2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To Onfor15:  "Under Davy in the league we got hammered in the 2019 quarter final, hammered in the 2018 semi final and hammered in the 2017 semi final.

Under Davy in the championship we got hammered in the 2020 Leinster semi final and well beaten by a rubbish clare team in the qualifiers. Well beaten in the 2018 quarter final and hammered in the 2017 leinster final."
Cant remember the last time we lost by 19 points or 16 points though. Even when Tipp scored 5 goals against us in the 2017 League semifinal we only lost by 11 points. Although later that summer we reached our 1st Leinster final in a good few years. Hope that's a happy omen! We have work to do. And 3 weeks to do it. That's the bottom line.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16566 - 27/03/2022 20:28:33    2407540

Replying To Viking66:  "Cant remember the last time we lost by 19 points or 16 points though. Even when Tipp scored 5 goals against us in the 2017 League semifinal we only lost by 11 points. Although later that summer we reached our 1st Leinster final in a good few years. Hope that's a happy omen! We have work to do. And 3 weeks to do it. That's the bottom line."
We had good and bad days under Davy like we have so far with Darragh, weather its 19, 16 or 11 of a difference doesn't matter too much in the general scheme of things, all I'm worried about now is Galway on Easter weekend.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 27/03/2022 20:46:20    2407551

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Shocking performance against an excellent Waterford team who have skill, athleticism and physicality in abundance and could go all the way this summer.
I was shocked when I saw the half forward line selected for today and feared we were going to get cleaned out there. What happens fanning is forced to go short with a puck out and a goal is scored. The backs were all over the place and we could easily have conceded 8/9 goals . Rory had one of those days but was our only threat up front ( 4 starting forwards substituted). Jacko's carry on leading to his red card not good enough.
The only positive was chin coming on but that's tempered by the fact he's only deemed fit enough for 20 mins 3 weeks out from Galway."
Lee was a worry for me tbh. Looked like he was restricted in his movement and was limping towards the end. After the game he spent time on the ground with the physio.
As you say only fit for 15 mins in the first place and in close to goal at that.

Northcountyball (Wexford) - Posts: 17 - 27/03/2022 21:16:28    2407570

Well that was chastening. I thought Waterford might do a job on you but not by that much. There's some limitations in the Egan gameplan. People were talking about him as being some sort of genius during the week. The guy has been spanked by Limerick as part of the Tipp backroom team for the last few years.
It's not all doom and gloom. With Chin back and a few experienced guys back then Wexford will improve. But you have some really limited players and revert to individual attempts at rescuing when the only option is teamwork. O Connor was being talked about in the same breath as Tony Kelly. That was madness, he probably started believing it abit. I do understand a team needs confidence but the stuff guys from tbe '96 team were saying is hilarious now looking back on it.
I dont like to see teams getting hammered. This is a harsh harsh lesson. We ll see how good Egan is now..'principle of a primary school at 30 I hear".. Eye Roll

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 27/03/2022 21:17:07    2407571

The big result of the weekend was the minor result yesterday. Being honest this current senior team are never going to win a national title. Nowhere near good enough sadly. I've said this before, until we start producing underage teams that are seriously competing for All Ireland championship's, were never winning another All Ireland. This attitude of 'all we need is one or two' is mediocre bullshit. The current minor team looks pretty strong (should have beaten Dublin by at least 10 points from what I hear) and I hear the U21s are very strong also. Are they good enough to win an All Ireland, I dunno, but that should be the standard within the fanbase and county board not just have they a shot at Leinster. Everyone needs to think bigger IMO. As my Dad said, Wexford think they can win while serious teams know they'll win.

