Kerry playing puke football ?

Read his article in the Mail, and listen back to his punditry on The Sunday Game. He did not think that Kerry had a prayer. At times you could be forgiven for thinking that it was just Donegal playing in the final. He thought it was going to play out like 03, 05, 08 and 12, but things have now changed, and he's sickened.

I agree with him that Kerry will have to get off their high horses, they should have done years ago and gotten with the plan, like Fitzmaurice has. But likewise, we must remember that Brolly has been VERY slow to criticise Ulster teams for playing some questionable stuff at times over the years. You could tell after the 2011 semi-final that it was breaking his heart to have to criticise Donegal's downright awful play. Both sides need to cop on to themselves. Will they? No.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 26/09/2014 12:40:37    1657196

Have to say this time I agree with Joe Brolly. It didn't matter who kerry played in the final, they had decided that whether it was dublin or donegal that they were going to adopt this style in the final. For years we listened to pat spillane eulogising about the right way play to football and condemning counties like tyrone and donegal for playing what he called " puke football" and then his own county adopted the style as they had decided after their near misses in the last 4-5 years that they wouldn't beat the better teams playing open football. The final was without a doubt the worst final that I can remember and there has been some bad ones. Of course the winners will be delighted but it was shocking to watch. I can appreciate that there was a lot at stake and you can excuse certain aspects of poor elements of the game due to nerves and pressure but it the poor quality never abated and the 20 minutes afeter half time were so bad that it was hard to believe this was the showcase event of the year. Let's be honest about this kerry team were steeped to be even in the final as it was with the aid of the ref in limerick that they beat mayo and then we had the spectacle at the end of that game where they wouldn't even let mayo take a free and kieran donaghy was up to his old antics. Kerry can argue that they rightfully sit at the top of the table but I believe there is always a right way to do things. Amazingly enough the game really was decided by one goalkeeping error. Maybe they will go to dominate the game over the years now that they have such an abundance of quality and players returning. Brolly speaks his mind whther it is right or wrong not like the other analysts who talked absolute bull last week after the game. Please god this is not the way our great game is going but if it is then it will be some endurance.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 26/09/2014 12:43:03    1657197

Donegalman - what I found interesting about the match last Sunday was, that when both teams lined up defensively Kerry were better but when Donegal started attacking they were the better team. Donegal were behind and had to play more attacking football and were able to get back on terms (after the early goal) but then seemed to revert back to a more defensive setup when they went ahead which suited Kerry again as they played it better this game. Then when Kerry got the second goal again Donegal had to go more attacking and again they scored the next 3 points without reply in a 3 minute period. To me it seemed obvious towards the middle to end of the first half that Donegal were getting more out of the game when they went on the front foot and I was just surprised that they didn't continue to play to what seemed their advantage on the day.

What amuses me is that we have people on here throwing accusations of anti-Kerry etc etc but this isn't about being anti-Kerry. At the end of the day Kerry did what they had to do to win the game and I don't think anyone can begrudge them of that but please stop this bull that they don't play negative/defensive or whatever and they only did in this game because it was Donegal - history has shown this not to be the case. Its like all those who believe the the Vikings had horns in their helmets just because tv and film has always depicted this, that Mrs O'Learys cow started the Great fire of Chicago, or that if you stick your tongue out at a priest it will stay stuck out forever.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 26/09/2014 12:43:32    1657198

I think it is fairly clear that nobody is begrudging Kerry their All Ireland.

But there can be no excuses about the way they played the game.

This reason that they only played the way they did to defeat an opponent who played with the same system is fine. But this same excuse can easily be used with Tyrone over the years. When Tyrone played a Team such as Kerry/Dublin or Kildare during the noughties they constantly produced classic games and played with an open attractive style.

But when they played in Ulster or against a against a defensive team they had to use a Blanket defence tactic to overcome them.

Of course this sort of analysis was never given by the majority of southern supporters or pundits and now that Kerry are doing the same thing the excuses are flowing.

Its quite pathetic really.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 26/09/2014 12:52:28    1657202

Hard to argue with Joe Brolly's article re Kerru where like the Child from the Exorcist with her machine gun vomit spraying everyone ! just about sums up last Sunday. And even worse than that was Spillane standing there covered in it hailing Kerry's win. Ahh we still have the hurling....

