Dublin Invincibles - greatest team ever - discuss

anybody else think it was a small bit like kerry tyrone final in 2005? with kerry the favourites getting a great start and tyrone slowly getting to grips with them before half time and running out comfortable enough winners

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/09/2014 13:40:25    1646779

Ok just back now after the last few days. Amazing.

This Dublin team are a class act and Gavin is a great manager. Several things happened on Sunday but the most important thing is it showed that a good defence will beat a good offense if they have their tactics correct. Gavin will learn from this and they will be back better next year.

Now to the idea that Dublin believe the hype. I see both sides here. They didn't perform on Sunday and it may have been due to the hype. I know if I was in that position where everyone was giving 100 reasons why Dublin would win it would be difficult to stay grounded. Now Im not saying that was def it but I can see how it might have been

Lastly a big thank you to the Dublin fans who made Sunday a great occasion. Before and After the game there was good banter. Most of the Dublin supporters are great supporters and they will stand by there team through it all (good and bad). However, and I do think some Dublin supporter know this, there are a good few fools aswell. These are what really make people want to rub it in. These are also the supporter who left the game early. I really liked that a lot of the supporters stayed and clapped their team off. Dublin have been great this last 2 years and deserved better than what a small percentage showed them.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 02/09/2014 13:42:10    1646783

If what happened to mayo had happened to Dublin.

Poor Master. Feeling hard done by? Catch yourself on. Yous were beaten again at the final hurdle. Once again "pound for pound" the best footballing side in the country blew it. That's 3 years on the trot now. I don't see any Dublin poster coming on here at any stage in the future whinging about Donegal, MuQuillian or Murphy. We had or noses rubbed in it by Donegal and fair play to them. Kerry showed yous on Sat what it takes and yous don't have it. But its good to see normal service resumed.

To all Donegal Gaels on here (even JohnGrace), once again enjoy build up to Final and good luck. It's a great time of year to be looking forward to football.
Aido

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 02/09/2014 13:53:11    1646797

dstuction

1646783 Ok just back now after the last few days. Amazing.

This Dublin team are a class act and Gavin is a great manager. Several things happened on Sunday but the most important thing is it showed that a good defence will beat a good offense if they have their tactics correct. Gavin will learn from this and they will be back better next year.

Now to the idea that Dublin believe the hype. I see both sides here. They didn't perform on Sunday and it may have been due to the hype. I know if I was in that position where everyone was giving 100 reasons why Dublin would win it would be difficult to stay grounded. Now Im not saying that was def it but I can see how it might have been

Lastly a big thank you to the Dublin fans who made Sunday a great occasion. Before and After the game there was good banter. Most of the Dublin supporters are great supporters and they will stand by there team through it all (good and bad). However, and I do think some Dublin supporter know this, there are a good few fools aswell. These are what really make people want to rub it in. These are also the supporter who left the game early. I really liked that a lot of the supporters stayed and clapped their team off. Dublin have been great this last 2 years and deserved better than what a small percentage showed them.

Every county has a few fools,even Donegal !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/09/2014 14:04:54    1646815

mayo didnt blow it lads..just werent good enough..i know people like to say they bottled it and all that but simply not true..could argue last year the final was one they really let slip by

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/09/2014 14:25:19    1646841

@Dublin Posters
waynoI

Use where a spent force after 20mins on Sunday
Use where restricted to shooting from the 45 yard line for large periods of the game.
Donegal Started to come into the game and bossed the game from there on
Your Sub bench was badly exposed as being weak, That had no impact on the game when they came on.
Your Manager spent most the game in the stand and only joined the sideline on 55mins when at that stage the game was already passed use

Your first point, Spent force after 20 minutes, I agree. We wore ourselves out in the first 20 minutes, After that we just turned off. Can happen. Wasn't meant to be in the end. Simple as that really.

Yep, We where restricted to that but sure Dublin would have expected it, For the first 20 mins again, We where very good and did it well, After that, When Donegal started to come back into the game, We just panicked.

Sub bench was weak. It didn't work on the day. It wont be perfect and plane sailing all the time.

