The standard of punditry

Yup, Sky does wonders for a fellas reputation.
Canavan was on tv3 for ages, and no one said a thing.
Put him in a sky studio and all of a sudden hes a great pundit.
Same with Jamsie O Connor.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 06/06/2015 18:53:40    1733269

peter canavan was always decent on tv3...sky is certainly a better platform then tv3 though

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 06/06/2015 19:05:57    1733278

What did EDDIE BRENNAN mean by the DUBS being a "ONE TRIP PONY" ? Always thought that meant being able to play hurling but not Football, which would be more suitable for describing EDDIE and his Lot!

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 06/06/2015 19:34:11    1733298

Pathetic analysis by ORourke and Spillane.I don't think they know any Derry players apart from lynch and Bradley.O'Rourke said Bradley is marked by rookie full back Brendan Rodgers is in fact the Derry full back.Spillane I doubt Spillane could name down and says I watched the derry last year

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 07/06/2015 14:02:20    1733489

O'Rourke is one dull act. Again he sits their as though he's forced to watch this game and shows no interest with his lazy analysis. Bradley's 'not his cup of tea' because he makes a living playing soccer is just pathetic. The man has just finished a full season and still has the hunger to play for his county and so far is running the show up front for Derry. O'Rourke can't seem to grasp that an amateur organisation will have to work with circumstances like this, during Joe Brolly's rant at Sean Cavanagh he said 'Joe you haven't lived in the real world' he should really look to himself with that one.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 07/06/2015 14:25:02    1733499

Good first half, Derry may regret those frees they missed but Down are not out of this. Some really good points scored in this, and conditions are pretty benign too, looking forward to second half.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 07/06/2015 14:44:07    1733506

has anyone else had their fill of the constant misery being spouted by the football pundits? today's game was no classic but it was a contest from start to finish yet all we get is how 'dreadful' it is and how poor everything is with very little reference to anything positive. 'That was 70 minutes of my life I'll never get back' fs get over yourself Spillane! If it's so bad then resign and give your salary to the number of people who would love your job. How much longer are we going to have to listen to the same old rhetoric, you could copy and paste a teams name in front of their comments every week because it's all miserably predictable. The afternoon show definitely needs a face lift.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 07/06/2015 16:45:05    1733573

Pundits are miserable but so was the "football". There was no difference between that down Derry match and a junior championship match. No one could kick pass at all. One lad even hand passed the ball up in the air when there was a clear shooting chance. Both teams full of running but no one could kick a ball bar one or two on each team. Same as a junior football team.
I normally wouldn't have time for Spillane but he hit the nail on the head with the 72 mins he won't get back . I wasted the same 72 mins. In fairness to down v Derry, I turned it over to ireland v England but then switched back because that was worse.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 07/06/2015 17:13:59    1733586

If neither of them want to be there let them f off
It was no classic but I enjoyed it a lot more than dubs v longford and had more bite than kildare laois match
The 2 boyos should go moan in a pub there no addition.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 07/06/2015 17:16:50    1733588

tirawleybaron 0-0 from 'professional' athletes and it's all optimism and focus on the good points over on ITV, our lads deserve better from RTE.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 07/06/2015 17:26:40    1733598

Wouldn't watch itv's cheerleaders for any sport.

I watched the sky coverage last night which was technical but drab. There has to be a balance somewhere. Oisin mc conville is the best by far. Good Analysis and not afraid to say the football was poor if it was.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 07/06/2015 17:46:28    1733614

tirawleybaron

1733586 Pundits are miserable but so was the "football". There was no difference between that down Derry match and a junior championship match. No one could kick pass at all. One lad even hand passed the ball up in the air when there was a clear shooting chance. Both teams full of running but no one could kick a ball bar one or two on each team. Same as a junior football team.
I normally wouldn't have time for Spillane but he hit the nail on the head with the 72 mins he won't get back . I wasted the same 72 mins. In fairness to down v Derry, I turned it over to ireland v England but then switched back because that was worse.

