Galway Football thread

We nearly lost it but the character of this team cannot be doubted. It was all against us going into extra time, (crowd, momentum) and when Armagh got that goal I thought we were gone. But credit to our lads, they found a way to get back into the game and that bodes well for this team.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 27/06/2022 10:49:29    2427902

Replying To OpenStand:  "No offence to the goalkeeper but he looked very unsure of himself, cant seem to catch a highball in , palms rather than fists a ball away . Easily dispossessed , a classic soccer goalie trying to play football. . Looks like been Galways Achilles heel against the goal hungry Derry in the semi final!"
Armagh got 3 goals from long balls lobbed in, and not cleared by Galway. Being a goalkeeper is a difficult job, if you get it wrong, there is no one to bail you out. It is an area Padraig Joyce, and his management will note for the Derry game. I hope Galway's no 1 recovers his form the next day, best of luck to him.
Galway were 6 points up with the game petering out, but conceded 2 goals, Galway still could have won in 70 minutes, if they kept possession of the ball in their opponents half, rather than a careless pass to an Armagh player.
This game was the best of the 4 at the weekend. Derry or Galway will be worthy finalists.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 27/06/2022 11:00:23    2427908

Replying To Cbar:  "Was there yesterday and really hard to believe the game that unfolded. Must be one of the most epic games I've ever been at.

Aside from anything else I think Galway should take great heart from the way the players responded in ET - I didn't give you a prayer after throwing the game away in normal time, that took some guts"
Same, I thought the momentum will be with Armagh and Galway heads will be down. As McDaid said in his interview, the melee woke Galway up. It was of huge benefit to Galway who were then reved up for extra time. They went to the well a number of times in that game, some great leaders on the field outside of the holy trinity. Fair play PJ, he has really brought Galway on.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 27/06/2022 11:01:48    2427909

Very unfair lads targeting the keeper here. The full back line must also take responsibility for not helping protect him, he was under serious pressure with the number of Armagh men in the square contesting the ball. Also there was no pressure put on the kickers out the field, kicking in speculative lobs to the Galway goal. He remained very composed throughout the game & during the penalties.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 27/06/2022 11:13:54    2427918

Replying To moc.dna:  "Very unfair lads targeting the keeper here. The full back line must also take responsibility for not helping protect him, he was under serious pressure with the number of Armagh men in the square contesting the ball. Also there was no pressure put on the kickers out the field, kicking in speculative lobs to the Galway goal. He remained very composed throughout the game & during the penalties."
Agree.. the third goal Molloy makes a mess of jumping for it initially which then causes pandemonium..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 27/06/2022 11:24:40    2427922

Replying To anotheralias:  "Cant believe there is still references to the club game. But since it was brought up , I have to make the point that what the Mountbellew players did was nothing like what went on by both teams yesterday. No Mtbellew player eye gouged or threw a slap. There is a big difference between these acts and a push. And with all the furore about that club incident there were only 2 pieces of actual physical contact made , and lets be honest, both were fairly mild pushes. Again, as ive said countless times before , it was wrong , and there was no excuse for it , but to compare it to what went on yesterday when lads could have lost their sight or suffered broken jaws ....please have perspective."
broken jaws - like the actual broken jaw Oisin McWilliams received in the league earlier this year. Look my argument is that people are getting a wee bit carried away. The eye gouging was disgusting and the player involved should be banned for life in my opinion but what annoys me is that eveyone else thinks that this is some sort of 'Armagh' thing, it is not, EVERY county including your own have been involved in unsavoury incidents so please get some perspective, condemn the player involved as to the whole team and county. I condemn any attack on my fellow GAA members, we are 1 family and we all strive for the best for our community, sport and culture, sometimes this hyped up macho rubbish gets out of hand and people do things in the heat of the moment, my point is we all do it, melees are everywhere - just google GAA melee to see. I am proud of our players who played well and fought for their county, I am also proud of my fellow gaels in galway for putting on such a wonderful display. When the Galway team bus was approaching the stadium myself and other Armagh fans stopped walking and applauded the team on the bus as they passed. Adh Mor in the semi final, I'd like to see Galway or Derry winning Sam.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 27/06/2022 11:43:49    2427930

Replying To moc.dna:  "Very unfair lads targeting the keeper here. The full back line must also take responsibility for not helping protect him, he was under serious pressure with the number of Armagh men in the square contesting the ball. Also there was no pressure put on the kickers out the field, kicking in speculative lobs to the Galway goal. He remained very composed throughout the game & during the penalties."
I'm targetting him for not having a great game in the same way I'm targetting McDaid for stepping up and having a huge game.

Galway had the worst % from long kick outs, the least success from short ones, and the worst to defend the square under the high ball. If people want to blame the full back line for all that, fair enough.
Anyone near me or who I met on the way home acknowledged the same. The first goal, you tip over the bar, the second one you find a player, game over, no extra time.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 27/06/2022 11:51:51    2427931

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Same, I thought the momentum will be with Armagh and Galway heads will be down. As McDaid said in his interview, the melee woke Galway up. It was of huge benefit to Galway who were then reved up for extra time. They went to the well a number of times in that game, some great leaders on the field outside of the holy trinity. Fair play PJ, he has really brought Galway on."
I didn't hear the McDaid interview but I'd agree - as unsavoury as the brawl was.... it might well have done Galway the world of good!

