Ways to offset the "inevitable" dominance of Dubs

cavanman47

1640774 AthCliath

No, I don't think it's any different to any other county and think, based on those jobs you listed, that he's just having a bit of a swipe.

In fact, if I remember correctly, didn't the Tyrone County Board offer to pay its players wages so they could take time off work in the build-up to the All Ireland in 08?

I meant to add Paddy Andrews is with Davy stockbrockers :)
If a county can help players fair enough the commitment they put in for us fans to go and watch should be rewarded. If Tyrone, Donegal or who ever can keep lads from emigrating i salute this.
My point is its clear Dublin a fair diversity in proffessions. Off course lads will have better opportunities of securing employment if playing intercounty football. It has always been this way .
A quick glance of any successful county over the years will see a host of bankers and school teachers.
JmcG comments didnt bother me ,i can see them for what they are, But Bantys comments are something you would expect in a pub late at night between two guys winding each other up. He is showing disrespect to the Dublin lads who studied or trained hard to get a job and still find time to train 6 days a week with Dublin .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/08/2014 11:44:51    1640777

Another baseless throwaway comment from a man who should know better. I hope our lads are storing these insults and getting ready to unleash the beast!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/08/2014 13:11:33    1640818

Who gives a fk what a failed manager thinks of Dublin. He thought he could come to Parnell and frighten the Dubs. How did that work out Banty my friend :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/08/2014 13:41:34    1640825

McEneaney is accusing Dublin of breaking the fundamental rule of the association. Let him bring a formal charge so.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/08/2014 16:22:46    1640880

Give them a rugby ball to train with

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/08/2014 16:48:25    1640891

Donegalman

Give them a rugby ball to train with

Can ye lads lend us some :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 23/08/2014 17:01:16    1640897

What rugby balls?? weve only seen them on tv

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/08/2014 17:58:36    1640914

lol, we might be able to sort you out with some pool cues, if you really really need them!

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/08/2014 18:02:08    1640916

Strange really. when i question the long term effects of Kilkennys near monopolistaion of the hurling, people just say that its up to other counties to reach kilkennys level.
Dublins dominance is nowhere near that level yet, and apparently its the end of the world. I love both codes, but KIlkennys brilliance in hurling worries me far more than the dubs brilliance in football.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 23/08/2014 18:24:16    1640921

joncarter

So true what you say about Kilkenny. Dublin will never dominate football the way Kilkenny has hurling, too many single code counties for that to happen.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 23/08/2014 19:37:14    1640938

speak to jim mc g

fkm leitrim (Leitrim) - Posts: 88 - 31/08/2014 17:38:19    1645329

That's ridiculous joncarter, Kilkenny's dominance is based on the power of their hurling culture and not population or financial resources.

commercials1 (Limerick) - Posts: 115 - 31/08/2014 18:35:15    1645415