fairly defensive and the backs played well They were outplayed at midfield in the first half, and lacked power up front. But they played some good football in the second half, but you can't miss frees like Down done in the last five minutes. The ref was poor, no10 should have a black card, I thought the keeper (Tyrone) could have got a red card , was it not dangerous play , boot up. The last free he gave , well incidents like that are occurring all the time in games. I hate to think what it will be like all through the summer ,if we get reffing like today's all through the year. I know conditions were bad and only for periods in the second half it was a very poor game Still fancy Down to go a long way in Ulster.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 18/05/2014 21:41:21    1589661