All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo

Replying To superbluedub:  "Maybe some day you will wake up and see what a shambles your county has become"
Congrats on the 6, super achievement.

Here's to the magnificent 7.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/12/2020 01:02:20    2324318

Ya know its funny just because the rest of us from the 31 counties in Ireland talk about the unfairness of the gaa twords Dublin and the rest for example my own county have not been allowed to play a game in the national stadium that tax payers from all over the country has paid for. For 8 years... but Dublin play meaningless league matches in February and meaningless leinster semi finals when they win by 30 points in our national stadium. But god forbid we come on here and voice our opinions about it because we are all seen as begrudgers twords Dublin when how can hard facts be begrudgein I do not know

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 20/12/2020 01:32:19    2324326

I like Dublin, they bring colour, money and massive interest to Gaelic Games undoubtedly. However yesterday was a stroll for them even though some will try to dress it up differently. It's up to the Association from here as to how they proceed now. If they are happy to keep Dublin winning every year and the revenue that brings to HQ THEN be honest with us. As it stands the vast majority of football fans outside Dublin are totally and utterly pi**ed off and will eventually walk away.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 20/12/2020 02:25:21    2324336

The begrudgery on here is nothing short of shameful. Its a massive disrespect to the Mayo players who for 3/4s of the game showed every other county what they need to do, the fact is they didn't have the subs that could make it happen and Dublin did. Kerry the team that took Dublin to a replay last year will look at this and learn from it and will come out next year going at it harder than ever and Mayo to will be back.
I cannot understand posters on here from the top football counties who seem to have already written the epitaph of their teams when they go out and play Dublin. In fairness despite some of the Mayo supporters on here, not one Mayo supported I know ever believes they cannot beat Dublin. I have no doubt that nobody is giving up playing Gaelic in Mayo because they are afraid of Dublin, if anything it will inspire them to get to the next level and win. That is in contrast to some posters here from big football counties who seem to want nothing more than spread doom and gloom, how would any of these counties hope to get to the top is you lads have anything to do with it. You should be ashamed of yourselves and hopefully you have nothing to do with anything to do with underage GAA as based on your posts here the kids under your charges would learn nothing and would end up being miserable playing the game, resulting in them giving up.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 20/12/2020 05:05:58    2324346

Replying To Irishcelt:  "Not hard to come out of Ulster either Dublin would walk the Ulster championship just like they walk past any of the Ulster teams they come against especially Tyrone they can even beat Tyrone with there second team in a dead rubber in Tyrone for godsake"
Exactly

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/12/2020 07:57:54    2324354

Replying To Rolo2010:  "A great group. Funny. Does this include the players from 2015 who didn't start? Or the ones from 2011? Funding is an issue and I suggest you do some research before posting stuff like this."
The 2020 team who won the All-Ireland yesterday.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 20/12/2020 09:08:11    2324371

Mayo gave it their best shot for 55 minutes but it was noticeable that their decision making, shot selection and ball handling deteriorated in the last 10-15 minutes, and allowed Dublin pull away. As another poster said, Dublin had a couple more gears in the locker if they were needed.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 20/12/2020 09:15:33    2324372

Replying To superbluedub:  "You need to get your hearing checked oh bitter one -:)"
Hearing is fine. Its not bitter, have balanced commentary.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 20/12/2020 09:16:20    2324373

Great , great achievement and congratulations to all the players and management on another All Ireland title. Joining some of the great Kerry team of the past on 8 winners medals is some feat. Six in a row is unbelievable.
I'm sure Jim Gavin was watching but great for Dessie Farrell who was only going to get fingers pointed at him if Dublin had lost.
Some great displays again yesterday from guys who just don't know how to lose and have to say I wouldn't swap Con for any forward in the country. Superb again as always.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/12/2020 09:30:51    2324380

Replying To Irishcelt:  "Not hard to come out of Ulster either Dublin would walk the Ulster championship just like they walk past any of the Ulster teams they come against especially Tyrone they can even beat Tyrone with there second team in a dead rubber in Tyrone for godsake"
Keywords, DEAD RUBBER. In Ulster Dublin would at least get a runout.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 20/12/2020 09:40:13    2324386

Keywords, DEAD RUBBER. In Ulster Dublin would at least get a runout. Dublin could play the Dublin ladies team in Leinster.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 20/12/2020 09:43:57    2324387

Replying To Saynothing:  "Keywords, DEAD RUBBER. In Ulster Dublin would at least get a runout. Dublin could play the Dublin ladies team in Leinster."
No they wouldnt. They would mop up in Ulster.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 20/12/2020 10:07:28    2324396

