Kerry playing puke football ?

uckrossHead

Kerry did what real champions do, whatever is necessary to get the result. It's not their fault that the feeble minded, Spillane & co, keep seeing them as models of footballing purity.

They took a look at Donegal & came up with a great strategy which worked superbly on the day & took Sam home for the 37th time.

This should serve as an example to others who spout drivel about puke football & about their own counties being keepers of the flame of true football as it is meant to be played.

Such sentiments are only a fig leaf, meant to cover up failure, incompetence & weakness.

Champions do what has to be done & in that, Kerry's performance against Donegal has done us all a great service.

Winners win, losers complain.

They won and good luck to them indeed. It's unfortunate to see some of the reaction though that you get from individuals who are clearly biased one way or the other and some of them dont even have the backbone to disclose which county they are from.
Once you win you seem to get the inevitable begrudgery as Donegal are well aware of and indeed Kerry and Dublin also. Amazing how much bitterness comes to the fore from some quarters once you win. I would have to say that honestly I thought it was a poor enough game of football but Kerry wont mind that no more than Dublin did in winning against Donegal in the Semi of 2011.Kerry got the bit of luck/mistake on the day and that's all that seperated the sides.It wasn't champagne football but sometimes you have to win drinking water.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 27/09/2014 10:08:20    1657401

It took a long time for the penny to drop for Kerry, getting beat by Armagh 02, Tyrone 03,05,08 Dublin 11 and Donegal 12, we were going in these games with the attitude that we are Kerry and we wont change our game to suit any component, this is the first year Kerry changed their style of play dependent on their opponent. It was fine when Kerry lost all these games we heard from people saying Kerry were soft had no backbone etc etc. Kerry are champs get over it, a lot of sore losers on here.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 27/09/2014 11:22:35    1657410

Well done Kerry - doesn't matter how ye did it but Sam is in the kingdom. That said, brolly does have a point in saying that when certain teams play this style it is called ugly and a disgrace as when some others do it it is absorbing and exciting.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 27/09/2014 11:38:45    1657411

Brolly has no point at all. Kerry were involved in three classic semi-finals in the space of a year. Brolly was saying before the final Kerry had to do it. He doubted they could maintain it for the whole game. He was wrong. End of. We'll winter well in the Kingdom! Ciarraí abú!! ;)

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 27/09/2014 12:04:54    1657424

27/09/2014 12:04:54
legendzxix

Brolly has no point at all. Kerry were involved in three classic semi-finals in the space of a year. Brolly was saying before the final Kerry had to do it. He doubted they could maintain it for the whole game. He was wrong. End of. We'll winter well in the Kingdom! Ciarraí abú!! ;)

only 3 points in it and Donegal goal handed it to Kerry plus BJK got 2 handy frees at the end and Donegal should had 45 when Crowley touched ball out of play.McFadden could got at the end.Donegal threw it away

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 27/09/2014 12:28:54    1657432

Completely agree that Brolly may have thought Kerry weren't up to beating Donegal playing that system. I didn't myself to be honest. They did the only thing they could do and I congratulate them. Best team were victorious. What I would say is the blanket, defensive style game has not been found out yet :-), on the contrary. Kerry accepted that they could not beat this system playing their normal game, and to beat em they had to join em. They couldn't kick over the blanket for example, their wide count was pretty awful. Donegal will be back again. If we are motoring good with few injuries we'll always be competitive playjng this way as the 'purists' haven't found their own way of beating it like we were promised they would. .

fire_in_belly (Donegal) - Posts: 59 - 27/09/2014 12:49:48    1657435

I hope there's a Dublin v Kerry match next year. It'd be interesting to see if Kerry take the approach they had in this year's final, that worked for Donegal against Dublin, or if they'd go for a shoot-out like they ultimately failed with in the 2013 sf against Dublin.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 27/09/2014 13:12:51    1657438

Issues after the dust has settled 6 days later.

That there is begrudgery against kerry no mater what, ie that they cant win with some, they are either soft in losing v northern teams, or win soft all irelands when they do win. But now there is a new reason to pick at them, that they win playing puke football in most typically puke football fashion.

I would say that there is utterly no reason to disrespect kerry at all for doing what is necessary to win. We will see them play next year in great games and in possibly awful games. But it is the same for us all, except that kerry are all ireland champions and that is that.

Having considered everything this week and watched the game as well as the rerun of the sunday game., I would have to say that brolly is really spiteful. i would also say that Spillane should revise his notes, as it was not a victory for traditional football, but just a victory and he should accept that teams have to do what it takes to win even and kerry are not immune to this fact.

I would see kerry being very strong again next year. They have cork in killarney. They are looking at a potential semi final against the ulster champions. That would be really interesting in terms of how they set up. I also think that there is a potential all ireland final v either dublin or mayo waiting for them. That would be doubly interesting, for reasons of aesthetics. It could be a classic dilemma in terms of how they set up. But this is jumping well ahead. I think that most teams would give their right arm to win the final by any way possible.

I think that the match last sunday was a fairly clean and sporting affair despite the closeness and intensity of the contest. This has got to be acknowledged and it is not being. They won in a sporting way. Gud luck to them.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 27/09/2014 14:30:44    1657453

Why is there a question mark at the end of the title of this thread?

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 27/09/2014 16:44:09    1657477

@ MichaelO - you're showing limited knowledge of the game there. That game was won in the final minute + injury time. A lesson learned that day was the importance of a strong bench.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 27/09/2014 18:07:34    1657504

No Kerry man will ever win 10. Pretenders to the throne.
Go on the cats.
Legends me a**e.

