I guess it had to be in 2020
Dubs will be firm favourites and it won't phase them one bit but Mayo are well use to thst
It was Mayo's defense that really brought the fight to Dublin across the 10s - superb players
They lacked another quality forward or two
Now it looks like that has flipped
Jaysus Tipp should have scored 5 goals there tonight but credit to DC on a brilliant save
Great shot stopper. Top player.
I called Mayo reaching a final off the back of them being relegated
I think they absolutely have what it takes but unfortunately it looks like their defense just isn't what it was.. but they always up it. Playing Dublin brings out another level from them and an extra gear.
Dublin are completely untested and have not been challenged. Horan is also the more experienced manager at this level
Major test for Dessie on the way, I'd be concerned about a couple of the Dubd personnel changes perhaps being exposed against better opposition.
How I wish Jack was around.
I'll say it now..
I'm glad it's Mayo. If we lose, we lose. I can honestly say I'd be happy for the county of Mayo celebrating their win over Christmas.
They should have beaten Jim Gavin's Dublin so I'd have zero complaints. I've no nerves whatsoever about the game. If we lose I will raise a festive can of Dutch gold in the direction of the setting sun ;)
Then we can lick our wounds and go again
I hope it's a Nightmare Before Christmas for them though ;)
Up the Mighty Dubs
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/12/2020 18:58:03
Dublin to win by about 10 points I think Hope it's closer and wouldnt begrudge Mayo finally winning Sam but cant see it.
sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1306 - 06/12/2020 19:33:44
A hammering awaits, if Tipp can get 3-13 against Mayo what will Dublin score?
M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 506 - 06/12/2020 21:05:24
Replying To sourmilk93: "Dublin to win by about 10 points I think Hope it's closer and wouldnt begrudge Mayo finally winning Sam but cant see it." Well listen I've heard it all before regarding Mayo
There's no doubt they are rebuilding and Horan is plotting away for the future
They won't have any fear of Dublin
Dubs too when you look at the team are really there to be got at compared to the A list names that are no longer around
They've really played no one close to their standard and any of Dessie's flaws have been no where near exposed
I think Mayo are very capable of exposing them but there were worrying signs for Mayo tonight
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/12/2020 21:13:25
Replying To jimbodub: "I guess it had to be in 2020
Dubs will be firm favourites and it won't phase them one bit but Mayo are well use to thst
It was Mayo's defense that really brought the fight to Dublin across the 10s - superb players
Jaysus Tipp should have scored 5 goals there tonight but credit to DC on a brilliant save
I think they absolutely have what it takes but unfortunately it looks like their defense just isn't what it was.. but they always up it. Playing Dublin brings out another level from them and an extra gear.
Dublin are completely untested and have not been challenged. Horan is also the more experienced manager at this level
Major test for Dessie on the way, I'd be concerned about a couple of the Dubd personnel changes perhaps being exposed against better opposition.
I'll say it now..
I'm glad it's Mayo. If we lose, we lose. I can honestly say I'd be happy for the county of Mayo celebrating their win over Christmas.
They should have beaten Jim Gavin's Dublin so I'd have zero complaints. I've no nerves whatsoever about the game. If we lose I will raise a festive can of Dutch gold in the direction of the setting sun ;)
Up the Mighty Dubs" You know for all the negative that involves Dublin and the rest that goes with it. I must say the Dublin team are as modest as they come and the fans are equally modest and genuine. So credit where credit is due
Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 06/12/2020 21:28:38
Replying To jimbodub: "I guess it had to be in 2020
I'll say it now..
Up the Mighty Dubs" Ya we dont have the defence we used too, id say we had the best 6 defenders any county ever had. But now we have lads that are learning and lads that are pushing on. Keegan should not be the full back line, doesnt suit him. We dont have anyone to mark O Callaghan, Fenton and ill include KillKenny too hes flying it in closer to goal this year. So the problem then is these lads will need two players watching them and thats when Rock, Small, Scully etc will come in with goals and scores. Cant see Mayo getting near them this year unfortunately for us
tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 693 - 06/12/2020 21:37:13
We won't be given a prayer and on the evidence so far it's hard to argue against it but this is Mayo v Dublin and we don't fear a Dublin and never have while everyone else moans and gives out.
Dublin have to be eaten some day. Why not on the 19th...maybe on penalties ;) lol imagine
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12259 - 06/12/2020 21:40:59
I expect a tight game. Mayo up their game hugely when they play Dublin in the latter stages of the Championship. Dublin will be tested and the loss of Connolly and Jack Mc might prove crucial. I think Dublin to win by 2 points.
Ringsend_Dub (Dublin) - Posts: 3 - 06/12/2020 22:49:17
Replying To Irishcelt: "You know for all the negative that involves Dublin and the rest that goes with it. I must say the Dublin team are as modest as they come and the fans are equally modest and genuine. So credit where credit is due" Absolutely, a very grounded bunch of players. I've always found Dublin extremely humble with the best fans around. Been a privilege to watch them do the 5. Que the straw hat brigade.....
