Galway Football thread

Re Gleeson I felt sorry for him as all the 3 situations that led to the goals were a bit awkward in fairness and a lot of the responsibility has to be put at the feet of the defenders too plus you cannot EVER allow a ball to bounce in the big square in front of you. Re the second goal its easy to say it but if you are trying to get rid of the ball go to the side and even put it over the end line for a 45 if one of your backs is not available instead of passing it out in front of you with the danger of an incoming forward kicking it into the net as what happened. I actually thought most of his kick-outs were quite good yesterday even though Armagh won a lot of them particularly in the first half and he showed his personal class consoling the Armagh goalie after the penalty shootout like Sean Kelly did when shaking hands with Aidan Nugent who was sent off with him before extra time (both unfairly as video evidence clearly shows).

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 27/06/2022 16:04:44    2428073

Replying To BostonGuy:  "Gleeson was a soccer goalie, when a cross comes in most keepers come out aggressively and punch the ball as far away from the danger zone as possible. This guy patted the ball down for the first and came out soft for the second. He was not decisive for the third and almost cost Galway the game. His kick outs were not great either. As for square ball, its possible but you could also make an argument that he was on the edge of the square as the ball was kicked in, Galway should not have to rely on the ref calling a square ball, keeper should have put man, ball and everything in is way somewhere into the second tier of the Cusack stand."
That man ball and all in the shhtand stuff is just cliche really. Gleeson isn't Tyson Fury. That was Armagh we were playing yesterday. Not many teams put them lads into the 2nd tier of any shhtand. Have you checked out the size of Gleeson & the size of the Armagh lad that was 'legally' (under new square ball rules) allowed to stand right beside him under the dropping ball, right on the goaline. Those new 'square ball' rules are a war on goalkeepers, I think. It'll back to the pre60s next, where we'll be back 'jowlten' and charging goalies over their own goalines, and claiming legitimate green flags for it.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3421 - 27/06/2022 16:34:30    2428088

Bid decisions for the 5,000 strong GAA fanatics in the county.
Follow the hurler's or follow the footballers.

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 27/06/2022 16:45:15    2428091

Replying To Vish:  "Bid decisions for the 5,000 strong GAA fanatics in the county.
Follow the hurler's or follow the footballers."
Is it 5000 Vish - I thought it was only 1000? lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 27/06/2022 16:52:20    2428095

I know the forwards / midfield will get most of the plaudits but I thought nearly all the backs played very well yesterday (apart from the dealing with the balls dropping into the square of course!) especially McHugh and Molloy who don't always grab the headlines but they kept pressing forward and creating overlaps and point / goal chances many of which were converted. They each had one sloppy play where the ball was given away to an Armagh player but overall I thought they were very good.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 27/06/2022 17:02:27    2428100

Replying To smallfrank:  "Just watching the game back.
Molloy with a lovely score off the outside of the boot.
"That surely is that for Galway" says Darragh Maloney.
70.59 Galway 1.16 Armagh 0.13
We should have never let them back into it"
We didn't. 2 individuals let them back into it - Gleeson and Shane. The team as a whole were fantastic and I think we will beat Derry.

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 27/06/2022 17:12:26    2428110

Congratulations to the Galway players and management team on a great victory. They showed guts, character, never-say-die spirit, skill and class in one of the best and most dramatic matches I have ever seen in Croke Park. It seemed that no matter what was thrown at them, they had a single-minded determination to prevail over adversity. It was a proud day for Galway GAA. We had to win the match about 3 times. The goals conceded were of the soft variety. At least one was a square ball. Armagh had no option but to throw caution to the wind and lob speculative balls in to the Galway square. This was a big change in strategy. It took the Galway backs a bit by surprise. The goalie Gleeson is being pilloried. He shouldn't be. The forwards were in on top of him. He will be a better goalkeeper for the experience. Changing the goalkeeper would be a mistake. Gleeson won't make these mistakes again. The referee had a poor match. The Armagh players were let away with a lot of aggression, bad tackles and sledging. This directly caused the melee at the end of normal time. The ref then compounded his failures by issuing a red card to the Galway captain Sean Kelly who was trying to restore peace, despite the Galway players being incensed by an Armagh "person" eye gouging Damian Comer, a really low disgraceful act. Overall Galway can be very proud of their outstanding performance in Croke Park yesterday. Gaillimh Abu.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 27/06/2022 17:18:31    2428114

