Things in the GAA that make you Cringe

I can associate with most of the posts on this thread. And all these years I thought it was just me. I feel liberated. Thanks Wayno!!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 05/07/2016 14:51:55    1876833

The inane ability of the GAA bigwigs to come up with an off the wall solution to a perceived issue contrived by the media, ala the black card to reduce cynical play. Just get the referees to enforce the rules they already have. No need for another card, or grow a set and introduce a sin bin irrespective of what the big wig county managers say.
Burn out of players, impacts approximately 1% of lads in the 17 to 21 age bracket at various codes, so we bring in a rule forbidding 17 year olds from playing adult competitions, impacting 100's of rural clubs struggling to field in adult competitions, nice on Croke Park, well thought out!

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 05/07/2016 15:03:40    1876836

That "Jimmy's Winning Matches" song. A pal of mine was over from abroad at the time and when he heard it he thought it was a skit like Aprés Match. I originally thought that too but had to explain to him that it was being taken fairly seriously by many.

I never thought the same of Eoin Larkin either after his rendition of "Cody's Winning Matches".

Forewarned, I managed to avoid the barrage of equally cringeworthy songs the following year.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 05/07/2016 15:09:12    1876842

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "That "Jimmy's Winning Matches" song. A pal of mine was over from abroad at the time and when he heard it he thought it was a skit like Aprés Match. I originally thought that too but had to explain to him that it was being taken fairly seriously by many.

I never thought the same of Eoin Larkin either after his rendition of "Cody's Winning Matches".

Forewarned, I managed to avoid the barrage of equally cringeworthy songs the following year."
It is a skit in a way though, it's hardly a protest song about war now is it? Just a bit of craic, who takes it seriously?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 05/07/2016 15:25:11    1876846

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "On the flipside Sam the day the GAA died for me was the day they took the Kerry, Mayo replay out of Croke Park and down to Limerick to facilitate an American football game. Then you had a spin doctor wheeled out who tried to justify it by saying it was their intention all along to have replays in smaller venues. To add insult to injury we were then presented with that Meath ****** in Limerick. That lad who came on at the end showed remarkable restraint in my opinion. That was the time for me that the GAA lost it's soul."
teenagers arriving in the stadium usually after the game has started already off their tree on booze acting the maggot and clueless as to what's happening, one game I attended involving the Deise, this twat wearing the Waterford jersey turned around to his mates and uttered " is tha waahfud in green" shameful......

purplehaze (Waterford) - Posts: 11 - 05/07/2016 15:39:45    1876859

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "On the flipside Sam the day the GAA died for me was the day they took the Kerry, Mayo replay out of Croke Park and down to Limerick to facilitate an American football game. Then you had a spin doctor wheeled out who tried to justify it by saying it was their intention all along to have replays in smaller venues. To add insult to injury we were then presented with that Meath ****** in Limerick. That lad who came on at the end showed remarkable restraint in my opinion. That was the time for me that the GAA lost it's soul."
teenagers arriving in the stadium usually after the game has started already off their tree on booze acting the maggot and clueless as to what's happening, one game I attended involving the Deise, this twat wearing the Waterford jersey turned around to his mates and uttered " is tha waahfud in green" shameful......

purplehaze (Waterford) - Posts: 11 - 05/07/2016 15:42:04    1876860

Replying To Crinigan:  "What makes me cringe most recently is this idea that GAA athletes at tougher and more manly than soccer players...total nonsense. Anyone who says that has never player soccer, can be a very dangerous sport and requires serious bravery at times. The foot block in gaelic football is banned as its deemed too dangerous and a potential leg breaker...yet its the main form of tackling in soccer.

Also this idea that gaelic footballers are superior athletes to other sports. Anybody see the AIB documentary on Aaron Kernan at Sunderland? He was well below the fitness test times the youth players were doing there, nevermind the first teamers."
you mean soccer players who wear shin guards just so they're able to make contact on that area? which still usually involves a screech and three roles on the floor from most soccer players. What I gathered from The Toughest Trade was that a retired intercounty player (Aaron Kernan) scored an acceptable fitness level for a pro soccer player and he also admitted that when he was a county player he was scoring much higher on similar fitness tests, so it was hardly a fair reflection when they brought a GAA veteran over.

