Galway Football thread

Crazy decision, this game should be in Croker. Imagine the buzz those young lads would have in the lead up, I would suspect excitement would supersede notions of "pressure" that is being sprouted by the GAA. Both teams are excellent and deserve their day in Croker.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 01/07/2022 12:02:19    2428969

Replying To EDH:  "A terrible decision and terrible location. It should be in Croke Park next Saturday before the Cavan v Westmeath and Galway v Derry games. I hope they realise the mistake they've made and move it. The fixtures committee really need to review that they are expecting people to go to Roscommon on a Friday evening after work and then travel to Dublin on Saturday evening."
Something badly wrong when Gareth Brooks will be spending more time in GAA's national stadium than our underage finalists.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 01/07/2022 12:34:58    2428979

Replying To ahsure.:  "Crazy decision, this game should be in Croker. Imagine the buzz those young lads would have in the lead up, I would suspect excitement would supersede notions of "pressure" that is being sprouted by the GAA. Both teams are excellent and deserve their day in Croker."
I do agree that it's a shame minor games aren't paired with senior games like years back but is the issue here that the Tailteann Cup final has already been pencilled in for that day?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 01/07/2022 12:52:40    2428985

Replying To EDH:  "It is a terrible location. The Hogan cup final and U20 finals are at Croke Park. The minor final should be at Croke Park too."
U20 final was not in Croke Park. Educate yourself before waffling

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 01/07/2022 12:52:40    2428986

Replying To ahsure.:  "Crazy decision, this game should be in Croker. Imagine the buzz those young lads would have in the lead up, I would suspect excitement would supersede notions of "pressure" that is being sprouted by the GAA. Both teams are excellent and deserve their day in Croker."
From a ticket allocation point of view I mean. Galway will already have the numbers, and between Derry, Cavan and Westmeath there would be virtually no one from Mayo at it if it was squeezed into that fixture list. Feck all from Cavan, Derry or Westmeath would attend the minor as they will already be staying for two games so it would just be Galway supporters watching it.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 01/07/2022 12:57:05    2428988

Reading the last few posts, it's clear some people will be unhappy no matter what decision is made.
This year's U20 and many previous U20/21 finals have not been played in Croke Park.
When minor games were always the curtain raiser to senior games, then the semi finals and finals were in Croke Park.
However, they no longer are. They're separated and played on different days now.
There's the argument of playing in Croker for the players, but then there's also the argument of playing in a smaller venue with a better atmosphere for the players, rather than a mostly empty Croker with sounds echoing around the place.
A case can be made for either, but the one thing that's for sure is that a good chunk of people will be unhappy either way.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 01/07/2022 13:08:36    2428991

Looks like Cathal Sweeney the only player (apart from Sean Kelly) to be given a ban.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 01/07/2022 13:12:05    2428992

It's a shocking decision and is grossly disrespectful to both counties involved. Mayo, Galway and the competition itself deserve better. The decisions in relation to both the minor hurling and football finals are stark examples of how completely disconnected the decision makers in the GAA have become from the ordinary GAA people. Larry McCarthy and Tom Ryan have to show some desperately needed leadership.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 01/07/2022 13:43:52    2428994

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "From a ticket allocation point of view I mean. Galway will already have the numbers, and between Derry, Cavan and Westmeath there would be virtually no one from Mayo at it if it was squeezed into that fixture list. Feck all from Cavan, Derry or Westmeath would attend the minor as they will already be staying for two games so it would just be Galway supporters watching it."
I would suggest Tailteann game at 1.15pm, minor at 3pm and senior game at 5.30pm. That way minimal impact to an existing arrangement as I acknowledge the Tailteann final was scheduled for that date well in advance.
They somewhat accommodated Derry fans over Galway fans last Saturday allowing Derry fans if they so wished to see their minors in Parnell Park and later their seniors were on at Croke Park. Hence why Derry had much bigger support than us but you heard no complaints from the Galway side of things. We just got on with the job. I have nothing against the Hyde but for a minor final (unless it was a replay in this instance) it is not fair on the minor players who dream of an opportunity such as this don't mind Galway fans whereby some are already choosing between the hurling and football given the significance expense.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 01/07/2022 14:10:46    2428999