Replying To tommy k:  "I know the forwards / midfield will get most of the plaudits but I thought nearly all the backs played very well yesterday (apart from the dealing with the balls dropping into the square of course!) especially McHugh and Molloy who don't always grab the headlines but they kept pressing forward and creating overlaps and point / goal chances many of which were converted. They each had one sloppy play where the ball was given away to an Armagh player but overall I thought they were very good."
How about Billy Mannion's play for the critical goal in ET. Everyone saw McDaid, and he was outstanding, but Mannion took that ball from outside the 50 to the edge of Armagh's box, and then delivered the perfect pass at the perfect moment. Critical contribution.

That was Armagh's issue yesterday. They were consumed with Walsh, Comer, & Conroy, and got beat by Finnerty, Tierney, McDaid, and then substitute Billy Mannion in the finish.

Either they 'hammered the hammer' to excess, or we've more 'hammers' than they thought we had!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3421 - 27/06/2022 17:22:41    2428119

The way we decimated Derry up in Owenbeg was a joy to watch, it'll be a different game entirely in two weeks time though - cannot wait.

Let's get behind this team, they deserve it.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 27/06/2022 18:40:02    2428150

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "That man ball and all in the shhtand stuff is just cliche really. Gleeson isn't Tyson Fury. That was Armagh we were playing yesterday. Not many teams put them lads into the 2nd tier of any shhtand. Have you checked out the size of Gleeson & the size of the Armagh lad that was 'legally' (under new square ball rules) allowed to stand right beside him under the dropping ball, right on the goaline. Those new 'square ball' rules are a war on goalkeepers, I think. It'll back to the pre60s next, where we'll be back 'jowlten' and charging goalies over their own goalines, and claiming legitimate green flags for it."
Players are not allowed to stand beside the keeper under the new rules, they have to be outside the square when the ball is kicked in, he done that. Although I wasn't around in the 60's I saw old highlights including Martin Furlong of Offaly almost getting killed. U maybe taking on a little bit of an exaggeration there, I don't think we will see that return to football, I havent seen a goalie being charged into the back of the net since the rule change. Also you might have taken my man/ball into stand just a little too literal, Gleeson may not be Tyson Fury but he is not a small man and he was guilty yesterday of not commanding his goal area. He needed to manage high balls he did not and he needed to distribute the ball better than he did yesterday. All in all he had a very bad day at the office and this very nearly cost Galway the game.
The Armagh player had every right under the rules to be where he was, as did the Galway defense, the goalkeeper did not command the area, he patted one down to a forward, went down soft and hand passed another into a forward and was guilty (with Molloy) of indecision for the third.

BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 111 - 27/06/2022 18:52:16    2428153

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "How about Billy Mannion's play for the critical goal in ET. Everyone saw McDaid, and he was outstanding, but Mannion took that ball from outside the 50 to the edge of Armagh's box, and then delivered the perfect pass at the perfect moment. Critical contribution.

That was Armagh's issue yesterday. They were consumed with Walsh, Comer, & Conroy, and got beat by Finnerty, Tierney, McDaid, and then substitute Billy Mannion in the finish.

Either they 'hammered the hammer' to excess, or we've more 'hammers' than they thought we had!!"
And o laoi had a massive impact His first touch and a point where he handed off an Armagh and put him back 10 yards on his back, so much for Armagh's mma , the bench was the difference scored or had direct involvement in 1-3 Whereas Armagh's bench contributed 1-1, I know that only led to the draw but if they hadn't been introduced Armagh would've won it in ET

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 27/06/2022 19:29:52    2428163

Agreed on defensive performance. Not much talk about him but I thought Jack Glynn was excellent too.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 27/06/2022 19:33:12    2428167

