All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo

Replying To jonno:  "Yes. In 7 months we'll have listened to another Stephen Cluxton speech and Dublin will be looking back at things that weren't quite right."
Not so sure but likely. I think you will see a few of retirements from the panel over the next couple of years and their underage teams havent been cleaning up every year the last few years. I think what we have seen is a golden generation of footballers a bit like the Kilkenny hurlers, only with 2 great managers instead of just 1 to get the best out of them. If they get 7 in a row fair play to them. They are the greatest team ever played the game. I dont personally think they will get to 10 as some people seem to think. At the same time if they dont win another for 10 or 15 years, as has happened before, then great!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11698 - 19/12/2020 21:08:48    2324130

Yep they kept mayo on a string for a while and then the professionals took over another couple of mil in grants for the dubs hers to 7 in row. Have the gaa any idea how they are going to get interest back in football

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 19/12/2020 21:16:15    2324139

Is there a possibility of starting a petition to limit/ severly limit/erase the handpass from our game and promote kicking instead ?

Not an Anti- Dublin post as they are super foot passers and would most likely win the Championship currently..... just worried about the volume of handpassing from all teams.... its not exactly a 'skill' is it ??

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 122 - 19/12/2020 21:16:31    2324140

The commentary was poor. McStay drooling over Dublin and looking for Mayo players to be carded
Might have a chip that he was overlooked for Mayo job in the past

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 19/12/2020 21:23:51    2324149

What time does Coppers open lads? Fecking freezing here in Harcourt Street but at least I got ahead of the rush.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7326 - 19/12/2020 21:24:30    2324150

Replying To Irishcelt:  "So who's second best if it's not mayo? Coz we seen what Dublin done to the rest of leinster and we seen what they done to cavan who came out of the great great Ulster championship"
Not hard to come out of Leinster. 2nd best team relegated to Div 2. I said 4 or 5 teams on a par after Dublin. Try and give Mayo and Cavan a capital letter the next time you mention them. Think they deserve it.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2003 - 19/12/2020 21:28:20    2324152

Replying To Htaem:  "To me it seemed quite obvious, Dublin were making remarkably basic errors that Dublin just don't make, eg:

1. Kicked a sideline ball straight to an unmarked Mayo player's hands

2. For 55mins they were incredibly poor on their own kickouts and at contesting Mayo's, poorest I've seen them in a long long time. At one stage the ball went through a Dublin players legs from a short kickout by Cluxton under no pressure, unbelieve stuff!

3. Con O'Callaghan going for a goal that was never on

In the final 15-20mins though Dublin just took over and sealed the game but you'd do well to convince me Dublin weren't just going a bit handy for large parts of that match.

Again, no insult intended to the Dublin players, they are remarkable, but I'm not sure the opposition have the tools to catch Dublin any more."
It's interesting to think you typed all that thinking you might be insulting Dublin players..

For someone with such a razor sharp perception. .

I'll leave you to figure it out.

To think of the shambles of an effort Meath have put in against Dublin two years in a row. Abysmal stuff. Embarrassing.

To belittle Mayo's efforts tonight when they were right in it up until late in the game with your theory that Dublin purposely sabotaged themselves...

I've read some nonsense on here but well done, that's right up there.

I can picture the training sessions with them practicing all the carefully orchestrated self sabotage plays.. Dear oh dear

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 19/12/2020 21:30:51    2324156

Replying To arock:  "Its called seeing the game over the line, Dublin didnt make the rules, what was started in Ulster they have perfected to an artform. Gaelic football is such a simple game, with nosensical minimal rules, a team like Dublin was always bound to come and choke the life out of the miserable game it has become. So whinge all you like, watch the hurling for sheer passion and class. Because whoever eventually topples the Dubs it wont be pretty."
Nah it's called playing negatively. Ya can try and put make up on it anyway ya like, but there was nothing enjoyable about Dublin backpassing on their own 45. And Dublin do it even when they're beating teams out the gate. Not comparable to a tight game in Ulster.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 19/12/2020 21:34:43    2324163

Replying To Joxer:  "Be careful with the pips in that lemon."
Ah well my friend enjoy your little triumph..the rest of the country won't really care tomorrow..people are completely turned off by what's going on...nobody really cares anymore...the lemon is all yours

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 19/12/2020 21:39:45    2324170

We need to switch off the tv when Dublin are playing. Loss of money is the only way the GAA will do that. If galway play the dubs I cant not go /watch it's my county and I want to support the galway players but I'll be switching off any other games.