Replying To kiloughter:  "I would suggest Tailteann game at 1.15pm, minor at 3pm and senior game at 5.30pm. That way minimal impact to an existing arrangement as I acknowledge the Tailteann final was scheduled for that date well in advance.
They somewhat accommodated Derry fans over Galway fans last Saturday allowing Derry fans if they so wished to see their minors in Parnell Park and later their seniors were on at Croke Park. Hence why Derry had much bigger support than us but you heard no complaints from the Galway side of things. We just got on with the job. I have nothing against the Hyde but for a minor final (unless it was a replay in this instance) it is not fair on the minor players who dream of an opportunity such as this don't mind Galway fans whereby some are already choosing between the hurling and football given the significance expense."
I suppose even if the Tailteann game wasn't on and the minor was the curtain raiser to the senior then there would still be more Galway support than Mayo. Maybe they should have put the Tailteann on the Sunday? I think if they gave the minor's (3pm) a better slot than the Tailteann (1.15) there would be uproar as well.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 01/07/2022 15:44:38    2429039

Replying To EDH:  "It is a terrible location. The Hogan cup final and U20 finals are at Croke Park. The minor final should be at Croke Park too."
Carrick on Shannon hosted the Kildare v Tyrone U20 final. Loads of U21 finals was played in provincial grounds very rarely were they played in Croke Park.

Connacht venue for two Connacht teams taking part is a sensible choice and i see tickets are priced at 15€. If it was played in Croke Park before one of the All-Ireland senior semi finals is would cost supporters 50€ plus the expense of gas. If played before the AI final like minor finals use to be 90€ for tickets and each county would only get 3,000 each.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 01/07/2022 16:27:49    2429058

Can any one tell me is the All Ireland Football Final and Hurling Final stand alone fixtures or is there another game fixed to preceed them?

seventyniner (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 01/07/2022 17:22:37    2429069

Just brilliant to see the character of the team last Sunday
Galway showed resilience on a grand scale
That match will bring them on a ton
Invaluable getting game time into the likes of Billy Mannion

Maroonedinlongford2 (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 01/07/2022 20:50:47    2429103

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "I suppose even if the Tailteann game wasn't on and the minor was the curtain raiser to the senior then there would still be more Galway support than Mayo. Maybe they should have put the Tailteann on the Sunday? I think if they gave the minor's (3pm) a better slot than the Tailteann (1.15) there would be uproar as well."
All ireland junior football final is on the Sunday before Dublin v Kerry.

Tj73 (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 02/07/2022 13:57:19    2429185

Replying To seventyniner:  "Can any one tell me is the All Ireland Football Final and Hurling Final stand alone fixtures or is there another game fixed to preceed them?"
Both stand alone.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 02/07/2022 15:20:32    2429219

Best of luck to Galway Senior and Minor teams next weekend
The Galway Minors have taken us on some roller coaster ride this year
And with the exciting football they play it aint over yet

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 04/07/2022 13:42:50    2429634

The very best of luck to Galway football at the weekend. I know very little about the minor scene, but at senior level, you play a very attractive brand of attacking football. Hope to see it rewarded and that you make the final (and win it).

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 04/07/2022 16:11:29    2429692

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "A lot of the comments and criticisms here of the minor team are way off the mark. There is a lot of focus on poor coaching and management. As I saw the game, the Galway players were every bit a nos good and equally skillful and committed as the Mayo lads. The reason Galway were beaten is quite simple: they gave the ball away numerous times to the opposition when under no pressure whatever. How many times were handpasses and footpasses and short free kicks misdirected and sent directly into the grateful arms of Mayo players. This was soul-destroying and must have proved very dispiriting. The game is all about possession now. Teams who needlessly give the ball away time after time are effectively beating themselves. It must have been hard for the manager and coaches to watch. Players at this stage of their careers should be able to pass the ball. If this can be corrected, it wouldn't surprise me at all if Galway go on to win the All Ireland via the back door."
I posted this on the 7th June after the Connacht minor football final when I thought the team were getting a lot of unfair criticism from "supporters". I suggested that Galway could go on to win the All Ireland. Hopefully this may now come to pass if those talented young lads go out and play to their undoubted ability at the weekend. Gaillimh Abu.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 05/07/2022 09:58:31    2429782

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "I posted this on the 7th June after the Connacht minor football final when I thought the team were getting a lot of unfair criticism from "supporters". I suggested that Galway could go on to win the All Ireland. Hopefully this may now come to pass if those talented young lads go out and play to their undoubted ability at the weekend. Gaillimh Abu."
Will be a tough task. Mayo are a very good side.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 05/07/2022 10:28:00    2429793

Replying To foreveryoung:  "The very best of luck to Galway football at the weekend. I know very little about the minor scene, but at senior level, you play a very attractive brand of attacking football. Hope to see it rewarded and that you make the final (and win it)."
Well i can tell you the Galway minors play a fantastic brand of football
you can check it out on TG4SportYouTube esp the game v Roscommon

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 05/07/2022 11:41:45    2429815