how do yous think we will do? im going to be positive and say the lads have a big one in them even tho im disgusted the way they have been playing....lets on get on the road to omagh tomorrow and get this campaign turned around! cavan14 (Cavan) - Posts: 32 - 11/03/2017 17:59:50 1966202 Link 0 |
Won't be close in my opinion. Travelling in hope rather than expectation. The manager talks too much spoof and haven't seen anything resembling a game plan yet.
doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 11/03/2017 18:38:12 1966207 Link 0 |
Niall Murrey at Corner Forward? Whats going on? soraghallaigh (Cavan) - Posts: 15 - 11/03/2017 19:49:01 1966218 Link 0 |
12 mths ago we were unlucky not to get at least a draw in Omagh. Problem is that we don't seem to be playing with any confidence now & not much consistency in players positions. Let's be vocal in support of the lads tomorrow. Still 8 pts to play for. Best of luck to the players & management. Let's get pride back in the jersey bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 11/03/2017 20:07:27 1966224 Link 0 |
Who's responsible then for the development of a County U21 on to the County Senior side?? Himself? His Club? Why do we need Coaches at Senior County level ?
Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 11/03/2017 20:13:15 1966225 Link 0 |
Apart from Conor McManus (who as mentioned repeatedly is a once in a generation player) can you name me one intercounty player who wasn't a standout forward at under 21 level but became a top class senior intercounty scoring forward? It just doesn't happen!
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5333 - 11/03/2017 21:14:25 1966240 Link 0 |
Heading up to Omagh to support the boys in Blue and enjoy a masterclass performance ! Hopefully, we'll have more positives than negatives to talk about after this one ! Jampot (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 12/03/2017 02:14:05 1966292 Link 0 |
Kieran Donaghy couldn't get on the Kerry U21 team in fact he was picked from a reality tv show. Paul Galvin Kerry never played underage nor did Ross Minnelli of Laois . Eoghan o Gara Dublin.. Brian Stafford Meath never plaid underage David Beggy Meath played rugby up to the age of 22. Peter Whitnal won 2 all Ireland's with Down never played underage. Eoin Bradley Derry never played underage. The great Henry Shefflin was a sub goalkeeper at underage level. Martin Comerford Kilkenny won all Ireland medals and never played underage either. And there only the ones I can think of. Some good forwards there??? Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 12/03/2017 05:38:15 1966295 Link 0 |
Donaghy was round the panel before he went on Underdogs. Also he a top class target man full forward. Not an out and out scoring forward. Same applies to Galvin a wing half forward.
doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 12/03/2017 10:00:02 1966316 Link 0 |
Yep. Same applies to munnelly, a wing forward. Shufflin and Comerford play a completely different sport. cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5333 - 12/03/2017 10:26:52 1966322 Link 0 |
So if these guys didn't play underage, who developed them into top class forwards? It wasn't their under 21 coach obviously! Your argument against Hyland has just been put to bed. Well done! cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5333 - 12/03/2017 10:28:47 1966323 Link 0 |
Well I'd say the county senior management would have had a big say in developing these lads. Take Bernard Brogan for example.. didn't play minor because of injuries. When he got on the Dublin team he didn't even score the first year.. who persevered with him? Management.. Donaghy was a former basketball player who played midfield for his club at U21 level.. who developed him into a top class scoring County forward? His club or the county senior management? On the opposite end Mickey Harte and Jim Mc Guinness develope U21s that we beat into top class Senior forwards... One question in the last 4 years who did we develope as a top class forward from our 5 U21s panels who plays now regularly on the Senior team..????? Who? Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 12/03/2017 11:35:11 1966333 Link 0 |
Do you think the Senior management should have an input into the development of U21s that they call into the Senior panel? What's the next stage of development for an U21s who is called into the Senior setup? And where and how in Cavan have our Senior Managenent and setup developed and forward that they brought into the setup since 2011? Brian Cody, Mickey Harte, Jim Galvin, Fitzmaurice, Rory Gallagher, James McCartan , Pete McGrath , Jack o Connor.. etc have all develope U21s that had potential into Senior players and also found that player that never played U21 and developed them. Who did we develope? Example is G McKiernan any better now than he was 5 years ago? Who's developing these players? What improvement are they showing? Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 12/03/2017 12:18:09 1966343 Link 0 |
One example is probably Martin Dunne. Don't think he played u21 for cavan. Terry stuck with him at senior level and he kicked 9 points v Armagh and finished 2nd top scorer in the championship in 2013 behind cillian O'Connor. He got injured in 2014 (in the brawl in Armagh) and dropped out of the panel off his own accord. cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5333 - 12/03/2017 13:07:34 1966355 Link 0 |
Terry brought him in because he was a quality scorer with the Gaels who had 4/5 Senior championships in his back pocket. My question is and you fail to answer it is ... what U21 forwards showed improvement when Terry brought them into the Senior panel. Now I'm talking about the forwards Terry had at U21s level. In other words what forwards from the 2011 and 2012 teams are on the Senior team of this moment? Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 12/03/2017 13:44:34 1966363 Link 0 |
One point in a half of football in March. How will Deanmartin blame Hyland for that. doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 12/03/2017 15:39:56 1966381 Link 1 |
Disgraceful second half, Losing mentality. This team will never win anything. blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 12/03/2017 15:57:32 1966390 Link 2 |
Beat me to it Dora. This statistic could define McGleenon's term as far as the hoganstand forum is concerned. The number of points scored in one half of football is the barometer for every intercounty manager. Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 12/03/2017 15:59:10 1966392 Link 0 |
Well that's not the original question you asked. The debate was that those u21 teams didn't have top class forwards. And they didn't. Terry did fantastically to win so much without having 1 top forward at his disposal. He gave pretty much every forward from those teams a chance at senior level. I don't think any did enough to nail down a regular place. And their club performances would back that up. He built his team around a forward duo of dunne and keating. Both opted out of the panel for non footballing reasons. cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5333 - 12/03/2017 16:06:36 1966396 Link 0 |
Aaaanow just off the top of my head Galvin won a Munster minor in 97 as a starter with Kerry. Probably terry hylands fault that you got that wrong JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 482 - 12/03/2017 16:16:02 1966399 Link 0 |