All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo

Replying To avonali:  "Go away outta that you oul begrudger....WOOOOHOOOOOOOO!"
An insightful retort. I think you know it's true.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1045 - 19/12/2020 23:35:23    2324266

Replying To Saynothing:  "It was the beach volleyball goals that killed Mayo."
Skillfuly finished goals today, yes, I think

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 877 - 19/12/2020 23:35:53    2324267

Replying To galwayfball:  "I doubt their were many homes in dublin where people were jumping up and down celebrating an AI win.

Sad to think about that something that was so important is just part of the process now"
Not the same excitement for me as 74, 83, 95 or 2011 after long gaps, but as regards satisfaction and achievement, top of the heap, unreal.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 877 - 19/12/2020 23:40:16    2324272

Replying To arock:  "Name one Dub club "juiced to the hilt", sheer bile and begrudgery. Maybe sport is not your thing."
Not begrudging you anything, just pointing out facts. And yeah, sport is my thing sonny. Every Dublin club is heavily centrally funded, games promotion officers, coaches, numerous club facilities off the charts compared to those even in our more densely populated areas around the country. The population is one advantage that's there and we Just have to get on with but to overfund this advantage so disproportionately is scandalous. The funding bias is ridiculous. GAA need to be brought to task on this. They've selected a long term winner, backed it and are shafting the rest of us.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1045 - 19/12/2020 23:43:28    2324273

Replying To Saynothing:  "A lot of supporters on here with the we're beat attitude before a ball is kicked. Love to be playing Dublin in Croke Park but at least give it a go. Counties have to raise their game and do the simple things right. Giving ball away, kicks into keepers arms, loose defending for goals, giving away frees, these all add up. Dubs don't do it , plus they don't panic."
A lot of bitter people stating that football is finished after a game that finished 16 scores to 15 scores. Incredible begrudgery.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4742 - 19/12/2020 23:50:24    2324276

Next season.
Scrap the advanced mark
3 substitutes only.

congrats Dublin ,
Worthy winners.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 19/12/2020 23:57:10    2324279

Replying To galwayfball:  "I doubt their were many homes in dublin where people were jumping up and down celebrating an AI win.

Sad to think about that something that was so important is just part of the process now"
Oh yea ? My whole street was hopping , 6 in a row :-)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 19/12/2020 23:57:54    2324281

Well done Mayo, impossible to accept now, but for any amateur team to compete that long with Dublin deserves massive credit.. ye are true heroes in your county and more..

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 167 - 20/12/2020 00:06:02    2324284

Replying To royaldunne:  "Nonsense jimbo. The funny thing is that it's the Leinster final that will be the undoing of Dublin, Dublin farted around for 50/55 minutes today to try to take heat of the debate. It won't work."
Ah here nonsense indeed , So Dublin farted around for 50 odd minutes to take the heat out of the debate
Jesus fcuking wept.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 20/12/2020 00:09:15    2324285

Replying To Saynothing:  "It was the beach volleyball goals that killed Mayo."
No it wasnt

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 20/12/2020 00:10:28    2324287

Replying To traleegerry:  "Yep they kept mayo on a string for a while and then the professionals took over another couple of mil in grants for the dubs hers to 7 in row. Have the gaa any idea how they are going to get interest back in football"
No professionals on this Dublin team , winter well oh bitter Kerry one -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 20/12/2020 00:14:35    2324288

Replying To FoolsGold:  "The commentary was poor. McStay drooling over Dublin and looking for Mayo players to be carded
Might have a chip that he was overlooked for Mayo job in the past"
You need to get your hearing checked oh bitter one -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 20/12/2020 00:17:25    2324289

Replying To Htaem:  "Again you're letting emotion cloud your view jimbo, denial can be very powerful.

And yes fairplay to Mayo for doing their best, that's all amateurs can do, but I'm sure they will take some solace from all the pats on the arse they'll get from the Dubs for a smashing effort.

Enjoy your fantasy while it lasts jimbo, maybe some day you'll wake up and see what the rest of us can see but I doubt it!"
Maybe some day you will wake up and see what a shambles your county has become

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 20/12/2020 00:21:08    2324291

Replying To bad.monkey:  "A lot of disrespect on here to a great group of Dublin players on and off the pitch. Thankfully real GAA people don't mix the players up with any funding gripes they might have. Best wishes to the great Mayo people and players. They will win Sam soon no question."
A great group. Funny. Does this include the players from 2015 who didn't start? Or the ones from 2011? Funding is an issue and I suggest you do some research before posting stuff like this.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 746 - 20/12/2020 00:25:43    2324293

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Nah it's called playing negatively. Ya can try and put make up on it anyway ya like, but there was nothing enjoyable about Dublin backpassing on their own 45. And Dublin do it even when they're beating teams out the gate. Not comparable to a tight game in Ulster."
Nah you can call it any way you like , but i would call it 6 in a row -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 20/12/2020 00:26:37    2324295

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "Tomorrow we can get on with looking forward to Christmas...another forgettable all Ireland final...it's been a complete yawn"
I enjoyed it -:) Happy xmas

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 20/12/2020 00:29:02    2324296

People can dress this up whatever way want but the fact is Mayo were further off Dublin at the final whistle than they have been in any of the twos final meetings over the last decade. Watching that game and particularly the second half I felt Dublin could have stepped it up if they were required and for a lot of it they just retained possession as they had a comfortable enough gap between them and Mayo.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/12/2020 00:32:25    2324299

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "Ah well my friend enjoy your little triumph..the rest of the country won't really care tomorrow..people are completely turned off by what's going on...nobody really cares anymore...the lemon is all yours"
A little triumph 6 in a row ? Boo hoo bloody sure we will enjoy it , all 1.3 million of us fcuk you and your lemons -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 20/12/2020 00:33:56    2324300

Replying To galwayfball:  "We need to switch off the tv when Dublin are playing. Loss of money is the only way the GAA will do that. If galway play the dubs I cant not go /watch it's my county and I want to support the galway players but I'll be switching off any other games.

Sad to see the scenes at the end....another day at the office for the players , "lads we have to look happy" Contrast that with the tipp and cavan provincial victories. Or even Mayo winning connacht"
Dry your eyes lad

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 20/12/2020 00:36:42    2324302

Replying To Black+Blue:  "Is there a possibility of starting a petition to limit/ severly limit/erase the handpass from our game and promote kicking instead ?

Not an Anti- Dublin post as they are super foot passers and would most likely win the Championship currently..... just worried about the volume of handpassing from all teams.... its not exactly a 'skill' is it ??"
Go ahead and start it yourself !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 20/12/2020 00:39:47    2324303