Replying To BostonGuy:  "Players are not allowed to stand beside the keeper under the new rules, they have to be outside the square when the ball is kicked in, he done that. Although I wasn't around in the 60's I saw old highlights including Martin Furlong of Offaly almost getting killed. U maybe taking on a little bit of an exaggeration there, I don't think we will see that return to football, I havent seen a goalie being charged into the back of the net since the rule change. Also you might have taken my man/ball into stand just a little too literal, Gleeson may not be Tyson Fury but he is not a small man and he was guilty yesterday of not commanding his goal area. He needed to manage high balls he did not and he needed to distribute the ball better than he did yesterday. All in all he had a very bad day at the office and this very nearly cost Galway the game.
The Armagh player had every right under the rules to be where he was, as did the Galway defense, the goalkeeper did not command the area, he patted one down to a forward, went down soft and hand passed another into a forward and was guilty (with Molloy) of indecision for the third."
If the Armagh player is in the exact same position as the Galway goalie under the dropping ball, isn't there every prospect that the Armagh player will 'command the area' with as much rigour as the Galway goalkeeper?

What's to stop Armagh moving that 'flygoalie' of theirs onto the opposition goaline now & again, and then Armagh folk would be wondering why their keeper isn't 'commanding the area', if he doesn't get a goal every time they drop a bomb on the right spot under the opposition's crossbar.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3421 - 27/06/2022 19:59:20    2428179

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "That man ball and all in the shhtand stuff is just cliche really. Gleeson isn't Tyson Fury. That was Armagh we were playing yesterday. Not many teams put them lads into the 2nd tier of any shhtand. Have you checked out the size of Gleeson & the size of the Armagh lad that was 'legally' (under new square ball rules) allowed to stand right beside him under the dropping ball, right on the goaline. Those new 'square ball' rules are a war on goalkeepers, I think. It'll back to the pre60s next, where we'll be back 'jowlten' and charging goalies over their own goalines, and claiming legitimate green flags for it."
A 6ft 6in keeper and indeed his defenders have to make the edge of the square an absolute war zone under dropping Hail Mary ball, especially entering injury time with what looks like a healthy lead. Armagh didn't have enough time to win it on points, young kids around me in the stand knew that, so the Hail Mary efforts were inevitably going to come. Ball like that raining in, in desperate search of a goal has to be fisted away to either corner, as far as you can put it, never out in front of the goal where incoming forwards are likely to get on the end of it. Even fisting it over the bar and taking every second possible to kick out afterwards is preferable to the cluster of errors we made in those few mins. Thank God we came through it and the learnings will be massive but to go to the next level again, we need to close out games ruthlessly. These lads are always learning, they've shown that. This can be addressed and I think it will be.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 902 - 27/06/2022 20:00:19    2428180

Congrats to Galway on a fine win. Yes ye almost messed it up but Galway were the better team. It had drama and excitement. Galway showed a steel and toughness I haven't seen before so maybe it's yer year and if not Galway are certainly going in the right direction.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 27/06/2022 20:06:56    2428183

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "Congratulations to the Galway players and management team on a great victory. They showed guts, character, never-say-die spirit, skill and class in one of the best and most dramatic matches I have ever seen in Croke Park. It seemed that no matter what was thrown at them, they had a single-minded determination to prevail over adversity. It was a proud day for Galway GAA. We had to win the match about 3 times. The goals conceded were of the soft variety. At least one was a square ball. Armagh had no option but to throw caution to the wind and lob speculative balls in to the Galway square. This was a big change in strategy. It took the Galway backs a bit by surprise. The goalie Gleeson is being pilloried. He shouldn't be. The forwards were in on top of him. He will be a better goalkeeper for the experience. Changing the goalkeeper would be a mistake. Gleeson won't make these mistakes again. The referee had a poor match. The Armagh players were let away with a lot of aggression, bad tackles and sledging. This directly caused the melee at the end of normal time. The ref then compounded his failures by issuing a red card to the Galway captain Sean Kelly who was trying to restore peace, despite the Galway players being incensed by an Armagh "person" eye gouging Damian Comer, a really low disgraceful act. Overall Galway can be very proud of their outstanding performance in Croke Park yesterday. Gaillimh Abu."
I agree with alot of what you say and rightly proud you should be of such a great performance but you may have a wee bit of rose tinted glasses. The goal was not a square ball, it was completely legitimate according to the rules of the GAA. Nothing wrong with aggression as it is a contact sport, bad tackles and sledging are different and both teams were guilty of both (unless the Armagh free count was 0). Sledging is disgusting and needs to be cracked down on but to suggest Armagh were the only team to be at it is ludicrous, it is a poison running through club and county teams in every county. Most people agree that it was a Galway player sledging and pushing that led to the melee, Armagh were eejits to react and listening to McGeeneys interview I still don't think he's learned. The fact that you only think it was unfair for Sean kelly to get a red card and not Armaghs Nugent just shows your unfair bias, both those players were trying to restore peace and the cards will rightly be rescinded. You are correct in the analysis of the gouging and I can assure you the people of Armagh are as disgusted as you are, I am just back from coaching U9's and my first task was to sit them down and talk to them about this disgusting act as I know some of the children were upset having witnessed the melee. I couldn't agree more with your last sentence and i also enjoyed the craic with the galway, mayo and kerry supporters, that is what the GAA is about.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 27/06/2022 20:19:27    2428188

