2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Must say I've gone from being optimistic about the championship to now being very worried our year could be over after first 2 games. Over reaction? Maybe but Yesterday was the first time we had to play a team who brought a championship pace to proceedings and we were in trouble all over the pitch. That's not a good sign 3 weeks out. I hope I'm wrong but there's loads of issues to be sorted out… corner back, centre back, midfield, half forward line, chin's fitness and free taking spring to mind"
I agree with all the points here. After yesterday championship team I would go for the Galway game is
Fanning
Devitt
Ryan
Flood
Paudie Foley - Very poor yesterday needs to up his game
Hanlon- Stops lads running through the middle and creating overlaps
Reck - One shining light yesterday
Dee
Kevin Foley - Needs to up his game
Jacko
Oisin Foley
Chin- Fitness depending and we need him on frees
Rory
Mac - Needs to up his game too
Dwyer

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 28/03/2022 10:54:17    2407664

Replying To Viking66:  "Exactly my feeling. Halfback line and half forward line likely to be very different come championship and the middle 3rd is where any game is won or lost these days. Hope your clubman Shane is back for some of the games too. I think he would be our best man for Dessie Hutchinson if we meet them again in the All Ireland series . Certainly Simon wasnt the man for him although he had to face him 2 on 1 alot of the time as our half forwards weren't tracking back. Tbh we looked leggy all over the pitch and the players and management looked relaxed after the game. It was like they weren't too bothered about losing that game and tbh neither am I."
The fact they weren't too bothered isn't good . And the question is why. We aren't going to win the all Ireland. We haven't won a national league since 1973 ? Yet we get to a semi final and it doesn't matter if we win or not. What's that all about. Waterford were all guns blazing and so should we have been.

Northcountyball (Wexford) - Posts: 17 - 28/03/2022 10:57:04    2407667

Replying To Viking66:  "Exactly my feeling. Halfback line and half forward line likely to be very different come championship and the middle 3rd is where any game is won or lost these days. Hope your clubman Shane is back for some of the games too. I think he would be our best man for Dessie Hutchinson if we meet them again in the All Ireland series . Certainly Simon wasnt the man for him although he had to face him 2 on 1 alot of the time as our half forwards weren't tracking back. Tbh we looked leggy all over the pitch and the players and management looked relaxed after the game. It was like they weren't too bothered about losing that game and tbh neither am I."
I wasn't too bothered about the Dublin defeat in the Walsh Cup due to the time of the year but 3 weeks before championship is more of a concern, Waterford's 2nd goal summed us up yesterday, Gleeson just sauntered through with Paidi or Kevin Foley laying a glove on them, for whatever reason our defensive instincts seemed to abandon us.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 28/03/2022 11:01:06    2407669

Ah here

You can blame all the players you want and tactical switches.But when your manager goes off to the sun to Cheltenham and loses focus the players are going to do the same.when I seen that 2 weeks ago I senced an accident about to happen.Can somebody please tell me what encouragement is that to a squad of players.It really has to be said.The experienced players are not getting any younger. We Need a "roy keane" in there.

Wexpurebred (Wexford) - Posts: 205 - 28/03/2022 11:03:24    2407670

I think chin had the operation on the injury in the off season and he is slowly working his way back to full fitness, but I could be wrong

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 28/03/2022 11:04:44    2407672

Replying To wexico15:  "I wasn't too bothered about the Dublin defeat in the Walsh Cup due to the time of the year but 3 weeks before championship is more of a concern, Waterford's 2nd goal summed us up yesterday, Gleeson just sauntered through with Paidi or Kevin Foley laying a glove on them, for whatever reason our defensive instincts seemed to abandon us."
*without Paidi or Kevin Foley laying a glove on them*

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 28/03/2022 11:21:36    2407685

Replying To Wexpurebred:  "Ah here

You can blame all the players you want and tactical switches.But when your manager goes off to the sun to Cheltenham and loses focus the players are going to do the same.when I seen that 2 weeks ago I senced an accident about to happen.Can somebody please tell me what encouragement is that to a squad of players.It really has to be said.The experienced players are not getting any younger. We Need a "roy keane" in there."
I'm really worried now if the manager went to Cheltenham FOR THE Sun!

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1022 - 28/03/2022 11:38:27    2407689

Replying To hunting:  "I think chin had the operation on the injury in the off season and he is slowly working his way back to full fitness, but I could be wrong"
Didn't undergo any surgery. The year would've been written off if he had done so.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 28/03/2022 11:40:12    2407690

Can we please have an official announcement regarding Chins injury from management

We have been listening to rumours since January

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 28/03/2022 11:50:31    2407695

Disappointing and worrying performance yesterday. I didn't like the look of that team yesterday, especially the half forward line. I think Wexford and Egan took the game as just another league match and Waterford took it for what it was a semi final and a chance to get to the final and potentially win the league. Waterford looked like they were primed and fully focused on us and we looked like it was just another game to tick off the list - don't understand our casual approach and I would have loved a shot at a league final.

