Things in the GAA that make you Cringe

Does GAA get fair coverage compared to soccer and rugby

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 05/07/2016 11:28:16    1876696

Replying To tearintom:  "Dan Shanahan: Seriously your time is up, get off the pitch, stop wearing the team shorts and socks like your ready to come on at any stage when asked, put your cap on the right way, ye have a fine young team there, its about them, not you. Hopefully Waterford supporters dont take offence but its about the team and a team i like watching not Dan!

A NOTHER: A nother has played every position in every Club at this stage, just put a name in there, the idea that your going to surprise the opposition by springin Johnny when we said A NOTHER on the programme will win it.

Up For The Match: Seriously in 2016, lets have a show about the culchies coming up to the big shmoke for the All Ireland final (when most of them probably already live and work in and around the capital in the first place)

The 2 point lead: " a 2 point lead is one of the most dangerous leads in GAA" no it isnt a one point lead is!

"What did you say at half time": the same question because a top manager is going to tell you what he said at half time which is generally followed by an inate cliche filled answer anyway

Marty: and other commentators with the same lines and the biblical references: lazarus like recovery, the defence parted like Moses and the Red Sea,"
Don't hold back tearintom, tell us what you really think :)

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 05/07/2016 11:30:43    1876699

Up For The Match is a great pre All-Ireland tradition, nothing wrong with remembering the great men who made the GAA what it is today and a night of memories of a bygone era.
When I get to my 50-60's, I will gladly remember Shefflin, Storey, Noel Lane, Clare 95, the 5-minute final, etc.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 05/07/2016 11:34:06    1876703

Up for the Match is dreadful, absolute pants.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 05/07/2016 11:52:38    1876715

Michael D Higgins on AI final day!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 05/07/2016 12:28:40    1876735

I agree re: Up For The Match, terrible stuff, and Brian Carthy as commentator, same tone no matter what he is saying.

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 05/07/2016 12:44:56    1876744

Replying To Belclare1:  "On the national anthem .. dont mind it being played over a tannoy... but when someone sings it.... ah jaysus now thats cringey. Especially if they make a mistake. Christ almighty

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts:11258 - 04/07/2016 17:46:49 1876303

Agree Waynol 100%, also my biggest cringe moment, is when an interview is been done pitch side after a game and the amount of gombeens behind making faces , on the phone to their friends, hoisting their kids by the neck so he might be seen or just roaring and shouting like cavemen.."
Very good one

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4240 - 05/07/2016 12:45:23    1876746

Cringe is the support the games are getting these days....Its dwindling year on year...Used be hard to get a ticket for an all ireland Semi now its not even hard to get one for a final ...Mayo and Donegal in football was the first time and last time in a long time it was hard to get a ticket...

Last year I got 3 hurling ones free outside the ground.

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 05/07/2016 12:57:26    1876754

Oh oh oh ...

pick me, pick me, pick me.... ive another one :D

What about the cringe factor when a manager is asked about his feckin future after a defeat in a big game.

CRIIIIINNNGGGEEEE!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/07/2016 13:04:30    1876756

Replying To tiobraid:  ""It must be said"...certain football co commentator makes me want to turn the football off"
MC ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/07/2016 13:09:23    1876760

Replying To Belclare1:  ""It must be said"...certain football co commentator makes me want to turn the football off

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts:1479 - 05/07/2016 10:42:48 1876660

Brilliant.. this is bugging me for the last few seasons..

Cannot name him as admin will not allow. I wonder why RTE persist with this guy when he played donkeys years ago and no young people watching today no anything about him!
Time for RTE to bring in younger former players as co commentators.."
Could this be----- by any chance. The amount of times he gets things wrong is cringe to see.

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 05/07/2016 13:26:54    1876774

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "I would like to ask most people on here who follow Gaelic games --- what has been THE DEFINING MOMENT, the one that sticks out , the one you will never forget that happened in your time following Gaelic games.
I can give you all mine and this is it----
SAM IS FOR THE HILLS
1992 and Antony Molloy says so as he became the first ever Donegalman to lift Sam.
What a day it was for me and indeed thousands more Donegal folk.

Love to hear all your answers. Thank you all"
Replying To SamOnErrigal: "I would like to ask most people on here who follow Gaelic games --- what has been THE DEFINING MOMENT, the one that sticks out , the one you will never forget that happened in your time following Gaelic games.
I can give you all mine and this is it----
SAM IS FOR THE HILLS
1992 and Antony Molloy says so as he became the first ever Donegalman to lift Sam.
What a day it was for me and indeed thousands more Donegal folk.

Love to hear all your answers. Thank you all"

Wee Peter in 2003 lifting SAM will never be forgotten for me after all the heartache in 89/95/96 ( more times but just in my memory)

conman1282 (Tyrone) - Posts: 88 - 05/07/2016 13:33:51    1876784

I think the whole coverage on RTE is cringey! They need to really up their game, BBC NI ( Ulster champ only obv) and Sky are alot better. RTE seem to be living in the past with old cliches and the same old tripe time and time again. The bias they have for Kerry is downright outrageous. Even Dublin dont get as much tripe talked about them as "the Kingdom" does.

conman1282 (Tyrone) - Posts: 88 - 05/07/2016 13:39:25    1876787

Replying To BigJohn.6_8:  "Cringe is the support the games are getting these days....Its dwindling year on year...Used be hard to get a ticket for an all ireland Semi now its not even hard to get one for a final ...Mayo and Donegal in football was the first time and last time in a long time it was hard to get a ticket...

Last year I got 3 hurling ones free outside the ground."
I has never been difficult to get a hurling final ticket

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 05/07/2016 13:52:17    1876798

in fairness BigJohn.6_8,you try getting a ticket if anybody other than kilkenny are involved,it becomes infinitely harder!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 05/07/2016 13:55:54    1876803

Have to agree with Benny Bunny, that Marty Squad is pathetic. Anna Geary just appears to talk for the sake of talking and Brenda's interviews are something like you'd expect on RTE jr.

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 05/07/2016 13:59:19    1876807

What makes me cringe most recently is this idea that GAA athletes at tougher and more manly than soccer players...total nonsense. Anyone who says that has never player soccer, can be a very dangerous sport and requires serious bravery at times. The foot block in gaelic football is banned as its deemed too dangerous and a potential leg breaker...yet its the main form of tackling in soccer.

Also this idea that gaelic footballers are superior athletes to other sports. Anybody see the AIB documentary on Aaron Kernan at Sunderland? He was well below the fitness test times the youth players were doing there, nevermind the first teamers.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 05/07/2016 14:10:02    1876816

Fans who pander to the notion that everything RTE does is crap but everything that SKY does is innovative and insightful

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 05/07/2016 14:15:31    1876818

Good thread! Off the top of my head:

When Carney says, "and that manifested itself..."

Agree about the previous poster on us losing the run of ourselves when the GAA is praised by someone from abroad. It could be some random idiot from middle America who caught a few minutes of a game like? So what! You'd think our wee inferiority complex would be lessening in this day and age.

Ciaran Whelan does this wee intake of breath through his mouth after making a lengthy point. Not really cringe inducing as I like Whelan but a bit peculiar all the same.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 05/07/2016 14:30:59    1876824

The article or radio piece that appears every summer when some Irish person, generally with a very limited interest in GAA, takes their American cousins etc to Croke Park and they all gushed that 'they can't believe this is an amateur sport'......never fails to make me cringe.

stanley (None) - Posts: 434 - 05/07/2016 14:39:47    1876829