Galway Football thread

i was in croke park sunday and how lucky i was to be there to witness a brilliant game of football...
from a galway view point., its without douth the best performance ive seen from any galway football team
since 2001, for sheer heart., belief.,work rate, honesty, and steel i walked out of there as proud as all
the other galway supporters..
we no we have the players., we no we have talent., we no we have the management/backroom team
and now we no we have that bit of bottle/steel and never say die attitude that all the top team have
if you want to be successful..

yes we have loads to work on and by no means are we the finished article but i have
ben waiting for a galway team to come good in a croker dogfight when the chips where down
and come out on top with a well earned., hard fought victory..

if we can get the minds and bodies right for derry and get kelly free to play then we have
every chance in the semi against a fine derry team.
this team deserves a massive galway support next saturday week as do the hurlers on sunday
and i really hope we turn drumcondra maroon and white and lets drive these lads on as best we can..

welldone too all involved..
GALWAY ABU

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 246 - 28/06/2022 15:35:07    2428394

Replying To yew_tree:  "Congrats to Galway on a fine win. Yes ye almost messed it up but Galway were the better team. It had drama and excitement. Galway showed a steel and toughness I haven't seen before so maybe it's yer year and if not Galway are certainly going in the right direction."
When you say that "Galway showed a steel and toughness I haven't seen before" are you forgetting 1998 and 2001 or was that before your time?

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 28/06/2022 15:36:45    2428395

Replying To BostonGuy:  "They are not in the exact same position, they have to be outside the box when the ball is kicked. The defense and goalie CAN can be in the square and are in a better position to "command their area". The advantage is with the defense and they need to "command the area". I thing your interpretation of a person from the opposition standing on the goal line waiting for a bomb to drop in is not realistic. Lets not make excuses here, I'm not saying he's a bad keeper, Im not convinced from the games I saw that hes a good one either, but on the day he was awful and nearly cost Galway the game."
Twas realistic last Sunday, because that's exactly what happened on the first goal. The Armagh ball in was so long and high, that the Armagh player had ample time to 'setup' right on our goaline, right beside Gleeson in fact, like two midfielders they were, under the dropping ball right on the goaline.

I'm not excusing Gleeson on the second goal. To 'spill' that ball where he spilt it was a massive gaffe on the day.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3421 - 28/06/2022 15:39:52    2428398

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "Congratulations to the Galway players and management team on a great victory. They showed guts, character, never-say-die spirit, skill and class in one of the best and most dramatic matches I have ever seen in Croke Park. It seemed that no matter what was thrown at them, they had a single-minded determination to prevail over adversity. It was a proud day for Galway GAA. We had to win the match about 3 times. The goals conceded were of the soft variety. At least one was a square ball. Armagh had no option but to throw caution to the wind and lob speculative balls in to the Galway square. This was a big change in strategy. It took the Galway backs a bit by surprise. The goalie Gleeson is being pilloried. He shouldn't be. The forwards were in on top of him. He will be a better goalkeeper for the experience. Changing the goalkeeper would be a mistake. Gleeson won't make these mistakes again. The referee had a poor match. The Armagh players were let away with a lot of aggression, bad tackles and sledging. This directly caused the melee at the end of normal time. The ref then compounded his failures by issuing a red card to the Galway captain Sean Kelly who was trying to restore peace, despite the Galway players being incensed by an Armagh "person" eye gouging Damian Comer, a really low disgraceful act. Overall Galway can be very proud of their outstanding performance in Croke Park yesterday. Gaillimh Abu."
Agree with everything you said with one minor clarification. The goals were legitimate. For sure on at least one occasion the man was in the square before the ball, but the rule was changed a while back and as long as he wasnt in the square when the ball was kicked its okay.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 28/06/2022 16:24:56    2428423

Replying To galwayman2:  "Also, the keeper is on his line facing the ball coming in. All the advantages are with him."
I disagree. The goalie is on his line and has to jump from a standing position. The guys coming in can jump from a running position so I think all the advantages are with them. If the ball is kicked from away out the field the forward can be legally on the goalline by the time the ball arrives.
Any way its time to lay off Gleeson. We need him at the top of his game the next day. I would consider him to blame for the second goal and his kicking was not bad last Sunday

seventyniner (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 28/06/2022 19:09:34    2428458