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 26/09/2014 12:52:57    1657203

I have hardly seen any examples of Kerry people trying to say that Sundays game was an enthralling exhibition of football, that the only reason it is being described as puke football is because of their geographical position, or because other counties hate to see them win anything. So at least Kerry people get some respect for that. Most pundits who said back in the 00's that defensive football would eventually turn people away from the game were mocked and described as being bitter about certain counties success - yet as soon as we have an All-Ireland with 2 teams playing defensive football it is described by many as the worst final ever. People can make up their own minds on whether the blame lies with those who started the defensive system, or those who decided the best way to defeat it was to adopt it. Either way, the game is the big loser just as many pundits with a love of the game predicted 10 years ago. lets hope the Dubs can rescue us all and the game itself.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 26/09/2014 13:33:09    1657217

And as a follow up to my earlier post, the strategy that led to Kerry's first goal was very clever and vital in winning the game. Kerry pulled Donaghy and O'Donoghue, who they knew were going to be very closely marshalled, out around the 40 and left Geaney inside on McGrath (the smallest Donegal defender). Geaney is 6'3" I believe. Geaney was thrown in at the deep end but he took on the responsibility and got a good goal inside a minute. This strategy was supposedly Donaghy's idea. It was an idea that they tried early in the game and was only going to be workable for a few minutes, but it worked. It's another aspect of how Donegals defensive system was unpicked.

Liameen (USA) - Posts: 38 - 26/09/2014 14:23:27    1657234

Liameen - it was a masterstroke from a Kerry point. As you say they knew the focus would be on Donaghy and O'Donoghue from the throw-in and worked it to perfection. It was the sort of move you might only get one chance to attempt and they executed it first time.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 26/09/2014 14:43:55    1657237

We'll never know what Joe really thinks. He's merely playing the pipe for his Ulster fan base.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 26/09/2014 15:04:54    1657243

soma see pat spillane the most notable kerry man in the public eye..he doesnt seem to consider kerry werent playing puke...treaty i would argue brolly has been a big critic of donegals style on numerous occasions often calling it terrible to watch and a monster so what you say simply isnt true..he just admires mcguiness for implementing it whether it is good to watch or not is up to ones own preference but it is certainly successful and thats all he argues really..in relation to kerry people are naturally up for slating them as people dont like kerry but all the same the high horse people that really unnecessarily went in hard on tyrones style of play over the years are asking for the abuse to be redirected to them now...fair play kerry i have 0 problem with their style of play and i like watching them more than anybody but if donegal and tyrone are going to be described as puke than kerrys tactics the other day are certainly within that mould..

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 26/09/2014 15:12:08    1657246

i still find it incredible that some posters on here and commentators continue to pedal the argument that poor old kerry had to adapt to play puke football because they were forced into it by the dark forces north of monaghan and cavan....and the only redemption for us now is the boys in blue...brolly was obviously having a cut at his colleague from kerry, and he is spot on when he claims according to some its only puke football when kerry or dublin are not playing it...when they play it its only because they have been dragged into it.

tyrone got no credit for their fantastic displays in both 2005 and 2008...just watch the last 15 mins in 2008...absolute beauty...watch their second half against kerry in 2003 semi-final...destroyed kerry with open exhilirating football..
i was at both this years mayo kerry semi-finals, and i was also at the tyrone armagh 2005 semi-final...that was truly the most remarkable game i ever been to...but as we know it doesn't sit comfortably with certain commentators agendas to highlight tyrone and armagh as serving up a classic

puke football?..it was a term coined by a sore loser from kerry, and it has all come back to haunt him after last sunday

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 26/09/2014 15:14:34    1657249

on a side note lads how many bad world cup finals or champions league finals have we watched?..yet do they say the game is in huge trouble just because a bad final?..we had 2 brilliant semis yet everybody is all for negativity...in truth i would argue there hasnt been a good all ireland final since 2008...2011 was dramatic but it wasnt a good match

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 26/09/2014 15:19:12    1657250

Kerry won sam and did it by getting down and dirty and who would blame them? They were unreal against Dublin last year in the semi and they are I am sure knocking their heads why they didn't pull down mccammon in 2011. They have prefected starting a rumbus near the end of games too ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 26/09/2014 15:27:06    1657255

"Tyrone got no credit for their All Ireland wins in 2005 & 2008"
Who gives out this credit for All Ireland wins?
I thought the medals and Sam Maguire trophy were all the credit that people needed?

