Tyrone v Down

omaghjoe

Jaysus man. If that's what you saw wha else can we say!

It was only yourself who saw it that way though man!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13746 - 18/05/2014 21:47:57    1589676

Usually the refs job is to apply the rules between 2 teams evenly in a way that will allow a fair match.

Coldrick failed miserably today and should be weeded out for the replay

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 18/05/2014 21:48:39    1589678

Cavanagh fond of diving.won a couple handy frees at end.surely referees should be looking for Cavanagh diving?he is getting away with this for years

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 18/05/2014 21:52:15    1589684

So mes Amis go ahead and tell me you blow by blow account of the incident.

I challenge you this...read my account and watch the replay of the incident and then read my account again, if u still don't see it like that fair nuff

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 18/05/2014 21:53:59    1589686

Actually Gael85 he's been getting fouled for years and not getting frees

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 18/05/2014 21:57:46    1589694

Kevin McStay reckons the referees will get more consistent, he says they'll 'iron out the creases'. Is it just me or do the Sunday Game analysts and McAneaney with his condescending explanation of the black card rule, to a knowledgeable Sunday Game audience, sound like backing up ppor refereeing no matter what the circumstances.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7429 - 18/05/2014 22:00:09    1589695

Have to say I thought Cavanagh was getting pulled and dragged all over the place. madness from the Down defender. Id say that fella who missed the 14 yard free will get a hard time in training during the week. Unforgivable stuff.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 19/05/2014 08:27:51    1589699

Omaghjoe.....

I think you were selectively saying I agreed Cavanagh was fouled.

I agree he was fouled, after he initially fouled. But thats normal stuff from forwards and defenders from dead balls if we are honest.

Cavanagh was free of a challenge, no hands on him.....and threw himself to the ground. You mightnt agree, but its sad to see in the GAA.

This isnt anti Tyrone, Cavanaghs a top player. Tyrone were better team all day.

Just sad to see a dive like that rewarded.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 19/05/2014 08:29:20    1589700

Not sure how Tyrone fans are complaining about refereeing performance, as from where I could see, Tyrone were able to take a limitless amount of steps before solo-ing or bouncing the ball, and furthermore, in the build up to your second goal, the crucial pass looked suspiciously like a throw ball.

To people saying we've missed the boat the first time around; you all thought that in 2008 too, and we came in that game from about seven points down to win by 1 after extra time. Whatever way it works out, it'll be good to get a game in Newry (at last), and to get another high intensity Championship match under our belts before the next game, whether that is against Monaghan or in the qualifiers. The big problem is keeping that level of performance from the second half up, as Down have a habit of matching one great performance with a terrible one - Donegal then Galway in the league, or in 2008, the two Tyrone games followed by the collapse in Clones against Armagh.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 19/05/2014 08:50:10    1589703

Is it just me or do the Sunday Game analysts and McAneaney with his condescending explanation of the black card rule, to a knowledgeable Sunday Game audience, sound like backing up ppor refereeing no matter what the circumstances.

I have been bleating on here for ages on different threads regarding new rules etc that the problem isn't with the rule of the games but the application of said rules. I said over and over that until we get our refereeing standard raised and sorted out that bringing any all these new rules was a waste of time and uncalled for. Anyone who thinks this is going to magically heal itself overnight and rules get applied consistently is a fool. We have a poor enough standard at Intercounty level and an even worse standard at club level - I have seen enough games this year already to see that refs are not applying the black card or other rules correcty and then throwing out token black cards towards the end. They are ruining the games.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 19/05/2014 09:12:41    1589712

Anyone know if the replay will be televised on Saturday evening?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 19/05/2014 09:25:54    1589723

The Down player should have been black carded for sure but morgan deserved a red and for the penalty the referee should have played the adcatnage rule and just allowed the goal without givig a penalty. Areas like those are where referees need to up their game big time.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/05/2014 09:33:03    1589726

tyrone at their usual antics again,hitting the ground any time they are touched,pathetic stuff so it was.and as for tyrone supporters walking out when your team was 2 points down with 4 mins 2 go,laughable is what that is.think down will win the replay,newry will be a cauldron and if benny starts i think we will shade it.also very impressed with young johnston,would start him next week.