Anyway the very best of luck to Waterford and I do hope they go on and win the league now. Also I'd hope a bit of common sense will happen and Gleeson gets that red card downgraded to a yellow. It looked harmless/stupid, Gleeson did connect with Donoghue and he went down alright but to be fair to him he was pleading with the ref to not send Gleeson off. I'm sure whatever Wexford county board and Donoghue can do to get him off they will do it. Gleeson is an unbelievable player and it would be a shame for him to miss a league final.

logger (Wexford) - Posts: 305 - 28/03/2022 12:02:14    2407704

You can blame all the players you want and tactical switches.But when your manager goes off to the sun to Cheltenham and loses focus the players are going to do the same.when I seen that 2 weeks ago I senced an accident about to happen.Can somebody please tell me what encouragement is that to a squad of players.It really has to be said.The experienced players are not getting any younger. We Need a "roy keane" in there."
did he go over with Sheedy? heard him talking about that on Daly's podcast. The day of the meet and greet was the same day as the Gold Cup anyway.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 28/03/2022 12:06:07    2407707

Replying To logger:  "Disappointing and worrying performance yesterday. I didn't like the look of that team yesterday, especially the half forward line. I think Wexford and Egan took the game as just another league match and Waterford took it for what it was a semi final and a chance to get to the final and potentially win the league. Waterford looked like they were primed and fully focused on us and we looked like it was just another game to tick off the list - don't understand our casual approach and I would have loved a shot at a league final.

Anyway the very best of luck to Waterford and I do hope they go on and win the league now. Also I'd hope a bit of common sense will happen and Gleeson gets that red card downgraded to a yellow. It looked harmless/stupid, Gleeson did connect with Donoghue and he went down alright but to be fair to him he was pleading with the ref to not send Gleeson off. I'm sure whatever Wexford county board and Donoghue can do to get him off they will do it. Gleeson is an unbelievable player and it would be a shame for him to miss a league final."
I'd have no pity for Gleeson, 18 points up no need to getting involved in that carry on if I was a Waterford supporter I'd be tearing my hair out, as Roy Keane said if your giving the referee a decision to make you can't really complain, Jacko's red was equally as silly and avoidable I will add.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 28/03/2022 12:09:55    2407710

Replying To wexico15:  "I'd have no pity for Gleeson, 18 points up no need to getting involved in that carry on if I was a Waterford supporter I'd be tearing my hair out, as Roy Keane said if your giving the referee a decision to make you can't really complain, Jacko's red was equally as silly and avoidable I will add."
Agree 100%. Look at where the dig with the hurl was aimed .

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 28/03/2022 12:40:13    2407728

Replying To wexico15:  "I'd have no pity for Gleeson, 18 points up no need to getting involved in that carry on if I was a Waterford supporter I'd be tearing my hair out, as Roy Keane said if your giving the referee a decision to make you can't really complain, Jacko's red was equally as silly and avoidable I will add."
I agree it was an idiotic thing to retaliate, but no credit either to WX corner back who went down as if hid with a sledge hammer

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 996 - 28/03/2022 12:44:51    2407730

Replying To wexico15:  "did he go over with Sheedy? heard him talking about that on Daly's podcast. The day of the meet and greet was the same day as the Gold Cup anyway."
Yes went over with Sheedy and two other Tipp lads.

Wexford will still be in the mix for Leinster regardless of what happened yesterday.

We can beat Dublin, Kilkenny & Galway an any given day and them the same to us.

The Galway game 1st round of champo in Wexford Park is the right time to judge the players and Egan.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 970 - 28/03/2022 12:46:32    2407732

Youd prefer no contact Wexico. You never stop looking for reds and commenting on harmless challenges. Most people want more contact. More shoulders..more physicality. Hard luck yesterday. Deflates the Hype totally which may help Wexford in the long run.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 28/03/2022 13:15:40    2407745

Replying To Yellow:  "Horrible day at the office yesterday

Lessons learned;
Paudie Foley is our championship centre back.
Kevin Foley needs to play midfield or forwards.
Oisin Foley Jack O Connor and Chin are all good ball winners and should all play in the half forward line. Connal Flood must start. Donohue had a bad day yesterday and Shane Reck might be better option for the corner - Donohue has other positions he can play or could be a good impact sub he has been very good in the league so don't want to write him off.

Team selection was very suspicious yesterday. Many of our best players on the bench. Rory o Connor couldn't even point simple chances and even frees from in front of the posts. The ref and linesmen were terrible and we should have had a penalty and also had a goal disallowed when the game was in the balance.

A disaster but I'm hoping for big improvements in championship."
That's a very important point.

Had that goal counted we were well in the the game.

Officials were brutal but we were beaten by a better side.

We might have had 3 penalties in that game.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3837 - 28/03/2022 13:41:10    2407753

This is ridiculous criticism.

We can disagree on tactics or team selection, but the man is entitled a private life. He should be able to go to watch another sporting event on a bank holiday without being ridiculed for it.

He is a school principal, a teacher and an intercounty manager. He essentially has 3 jobs and you're cribbing about him enjoying a day off?

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 533 - 28/03/2022 13:47:51    2407758

The players and management should not be relaxed about yesterday's result. While I don't believe they should be kicked when down, they should be seriously annoyed with the performance.
I don't care less about Daire Egan being in Cheltenham. He like the players is fully entitled to do whatever he wants off the pitch.
But if this is really part of some grand plan, then somebody should tell them how it feels to be a Wexford supporter today. I went in to work this morning and the first question I was asked from a Tipp man was if that was our minor team we sent up for the match.
Speaking of the minors, well done to them on Saturday. Survived an onslaught from the Dubs I heard.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1898 - 28/03/2022 13:51:38    2407760

Replying To StoreysTash:  "The players and management should not be relaxed about yesterday's result. While I don't believe they should be kicked when down, they should be seriously annoyed with the performance.
I don't care less about Daire Egan being in Cheltenham. He like the players is fully entitled to do whatever he wants off the pitch.
But if this is really part of some grand plan, then somebody should tell them how it feels to be a Wexford supporter today. I went in to work this morning and the first question I was asked from a Tipp man was if that was our minor team we sent up for the match.
Speaking of the minors, well done to them on Saturday. Survived an onslaught from the Dubs I heard."
I see it as a good wake up call for Wexford. They'll learn from it I'm sure.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2595 - 28/03/2022 14:00:11    2407764