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 27/03/2022 21:19:22    2407573

Replying To bloodyban:  "Well that was chastening. I thought Waterford might do a job on you but not by that much. There's some limitations in the Egan gameplan. People were talking about him as being some sort of genius during the week. The guy has been spanked by Limerick as part of the Tipp backroom team for the last few years.
It's not all doom and gloom. With Chin back and a few experienced guys back then Wexford will improve. But you have some really limited players and revert to individual attempts at rescuing when the only option is teamwork. O Connor was being talked about in the same breath as Tony Kelly. That was madness, he probably started believing it abit. I do understand a team needs confidence but the stuff guys from tbe '96 team were saying is hilarious now looking back on it.
I dont like to see teams getting hammered. This is a harsh harsh lesson. We ll see how good Egan is now..'principle of a primary school at 30 I hear".. Eye Roll"
Yes chastening experience today but been totally blunt after you claimed Flanagan didn't deserve a red in last years Munster Final for a hurl to the neck I can't take you seriously.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 27/03/2022 21:39:47    2407586

Replying To wexico15:  "Yes chastening experience today but been totally blunt after you claimed Flanagan didn't deserve a red in last years Munster Final for a hurl to the neck I can't take you seriously."
What's that got to do with yer hammering today!!!

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 904 - 27/03/2022 21:47:14    2407589

Replying To wexico15:  "Surely you more down after Tipp in 2019?"
Believe it or not no.

The best team lost that day. We left it behind us and I thought we'd come back better.

Today reminded me of kilkenny in 07.

Thought we were in with a good shout and were so off the pace the build up seems kind of silly..

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3836 - 27/03/2022 21:57:42    2407599

Replying To updwell:  "What's that got to do with yer hammering today!!!"
Nothing just stating why I don't worry about that poster says, read earlier posts I've already given my views on today.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 27/03/2022 22:03:35    2407606

Replying To wexico15:  "Yes chastening experience today but been totally blunt after you claimed Flanagan didn't deserve a red in last years Munster Final for a hurl to the neck I can't take you seriously."
Sometimes you need to take the beating, realise its the league and completely irrelevant and look ahead. I've had this word whataboutery thrown at me on this forum which I find amusing but wexford were miles off today which I feel isn't a true reflection and I'd hold tight for another few weeks before making any assessment. That's the time for a performance like that not in 3 weeks time. All this stuff lately is meaningless. Happens year after year.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 27/03/2022 22:05:03    2407607

Don't panic.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 546 - 28/03/2022 08:08:00    2407610

Replying To daveboy:  "Sometimes you need to take the beating, realise its the league and completely irrelevant and look ahead. I've had this word whataboutery thrown at me on this forum which I find amusing but wexford were miles off today which I feel isn't a true reflection and I'd hold tight for another few weeks before making any assessment. That's the time for a performance like that not in 3 weeks time. All this stuff lately is meaningless. Happens year after year."
Better off finding out that some of the players being touted during the league are not ready now rather than in three weeks time. That's tough to accept if you went up and paid to get in but hopefully it may mean that the next 20euro won't be a waste

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2026 - 28/03/2022 08:24:01    2407615

Lads that was an abject performance yesterday . Had the feeling of the Kilkenny defeat in 2015. I said before the game I was worried about the half forward line and that came to be the case . Why was Oisin Foley and Jack O Connor not starting ? There's only 3 weeks to championship and we need to be finding our best 15 and get them used to playing with each other . Pepper starting was questionable also he's only a leaving cert and extremely light for this level yet . He is a good prospect but we threw him in at the deep end yesterday . Donohoe was miles off his man yesterday . Flood has to start. Chin is also a huge worry . It's clear that his knee problem is being managed and he's going into championship with just 15 minutes hurling behind him . We are going to need a huge reaction to pick things up before Galway . Let's hope for a similar response like we seen in the Limerick game

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 28/03/2022 09:03:56    2407619

Looked like we were trying to lose! Waterford looked class, but we made them look good with our tactics and team selection!
I admit i will probably have to eat my words about Dessie and the Waterford panel they looked awesome in the flesh yesterday but i'll hold off until Championship to be completely convinced. A few weeks of training might do us no harm and i wouldn't be completely pessimistic.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 28/03/2022 09:25:05    2407625