god68 (Down) - Posts: 32 - 19/05/2014 09:34:14    1589727

I think Down can win on Saturday night and what ever happens in Ulster this year I think all Gaels would like to see Benny Coulter win an Ulster title. Iv fancied Down since the draw was made , the big stumbling block in Ulster I'd who wins Derry vDonegal, njust can't call it. Would fancy Down to beat Donegal but they might not beat Derry. Down , if they get there would be really up for Donegal but playing Derry would be a different game No disrespect to Antrim /Fermanagh but Derry/Donegal winner will get to the Ulster final.
Got 25/1 yesterday on Down , will be my only bet this year and if they win ulster I will have a good payday. ( hope it's not at the expense of Donegal ) but if I were a Down supporter I'd be happy enough. But tell them boys keep practising the free kicks , especially the 21/14 yard ones In periods in the second half Down played amazing football, holding the ball up , the support running through and the well taken goals. Never let their heads drop and I think Tyrone are the team under pressure now. The other thing yesterday's game through up Tyrone have not come up with many new players, the back line wants overhauling and the subs yesterday suggests MH has to go back to the old guard They might improve and won on Sat night but I take Down.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 19/05/2014 09:40:10    1589735

I think Down will be kicking themselves.
Missed a simple free when 2 points up near the end, and then for the last score gave away a stupid free when Tyrone only had a side-line ball.

Kavanagh showed his class with that final score though. Some pressure on him from there.

Definitely a game of 2 halves this one. First half was terrible to watch.
At least the 2nd half was better.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3783 - 19/05/2014 09:40:44    1589737

So here we are in the aftermath. What happened to Tyrone winning easily? That's all I read all week on here, bar a few sensible posters who know Ulster is never as straight forward as that. I always felt it would be a very tight game, though was fearing the worst in the first half. Down didn't turn up, and not for the first time in recent years. Tyrone got everything their own way, and Down were no where to be seen. But, I thought Tyrone looked very ordinary in the first half too. In fact, it was really a non-contest in the first 35 minutes, more akin to a division 2 or 3 standard league game in terms of quality. As for Tyrone taking their foot off the gas in the second half when they went 7 points up? Not the case at all. Down's response of scoring 2 goals in quick succession knocked the stuffing out of them, the momentum was completely with Down. Tyrone lacked leaders on the pitch at that stage. They panicked and were all over the place in terms of positioning. Down dominated for a 15-20 minute spell and tore Tyrone to shreds. James McCartan's shrewd management was there to see. Coulter roaming around midfield was a masterstroke and the cocky Johnson brothers were running riot in the forward division. For those saying Down have missed the boat, think again. This is not a great Tyrone side. Down now have home advantage in Newry, where we are so difficult to beat. Write us off at your peril.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 19/05/2014 09:47:28    1589742

waynoI

Penalty no doubt, black card no way!

Who are you trying to fool.
Stonewall black card.

I disagree waynoI, I thought it was a straight red. An interesting point actually, last year that was a red card. So awarding a black card this year, and the guy not having to serve a ban, is actually rewarding this play.

A few tyrone lads would want to take another look at the game. If you think it was down who were exposed for being cynical you are crazy. Cavanagh dived. Laverty didnt strike cavanagh, he went to hit the ball. Morgan was making no attempt for the ball.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/05/2014 09:59:07    1589749

Well MourneArmy, I think you'll find that most of the "Tyrone winning easily" comments actually originated from your fellow Down fans, I for one didn't subscribe to that despite the thrash talk. I still think that Tyrone will win the replay, they can't play as bad as they did in that second half 2 games on the trot, but Harte will need to seriously rethink his team set up on the back of that defensive collapse, there just seemed to be a lack of aggression in the tackle and made it all too easy for Down in that crucial 20 min period. By the way that was a fine cameo from Benny, isn't it time he was retired:o)

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 19/05/2014 10:13:04    1589764

omaghjoe

So mes Amis go ahead and tell me you blow by blow account of the incident.

I challenge you this...read my account and watch the replay of the incident and then read my account again, if u still don't see it like that fair nuff

Morgan bought the dummy and then deliberately kicked/tripped the Down forward. He knew exactly what he was doing.

As others have said Tyrone should be happy that it was only a black card and not red.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13746 - 19/05/2014 10:15:34    1589765

McKenna Cup Winners 2014. As good as it gonna get.

martinprince (Tyrone) - Posts: 187 - 19/05/2014 10:35:57    1589787