Dublin Invincibles - greatest team ever - discuss

Much has been said about how this Dublin team are unbeatable - as such I would like to know what has just happened - views are particularly welcome from members of the Dublin community.

I have been thinking of a few reasons as to why this might be.

Is it because they did not have the home advantage of Parnell Park?

Is it because they had to play a team from Ulster in decline?

Is it because they came up against the tactical genius of McGuiness?

Is it because they are tired after last year despite having a second 15 better than anyone else as we have been told?

Please someone give me some answers - views are particularly welcome from members of the Dublin community.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 31/08/2014 17:04:40    1645239

I'd imagine there'll be a lot of alias' popping up over HS in the next few days. The Dublin arrogance before this game on this website meant nearly everyone outside Dublin wanted a Donegal win.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 31/08/2014 17:08:26    1645247

Well Done Donegal, best team won on the day. no complaints. Enjoy the final Donegal.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 31/08/2014 17:10:01    1645256

well lads Ulster football is dead , very dead....

Donegal beat Armagh by a point... and hammered Dublin... well done Donegal..

the fact is Leinster football is poor, Armagh hammered the leinster finalist...

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1673 - 31/08/2014 17:12:11    1645261

Fair play spmccann.

I said before the Championship began that I believed that Dublin would not win because I did not believe they were far enough in front last year to believe they could achieve the difficult feat of coming back to win it two years running.

While I said Donegal were the most dangerous team to Dublin I did concede that rather than an obvious team to beat them that my belief was that the hype and task were their biggest opponents this year and so it proved.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 31/08/2014 17:17:18    1645275

Hahahaha bring it on lads being it on. It's all a bit of banter as I said it's only a game life goes on will be back, congrats again to Donegal savage win.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/08/2014 17:17:20    1645276

Big blue wrecking crew destroyed!

snipingfredo (Armagh) - Posts: 45 - 31/08/2014 17:20:31    1645286

So much for the 5 in a row! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 31/08/2014 17:21:42    1645290

The way Dublin were winning matches this year it was inevitable their supporters would get carried away. I noticed a thread on the Dublin forum after the Meath match from a Dublin supporter saying winning had become so easy it was predictable and boring. That's the complacency that crept in.

I think though the wiser Dublin fans knew nothing was certain. This is the first shock in the GAA championships and definitely not the last. None of these games are ever predictable or boring.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 31/08/2014 17:27:06    1645303

I got slated on here time after time for not worshipping at the Dublin altar and it wasn't because I didn't like Dublin it was because I never thought they had really been tested physically or mentally. I said I would reserve my judgement on their 'greatness' just yet and now I think I have been vindicated a bit. Dublin are a good side but they are primarily a very fit, athletic team; I really never thought they were naturally talented, outstanding footballers and relied on their conditioning and squad size. Today Dublin met their match mentally and physically but the difference was Jimmy McGuinness on the sideline and Donegal's better all round footballers. No one really put it up to Dublin and many sides were beaten before playing them because of the atmosphere at Dublin's games and the Hill. Well done Donegal, hard luck Dublin and in my opinion this is the best thing that could have happened to football in a long time. I also hope the Dubs take a wee bit of humility out of this.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9701 - 31/08/2014 17:27:31    1645304

Ah sure pump another few million in to the Dubs, while the meek suffer.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 31/08/2014 17:27:56    1645307

No team is invincible. It goes to show the danger of going into a big match without being tested. I think this Dublin team will win several more All Irelands and will learn from this experience, but Donegal were outstanding.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 31/08/2014 17:37:42    1645326

Dubliners downfall will be winning Leinster too easy every year....ulster intensity showed them up today....Donegal were out of this world!

.tribute (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 31/08/2014 17:52:35    1645353

Personally I think that this Dublin team are totally invincible. I believe that we are entering a period where no county in the whole country will ever be able to get near the Dubs, ever again. I think,that this period of dominance will extend to all sports, at all levels. On top of that, Dublin have that swagger, that moxy, that aura that you can only get in Dublin. Who wants to see sexy photos of feckin donegal players plastered all over the newspapers? I mean jaysus! Fer feck sake! This Dublin team are living legends. If you took the pick of mayo, Kerry and donegal, had them train for a year, and put them out against a b Dublin side, they wouldn't stand a chance.

Jaysus boys let me have a quick look at the Telly and see how bad donegal are getting walloped.

mightymeath1 (None) - Posts: 50 - 31/08/2014 18:00:56    1645364

Maybe now people will stop calls for Dublin to be split in 2 and cut the funding etc etc.

We were proved to be just human after all today.

Take note everyone and stop with the over reaction to Dublins recent success.
And that is to non Dubs and Dubs alike.

Well done Dinegal and Jim McG.
Tactics were spot on today.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 31/08/2014 18:01:11    1645365

There'll be a lot of merriment over today as there always is when we're knocked out. Enjoy it lads.

We were built up by a lot of people (not all Dubs notably).

Goals win matches. Donegal took their gosl chances today and Dublin didn't.

The better team on the day won. Fair play Donegal.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 31/08/2014 18:05:16    1645370

Here's what some commentators posting on RTÉ's website had to say
after Donegal won the Ulster championship earlier this year:

'nothing but utter tripe, the quicker ulster teams are knocked out the
better, a disgrace to the game'

'It was the most horrible disgusting vile piece of puke seen on a
football team for a long time. Both teams have no skills at all: can't
pick up the ball properly and can't kick. All they managed to do is
destroy the game and prevent each other from playing football.'

'surely one of the most ugly spectacles on a football pitch ever …'

'Ulster football - at this stage they should consider their own
all-Ireland and let the rest of the country get on with playing a
brand of football that is lovely to watch and not barbaric in nature'

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 31/08/2014 18:06:20    1645373

Best team won. I had been saying it in the lead up to the game that donegal would need to have the game of their lives and they would need the dubs to have a stinker and that happened.

Yes the dubs seemed to buy in to their own hype to be fair I think we will see more from this team.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 31/08/2014 18:08:59    1645375

A freak result. Won't happen again for a while.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 31/08/2014 18:10:53    1645378

Sure we'll win it next year...

Still one hell of a panel now with massive motivation

We're U-21 AI Champions, League and Leinster Champions

We still have a lot to look forward too

And you'll still be from Antrim naysayer...

Well done to Donegal, better team on the day won

Dublin GAA has had a lot worse days than today, we ain't going anywhere...

Up the Dubs... lads, Dublin lads...

Chin up, we deserved to be beaten today...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 31/08/2014 18:15:30    1645386