Replying To yew_tree:  "Congrats to Galway on a fine win. Yes ye almost messed it up but Galway were the better team. It had drama and excitement. Galway showed a steel and toughness I haven't seen before so maybe it's yer year and if not Galway are certainly going in the right direction."
Sometimes, it takes a game like that, (where players are asked tough questions, and they have to dig deep for the answers) to bring a team on. As supporters, we are so proud of these lads.

I'm sure PJ's experience and his involvement in compromise rules with Pete McGrath was a significant help to the players at the end of regulation time. 1983 Galway left CP with their tails between their legs... not this time...

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 28/06/2022 21:41:02    2428490

Replying To moc.dna:  "Very unfair lads targeting the keeper here. The full back line must also take responsibility for not helping protect him, he was under serious pressure with the number of Armagh men in the square contesting the ball. Also there was no pressure put on the kickers out the field, kicking in speculative lobs to the Galway goal. He remained very composed throughout the game & during the penalties."
Composed????
Those speculative lobs are bread and butter for any intercounty goalkeeper.
One goal from 3 lobs would be a mistake, 3 goals from 3 lobs is a problem.
He palmed the ball to Armagh players for 2 goals and handpassed the ball to nobody for the goal in extra time???
Armagh kicked 2 penalties wide, very little to do with our keepers composure.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 29/06/2022 09:34:38    2428519

I don't think armaghs second goal was legitimate, Gleeson was challenged by Nugent on his way out before he goes down. As they are in the small square, it should have been a free out, if I understand those rules correctly.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 69 - 29/06/2022 10:07:32    2428525

Replying To seventyniner:  "I disagree. The goalie is on his line and has to jump from a standing position. The guys coming in can jump from a running position so I think all the advantages are with them. If the ball is kicked from away out the field the forward can be legally on the goalline by the time the ball arrives.
Any way its time to lay off Gleeson. We need him at the top of his game the next day. I would consider him to blame for the second goal and his kicking was not bad last Sunday"
Correct we need him to shake this game off and be at his best the next day.
Even watching the third goal and one of the late Armagh points back last night - why are the fullback line players allowing the ball to bounce in the first place? Nobody attacking it with conviction. It is not solely a goalkeeping issue at all.
Anyway we are there now that's all that matters. One hopes we will learn from it.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 29/06/2022 10:08:10    2428526

Super game to watch, game of the season so far by a country mile! Galway the better team but fair play to armagh, coming back from the dead!! but it wasnt because armagh started to play, it was gifted to them, Walsh cross feild pass would not be seen at junior C level with 30 seconds left on the clock and he was possible the one man on the pitch you wanted on the ball at that stage. as for Glesson.... 1st goal, keeper punches the ball over the bar,game over! 2nd goal.. push your way out with the ball and try win a free, he fell onto the ground without an armagh player even tackling him. 3rd goal.. at least attemp to try jump for it. look i know its easy to call it while sitting on the couch!

Garmin (Longford) - Posts: 87 - 29/06/2022 12:41:15    2428594

Replying To Garmin:  "Super game to watch, game of the season so far by a country mile! Galway the better team but fair play to armagh, coming back from the dead!! but it wasnt because armagh started to play, it was gifted to them, Walsh cross feild pass would not be seen at junior C level with 30 seconds left on the clock and he was possible the one man on the pitch you wanted on the ball at that stage. as for Glesson.... 1st goal, keeper punches the ball over the bar,game over! 2nd goal.. push your way out with the ball and try win a free, he fell onto the ground without an armagh player even tackling him. 3rd goal.. at least attemp to try jump for it. look i know its easy to call it while sitting on the couch!"
An Armagh sub came on last Sunday wearing goggles. Damian Comer could have done with them at the end of the game to protect his eyes. !! One of the Armagh goals came from a ball which Gleeson fielded and then punched it out to no one which finished in the net. Why didn't he sprint out with the ball and either kick it downfield or give to someone.
Also why does he dither so long with his kick outs, and the same with our minor goalkeeper who was also lucky the ref didn't blow and throw up the ball near the goal

