Advertisement

National League

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Why wouldn't we be quietly sure we have beaten Mayo in Castlebar and have beaten Cavan in every meaningful game in the last few years. Only obvious that monaghan people build up a cockiness for this fixture as Cavan have always failed at the biggest challenge. I expect Cavan to be difficult sunday as this is the game they would have targeted in their heads as winnable ( Forget about dublin everyone knew yous would struggle there). If Cavan cant beat Monaghan Sunday they will never beat Monaghan in my opinion."
Thats the spirit. None of this snowflake niceness. Lets get back to the good old rivalry that has kept this fixture at the top of the list in terms of bitter confrontations between counties.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 09/02/2017 14:51:27    1954010

I agree with you in most of what you say and admire and share your positive attitude towards our county teams. However, i disagree on this point. I believe that Malachy O Rourke and the people of Monaghan are convinced of their superiority over us as a football team. They have an outstanding forward in McManus who can win most games on his own. They also have a good supporting cast in the Hughes brothers, Mone etc. They believe, no matter how much they play this down, that they will win on Sunday. Now they may well win but their arrogance is not in question nor is their belief in their superiority over us. I know you have made good lengths to integrate into the county. However, i do not believe that you understand how strong the rivalry is between real football fans in both counties. Nothing would please us as a county more than beating them in their own back yard.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts:468 - 09/02/2017 11:33:16

Jesus Sceptical your obsession with trying to beat us is scary think you might need to see someone to talk about it................

As for the game its the second league game in the second second week in february so as for must win goes i wouldnt be getting carried away..........

Your need for two points is greater so i expect you's to come at us all guns blazing,will it be enough????? No it wont...........reason is you's dont have a settled 15,some players arent fit and some players have no clue were to play the just run around looking for the ball with no end product.

All in, if we play like we did in Castlebar and tidy up the poor passing and shooting then we will win by a few points........Better Goalkeeper,better backs,better midfield..........and one of the best forwards in the country .

If we are flat and at half pace then we could be caught, i say could as we were poor in 2015 and yous lead by 4 with 20 minutes to go and yous still couldnt win!!!!

So try and relax,get to Blaney early and enjoy the game and if you's happen to win im sure you will live of it until we meet again and if you's lose we wont hear from you for a while.................as i said its February, remember what happened in 2013??

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 09/02/2017 14:54:41    1954013

Replying To hardcore:  "I agree with you in most of what you say and admire and share your positive attitude towards our county teams. However, i disagree on this point. I believe that Malachy O Rourke and the people of Monaghan are convinced of their superiority over us as a football team. They have an outstanding forward in McManus who can win most games on his own. They also have a good supporting cast in the Hughes brothers, Mone etc. They believe, no matter how much they play this down, that they will win on Sunday. Now they may well win but their arrogance is not in question nor is their belief in their superiority over us. I know you have made good lengths to integrate into the county. However, i do not believe that you understand how strong the rivalry is between real football fans in both counties. Nothing would please us as a county more than beating them in their own back yard.

Jesus Sceptical your obsession with trying to beat us is scary think you might need to see someone to talk about it................

As for the game its the second league game in the second second week in february so as for must win goes i wouldnt be getting carried away..........

Your need for two points is greater so i expect you's to come at us all guns blazing,will it be enough????? No it wont...........reason is you's dont have a settled 15,some players arent fit and some players have no clue were to play the just run around looking for the ball with no end product.

All in, if we play like we did in Castlebar and tidy up the poor passing and shooting then we will win by a few points........Better Goalkeeper,better backs,better midfield..........and one of the best forwards in the country .

If we are flat and at half pace then we could be caught, i say could as we were poor in 2015 and yous lead by 4 with 20 minutes to go and yous still couldnt win!!!!

So try and relax,get to Blaney early and enjoy the game and if you's happen to win im sure you will live of it until we meet again and if you's lose we wont hear from you for a while.................as i said its February, remember what happened in 2013??"
Agree with hardcore as much as it pains me.

Cavan have not got a settled team. Mattie seems undecided who plays where. Still finding his feet and his players.
I saw nothing last Sun to suggest we can beat Monaghan in Blaney. Hopefully i'm completely wrong. They have to one thing we lack i.e. a class forward. We hardly contested at midfield last Sunday either. However when Cavan are not expected to win matches it's then they pull something out of the bag. Maybe we can do so again.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 09/02/2017 15:28:47    1954039

Replying To hardcore:  "I agree with you in most of what you say and admire and share your positive attitude towards our county teams. However, i disagree on this point. I believe that Malachy O Rourke and the people of Monaghan are convinced of their superiority over us as a football team. They have an outstanding forward in McManus who can win most games on his own. They also have a good supporting cast in the Hughes brothers, Mone etc. They believe, no matter how much they play this down, that they will win on Sunday. Now they may well win but their arrogance is not in question nor is their belief in their superiority over us. I know you have made good lengths to integrate into the county. However, i do not believe that you understand how strong the rivalry is between real football fans in both counties. Nothing would please us as a county more than beating them in their own back yard.

So try and relax,get to Blaney early and enjoy the game and if you's happen to win im sure you will live of it until we meet again and if you's lose we wont hear from you for a while.................as i said its February, remember what happened in 2013??"
Better goalkeeper is debatable seen as Galligan won Ulster All-Star last year. I don't know if he's fully fit. Cavan's biggest problem is we're starting again with a very new and fresh team.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 09/02/2017 16:53:12    1954078

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Better goalkeeper is debatable seen as Galligan won Ulster All-Star last year. I don't know if he's fully fit. Cavan's biggest problem is we're starting again with a very new and fresh team."
Yep we definitely have the better keeper (if he's fit).