Replying To zinny:  "The begrudgery on here is nothing short of shameful. Its a massive disrespect to the Mayo players who for 3/4s of the game showed every other county what they need to do, the fact is they didn't have the subs that could make it happen and Dublin did. Kerry the team that took Dublin to a replay last year will look at this and learn from it and will come out next year going at it harder than ever and Mayo to will be back.
I cannot understand posters on here from the top football counties who seem to have already written the epitaph of their teams when they go out and play Dublin. In fairness despite some of the Mayo supporters on here, not one Mayo supported I know ever believes they cannot beat Dublin. I have no doubt that nobody is giving up playing Gaelic in Mayo because they are afraid of Dublin, if anything it will inspire them to get to the next level and win. That is in contrast to some posters here from big football counties who seem to want nothing more than spread doom and gloom, how would any of these counties hope to get to the top is you lads have anything to do with it. You should be ashamed of yourselves and hopefully you have nothing to do with anything to do with underage GAA as based on your posts here the kids under your charges would learn nothing and would end up being miserable playing the game, resulting in them giving up."
I do believe that as a general trend,, as society has become more entitled, liberal and "sophisticated",, we have forgotten that sometimes you have to put your shoulder to the wheel,, we love a whinge when things don't go our way,, when in reality we should be getting off our backsides and working harder,, avd I've said in here that county boards all over this country are not blameless in their teams failures,, its too easy to point the finger at the big bad dubs,, but I've never seen the type of dominance that I'm seeing now.
Dublin could play a 10 game championship and won the first 9 at a canter but if the last 10 minutes of the final is a bit edgy for them people say it proves everything is fine.
I'm sure the Kerrys/Mayos etc will argue they're doing everything they can to stop the dubs.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 20/12/2020 10:23:09    2324405

Replying To royaldunne:  "Where are these cracks ?? Dublin barely got out of second gear. Please tell me where is their cracks ?? Apart from a few stupid shots at the end that is the best mayo performance of the year. So where is their any hope for another county ? Dublin magnificent 7 is a cert. the question is the 10 in a row. And tbh I don't see how they can be beat."
This Dublin team are the best sporting team Ireland has ever produced; just remarkable what've achieved. Yes like all counties they've added players but the nucleus is there; Cluxton, McCarthy, Fenton, Kilkenny, Rock to name a few; footballers that would have graced any era.

Mayo whilst being in the wrong era as usual turned up in Croke Park and weren't annilated before they took the field; the same way Kerry weren't last year and the way Mickey Harte always respected this Dublin team but never allowed a narrative they're uncatchable. Yes he didn't beat them in a big championship game but did draw a super 8 game and win a few league games putting everything into catching them.

Sometimes special teams come along in sport but history shows eventually as the main players leave the stage so does the untouchable narrative.

Dublin for the first team in a decade looked flustered in the sense they didn't have calm control. The half time antics, the second half assault on Keegan, the bouncing off players to win frees is something we don't see from this group of players. I believed Mayo would win yesterday due to the short season; they competed and were right there but in the end it was clear Mayo were in fact three years too late; they missed their chance previously and yesterday didn't have the depth to go from 55mins to 75mins.

When Dublin freshened up the main areas of the field Mayo sadly for them had no answer and that was the difference.

Kerry, Mayo, Galway lets see what happens in Tyrone and I'm not sure how much is left in Donegal are building and not allowing the untouchable Dublin narrative.

Galway U20's showed yesterday they have respect for their county and won't throw in the towel. Other proud football counties need to build their own castle and be in a position to one day beat Dublin; I fear for many the psychological damage is extensive and in a few years even an average Dublin team will beat some before entering the field.

Galway showed yesterday Dublin football isn't successful due to money; it's just the senior team are a very special set of players, we should respect them whilst they're around, as they are and will be GAA legends for generations to come. However I don't think 10 will happen; I sense we're getting closer to the day Sam is handed over to someone else; sadly it won't be to an another Leinster county.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 20/12/2020 10:32:11    2324416

Replying To zinny:  "The begrudgery on here is nothing short of shameful. Its a massive disrespect to the Mayo players who for 3/4s of the game showed every other county what they need to do, the fact is they didn't have the subs that could make it happen and Dublin did. Kerry the team that took Dublin to a replay last year will look at this and learn from it and will come out next year going at it harder than ever and Mayo to will be back.
I cannot understand posters on here from the top football counties who seem to have already written the epitaph of their teams when they go out and play Dublin. In fairness despite some of the Mayo supporters on here, not one Mayo supported I know ever believes they cannot beat Dublin. I have no doubt that nobody is giving up playing Gaelic in Mayo because they are afraid of Dublin, if anything it will inspire them to get to the next level and win. That is in contrast to some posters here from big football counties who seem to want nothing more than spread doom and gloom, how would any of these counties hope to get to the top is you lads have anything to do with it. You should be ashamed of yourselves and hopefully you have nothing to do with anything to do with underage GAA as based on your posts here the kids under your charges would learn nothing and would end up being miserable playing the game, resulting in them giving up."
I think begrudgery is dying out zinny, what you're starting to see now is apathy.