Sad to see the scenes at the end....another day at the office for the players , "lads we have to look happy" Contrast that with the tipp and cavan provincial victories. Or even Mayo winning connacht

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 19/12/2020 21:50:13    2324180

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Apologies if this question has been asked and answered previously by Dubs who might have an insight in relation to it. The question is WHY ISN'T HOWARD STARTING?"
I think Dessie is of the believe that it's more important to finish a game with your strongest team rather then start it. It's a great luxury to have!! Well done to Dublin and hard luck once again to our neighbors.

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 19/12/2020 21:52:08    2324181

Replying To kevin03:  "Gaa have turned the AI into Scottish football only without 2 teams competing its just Dublin. 8 AI in 10 years shows the competition is dead already."
In a 130 years of all championships no team had 5 in a row Dublin have now won 6 there is players on the Dublin team that have never lost a championship match. Yes its dead and buried

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 19/12/2020 21:53:22    2324182

Tomorrow we can get on with looking forward to Christmas...another forgettable all Ireland final...it's been a complete yawn

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 19/12/2020 21:54:05    2324183

Replying To galwayford:  "Football is finished in Carlow, there is no doubt about that. With attitudes like you have. Today in Croke park the Galway u20's beat the mighty Dubs by a point. So Galway hopefully have a good team in the future. And Mayo will be back too."
The key passage here is u20.
Meath and Kildare have beaten the Dubs in underage for years now. Doesnt matter a toss come senior though.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 19/12/2020 21:54:36    2324184

Replying To Jackeen:  "What is it you want to see? Not everybody is a John Mullane type of fella."
He is 1 of the most boring 'process' driven footballers in the country, I'd say he look bang average in a division 3 or 4 county.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 19/12/2020 21:59:22    2324188

Replying To Saynothing:  "Not hard to come out of Leinster. 2nd best team relegated to Div 2. I said 4 or 5 teams on a par after Dublin. Try and give Mayo and Cavan a capital letter the next time you mention them. Think they deserve it."
Not hard to come out of Ulster either Dublin would walk the Ulster championship just like they walk past any of the Ulster teams they come against especially Tyrone they can even beat Tyrone with there second team in a dead rubber in Tyrone for godsake

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 19/12/2020 21:59:33    2324189

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Nah it's called playing negatively. Ya can try and put make up on it anyway ya like, but there was nothing enjoyable about Dublin backpassing on their own 45. And Dublin do it even when they're beating teams out the gate. Not comparable to a tight game in Ulster."
Plenty teams have done this when winning late on. Dr Crokes spent the last chunk of their All-Ireland club final against Slaughtneil doing the exact same. It was awful to watch, but it ensured they won the game. It's up to the opposition to push up and try to win the ball back. The problem at that stage is they have nothing left in the legs.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2031 - 19/12/2020 22:00:43    2324190

Replying To Jackeen:  "What is it you want to see? Not everybody is a John Mullane type of fella."
Would you go € celebrate,the AMA€ing 6 in a row. Save your lip for the sale rail in Penney's

Cleaningshucks (Monaghan) - Posts: 27 - 19/12/2020 22:02:20    2324193

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "Ah well my friend enjoy your little triumph..the rest of the country won't really care tomorrow..people are completely turned off by what's going on...nobody really cares anymore...the lemon is all yours"
Well ye, it was, for Tyrone!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 19/12/2020 22:04:27    2324194

Replying To jimbodub:  "It's interesting to think you typed all that thinking you might be insulting Dublin players..

For someone with such a razor sharp perception. .

I'll leave you to figure it out.

To think of the shambles of an effort Meath have put in against Dublin two years in a row. Abysmal stuff. Embarrassing.

To belittle Mayo's efforts tonight when they were right in it up until late in the game with your theory that Dublin purposely sabotaged themselves...

I've read some nonsense on here but well done, that's right up there.

I can picture the training sessions with them practicing all the carefully orchestrated self sabotage plays.. Dear oh dear"
Again you're letting emotion cloud your view jimbo, denial can be very powerful.

And yes fairplay to Mayo for doing their best, that's all amateurs can do, but I'm sure they will take some solace from all the pats on the arse they'll get from the Dubs for a smashing effort.

Enjoy your fantasy while it lasts jimbo, maybe some day you'll wake up and see what the rest of us can see but I doubt it!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/12/2020 22:04:34    2324195