The end of the greatest Mayo team of all time?

... and still no AI to show for it!

It'll be some task to lift this team but all the hard work has been done by Horan

Surely the next manager has a much better platform to rebuild from compared to what was left when Horan himself took over

Hopefully they'll be back...

Mayo have a great chance now that Dublin are finished - Donegal will be going for two in a row - almost impossible in this day and age and more than likely without McGuinness at the helm. Seems the sort to leave on a high rather than come up short next year...

Kerry will continue to lose household names without the caliber of player currently available to replace such

Cork are def still a work in progress - if they continue down the dual code route their footballers will not win an AI next year

Perhaps James Horan gave up a little too quickly... or did he leave before he was pushed?

Either way with the likes of Dublin, Donegal, Kerry, Cork in decline during 2015...

Mayo with Horan in charge would have stood every chance

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/09/2014 13:05:58    1646724

Christ, even when you are out, you want to deflect onto mayo.

Take your beating and give it a rest.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/09/2014 13:15:27    1646740

Ha Ha who are you kidding? Dublin are far from finished. They were beat by a very well executed system but they are still the best team in the land. They wont have an AI to back that statement up but they will be favourites next year and if there not I will be shocked

Tyrone Gaa (None) - Posts: 403 - 02/09/2014 13:16:19    1646741

Why would Dublin be in decline but not Mayo considering their fortunes over the last four years. Mayo are a very good team but Dublin are certainly in a better position to win another All-Ireland. Like several winners over the past years Mayo may need a year out of the spotlight next year before coming again.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 02/09/2014 13:21:06    1646748

It was well known here that it would be James' last year. He's got a fairly demanding job, 5 kids including a new born, it's impossible to ask him to do it all over again. Am absolutely gutted for these lads. They deserved better than what they got on Saturday.

The new appointment needs to be spot on...

MayoMark (Mayo) - Posts: 332 - 02/09/2014 13:23:14    1646750

This is not a great Mayo team. Donegal and Dublin played better in their semi-finals in 2012 & 2013 than the finals and Mayo still weren't good enough to beat them. They have tried all sorts of build ups to big games, massive hype, no hype, etc. and none have worked. There is something wrong with the DNA in that county that just can't do it when the chips are down. They will win an All Ireland some day and I'll be delighted for them but not with the current players.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 02/09/2014 13:23:50    1646753

Sweet Jesus..........

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 02/09/2014 13:24:31    1646755

Christ, even when you are out, you want to deflect onto mayo.

Take your beating and give it a rest.

Ah now man...I don't think it's me that needs to get over a beating

I rather warmly passed on my absolute congrats to Donegal

By far the better team over 70 minutes against Dublin on Sunday

They deserve to be in the final.. with what was probably thir finest performace yet under McGuinness

Now back to the actual thread if you don't mind...

Would prefer you not to turn another thread into an argument

Good woman yourself, much appreciated.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/09/2014 13:37:59    1646775

Lol you're an awful man jimbo :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 02/09/2014 13:41:37    1646780

Donegal are better team than dublin not just over the seventy min on Sunday but for me are a better all round team.

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 02/09/2014 13:51:41    1646796

Hahaha Jimbo your an awful man, IMO this Mayo team will win an all Ireland in the next 3 years , Saturday was very unlucky for them all there key players went off injured at some stage and then the ref completely robbed them but they will be back next year challenging for Sam , there not far away.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/09/2014 13:53:54    1646798

Jimbo

Mystified as to how you get away with it. Coffee is gone everywhere :-)

A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 02/09/2014 14:08:20    1646818

I don't get yiz lads... apologies I'm not the sharpest tooth pick in the restaurant.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/09/2014 14:15:29    1646826

This Mayo team are very good footballers but they just don't have the streetwise mentality or deep inner belief that is required to win SAM. They can't close games out with authority of a side who know they are going to win. Kerry showed them how it's done on Saturday and yes I think this particular Mayo side are finished as real challengers.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 02/09/2014 14:16:53    1646830

tom84

1646796 Donegal are better team than dublin not just over the seventy min on Sunday but for me are a better all round team.

I think you are posting in the wrong thread!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/09/2014 14:21:47    1646838

"Greatest Mayo team of all time" - where did you get that waffle from?

History mustn't be your strongest point.

Even as recently as 1996, Mayo had a better team than the current one. And they didn't win an all ireland either. Unfortunately, I might add.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 02/09/2014 14:24:09    1646840

On the contrary jimbo, this has been a good year for mayo. We lost the one thing that had annoyed us more than losing any game.

We no longer hold the title of the biggest bottlers in the land.

Congrats.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/09/2014 14:27:56    1646847

We won 2 of the last 3 AI's themaster - beating a much fancied Mayo team with 13.5 men against 15

That is all.

As Neil Buchanan used to say on Art Attack - "Try it yourself" :)

Although we'll have to wait a fair aul while until we win another one...we're finished

Pity Horan gave up the ghost... so close...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/09/2014 15:21:15    1646913

jimbos obsession with Mayo goes on...

football_dude (Roscommon) - Posts: 34 - 02/09/2014 15:44:23    1646941

Certainly the end of the unluckiest.
Remind me of mid-00's Waterford hurlers, great side who kept just missing out.

AnFearDonn (Kilkenny) - Posts: 65 - 02/09/2014 16:08:45    1646975