Even from the Dublin players, I saw McMahon and Murchan interviewed last night, no hysterics after winning 6 in a row, just very composed, professional, Leinster Rugby like interviews from the lads.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/12/2020 10:40:36    2324424

I fully expect Mayo to dust themselves down ,add more talents to the ranks , and will probably have at least another 2 or 3 cracks at Dublin over the next 5/6 years.

Mayos aggressive running game, and very aggressive kick out strategies will cause, serious problems to most teams next year , but we need more numbers in the squad to compete with Dublin for 80 minutes.

Though Horan maybe should have had more of the old guard on the the bench yesterday as they could have possibly stifled Dublin changes and their charge in the final quarter.... likes of Boyler for 20 mins,

Still short of another 4 or 5 players but Horan has done fantastically well developing this style so quickly and he's clearly building a young team which will be there or thereabouts over the next decade.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 20/12/2020 11:04:52    2324439

Dublin bench strength is crucial. Without the crowd and it being winter it reminded me of some league matches in croke park. Opposition put in a decent performance and put it up to the dubs but dublin s&c and bench strength comes to the fore and sees them through. Imagine howard, basquel and mannion coming on to the mayo team. You'd fancy them then to win if the subs were swapped. Howard had a great second half. Without him dublin had limited options of winning 50/50 balls in the first half. The mayo press on cluxton and their ability to win their own kick outs was as good as they could have hoped for.
This mayo team is not as good as it was a few years ago and ultimately they need another high end forward to compliment O'connor. Maybe in time conroy will get there though it wasn't to be yesterday. And unlike dublin they can't go to their bench. Their defence has been porous to goals but have some fine players though as it with a lot of teams they could do with a defender or two who want to be defenders.
If you take the repetitive of nature of dublin continuing to win yesterday's game was a decent enough final. Dublin really did push on in the second half and kicked some lovely, and hard earned scores. Mayo did not make the most of their dominance in the first half. They did not manage the start if the second half well either, allowing dublin to eat the clock. They should have pushed up more with the spare man. Anyhow fair play to dessie and the dubs. Debates about the rights and wrongs of structures and Dublins dominance is for a different topic.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 688 - 20/12/2020 11:08:17    2324442

Congrats to Dublin on the win and the 6 in a row. Their collective effort, skill and consistency of performance make them a very special team. Cluxton, Fenton, O'Callaghan, Kilkenny, Rock and McCaffrey are among the very best to have played the game.

As for Mayo, they can't be faulted for their effort and sheer will to keep coming back to the well. They gave their all on the night but it was not enough. You can't make basic mistakes against this Dublin team. In the second half, Mayo made too many unforced errors and at times their shot selection was dreadful. Clearly part of their plan was to get at least parity on the kick-outs and at centre field. It worked in the first half. However, it was a case of robbing Peter to pay Paul as not enough scores came from their forward line. Conroy under performed in his first final, Diarmuid O'Connor was on containment duties, O'Shea spent most of his time outfield to plug the gap there and it was just too much to expect Cillian O'Connor to do it all on his own. Dublin's subs made a significant impact in that last quarter but Mayo's subs did not. One does wonder, whether Darren McHale would have made some impact coming as sub. The man after all was the outstanding forward in the this year's Mayo championship. Was Mayo's forward options so good that they could not even find a place for him on the subs bench?

Box13 (Galway) - Posts: 56 - 20/12/2020 11:09:49    2324444

Replying To Htaem:  "Congrats on the 6, super achievement.

Here's to the magnificent 7."
And not forgetting the tremendous 10

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/12/2020 11:20:15    2324451

Replying To Htaem:  "I think begrudgery is dying out zinny, what you're starting to see now is apathy.

Even from the Dublin players, I saw McMahon and Murchan interviewed last night, no hysterics after winning 6 in a row, just very composed, professional, Leinster Rugby like interviews from the lads."
Rugby has a lot of problems now with concussion and medical treatment issues. World rugby is being sued by some of the players involved. And Soccer is under a cloud here due to the FAI situation and the poor performance of the Irish teams in Europe. So Gaelic football is in an ok place at the moment. And has a good future.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 20/12/2020 11:21:13    2324453