Going off topic MachaireConnacht, how did you feel watching Clare on Saturday? Don't know if Ross would have beaten Derry but would have done better than that anyway... and if you had got over the line you wouldn't fear Galway. A missed opportunity

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 27/06/2022 11:58:18    2427936

Replying To smallfrank:  "I'm targetting him for not having a great game in the same way I'm targetting McDaid for stepping up and having a huge game.

Galway had the worst % from long kick outs, the least success from short ones, and the worst to defend the square under the high ball. If people want to blame the full back line for all that, fair enough.
Anyone near me or who I met on the way home acknowledged the same. The first goal, you tip over the bar, the second one you find a player, game over, no extra time."
Was the first Armagh goal a 'square ball'? The Armagh player is actually in the goalkeeping position, almost on the goalline right beside Gleeson, as that ball pitches down. That is surely 'square ball'? Hard for goalies to work miracles in that situation.

You'd possibly want to be Peter Schmeichel calibre, at putting manners on attackers under high ball, to have survived that situation, and soccer keepers have the huge advantage that the attacker can't put hands on it. To be fair to Gleeson, it was a calamitous scenario for him really, to be right under his own crossbar, side by side with an Armagh player, like two midfielders going for the high ball. Assuming the Armagh player in question is good in the air, one can't really be expecting miracles from Gleeson in that situation.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 27/06/2022 12:48:13    2427954

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Was the first Armagh goal a 'square ball'? The Armagh player is actually in the goalkeeping position, almost on the goalline right beside Gleeson, as that ball pitches down. That is surely 'square ball'? Hard for goalies to work miracles in that situation.

You'd possibly want to be Peter Schmeichel calibre, at putting manners on attackers under high ball, to have survived that situation, and soccer keepers have the huge advantage that the attacker can't put hands on it. To be fair to Gleeson, it was a calamitous scenario for him really, to be right under his own crossbar, side by side with an Armagh player, like two midfielders going for the high ball. Assuming the Armagh player in question is good in the air, one can't really be expecting miracles from Gleeson in that situation."
Read the Square ball rule!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1399 - 27/06/2022 13:35:12    2427984

Delighted for Galway yesterday even though ye did your best to try and lose it.!!
Least ye play football all the way
Ye need to sort out your goalkeeping problem. No disrespect but he's not up to the task .
Rory Gallagher will have a field day with the high ball and your short kick out.
Going forward ye look the real deal.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 27/06/2022 13:54:01    2427999

Replying To Cbar:  "I didn't hear the McDaid interview but I'd agree - as unsavoury as the brawl was.... it might well have done Galway the world of good!

Going off topic MachaireConnacht, how did you feel watching Clare on Saturday? Don't know if Ross would have beaten Derry but would have done better than that anyway... and if you had got over the line you wouldn't fear Galway. A missed opportunity"
I would like to think if they had hung on against Clare that it would have given a huge lift to the team to achieve a first championship win in croker since 1980. And with that attacked the game more and pressurised Derry. I think we could have been competitive and our forwards and midfield might have asked more questions of Derry than Clare, but even if they did work on defence in those two weeks, I still think we would have been punished at the back. Add in Derrys fitness levels and I think we would have been beaten. But it's all hypothetical now. Definitely was the side of the draw to be on for any team that was able to go to the next level and put the hand up.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 27/06/2022 13:54:51    2428001

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Read the Square ball rule!"
Fair enough, you'd really think teams would practice the art of landing high ones under the crossbar, and having a fielder under it, standing right on the goaline beside the keeper. Could be a lot of keepers taking 'early retirement' rather than dealing with that 'task' on a regular basis. Maybe forewarned is forearmed too, and Galway would cope better next time. They'd want to.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 27/06/2022 14:04:53    2428009

Just watching the game back.
Molloy with a lovely score off the outside of the boot.
"That surely is that for Galway" says Darragh Maloney.
70.59 Galway 1.16 Armagh 0.13
We should have never let them back into it

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 27/06/2022 14:21:39    2428021

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Was the first Armagh goal a 'square ball'? The Armagh player is actually in the goalkeeping position, almost on the goalline right beside Gleeson, as that ball pitches down. That is surely 'square ball'? Hard for goalies to work miracles in that situation.

You'd possibly want to be Peter Schmeichel calibre, at putting manners on attackers under high ball, to have survived that situation, and soccer keepers have the huge advantage that the attacker can't put hands on it. To be fair to Gleeson, it was a calamitous scenario for him really, to be right under his own crossbar, side by side with an Armagh player, like two midfielders going for the high ball. Assuming the Armagh player in question is good in the air, one can't really be expecting miracles from Gleeson in that situation."
Gleeson was a soccer goalie, when a cross comes in most keepers come out aggressively and punch the ball as far away from the danger zone as possible. This guy patted the ball down for the first and came out soft for the second. He was not decisive for the third and almost cost Galway the game. His kick outs were not great either. As for square ball, its possible but you could also make an argument that he was on the edge of the square as the ball was kicked in, Galway should not have to rely on the ref calling a square ball, keeper should have put man, ball and everything in is way somewhere into the second tier of the Cusack stand.

BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 111 - 27/06/2022 14:49:58    2428030

Replying To Tom1916:  "broken jaws - like the actual broken jaw Oisin McWilliams received in the league earlier this year. Look my argument is that people are getting a wee bit carried away. The eye gouging was disgusting and the player involved should be banned for life in my opinion but what annoys me is that eveyone else thinks that this is some sort of 'Armagh' thing, it is not, EVERY county including your own have been involved in unsavoury incidents so please get some perspective, condemn the player involved as to the whole team and county. I condemn any attack on my fellow GAA members, we are 1 family and we all strive for the best for our community, sport and culture, sometimes this hyped up macho rubbish gets out of hand and people do things in the heat of the moment, my point is we all do it, melees are everywhere - just google GAA melee to see. I am proud of our players who played well and fought for their county, I am also proud of my fellow gaels in galway for putting on such a wonderful display. When the Galway team bus was approaching the stadium myself and other Armagh fans stopped walking and applauded the team on the bus as they passed. Adh Mor in the semi final, I'd like to see Galway or Derry winning Sam."
Thanks Tom - I would have shouted for Armagh in the past and I'm sure there were only a small minority of Armagh players doing bad things yesterday and yes there can be sledging / goading on both sides. As you say we are all Gaels and there are enough brexiteers / partitionists around without GAA matches dividing us also!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 27/06/2022 14:55:31    2428034

Ok, I've calmed down a bit. More rational analysis!

Gleeson was poor but he knows that himself. Ball under the crossbar was tough to deal with but he should have tapped it over for a point. The goal when he had the ball in his hand he should have held on to it. He is better than that and usually secure under high ball. I would worry about his confidence now.

Defensive unit looked really good apart from the few moments of madness.

We missed a few goal chances. Pa Kelly & Comer could have laid it off. Tierney as well, but we got the goal out of that eventually.

Shane was not exceptional yesterday but he was still effective and took a lot of attention which opened the door for others. What were u doing Shane with the crossfield pass!! You can't be a special player without doing special things and they don't always work.......but i doubt he'll do that again in the 78th minute!

McDaid is just fantastic and has been since he came on against Mayo. Really fulfilling his potential.

Tierney had excellent game. He was having a quiet year but he oozes class.

Will be interesting to see what the CCCC come up with. I thing most if not all of our lads will be exonerated (apart from Mike Tyson with the blue bib!)

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 27/06/2022 15:20:42    2428046

Replying To Mayonman:  "Ok, I've calmed down a bit. More rational analysis!

Gleeson was poor but he knows that himself. Ball under the crossbar was tough to deal with but he should have tapped it over for a point. The goal when he had the ball in his hand he should have held on to it. He is better than that and usually secure under high ball. I would worry about his confidence now.

Defensive unit looked really good apart from the few moments of madness.

We missed a few goal chances. Pa Kelly & Comer could have laid it off. Tierney as well, but we got the goal out of that eventually.

Shane was not exceptional yesterday but he was still effective and took a lot of attention which opened the door for others. What were u doing Shane with the crossfield pass!! You can't be a special player without doing special things and they don't always work.......but i doubt he'll do that again in the 78th minute!

McDaid is just fantastic and has been since he came on against Mayo. Really fulfilling his potential.

Tierney had excellent game. He was having a quiet year but he oozes class.

Will be interesting to see what the CCCC come up with. I thing most if not all of our lads will be exonerated (apart from Mike Tyson with the blue bib!)"
Cathal Sweeney really stood up in my estimation yesterday.. He's a very level headed young man and he saw the gouge clearly and then decked that thug.. Armagh lads jumped on him then like a pack of wolves but PJ in fairness ran straight in to help him..
Armagh GAA should come out and apologise for that behaviour of their players yesterday.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 27/06/2022 15:36:08    2428059

Well done Galway, I hope ye win the All Ireland, that close game will have done ye more good than 100 training sessions.
Derry will be confident, but Galway have the beating of them, just cut out the silly mistakes.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 27/06/2022 15:49:27    2428067

tommy k and Mayonman (glad you've calmed down now lol) very good posts and good analysis by mayonman - my take on it was that some galway players didn't perform to their full potential and that is a good thing as you still won a tough tough championship match, therefore Galway already know they are better than that so to me they are the team to beat. All of those players should be exonerated (Mike Tyson for galway did no wrong in my opinion). Everyone I speak to today in Armagh is disgusted by the gouging incident (not the 1st in our games in recent years), it or the perpetrator have any place in our association.
On a particularly nasty note, when I returned home to Armagh a galway neighbour replaced the armagh flag on my house with a galway flag, I am going to email the CCCCC and maybe C Flanagan to get an investigation asap.

Well done Galway enjoy your hard earned victory.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 27/06/2022 15:51:49    2428068