Galway Football thread

Have we a clean bill of health for Derry game?

Is Flaherty fully fit. Will be interesting selection if he is.

I actually never had any issues with Gleeson under the high ball. Always very secure. While there was undoubtedly mitigating factors he could have done better for all 3 goals the last day. I think the first one shattered his confidence even though it is a bit of a freak i.e. a point shot dropping short just under the bar at that angle. Very hard to deal with ..probably should have tapped it over for a point.

My only issue with Gleeson was the slowness of the kick outs, although I am now concerned about his confidence. PJ will be best placed to judge that in camp. He looked devastated after the game the last day even when we won.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 05/07/2022 12:25:26    2429835

Replying To rhudson:  "Well i can tell you the Galway minors play a fantastic brand of football
you can check it out on TG4SportYouTube esp the game v Roscommon"
I don't ever remember any team beating another 3 times in any championship.even 2 is rare enough.This is Galways time!!Hopefully a 7th minor all ireland title for this great county.

Tj73 (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 05/07/2022 12:40:18    2429842

All you need to do is look back at A Year til Sunday to get the juices flowing!I notice a few Dublin bucks complaint they did 6 in a row and no film for them!Many thanks Pat Comer.

Tj73 (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 05/07/2022 12:42:14    2429845

Replying To Tj73:  "I don't ever remember any team beating another 3 times in any championship.even 2 is rare enough.This is Galways time!!Hopefully a 7th minor all ireland title for this great county."
Ye lost 3 games in the CONNACHT Championship but none in the All Ireland one.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1417 - 05/07/2022 12:48:28    2429848

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Ye lost 3 games in the CONNACHT Championship but none in the All Ireland one."
Galway seem to learning and improving as they go along
They were far to open and and prob not enough work rate at the begining
There was never any doubt about their footballing ability so much talent there
The tacking and workrate has gone up big time
Thomas Farthing at corner back is a great bit of stuff

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 05/07/2022 12:57:59    2429853

Yes but not the same team.mayo twice.if they do it a 3rd time will be a unique achievement!

Tj73 (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 05/07/2022 12:58:52    2429856

Whatever happens Friday these young lads have shown some metal with how they bounced back.

Mayo look physically imposing and it will be a tall ask however they can sleep soundly that the physical development will come in time and they have proven they have the football. Great hope for the future

With this minor team showing grit and the grit shown by the seniors against Armagh are we finally seeing Galway sides develop serious backbone. I remember an awful lot of 1 point defeats over the last 20 years

Gaillimh abú

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 05/07/2022 13:41:26    2429871

I see Claregalway won the Feile all ireland football title
Their sucess at underage is just unreal these day

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 05/07/2022 14:14:49    2429881

Replying To rhudson:  "I see Claregalway won the Feile all ireland football title
Their sucess at underage is just unreal these day"
There will have to be a public inquiry if they don't start dominating at Senior within the next 5-6 years. They won that Feile handily and having been winning at underage for fun the last few years (won A and B Galway minor last year which is pretty much unheralded). A ridiculous amount of talent coming through there.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 05/07/2022 15:59:50    2429921

Replying To Tj73:  "I don't ever remember any team beating another 3 times in any championship.even 2 is rare enough.This is Galways time!!Hopefully a 7th minor all ireland title for this great county."
At U17/U18 level It's normally two games max teams face each other. 2015 Kerry well beat Tipp in the Munster final and hammered them in the AI final. Dublin did the same in 2012 v Meath.

