The standard of punditry

Personally I was sick of the three amigos a long time ago and will avoid if at all possible . They offer absolutely nothing insightful and it's actually criminal how bland , clichéd and prejudicial their analysis is . They have obviously looked at the soccer format and tried to follow their lead but it's a very poor second . At least the soccer boys try and analyse the games with some degree of credibility . Another thing I will say which should be pointed out as well - the soccer pundits like to pat themselves on the back for their "honest" analysis (brutally at times) and sneer at the PC brigade of the BBC for their diluted criticisms but they have the luxury of pontificating on players that don't know who they are or will most likely never hear what they have said - no backlash to deal with !!! Some of the stuff our GAA friends come out with against amateur sports people is just very very wrong and RTE should be ashamed of themselves for continually allowing this to happen .

On who I'd like to see in ? Saw Ciaran McDonald on second captains one night and I was very impressed with him . A bit raw but he came across as someone with a genuine love for the game and a fair and balanced point of view . I'm sure he'd make a great analyst and would offer something a bit more insightful .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 28/05/2015 14:51:47    1729513

giles dunphy and brady are a lot more amusing and generally not as negative..the 3 soccer lads are usually at their worst when it comes to dicussing the irish soccer team but other than that they are normally entertaining enough.....gary neville and carragher have blow most peoples analysis out of the water though...streets ahead

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 28/05/2015 21:23:05    1729743

Saw this piece in the Irish Examiner. Think he is quite correct in what he says.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/paddy-heaney/new-position-needed-on-line-ups-333297.html

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 29/05/2015 12:04:45    1729908

sean cavanagh, dick Clerkin, cian ward. would make 3 good pundits.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 29/05/2015 16:33:38    1730076

There are loads of All stars who have recently retired and would love the few bob and give us value for our licensce money. I will be watching the Ulster football on BBC tomorrow and then the hurling on RTE. I believe in respect for people and I have a big dislike for people who talk trash when they are being paid to do so. you can get any Gods amount of trash talkers in every town and village in Ireland holding up bar stools.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 30/05/2015 21:01:15    1730361

Too true Border Gael . RTE had a distinct lack of class when it comes to their football coverage and how they like to ridicule our players . The show lost its soul a long time ago .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 30/05/2015 21:33:49    1730379

Its about time we heard from the GAA on this matter, after all this is THEIR product that is being undermined almost daily.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 04/06/2015 08:03:32    1732197

Peter Canavan is a pundit I enjoy. Was very good on TV 3

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 04/06/2015 11:34:16    1732284

Thought the piece by Brolly in the independent was excellent , Forget for one moment it was written by Brolly the substance of the piece was correct , there is less editorial input to GAA on RTE , hence with that freedom you can get JB going off on a tangent , on the other hand you can listen to useless clichés were nothing actually gets said , Sky never ever slates the product , if when this biggest load of tosh that was 2014-15 season is produced , guess its all about what type of world you want to live in .
Think the reaction to RTE pundits is OTT , that's just my opinion .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/06/2015 12:00:14    1732298

Marty Morrissey makes me cringe every time he has the mike. Overhypes every stroke of a ball and comes out with a lot of over the top sayings. About time RTE give Duignan the main commentary as he is excellent in analysis and most of all knows what the free is for. Tomas O Se has been a breath of fresh air to football

downthecentre (Wexford) - Posts: 41 - 04/06/2015 12:22:14    1732311

marty Morrissey is the best gaa commentator out there....real passion allied to knowledge. Himself and duignan complement each other very well

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 04/06/2015 12:40:40    1732318

Ah Marty is fine this " shortens his grip on the stick" thing annoys me. It's a real football mans comment. Apart from that though he is fine n def injects real excitement.
O rourke Spillane and Brolly are an embarrassment both to RTE and to the GAAs image and attempt to promote our games. I'm not much of a football man and I won't be watching too much more of it with them on. Time for Cyril Farrell to be put out to grass too me thinks.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 04/06/2015 13:42:41    1732361

I thought McStay was a joke last Sunday calling for the ref to blow up on 70 mins and not to allow the 7 minutes injury time to be played.Is this what its come to?Not playing the proper amoubt of time because a team is getting well beaten.What kind of a precedance would that set?Why not blow up at half time on Sunday if Meath are hammering Wicklow.Silly stuff from McStay.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/06/2015 15:43:43    1732444

i noticed jim mcguiness put jack sheedy in his place when he tried to salvage his own ineptitude by taking a shot at the likes of donegals style of play

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 04/06/2015 15:48:10    1732450

marty morrissey a good commentator? oh jesus

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 04/06/2015 15:50:10    1732452

I think Dave McIntyre is very good for Sky. Also like listening to him on Newstalk. Paul Earley doesn't offer much to Sky's coverage though.

scruff (UK) - Posts: 467 - 04/06/2015 17:51:45    1732513

cuederocket

I thought McStay was a joke last Sunday calling for the ref to blow up on 70 mins and not to allow the 7 minutes injury time to be played.Is this what its come to?Not playing the proper amoubt of time because a team is getting well beaten.What kind of a precedance would that set?Why not blow up at half time on Sunday if Meath are hammering Wicklow.Silly stuff from McStay.

agree 100% with this. and he said it more than once and the commentator agreed with him. I mean are we going to play by the rules set out or not. If the ref blew up 7 minutes early, Longford would be entitled to object and ask for a replay. that's the way things were done 100 years ago. I thought we had moved on from that. I must say Dessie Dolan was good last weekend though.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 04/06/2015 20:40:01    1732581

27/05/2015 10:16:31
MesAmis

suckvalleypaddy

"Cake" Curran was too critical of London but he was good overall in his assessment of the other matches. London and NY would be far better off in the Leinster c'ship as they could compete with some of them imo

It is possible for London to get to a Connacht final. They would never ever get near to a Leinster Final.

----------------

Meath will reach the Leinster final this summer by beating Wicklow div 4 who were already beaten by London this year and Westmeath who are probably around the same level as Sligo.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 04/06/2015 21:09:33    1732592

Tomas O'Se and Ciaran Whealan are two very good pundits. Brolly makes the headlines, but in fairness to him hes able to have a bit of craic. Jim McGuinness will be interesting with Sky, I always found Peter Canavan to be very good aswell

ShortGrass_1 (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 05/06/2015 10:20:26    1732657

Canavan is giving a proper good punditry tonight
Really knows his football.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 06/06/2015 18:49:56    1733265