BallBearing (USA) - Posts: 72 - 27/09/2014 18:57:06    1657520

No kerryman will ever play in a two team (one team???) championship ballbearing.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 27/09/2014 19:02:05    1657524

@ MichaelO - you're showing limited knowledge of the game there. That game was won in the final minute + injury time. A lesson learned that day was the importance of a strong bench.

Ye scored six points in the second half which wasn't really enough - Kerry still could've won all the same though.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 27/09/2014 19:16:57    1657530

Heh Jon and you can't even win connaught.
On the cats. Loosers whingers.

BallBearing (USA) - Posts: 72 - 27/09/2014 19:43:19    1657539

You've got to play puke against puke. Dublin had to do it in 2011 and succeeded but tried to play football against it 3 weeks ago and look what happened. Kerry were not going to be as stupid as Dublin. They out-Donegaled Donegal. That's what you've go to do to beat 'the system'. Fair play to them!

I think this is my favorite post on the thread. Dublin fan in denial that the unbeatable Dublin team got the floor wiped with them by Donegal. Had they got beaten by puke football the scoreline would have been 7-6.

With regards Kerrys victory last Sunday - it was a victory for their tactics on the day. This is not the best Kerry team we will ever see and certainly the keeper handed it to them but they made sure they were competing in a game they were expected to lose at that stage on the basis on good tactical calls from their management.

Where I do laugh at the puke football idea is just the craic of slinging it back at Spillane in his Ivory tower -reap what you sew and all that.

Am I the only one that the standard of county teams has been at a pretty low standard for about 5 years now - something else that grated on me a bit when this talk was going about Dublin being the greatest team every.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 27/09/2014 19:55:55    1657543

Lol.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 27/09/2014 20:08:12    1657550

@ MichaelO - we had a terrible 3rd quarter and no options on the bench. We still responded though and battled hard in the last 10 minutes. We missed a crucial point, the capital responded with a goal and the rest is history. Our draw with Mayo followed a similar pattern of a poor 3rd quarter and responding in the last 10 minutes. We had better options on the bench this year which helped make a difference. There wasn't a whole lot between the 4 provincial champions. Many rated Kerry 4th going into the semi-finals which makes the victory all the sweeter. We'll lock horns with the Ulster Region again. Ciarraí abú!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 27/09/2014 21:03:15    1657571

Naysayer

Am I the only one that the standard of county teams has been at a pretty low standard for about 5 years now - something else that grated on me a bit when this talk was going about Dublin being the greatest team every.

From 2010 onwards your on about is it?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 27/09/2014 21:15:34    1657577

Once again Spillane is talking rubbish on the Sunday world (systems my arse) On about how to break the system /blanket. Well Kerry did not do it Sunday ::::: they got 11 scores, Armagh got 12 Monaghan got 10 Antrim and Derry got about 9 each. Goes to show how consistence the Donegal Defence was. A div four team could almost get the same as a div I team as regards scores, that's how Donegal are coached to play , very cautious in their approach which probably hinders their attack. But for Durkin's mistake( all the ones I met here in London are on about it and how it cost Donegal the game )nobody knows how the game would have panned out and as I saw the Kerryman newspaper which said:::in a game so cagey and tight, the mistake was defining in a major way.
As Donaghy said the period from half time up until his goal felt like 3hours. Up until the mistake and goal to me the game was how Donegal would want it :::: grind out the result. But luck plays a big part and Kerry themselves were guilty of similar in 2011. Mc Menamon's goal came off a silly error. Same in 1982 final , luck was with Offfally. We had it in 2012 ...... Handy early goal against Kerry::: Durkin's save against Tyrone and the Cork forward crashing the ball against the upright in the semi plus McFaddens goal against Mayo in the final.
Donegal and JMcG deserve a lot of credit::: most of the team( ten to eleven players) suffered heavy defeats in the period from 2007 to 2010 including to Antrim at home in the Ulster championship. For JMcG to do such a JoD is fantastic( would J Galvin /E Fitzmaurice have done the same job. They had no Ulster title , nothing but a string of heavy defeats and within four years won 3Ulster titles, one All Ireland and I Div two. Plus we beat the best teams in Ireland Dublin, Kerry Tyrone Cork and Mayo but with a heavy defeat to Mayo. But in defeat to both Dublin /Kerry , it was only a kick of the ball
From what I saw last Sunday Kerry could play in the Ulster championship but would not dominate like in Munster, they would win games but would not dominate. Armagh, Tyrone Donegal Monaghan and Down would see to that.
Also R Curtis on about the future of football:: wise up dear man , wait and see Ulster next year and big crowds again. If Donegal had to have got 50000 tickets last Sunday we would have used them. Same goes for a lot of counties In finals.
We can if and but about last Sunday but Kerry have Sam and good luck to them. Still I hope we don't have many retirements and that Jim stays on for I more year as I don't fear many teams in Ireland. Kerry can play all the puke football they want if they meets us again but would not worry too much about them. Our system has stood up and served us well over four years and no reason why it can't deliver again next year. At least with it we got to play and beat the best in Ireland over the last four years.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 28/09/2014 18:02:34    1657742

Heck Sam, even Antrim should have beaten Kerry down in Tullamore that day 5 years ago. Have never seen such relieved Kerrymen come the final whistle.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 28/09/2014 18:23:34    1657751