FieldsMaster (Galway) - Posts: 17 - 29/06/2022 15:27:13    2428666

Replying To tommy k:  "When you say that "Galway showed a steel and toughness I haven't seen before" are you forgetting 1998 and 2001 or was that before your time?"
I remember 2001 and was at the final. Classy team ye had. I was more referring to recent history (the last 20 years) where the game has moved to a new level of physicality. Galway aren't a team that will be bullied off the field anymore.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 29/06/2022 16:02:16    2428682

All Ireland minor final set for Hyde Park on Friday evening July 8th.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 29/06/2022 16:24:56    2428687

Replying To The_analyser:  "All Ireland minor final set for Hyde Park on Friday evening July 8th."
Hopefully a big crowd will be present.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 29/06/2022 17:53:40    2428704

Replying To The_analyser:  "All Ireland minor final set for Hyde Park on Friday evening July 8th."
A terrible decision and terrible location. It should be in Croke Park next Saturday before the Cavan v Westmeath and Galway v Derry games. I hope they realise the mistake they've made and move it. The fixtures committee really need to review that they are expecting people to go to Roscommon on a Friday evening after work and then travel to Dublin on Saturday evening.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 29/06/2022 18:00:17    2428707

Replying To yew_tree:  "I remember 2001 and was at the final. Classy team ye had. I was more referring to recent history (the last 20 years) where the game has moved to a new level of physicality. Galway aren't a team that will be bullied off the field anymore."
I hear what you're saying, and we certainly hit our nadir in McHale Park in 2014, but in fairness Kevin Walsh put a stop to that rot and since 2017/2018 I'd say we're been consistently more competitive on the physicality front.

That said, I didn't care for the way we were set up the last day when Armagh players were getting to within scoring distance before a glove was laid on them.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 29/06/2022 18:37:53    2428719

Replying To EDH:  "A terrible decision and terrible location. It should be in Croke Park next Saturday before the Cavan v Westmeath and Galway v Derry games. I hope they realise the mistake they've made and move it. The fixtures committee really need to review that they are expecting people to go to Roscommon on a Friday evening after work and then travel to Dublin on Saturday evening."
Two Connacht teams and the final played in a Connacht venue is a terrible location?

All of the Connacht championship games was played on a Friday night apart from the final on a Monday night. Its clear HQ have decided not to use Croke Park for underage finals anymore. AI hurling final in Nowlan Park this Sunday and like the Hyde it will provide a much better atmosphere.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 30/06/2022 14:35:29    2428839

Replying To The_analyser:  "Two Connacht teams and the final played in a Connacht venue is a terrible location?

All of the Connacht championship games was played on a Friday night apart from the final on a Monday night. Its clear HQ have decided not to use Croke Park for underage finals anymore. AI hurling final in Nowlan Park this Sunday and like the Hyde it will provide a much better atmosphere."
It is a terrible location. The Hogan cup final and U20 finals are at Croke Park. The minor final should be at Croke Park too.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 30/06/2022 17:36:32    2428891

Replying To EDH:  "A terrible decision and terrible location. It should be in Croke Park next Saturday before the Cavan v Westmeath and Galway v Derry games. I hope they realise the mistake they've made and move it. The fixtures committee really need to review that they are expecting people to go to Roscommon on a Friday evening after work and then travel to Dublin on Saturday evening."
All the way to Roscommon? Will they get stuck at Dublin airport? Nightmare

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 01/07/2022 11:43:04    2428963

Replying To The_analyser:  "Two Connacht teams and the final played in a Connacht venue is a terrible location?

All of the Connacht championship games was played on a Friday night apart from the final on a Monday night. Its clear HQ have decided not to use Croke Park for underage finals anymore. AI hurling final in Nowlan Park this Sunday and like the Hyde it will provide a much better atmosphere."
U20 football was in Carrick too?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 01/07/2022 11:44:06    2428964