Scrap the black card now

Anthony Thompson

Another player who had dedicated his life for our great game get a ridiculous black card .

We all agree cynical play needs to be stamped out but lads getting black cards for tackles that he done is a joke .

It must be the biggest farce ever implemented .

It's simply ruining matches not helping them .

Thankfully , at least 95% of people agree on this forum

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 05/07/2016 20:01:55    1876989

The black card is a farce of epic proportions to be honest, have said it from day one.
The biggest problem is the very basis of the reason for the punishment and the punishment itself.
I seen a clip of the reasoning behind the punishment from pat mc enaney. What they were looking to do was have a punishment that punished the player rather than a team so their solution was as a punishment for a cynical foul, you can bring on a substitute!!!!
Seriously, think about the logic. Football is a team game but we don't want the team to suffer because of one players actions!
tearintom (Wexford) - Posts:355 - 29/06/2016 19:10:30
Black Card is better than what existed before though. What would you have in its place if Black Card was remove? The Black Card punishes the team as you lose a player and they can affect your use of subs/bench. Ideally the GAA should have a sin bin but ye tried it and couldn't cope with it..

But it's a team game, players can win and lose you games, that life, that's team sports. It actually defies logic teams can prosper because of the actions of a single player and they can suffer also, that's the dynamic of of team sports, that's what makes it what it is.
It's not a deterrent to a player when he knows a sub can take his place, in fact it takes away responsibility to the team for players knowing they're not really letting the team down, in fact cynically stopping a certain score which may cost your team a win and then being rewarded by being allowed to bring on a fresh replacement is a win win.
No matter what way you look at it, the thinking behind it and the punishment involved is bizarre beyond belief.
It doesn't defy logic at all that you can bring on a player for a personal foul. It is a deterrent to players as if they get one they are gone for the game and if a team gets
Each team is allowed to replace the first three players to receive black cards unless the player has previously received a yellow card. If referees gave black cards to all or virtually all black card offences It would be perfect but referees need to improve their giving out of the cards

Scrap it, it was a bad idea to begin with. Proper enforcement of the rules is whats required.
Condorman (Dublin) - Posts:522 - 30/06/2016 13:54:44
What use is scrapping it? Yes better enforcement of the rules is needed but a harsher deterrent than simply a yellow is needed to clean the game up

It must be the biggest farce ever implemented.
It's simply ruining matches not helping them.
Thankfully, at least 95% of people agree on this forum
TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts:1303 - 05/07/2016 20:01:55
It isn't a farce and it isn't ruining games as it is helping change the game for the better. If you were to get rid of it would you propose another method to clean up the game as the old system wasn't working

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 06/07/2016 17:23:07    1877484

The black card is a farce of epic proportions to be honest, have said it from day one.
The biggest problem is the very basis of the reason for the punishment and the punishment itself.
I seen a clip of the reasoning behind the punishment from pat mc enaney. What they were looking to do was have a punishment that punished the player rather than a team so their solution was as a punishment for a cynical foul, you can bring on a substitute!!!!
Seriously, think about the logic. Football is a team game but we don't want the team to suffer because of one players actions!
Black Card is better than what existed before though. What would you have in its place if Black Card was remove? The Black Card punishes the team as you lose a player and they can affect your use of subs/bench. Ideally the GAA should have a sin bin but ye tried it and couldn't cope with it..

But it's a team game, players can win and lose you games, that life, that's team sports. It actually defies logic teams can prosper because of the actions of a single player and they can suffer also, that's the dynamic of of team sports, that's what makes it what it is.
It's not a deterrent to a player when he knows a sub can take his place, in fact it takes away responsibility to the team for players knowing they're not really letting the team down, in fact cynically stopping a certain score which may cost your team a win and then being rewarded by being allowed to bring on a fresh replacement is a win win.
No matter what way you look at it, the thinking behind it and the punishment involved is bizarre beyond belief.
It doesn't defy logic at all that you can bring on a player for a personal foul. It is a deterrent to players as if they get one they are gone for the game and if a team gets
Each team is allowed to replace the first three players to receive black cards unless the player has previously received a yellow card. If referees gave black cards to all or virtually all black card offences It would be perfect but referees need to improve their giving out of the cards

Scrap it, it was a bad idea to begin with. Proper enforcement of the rules is whats required.
Condorman (Dublin) - Posts:522 - 30/06/2016 13:54:44
What use is scrapping it? Yes better enforcement of the rules is needed but a harsher deterrent than simply a yellow is needed to clean the game up

It must be the biggest farce ever implemented.
It's simply ruining matches not helping them.
Thankfully, at least 95% of people agree on this forum
TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts:1303 - 05/07/2016 20:01:55
It isn't a farce and it isn't ruining games as it is helping change the game for the better. If you were to get rid of it would you propose another method to clean up the game as the old system wasn't working

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 06/07/2016 17:23:13    1877485

Yeahhhhhhhh

Another massive decision that weny amiss .

How was that not a black card for Aidan O'Shea ? How was it missed ?

Shocking call or rather a lack of it .

Well done congress.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 09/07/2016 17:17:59    1879011

I remember when the black card was being implemented. I said at the time the real test would be a referee making a call in a high pressure game and especially against a 'big' county. Time and time again we have seen officials refusing to give black cards when it doesn't suit the game's agenda or when a home crowd is crowing from the sidelines. Dragging down opponents was one of the main reasons, the GAA told us, that the card was being brought in. Well it happened right in front of Joe McQuillan and it was a blatant no-brainer, so why did the referee back down? Only Joe McQuillan can answer that one but it is another symptomatic cop out of a flawed card that must now be scrapped.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 09/07/2016 19:54:12    1879291

I cannot believe this has not been raised.

This is the biggest elephant that was ever in the room.

Yesterday proves that the refs don't know when to use the black card .

Aidan O' Shea should not have been on the pitch .

He deliberately pulled down a player while on a yellow.

The referee copped out .

It's putting me off football .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 10/07/2016 11:00:01    1879874

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "I cannot believe this has not been raised.

This is the biggest elephant that was ever in the room.

Yesterday proves that the refs don't know when to use the black card .

Aidan O' Shea should not have been on the pitch .

He deliberately pulled down a player while on a yellow.

The referee copped out .

It's putting me off football ."
It was an opportunity to give a yellow, but would have been harsh, as the referee had let several such incidents go throughout the game. To claim it was a black card offence shows an ignorance of the rules.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 10/07/2016 12:52:18    1879961

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "It was an opportunity to give a yellow, but would have been harsh, as the referee had let several such incidents go throughout the game. To claim it was a black card offence shows an ignorance of the rules."
Are you for real ?

It was a deliberate pull down .

AOS was not going to get the ball . He pulled him down .

You are joking right ?

Ignorance of the rules- this is both insulting and comical at the same time .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 10/07/2016 13:23:52    1879991