In 2003 Laois v Dublin fared off 4 times. Group game Laois hammered Dublin, Leinster final the Dubs won narrowly. AI final drawn and the AI final replay played in Cullen Park Laois won comfortably.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 05/07/2022 16:26:37    2429930

Replying To galway19:  "There will have to be a public inquiry if they don't start dominating at Senior within the next 5-6 years. They won that Feile handily and having been winning at underage for fun the last few years (won A and B Galway minor last year which is pretty much unheralded). A ridiculous amount of talent coming through there."
Their big problem is keeping players after minor many are not from claregalway and concentrate on other sports I remember a few years ago they had a very good u14 team won the galway feile but I would say there isn't 5 playing Gaelic now they had Ryan manning Aaron Connolly Sean Linnane the Doyle brothers and several other turloughmore hurlers I'm afraid that the same thing will happen again you can see that they have lads on the galway minor hurling team and football team they will probably concentrate on hurling

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 05/07/2022 19:33:16    2429973

Really looking forward to the big game this weekend. Colm O Rourke backed us to win which
is a bit of a concern. I expect Derry are favourites by most pundits. Is Cathal Sweeney out?

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 05/07/2022 19:36:11    2429977

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "At U17/U18 level It's normally two games max teams face each other. 2015 Kerry well beat Tipp in the Munster final and hammered them in the AI final. Dublin did the same in 2012 v Meath.

In 2003 Laois v Dublin fared off 4 times. Group game Laois hammered Dublin, Leinster final the Dubs won narrowly. AI final drawn and the AI final replay played in Cullen Park Laois won comfortably."
Yeah I recall Kerry hammered Cork twice at minor level in 2019. They would have met again in the AI final had we not knocked them out in the semi.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 05/07/2022 19:49:21    2429980

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Really looking forward to the big game this weekend. Colm O Rourke backed us to win which
is a bit of a concern. I expect Derry are favourites by most pundits. Is Cathal Sweeney out?"
That's most certainly a concern alright.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 06/07/2022 15:23:42    2430118

Replying To galway19:  "There will have to be a public inquiry if they don't start dominating at Senior within the next 5-6 years. They won that Feile handily and having been winning at underage for fun the last few years (won A and B Galway minor last year which is pretty much unheralded). A ridiculous amount of talent coming through there."
"Strength in numbers"

If they can keep a hold of the Turlough lads (which historically has always been a struggle) they'll be a force. Drop off post u18 has always been an issue.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 07/07/2022 09:49:48    2430202

Replying To ahsure.:  ""Strength in numbers"

If they can keep a hold of the Turlough lads (which historically has always been a struggle) they'll be a force. Drop off post u18 has always been an issue."
We played them lately and they were awful young. I think out of that feile team, there are 3 of them on the Galway senior panel now, which is a fair return. Looks to me like the Turlough lads are choosing hurling over football now, and that this is a Turlough problem.

Any sign of a football club starting in Lackagh/Turlough?

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 07/07/2022 14:48:45    2430322

Replying To PierreBezuhov:  "We played them lately and they were awful young. I think out of that feile team, there are 3 of them on the Galway senior panel now, which is a fair return. Looks to me like the Turlough lads are choosing hurling over football now, and that this is a Turlough problem.

Any sign of a football club starting in Lackagh/Turlough?"
Well Eanna Monaghan has gone the other way and chosen football. He was the best player on the Turlough team that won the Feile in 2019.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 07/07/2022 15:45:14    2430333

Replying To galwayman2:  "Well Eanna Monaghan has gone the other way and chosen football. He was the best player on the Turlough team that won the Feile in 2019."
And thats fine its about choice Fair play to the clubs involved fir facilitating both codes . And at a certain point in players careers they may have to prioritise in general the turlough lads will prioritise hurling but its good to see exceptions especially if a player has more elite potential in one code than the other....not saying thats the case for this lad as i have never seen him hurl....but he definitely has the football potential.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 07/07/2022 17:57:23    2430377

Well that's it folks… O'Rourke is tipping Galway.

It was nice while it lasted. We will go again in 2023.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 08/07/2022 11:15:15    2430435

Replying To ahsure.:  "Well that's it folks… O'Rourke is tipping Galway.

It was nice while it lasted. We will go again in 2023."
He had to ge6tit right once in a blue moon.You never know.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 218 - 08/07/2022 11:32:45    2430444