Things in the GAA that make you Cringe

The Gaa president trying to lift the cups with the winning captain as well.. Hand it over and step aside sonny!!!

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 06/07/2016 10:30:31    1877162

Replying To Frederick:  "A game on live at 2pm on Sunday game live and then analysed and then taking up nearly half of the highlights programme that night doing the same"
It might be annoying for some people but that is what the viewers want. A lot of people can't watch the live game that day so will tune in as they know they will see the highlights and analysis that night. Same for those who attend the big games, the majority will watch it that night. If they changed the format and only covered the big games briefly, the viewing figures would drop.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 06/07/2016 10:31:09    1877163

Wrist tape with writing on it saying 'work hard' or '100%'

Gives me the shivers it's that cringe

begining (UK) - Posts: 300 - 06/07/2016 10:44:16    1877174

Replying To TheFlaker:  "It might be annoying for some people but that is what the viewers want. A lot of people can't watch the live game that day so will tune in as they know they will see the highlights and analysis that night. Same for those who attend the big games, the majority will watch it that night. If they changed the format and only covered the big games briefly, the viewing figures would drop."
They should do what Match of the Day do for the premiership - decide and announce to running order of games after they're played, thereby showing the best matches in more detail. (so if Waterford and Leitrim were to serve up a cracker in the qualifiers, give it more coverage than a 1-sided walkover by Dublin or Kerry.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 06/07/2016 10:46:02    1877175

The mentality of people starting threads such as this one?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 06/07/2016 10:54:54    1877184

State of some of the stadiums.
Pitch is perfect but when the shops are a couple blocks and outhouse toilets looks pathetic.
Plenty of money to fix this.

Donegal_Man (Donegal) - Posts: 37 - 06/07/2016 10:54:58    1877186

Politicians presenting visiting heads of state with a hurl and sliothar. It's akin to them arriving on a newly discovered island and the chief coming down with his tribes slingshot and rock as a welcome gift.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/07/2016 11:30:17    1877214

Replying To cavanman47:  "They should do what Match of the Day do for the premiership - decide and announce to running order of games after they're played, thereby showing the best matches in more detail. (so if Waterford and Leitrim were to serve up a cracker in the qualifiers, give it more coverage than a 1-sided walkover by Dublin or Kerry."
I get your point but it won't help viewing figures.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 06/07/2016 11:47:51    1877230

White socks over their normal socks is pretty cringey, but the best most cringiest thing in GAA I've seen this year was the photo call of Gearoid Mc Kiernan and Sean Cavangh dressed in early 20th century football attire in the run up to the league finals, complete with hats and shorts like long johns. Why oh why!!!!

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 06/07/2016 11:56:37    1877235

Replying To TheFlaker:  "It might be annoying for some people but that is what the viewers want. A lot of people can't watch the live game that day so will tune in as they know they will see the highlights and analysis that night. Same for those who attend the big games, the majority will watch it that night. If they changed the format and only covered the big games briefly, the viewing figures would drop."
The majority of these people are catered for by the RTE Player, sky+ etc. The rest can set their VCR.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 06/07/2016 12:11:38    1877247

Replying To Breffni39:  "The majority of these people are catered for by the RTE Player, sky+ etc. The rest can set their VCR."
And?? I am simply stating a fact that if they don't show the bigger games the viewing figures won't be there. People want to watch the big game again with the analysis from the different pundits.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 06/07/2016 13:01:23    1877268

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Meeting tourists every summer telling you they've seen the usual attractions like the Cliffs of Moher, Giants Causeway etc but only saw our great games on the TV because the GAA don't bother marketing them to tourists enough. This in times when there are plenty of empty seats at games."
I would not agree with this. Apparently they offer tickets to tourists in the tourists boards if there is a match on that week
(I read in a book called Gaaconomics- https://www.amazon.co.uk/GAAconomics-Michael-Moynihan/dp/071715453X?ie=UTF8&*Version*=1&*entries*=0)

I was at a match one time in Parnell Park and there was a whole French Family at a league hurling match loving every minute of it.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 06/07/2016 13:13:14    1877278

Replying To waynoI:  "I was jokin ffs. You lads are way too serious.

I said light hearted in the original post"
Yeah but in fairness Wayno you slagged off the minutes silence and culchies.
You need to know your audience a bit better! :)

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 06/07/2016 13:18:50    1877284

I had to think a while on this one.
GAA pundits analogy's when the pundits go off track slightly.

There was a time when Cryril Farrell was comparing Ticket Prices and they should be more varied depending on what team his playing.

His analogy was "like, you would pay more to see "U2 then the saw doctors, like"

Michael Lyster: "I prefer the saw doctors..."

(The conversation went on a about five minutes)

Michael Duignan's commentary:
He try's to fit 100's of words in at 100 mile's an hour while mumbling.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 06/07/2016 13:28:59    1877290

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I get your point but it won't help viewing figures."
Do you not think so?

I don't watch Match of the Day a whole lot, but I can vividly remember them re-ordering their running order a few years ago when Portsmouth v Reading finished 7 - 4. I tuned into that one!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 06/07/2016 13:34:38    1877292

Replying To theweanling:  "White socks over their normal socks is pretty cringey, but the best most cringiest thing in GAA I've seen this year was the photo call of Gearoid Mc Kiernan and Sean Cavangh dressed in early 20th century football attire in the run up to the league finals, complete with hats and shorts like long johns. Why oh why!!!!"
it was part and parcel of the 1916 commemorations. a one off so wouldn't get too worked up about it. And I actually like the piece they've added to the programme for most of the games this year where they recall some 1916 matches.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 06/07/2016 13:36:52    1877293

Replying To cavanman47:  "Do you not think so?

I don't watch Match of the Day a whole lot, but I can vividly remember them re-ordering their running order a few years ago when Portsmouth v Reading finished 7 - 4. I tuned into that one!"
Well of course there are exceptions but the GAA structure and mindset of the viewers dictate what is shown. I'm not saying me, you or whoever isn't interested I am saying they don't pick these games for the craic. I mean Winning Streak is possibly the worst game show ever. Pick a box or a number and win some money? I would watch it if there was actual questions with people under pressure to answer them to win big money. Yet Winning Streak has a huge audience. The Late Late has been dead for a few years now with no big guests but that always tops the audience ratings every week so why would they change it?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 06/07/2016 13:56:56    1877305

I know it doesn't happen anymore, but does anyone remember when BBC were showing games, and the commentator used to read out text messages mid game, like " Mary from Cross is hoping Armagh win today".

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1656 - 06/07/2016 14:09:11    1877317

Replying To waynoI:  "MC ?"
Spot on. A lot of things I don't think ever need to be said!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/07/2016 16:01:21    1877414

"Football was better and more honest in our day"

Cringe......watch All Ireland gold on TG4 lads.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 06/07/2016 16:02:14    1877416