2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

I see some things never change.

Apparently ye shouldn't be allow hurl for Wexford at any level unless you come from one of the so called "bigger" clubs in the eyes of many still.

Same old same old, where you're from trumps everything else.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1551 - 01/05/2022 13:43:47    2414354

As Johnny Logan once sang, "what's another year"…..

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1747 - 01/05/2022 15:58:04    2414379

Typical. One time I'm rooting for kilkenny

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3882 - 01/05/2022 16:11:17    2414382

Laois were horrendous today i think they got one point from play. Saying that we were very good and took our chances well when they were presented to us. McGuckin very poor again offers nothing and I was surprised he lasted 50 minutes. Jacko was brilliant

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 302 - 01/05/2022 16:14:27    2414383

Laois are useless it'll be the same next week v Westmeath two teams way off the pace. A four horse race for three qualifying spots.
Scoring difference should be done away with in this group

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 01/05/2022 16:25:03    2414391

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "Laois were horrendous today i think they got one point from play. Saying that we were very good and took our chances well when they were presented to us. McGuckin very poor again offers nothing and I was surprised he lasted 50 minutes. Jacko was brilliant"
Think they got 3. Heard Jacko played very well only could listen on SE Radio online as I'm in Limerick. Good result for our scoring difference if it matters down the line.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16836 - 01/05/2022 16:40:29    2414396

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "Laois were horrendous today i think they got one point from play. Saying that we were very good and took our chances well when they were presented to us. McGuckin very poor again offers nothing and I was surprised he lasted 50 minutes. Jacko was brilliant"
They were but we were very clinical and there are other days we wouldn't have been.

Who knew shaking things up in the half forward line and adding some more physicality would make a difference, eh most people did, well done Jack o Connor today, excellent.

Kilkenny result today matters very little in the grand context of things, anyone who thought somehow Kilkenny being already qualified meant an easier run for us in Nolan park was deluding themselves.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1551 - 01/05/2022 17:49:10    2414417

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Typical. One time I'm rooting for kilkenny"
Why? We need to win all 3 games no matter what. Today's result changed nothing regarding what we need to do in 3 weeks time.
And, even if Kilkenny were through, they love beating Wexford.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1923 - 01/05/2022 19:55:41    2414472

Anyway I could watch the match back lads, gaa go etc.. I couldn't go today

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 01/05/2022 20:27:14    2414480

Replying To ahsure.:  "As Johnny Logan once sang, "what's another year"….."
Ye can never complain about that call in Wexford Park again.

We'll best them on the last day and they'll be gone

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3882 - 01/05/2022 20:31:42    2414482

Very proud day yesterday. Saw out what was a tough battle with Dublin and felt our previous games stood to us. Last year was heart break and just a poor performance. I've stated here many times none of the players put any blame on the setup or decisions. They put full blame on themselves and have put a lot of work into this themselves this year. Big day ahead now against KK.
On a side note Joe Fortune has done a very impressive job with Westmeath this year. Winning Keogh Cup, National league and pushing KK and Dublin in championship. Hopefully he does us a favour in two weeks time and gets over Laois. I hope someday he gets a real shot here with us.
We will be up against it with KK after their performance yesterday but that was an excellent excellent Galway yeah on paper so all to play for.

96andproud (Wexford) - Posts: 34 - 03/05/2022 10:14:40    2414486

Massive win for the Under 20s . Some very good performances across the pitch. Big test in the final now . Huge prize on offer a provincial title and place in an all Ireland final.

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 03/05/2022 10:49:48    2414497

Positives big scores found our goal scoring and possibly should of had two or three more. Chin got good minutes in his legs. Rory outstanding again

Negative frees still an issue chin missed three. Should have brought on banville very sluggish in first half.

We'll done to the under 20s very gritty

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 370 - 03/05/2022 10:54:31    2414500

Job done on Saturday. Will give them a bit of confidence.

2 games left. 2 wins needed.

Team for westmeath

Fanning
Donohue
Ryan
Devitt
Paudie
Reck
O hanlon
Dee
Liam og
Chin
Jacko
Flood
Morris
Mac
Rory.

I think that half forward line but be impressive.

Impact subs oisin Kevin f Dunbar dwyer

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 157 - 03/05/2022 11:18:34    2414506

Great display by the U-20's.
Pure dogged determination saw them over the line.
Plenty of good hurlers on that U-20's panel.

Well done to Keith Rossiter and all involved.

Punter72007 (Wexford) - Posts: 319 - 03/05/2022 11:29:28    2414511

No senior action this weekend means the full focus for supporters will be heading to Dr Cullen Park on Monday evening to watch the Under 20's v Kilkenny. Should be an interesting game.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 03/05/2022 11:50:10    2414523

U20 game was a right game. Very impressed with Jack Redmond Kyle scallan and Cian Molloy. Tomas Kinsella had a good game when he came on as well caused a few problems for Dublin.

Would be great to see them go on and win it now but it will be tough.

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 302 - 03/05/2022 11:53:14    2414524

Brilliant performance by a very talented bunch of Wexford hurlers yesterday.

Great fielding good ability to catch high ball great skill levels and loads of heart.

Top class free taking was the difference though with Cian Byrne in super form the best free taker in this age group since Jack Guiney. It shows us how many senior games we would win with a free taker of this level.

Many future seniors in this team Cian Byrne and Molloy, AJ Redmond, Kyle Scallan, Jack Redmond and Joe Barrett all excellent and that's even leaving out some other good performances.

Their body language was poor vs Laois a few weeks ago but yesterday they were fired up stood tall and battled to a deserved victory with their heads held high. I gave out about them last year and I am delighted they showed the character to turn things around.

Well done to all involved

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 03/05/2022 11:58:17    2414527

Where is U20s final being played??

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 03/05/2022 12:07:00    2414535

Where is U20s final being played??

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 03/05/2022 12:10:50    2414536