David Bentley didn't exactly find the GAA training drills too easy for a man who was a full time professional also. He definitely looked like a fish out of water when he had to do Kernan's day job and that is the most important factor to consider. How many soccer players would train like they do after putting in a 9-5 and also find time to be with their families? Most GAA players could only dream about getting paid fortunes to be professionals at the sport they love.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 05/07/2016 15:53:53    1876864

Replying To SaffronDon:  "you mean soccer players who wear shin guards just so they're able to make contact on that area? which still usually involves a screech and three roles on the floor from most soccer players. What I gathered from The Toughest Trade was that a retired intercounty player (Aaron Kernan) scored an acceptable fitness level for a pro soccer player and he also admitted that when he was a county player he was scoring much higher on similar fitness tests, so it was hardly a fair reflection when they brought a GAA veteran over.

David Bentley didn't exactly find the GAA training drills too easy for a man who was a full time professional also. He definitely looked like a fish out of water when he had to do Kernan's day job and that is the most important factor to consider. How many soccer players would train like they do after putting in a 9-5 and also find time to be with their families? Most GAA players could only dream about getting paid fortunes to be professionals at the sport they love."
david bentley you mean the retired soccer player?..at least be fair and honest with your comparisons

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 05/07/2016 17:08:18    1876910

Replying To Breffni39:  "I has never been difficult to get a hurling final ticket"
thats because the sport isnt that popular

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 05/07/2016 17:10:35    1876913

Post match interviews and Six o'clock news interviews taking place on the pitch with every yahoo gurning away in the background doing their best to get their mug in shot. Can these interviews not be conducted indoors?

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 05/07/2016 17:51:21    1876932

Three cheers for the losers, hip hip hooray

Absolutely horrific.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/07/2016 18:06:03    1876943

RTE showing matches which are forgone conclusions and then trying to sound positive about it eg Martin Carney

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 05/07/2016 18:30:02    1876958

Replying To alano12:  "thats because the sport isnt that popular"
Pretty daft statement. It's not as popular as football on average if you take all the counties into account, but to say it isn't popular is silly.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 05/07/2016 18:38:06    1876961

Replying To purplehaze:  "teenagers arriving in the stadium usually after the game has started already off their tree on booze acting the maggot and clueless as to what's happening, one game I attended involving the Deise, this twat wearing the Waterford jersey turned around to his mates and uttered " is tha waahfud in green" shameful......"
I'm callin BS on that story.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/07/2016 18:45:58    1876964

Replying To JayP:  "Three cheers for the losers, hip hip hooray

Absolutely horrific."
Awh here, Talk about patronising codswallop.

When I hear captains doing it I do want the ground to open up and swallow me whole.

Another thing is speeches in generally. Awful.... Awful, awful, awful.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/07/2016 19:08:03    1876971

Replying To alano12:  "david bentley you mean the retired soccer player?..at least be fair and honest with your comparisons"
"for a man who WAS a professional" those were my words, so what's not fair and honest?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 05/07/2016 19:20:46    1876973

Replying To waynoI:  "I'm callin BS on that story."
PURE AND UTTER BS

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 05/07/2016 19:23:42    1876974

A game on live at 2pm on Sunday game live and then analysed and then taking up nearly half of the highlights programme that night doing the same

Frederick (Louth) - Posts: 479 - 05/07/2016 19:35:43    1876982

Replying To SaffronDon:  "you mean soccer players who wear shin guards just so they're able to make contact on that area? which still usually involves a screech and three roles on the floor from most soccer players. What I gathered from The Toughest Trade was that a retired intercounty player (Aaron Kernan) scored an acceptable fitness level for a pro soccer player and he also admitted that when he was a county player he was scoring much higher on similar fitness tests, so it was hardly a fair reflection when they brought a GAA veteran over.

David Bentley didn't exactly find the GAA training drills too easy for a man who was a full time professional also. He definitely looked like a fish out of water when he had to do Kernan's day job and that is the most important factor to consider. How many soccer players would train like they do after putting in a 9-5 and also find time to be with their families? Most GAA players could only dream about getting paid fortunes to be professionals at the sport they love."
And swoosh goes my point right over your head....

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 06/07/2016 09:37:17    1877130

Joe Brolly's inane crap! More of it on Sunday after Kerry match. Radio Kerry have offered him the chance to come on and debate his nonesense about us, but you can beat Joe won't be bothered.

Just for the record Tipperary gave away 22 fouls to Kerry's 19, but sure never mind the facts eh Joe?!!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/07/2016 09:53:49    1877138