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2687 - 06/12/2020 23:02:08
Replying To tommy132: "Ya we dont have the defence we used too, id say we had the best 6 defenders any county ever had. But now we have lads that are learning and lads that are pushing on. Keegan should not be the full back line, doesnt suit him. We dont have anyone to mark O Callaghan, Fenton and ill include KillKenny too hes flying it in closer to goal this year. So the problem then is these lads will need two players watching them and thats when Rock, Small, Scully etc will come in with goals and scores. Cant see Mayo getting near them this year unfortunately for us" Maybe get Donie Buckley back. Is Colm Boyle Seamie ó Shea or Donie Vaughan on panel? They were nt on subs today?
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4243 - 06/12/2020 23:14:24
Based on possession from kickouts alone I can't see how mayo can win. They won pretty much none of the tipperary kick outs so dublin should be able to do the same and when tipp eventually pushed up properly on the mayo kick out in the second half mayo struggled. Dublin would have to go out of their way not to make hay on the mayo kick out. This factor alone nearly guarantees dublin victory.
Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 1052 - 06/12/2020 23:38:08
It's a 50/50 game in my opinion, Mayo will be buzzing for this game, it's hard for Dublin to keep winning too no matter what's said about them, only thing is it's Dessie Farrells first year in charge so it's a first for him, they have to keep the hunger going to keep winning. Dublin are the bookies favs and rightly so given their record but I don't think there'll be more than a few points in it either way, my money is on a draw. will there be extra time and penalties in that case?
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3826 - 07/12/2020 00:05:11
Replying To yew_tree: "We won't be given a prayer and on the evidence so far it's hard to argue against it but this is Mayo v Dublin and we don't fear a Dublin and never have while everyone else moans and gives out.
Dublin have to be eaten some day. Why not on the 19th...maybe on penalties ;) lol imagine" I really hope ur right. But to be honest if mayo can keep it to single figures of a loss they will have done extremely well.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/12/2020 00:11:17
It's Mayo so you never know. They have no fear of Dublin and great belief in themselves. Players like Cillian O'Connor and AOS will believe they should have one or two All-Ireland medals already and playing with that chip on your shoulder can always give you a little extra edge. Horan is a great manager and more experienced at this level, I expect the tactics to be spot on for Mayo.
However I've said it a few times now, for me the Mayo kickout isn't strong enough. Dublin are too good once they have the ball so possession is everything and I think they'll get joy on Clarke's kickout.
The plusses for Mayo: No crowd, I think this will be a big benefit to them actually, a quieter build up for the lads as well O'Connor is in the form and condition of his life I think Conroy, AOS, COC and Paddy Durcan all match up very well against this Dublin side
However between the kickouts and not having the level of defender they used to have in order to mind Kilkenny, Con, Rock (and the rest) I think Dublin will win by 4 or 5 in the end.
JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 07/12/2020 00:30:14
Dublin by 8
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 07/12/2020 01:24:53
Mayo will need to score at least 3 goals to stand any chance here. A fast and productive start is key, but other areas worry me .
Expecting their athleticism and conditioning to stay with Dublin this time. Last year they had multiple injured players, 8 games in 7 weeks , 6 days rest before playing Dublin in last year's semi final after beating Donegal, but this year they have strength in depth as well as some blooded youth so i dont think its an issue. Kick Out strategy is though, and if this area isn't rectified they could lose heavily whether they have a squad on the bench or not.
BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 07/12/2020 07:01:24
Replying To jimbodub: "Well listen I've heard it all before regarding Mayo
There's no doubt they are rebuilding and Horan is plotting away for the future
They won't have any fear of Dublin
Dubs too when you look at the team are really there to be got at compared to the A list names that are no longer around
They've really played no one close to their standard and any of Dessie's flaws have been no where near exposed
I think Mayo are very capable of exposing them but there were worrying signs for Mayo tonight" I am not sure, Fair play to Mayo for getting this far but i am yet to be convinced they can compete with Dublin. Mayo trained right through the year so were obviously fitter and better set up than most opposition. They destroyed us and should have won by double what they did but we were shocking and manager and half the squad missed two weeks training in the lead up to game due to covid which didnt help. Galway out of form and playing badly had them on the ropes and they can thank the ref for that win. Looked phenomenal yesterday truth be told but i would question what standard the opposition was but thats not Mayo's fault. Hopefully they can give Dublin a game as i think Football needs a Mayo win
sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1306 - 07/12/2020 10:15:08
This will be a 1 point game, cards will have a massive say in in. Mayo.
suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1819 - 07/12/2020 10:25:32
Mayo. As predicted a year.
lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 07/12/2020 10:32:09
I wouldn't normally bet at all on GAA
But Mayo getting to the final just paid for my young lads new bike for Christmas,
Decided that I'd listen more to my gut as I've lost out on plenty of money over the years.
So thank you to the boys from the West
... and South :)
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 07/12/2020 10:42:21