Well your one of the few Mayo people who wouldn't normally have time for Spillane, as the majority of people In Mayo I spoke to a few months back thought he was great craic and Instead despised Joe Brolly. And I'm not talking one or two people, I'm talking 8 or 9 people at least.

One fella actually told me he didn't attend the Donegal v Mayo league game the week before in Castlebar, as he couldn't stand Donegal's style and it wasn't football. I was baffled, had this man actually seen Mayo play in recent times? I told him he must still have a bitter taste over thon 2012 AI final, as Donegal and Mayo are not a million miles apart. If he thought Mayo were some purist footballing outfit, he was living in La La land.

We've had 4 Ulster Championship games so far, and all of them have been competitive enough affairs. While todays game might have seemed dour, I partly blame the referee for stopping it so much.

Look overall It's still been a decent opening to the Ulster Championship, especially if you know what to traditionally expect in the Ulster Championship.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 07/06/2015 17:51:30    1733620

SaffronDon
tirawleybaron 0-0 from 'professional' athletes and it's all optimism and focus on the good points over on ITV, our lads deserve better from RTE.

Paul Scholes said on ITV that the soccer game lacked quality and "was a waste of an afternoon really", and called the game a waste of space. I watched the BBC coverage today and thought McConvilles comments about Kinsella were totally uncalled for, it looks to me like RTE pundits will criticise both players and referees but BBC pundits only go for the easy target of the referee.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 07/06/2015 18:02:20    1733643

Good Analysis and not afraid to say the football was poor if it was.

I've no problem with that but on RTE we are getting no proper analysis just whinging about where the game has gone. Call the game poor if that's what it is and then move on to talk about the contest itself, 90% of their talk is about football in general and not the game they are there to analyse and that is probably because they couldn't tell you much about either team apart from one or two players and that was evident today.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 07/06/2015 18:02:45    1733644

SaffronDon

I've no problem with that but on RTE we are getting no proper analysis just whinging about where the game has gone. Call the game poor if that's what it is and then move on to talk about the contest itself, 90% of their talk is about football in general and not the game they are there to analyse and that is probably because they couldn't tell you much about either team apart from one or two players and that was evident today.

I'd agree with that. Today's match was quite poor in fairness but it was a close contest and the RTÉ lads provided no insight into the game at all and just whinged about the game.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 07/06/2015 18:11:39    1733653

Soma I only watched the half time coverage of the soccer and at 0-0 there was none of that 'why am I even here' attitude from any of the pundits. McConville is a good analyst but I agree he went over the top in his criticism of Eddie Kinsella. It wasn't a sending off but he trusted the judgement of one of his colleagues and in fairness to McConville he was also trying to make the point of extra support for referees who are under more pressure than ever in today's game.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 07/06/2015 18:26:36    1733661

Darragh Maloney asks Pat spillanw what was behind Downs second half fightback.
Spillane replies after a brief pause "....well they worked harder, and complacency from Derry".
Outstanding stuff really.
As for O Rourke,well he just sits there and whinges every Sunday.
The two of them shouldnt be paired together.
At least Brolly is entertaining.
I quite enjoyed the Derry/Down game. A good hard competitive fixture.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 07/06/2015 18:45:09    1733681

Nobody mentioned that Waterford had 7 players on the line for the last ditch Cork free. Just a question on this is it up to the free taker to wait until there are only 5 on the line or can he blast away and demand a retake if its saved ???

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 07/06/2015 18:51:42    1733690

33/1 no goals this weekend in the footie...anyone get it.?

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 07/06/2015 18:54:13    1733692

My God that new Marty Morrissey show after the Six-O clock News was cringeworthy.
Cake knows nothing about football either and as for brenda O'Donoghue the less said the better.
Rubbish show.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 07/06/2015 19:17:55    1733708