I know only too well how a player feels this morning, I had it more times than I care to remember. So first things first, for me yesterday was "one of those days".
That said, I think tactically we were all over the place. I never see the benefit of just gifting the puck out to a full back line, but even when we did, were lads not supposed to stop the ball going in to the Waterford full forward line. Where were they if so? Easy thing to blame our backs but the ball came from their full back line.
Rory was poor but he never got a sniff of it. He needs space and if the opponent has 2/3 marking him, he is easily snuffed out. Himself and McDonald are constantly being fouled but yet compared to KK/Cork where very similar frees were being blown, we can't seem to buy a free.
A few decisions went against us but we have to look closer to home before we blame the referee. I always say it when we are hurling with the club. Control what we can control.
We need a massive reaction over the next few weeks. If this was all part of some grand plan which has been hatched then great, but national titles are rare as hens teeth in Wexford and to go to Kilkenny yesterday and not even lay a glove on Waterford is extremely disappointing.
But credit to Waterford again, they are a serious side.
We will go again in 3 weeks time. Down but not out.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1897 - 28/03/2022 09:37:44    2407629

Looked like we were trying to lose! Waterford looked class, but we made them look good with our tactics and team selection!
I admit i will probably have to eat my words about Dessie and the Waterford panel they looked awesome in the flesh yesterday but i'll hold off until Championship to be completely convinced. A few weeks of training might do us no harm and i wouldn't be completely pessimistic.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 28/03/2022 09:47:04    2407635

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Looked like we were trying to lose! Waterford looked class, but we made them look good with our tactics and team selection!
I admit i will probably have to eat my words about Dessie and the Waterford panel they looked awesome in the flesh yesterday but i'll hold off until Championship to be completely convinced. A few weeks of training might do us no harm and i wouldn't be completely pessimistic."
Must say I've gone from being optimistic about the championship to now being very worried our year could be over after first 2 games. Over reaction? Maybe but Yesterday was the first time we had to play a team who brought a championship pace to proceedings and we were in trouble all over the pitch. That's not a good sign 3 weeks out. I hope I'm wrong but there's loads of issues to be sorted out… corner back, centre back, midfield, half forward line, chin's fitness and free taking spring to mind

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 28/03/2022 09:59:07    2407639

Horrible day at the office yesterday

Lessons learned;
Paudie Foley is our championship centre back.
Kevin Foley needs to play midfield or forwards.
Oisin Foley Jack O Connor and Chin are all good ball winners and should all play in the half forward line. Connal Flood must start. Donohue had a bad day yesterday and Shane Reck might be better option for the corner - Donohue has other positions he can play or could be a good impact sub he has been very good in the league so don't want to write him off.

Team selection was very suspicious yesterday. Many of our best players on the bench. Rory o Connor couldn't even point simple chances and even frees from in front of the posts. The ref and linesmen were terrible and we should have had a penalty and also had a goal disallowed when the game was in the balance.

A disaster but I'm hoping for big improvements in championship.

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 28/03/2022 10:21:45    2407648

Replying To WEX98:  "Don't panic."
Exactly my feeling. Halfback line and half forward line likely to be very different come championship and the middle 3rd is where any game is won or lost these days. Hope your clubman Shane is back for some of the games too. I think he would be our best man for Dessie Hutchinson if we meet them again in the All Ireland series . Certainly Simon wasnt the man for him although he had to face him 2 on 1 alot of the time as our half forwards weren't tracking back. Tbh we looked leggy all over the pitch and the players and management looked relaxed after the game. It was like they weren't too bothered about losing that game and tbh neither am I.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16566 - 28/03/2022 10:22:21    2407649

Waterford were superior in every line. They simply just blew us away. Our backs were the worst I've seen for years. Flood should have been in there from the start. I think most of the team will have to take a close look at themselves in the mirror this morning. Rory was snuffed out throughout the game and constantly ran into roadblocks. Looks like Chin has a way to go before he's back to full fitness. The only lads that played fairly well were Dee and Reck. What about our championship prospects? Not good if you base it on yesterday's gutless display but really what they can do and i believe they will is forget about that game and hammer out the errors that cropped up time and time again. I honestly believe that we will see a different Wexford against Galway and in the games to follow. We are Wexford and we simply can't lie down and die.

Blockandhook (Wexford) - Posts: 668 - 28/03/2022 10:43:35    2407659