Jim Gavin in two years in charge has won us 2 leinster titles, back to back league titles for the first time ever, Won an All Ireland and treated us to some absolutely outstanding football, He made mistakes at the weekend but again, Noone is perfect, The man is human. Personally any man that leads our side to the top can watch the game from the bus for all i care. That's his way though, rarely will you see Jim on the sideline. Thats fine by me. Its just his way.

Come on lads even your own agree with me
You all thought it was just a matter of turning up
Your Bookies thought it
Your Media Thought it
Your Players thought it
Your Fans thought it
You still thought it at Half time
And at the end use use where still thought it and where in Complete Shock

As for Donegal Fans
They are a credit to this Country
I Just wish the Same could be said about yours

JohnGrace1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 472 - 02/09/2014 18:44:06    1647107

JohnGrace1989

1647107 @Dublin Posters
waynoI

Use where a spent force after 20mins on Sunday
Use where restricted to shooting from the 45 yard line for large periods of the game.
Donegal Started to come into the game and bossed the game from there on
Your Sub bench was badly exposed as being weak, That had no impact on the game when they came on.
Your Manager spent most the game in the stand and only joined the sideline on 55mins when at that stage the game was already passed use

Your first point, Spent force after 20 minutes, I agree. We wore ourselves out in the first 20 minutes, After that we just turned off. Can happen. Wasn't meant to be in the end. Simple as that really.

Yep, We where restricted to that but sure Dublin would have expected it, For the first 20 mins again, We where very good and did it well, After that, When Donegal started to come back into the game, We just panicked.

Sub bench was weak. It didn't work on the day. It wont be perfect and plane sailing all the time.

Jim Gavin in two years in charge has won us 2 leinster titles, back to back league titles for the first time ever, Won an All Ireland and treated us to some absolutely outstanding football, He made mistakes at the weekend but again, Noone is perfect, The man is human. Personally any man that leads our side to the top can watch the game from the bus for all i care. That's his way though, rarely will you see Jim on the sideline. Thats fine by me. Its just his way.

Come on lads even your own agree with me
Your Bookies thought it
Your Media Thought it
Your Players thought it
Your Fans thought it
And at the end use use where still thought it and where in Complete Shock

As for Donegal Fans
They are a credit to this Country
I Just wish the Same could be said about yours

johngrace you are full of grace a real credit to your county well done.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/09/2014 19:05:31    1647117

Johngrace

Let's hope your players saved some celebrations for after their AI victory lap...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 02/09/2014 19:24:20    1647133

JohnGrace

I actually meant to say our subs bench wasnt weak and that it just didnt work for us on the day.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/09/2014 19:31:14    1647142

Your Bookies thought it
Your Media Thought it
Your Players thought it
Your Fans thought it
And at the end use use still thought it and where in Complete Shock

A total lack of Respect was shown to Donegal Football in the Lead up to this

JohnGrace1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 472 - 02/09/2014 20:26:08    1647170

Anybody having a pop at Dublin this week are pathetic, dont kick a side or fans when they are down- its low. They were very gracious in defeat and fair play.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 02/09/2014 21:09:18    1647202

Thank you Right Stuff. We are no better or worse than anyone when it comes to losing or winning. I didn't see one bit of unpleasantness between Donegal and Dubs supporters after the match. As it should be.

Best of luck in final. Will be shouting for you.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/09/2014 21:19:40    1647213

I actually only think its themaster (shocker) and johngrace puttimg the boot in.....the latter has 468 posts and i think 467 of them are the same one posted over and over again on various Dublin threads :) good luck in the final!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/09/2014 21:45:10    1647232

Lads as I heard Dara O Se say since sun its a game of inches and hes spot on - if Dublin had nailed the two goal chances they had early on then they would still be invincible - donegal would have gone 10-12 points behind and could well have crumbled as they did last year against Mayo.Jims plan would have been out the window and it would have been curtains.
Dublin have had an ongoing problem on their conversion rate of goal chances all year which was not addressed and on sun it came back to haunt them.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 03/09/2014 09:27:41    1647277

Easy answer is...no

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 03/09/2014 13:21:29    1647457