Only really coming to terms with the result now. What a game. Brilliant performance. Three bad goals to concede but this is easy to address. Yes , CG has to take a fair portion of the responsibility ( not all) for these goals but this is very fixable. He is a huge man with good hands so there is no reason why he cant dominate the square. Also thought his kickouts were very good. Regarding the penalties, I know he didn't have to make a save but he is a huge presence in the goal and has a reputation for saving penalties. This had to play on the Armagh players minds as they approached the kick and it may have encouraged them to force their shots close to the posts , where there is less margin for error, and this manifested itself in 2 out of 3 missing the target.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 28/06/2022 09:34:05    2428235

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "If the Armagh player is in the exact same position as the Galway goalie under the dropping ball, isn't there every prospect that the Armagh player will 'command the area' with as much rigour as the Galway goalkeeper?

What's to stop Armagh moving that 'flygoalie' of theirs onto the opposition goaline now & again, and then Armagh folk would be wondering why their keeper isn't 'commanding the area', if he doesn't get a goal every time they drop a bomb on the right spot under the opposition's crossbar."
They are not in the exact same position, they have to be outside the box when the ball is kicked. The defense and goalie CAN can be in the square and are in a better position to "command their area". The advantage is with the defense and they need to "command the area". I thing your interpretation of a person from the opposition standing on the goal line waiting for a bomb to drop in is not realistic. Lets not make excuses here, I'm not saying he's a bad keeper, Im not convinced from the games I saw that hes a good one either, but on the day he was awful and nearly cost Galway the game.

BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 111 - 28/06/2022 15:00:07    2428366

Replying To BostonGuy:  "They are not in the exact same position, they have to be outside the box when the ball is kicked. The defense and goalie CAN can be in the square and are in a better position to "command their area". The advantage is with the defense and they need to "command the area". I thing your interpretation of a person from the opposition standing on the goal line waiting for a bomb to drop in is not realistic. Lets not make excuses here, I'm not saying he's a bad keeper, Im not convinced from the games I saw that hes a good one either, but on the day he was awful and nearly cost Galway the game."
Also, the keeper is on his line facing the ball coming in. All the advantages are with him.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 28/06/2022 15:27:52    2428387

Replying To togoutlads:  "A 6ft 6in keeper and indeed his defenders have to make the edge of the square an absolute war zone under dropping Hail Mary ball, especially entering injury time with what looks like a healthy lead. Armagh didn't have enough time to win it on points, young kids around me in the stand knew that, so the Hail Mary efforts were inevitably going to come. Ball like that raining in, in desperate search of a goal has to be fisted away to either corner, as far as you can put it, never out in front of the goal where incoming forwards are likely to get on the end of it. Even fisting it over the bar and taking every second possible to kick out afterwards is preferable to the cluster of errors we made in those few mins. Thank God we came through it and the learnings will be massive but to go to the next level again, we need to close out games ruthlessly. These lads are always learning, they've shown that. This can be addressed and I think it will be."
100% agree, Galway were the way better team on Sunday but nearly lost the game because of ineffective game management and a keeper who did not "command his area". This Galway team has a lot of talent and not reliant on one or two players. I do have concern around the keeper, he did not play well against Mayo or Armagh, I would also say his kick out distribution put Galway under a lot of needless pressure. Hopefully he will improve both before the next game.

BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 111 - 28/06/2022 15:27:58    2428388