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 26/09/2014 16:21:32    1657278

Kerry were even worse than any northern team as they played puke football badly

First half alone the foul count was 10 fouls committed by Kerry Vs 1 foul committed by Donegal , plus had it been a Donegal man that had kicked the ball off the keepers tee there would have been war in the media, plus (as acknowledged by Darragh o Se) Murphy was the subject of a lot of 'illegal' attention - imagine is O Donaghue/gooch had got the same level of 'attention - Spillane would have burst a blood vessel

It's a northern bias - and I'm not stating that subjectively -the stats show it... the southern media don't like the north. for Donegal it even extends back to the semi final of 2011 when Lacey was cleaned out of it by Dublin and had to go off - had it been Donegal targeting Brogan there would have been uproar

It's interesting that the Sunday game don't do much of a stats analysis/debate - then we would have more objective analysis

Kerry were the better team on the day but it was not a 'victory for football'... Brolly speaks a lot of nonsense but I'd have to agree with his viewpoint on the final

It's not a contradiction to say that he admires Donegal's game but doesn't like it - there's actually Donegal folk who have the same opinion - it's a bit like Real Madrid fan who can admire Barcelona but that doesn't mean they like them

LKGael (Donegal) - Posts: 234 - 26/09/2014 16:38:10    1657286

Let's get this right
Posters on here are saying that's how you beat Donegal's system, well in my book it was not beat , giving away a silly goal was the cause of defeat. Without Durkin's mistake how do you think the game would have panned out. After Kerry scored in the first few minutes it was all Donegal for the next 30 minutes. Now in the first 15 minutes or so of the second half I think each side scored I point each. So that goal saved Kerry Must admit we made mistakes ( PMcGrath on a big man) not getting P McBrearty in earlier. Also our running game was not at it's best ( ten frees in the first half explains all ) but nobody can question Donegal's discipline, stayed with their defensive system all through the game. Could Kerry or any other team playing that way stay so discipline and them behind. Imagine if Donegal had got a four point lead with 15 minutes or so left.
As regards puke football , it don't worry me, well used to hard fought , tight games in Ulster. Hope we get back next year to meet them in the semi final, but of course if Jim goes things will be difficult. To sum it all up Kerry got the breaks on Sunday and left us chasing the game. But it stops the idea that Donegal can't come from behind. Did it against Dublin and again Sunday.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/09/2014 21:04:18    1657361

pdempsey

1657243 We'll never know what Joe really thinks. He's merely playing the pipe for his Ulster fan base.

I think with Joe the barrister , its actually whch case he feels he can get more mileage out of, or which arguement interests him more in defending.
He could just of easy got up this morning and decided, he would take the file on his desk , that had written "KERRY ADAPT TO WHATEVER THE SURROUNDINGS" and ran with it.
Instead he took the file that had "KERRY EMBRACE THE DARK SIDE" :)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 26/09/2014 21:24:55    1657371

Liameen
What did Jack o Conner say after Donegal beat Kerry in 2012 semi:::Kerry would not go down the road and play Donegal style or something similar::: any Kerry manager that did so would get lynched.
Well that changed Sunday but if Kerry want to play like Donegal fair enough that's their choice. But let Spillane not try to talk it up different. It's similar to what Northern counties play , it's has brought success to Ulster counties and to win this years all Ireland Kerry had to go down the road and play Ulster style, otherwise they probably would not have win So instead of Kerry beating Donegal you could say another Ulster county beat them. Also looking at the 2012 teams ::: the team Donegal beat in2012 wasit a better team than last Sundays team??? Don't forget Cooper, Galvin and the two O Shea's , brosnan were all playing.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/09/2014 21:49:02    1657380

There's hypocrisy abound SamOnErrigal. Prior to the final people wanted to play down the early goal in the 2012 quarter-final that came from a sideline kick. What goes around, comes around I guess. Donaghy in fairness still had to finish it. There are other factors to be considered for anyone looking at a broad perspective. Kerry were applying pressure on the Donegal kickout. All before the game talk was of the best kickouts. Mistakes can happen under these circumstances. To be honest I could see it happening. Options were being limited.
Donegal usually have a great 3rd quarter. Donegal put in a massive effort in this quarter but were stifled by Kerry on the day. Donegal were fairly well disciplined but under pressure conceded scoreable frees. Many felt Donegal would win well in the last 10 minutes. The pressure was on Kerry when the game was brought back to a point game but they had the answers on the day. Commiserations again on the defeat. Our counties will lock horns in battle again.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 26/09/2014 21:51:53    1657381

Kerry did what real champions do, whatever is necessary to get the result. It's not their fault that the feeble minded, Spillane & co, keep seeing them as models of footballing purity.

They took a look at Donegal & came up with a great strategy which worked superbly on the day & took Sam home for the 37th time.

This should serve as an example to others who spout drivel about puke football & about their own counties being keepers of the flame of true football as it is meant to be played.

Such sentiments are only a fig leaf, meant to cover up failure, incompetence & weakness.

Champions do what has to be done & in that, Kerry's performance against Donegal has done us all a great service.

Winners win, losers complain.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/09/2014 09:22:14    1657389