Take McManus out of the Monaghan team and it's like taking the engine out of a Ferrari. It ain't going anywhere.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5333 - 09/02/2017 17:33:17    1954091

Replying To cavanman47:  "Yep we definitely have the better keeper (if he's fit).

Take McManus out of the Monaghan team and it's like taking the engine out of a Ferrari. It ain't going anywhere."
But what a fecking engine.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 09/02/2017 17:54:43    1954101

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "But what a fecking engine."
Yep.

The closest thing to a one man team since Matt le tissier at Southampton.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5333 - 09/02/2017 18:14:51    1954113

Replying To cavanman47:  "Yep.

The closest thing to a one man team since Matt le tissier at Southampton."
Ye were in good company when you say were like a Ferrari didn't think you held us in such high regard

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 09/02/2017 21:00:51    1954192

Best of luck to Cavan at the weekend.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 10/02/2017 08:25:41    1954252

Replying To cavanman47:  "Yep.

The closest thing to a one man team since Matt le tissier at Southampton."
Incorrect. Take McManus out of Monaghan and it gives you cavan. A solid team from 1-12 without a marquee forward.

gowna02 (Cavan) - Posts: 99 - 10/02/2017 12:58:57    1954354

Replying To gowna02:  "Incorrect. Take McManus out of Monaghan and it gives you cavan. A solid team from 1-12 without a marquee forward."
Remember your forward is only as good as his supply no supply no need for him isn't it that simple.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 10/02/2017 13:39:14    1954371

Make no mistake,Monaghan will win this by 4 or 5 simply because we are limited once we get to the 50 yard line.It's all well and good coming out of defence looking good and ball carrying but rarely have we a player to break the tackle so that we can really attack a team.Seanie won't last forever and when he gets completely man marked,who on this forum can honestly say we have really any genuine scoring forwards when it comes to the bit.It is the same as before except we have no Givney now for the long ball option,this is what Mattie needs to look at the most and make the best of it.

celt2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 160 - 10/02/2017 13:59:08    1954385

Replying To seanorinn:  "Remember your forward is only as good as his supply no supply no need for him isn't it that simple."
Correct Sean o Rinn.. It's the cut off of the supply to McManus that's needed.
I remember the Doen team of the 90s and everybody raving about how good Mickey Linden was.. and he was good. But if you remember it was Greg Blaney who supplied him most times. Every time blaney got the ball he looked for Linden. Linden was unmarkable when he got it. But Blaney did the damage supplying him.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 10/02/2017 14:03:04    1954389

Replying To seanorinn:  "Remember your forward is only as good as his supply no supply no need for him isn't it that simple."
I'll respectfully disagree. I probably see more Monaghan games that any other cavan man (the brothere in law is from Monaghan, so I drag him to the Cavan games too). He openly admits that if you take McManus out of the Monaghan team, cavan are a far better side. Admittedly that was last year and we're down some good players but he really does carry them. We're in Division 1 without a marquee forward. Monaghan would be division 2 at best without McManus and wouldn't have made an ulster final never mind win it in the past 6 years.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5333 - 10/02/2017 15:25:56    1954424

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "Correct Sean o Rinn.. It's the cut off of the supply to McManus that's needed.
I remember the Doen team of the 90s and everybody raving about how good Mickey Linden was.. and he was good. But if you remember it was Greg Blaney who supplied him most times. Every time blaney got the ball he looked for Linden. Linden was unmarkable when he got it. But Blaney did the damage supplying him."
It's 2017 now though.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 10/02/2017 16:10:22    1954443

Replying To Breffni39:  "It's 2017 now though."
It sure is...
and MCManus is a corner forward.. where does he get the ball do you think? In the GYM?
Maybe he brings his own ball with him??
Failing that someone has to give it to him.. be it 1887 1997 or 2017 .. somethings can't change.has to be supplied to the forward

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 10/02/2017 16:22:40    1954447

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "It sure is...
and MCManus is a corner forward.. where does he get the ball do you think? In the GYM?
Maybe he brings his own ball with him??
Failing that someone has to give it to him.. be it 1887 1997 or 2017 .. somethings can't change.has to be supplied to the forward"
Everybody gives him the ball and sometimes he wins it himself.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 10/02/2017 16:49:45    1954459

Putting the posters here in Mattie McGlennan's shoes,who would you give the man marking job on McManus to. Fergal Flanagan would get it if he was available.Fergal Reilly did well last week but a tough ask for a newcomer.Jason McLoughlin might be brought in to do it. Gunner would be risky from a red card point of view.

celt2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 160 - 10/02/2017 17:33:51    1954474

Replying To celt2018:  "Putting the posters here in Mattie McGlennan's shoes,who would you give the man marking job on McManus to. Fergal Flanagan would get it if he was available.Fergal Reilly did well last week but a tough ask for a newcomer.Jason McLoughlin might be brought in to do it. Gunner would be risky from a red card point of view."
Putting the posters here in Mattie McGlennan's shoes,who would you give the man marking job on McManus to. Fergal Flanagan would get it if he was available.Fergal Reilly did well last week but a tough ask for a newcomer.Jason McLoughlin might be brought in to do it. Gunner would be risky from a red card point of view.

celt2018 (Cavan) - Posts:121 - 10/02/2017 17:33:51 1954474

Maybe put T.Corr on him with strict instructions no matter what not to leave his side no jersey pulling straight man to man marking on him, this is the only way this man will be stopped legally.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 10/02/2017 19:15:14    1954497

Doesn't matter who marks who ... this man has belief in himself against anyone. We need 15 with the same confidence.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=266081

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 311 - 10/02/2017 19:27:51    1954503