Ways to offset the "inevitable" dominance of Dubs

Realman2

I think you're the one doing the whining. If there was awards handed out for it yous might well have 9 out of 10 yourselves.

A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 21/08/2014 18:59:27    1640160

Sorry, but if it is 'nobody's business' what funds Dublin can generate themselves, then it is 'nobody's business' how the gaa decide to divide up their money... You cant have it every way.

-----
Yes but Master give us the figures. You have been using terms like 'huge' funds, 'massive' advantages yet every time somebody posts the actual figures, Dublin v other counties proportionately allocated, you disappear over to another thread. Similarly with the 'huge' advantages, you fail to engage on the debate.

Now give us the actual figures by county as they are now, how you think they should be distributed and most importantly WHY? For example you wouldn't give Leitrim 1.5m to promote GAA in the county would you?? Then again maybe you would. Dublin spent €2 approx per head of population in 2012, Mayo spent €10 approx per head. I think this should be reversed don't you? This is a massive advantage to Mayo is it not, in a single code county and all.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 21/08/2014 19:36:12    1640179

How are Kildare going to win Leinster if they can't get past 1 team from Dublin let alone 5, as ROS1 would have it. And what good would splitting Dublin do for any of the lesser counties from around the country? Precious little.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 21/08/2014 19:59:29    1640186

more professional coaches and better facilities are 2 obvious ways for funding to go to other counties

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 21/08/2014 20:46:54    1640205

Joxer

The awnsers are out there. Go 'research' it yourself is the stock response. Or you're being childish. Your accused of attacking someones county. But no awnsers.

A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 21/08/2014 20:53:44    1640210

Ah well

See yiz.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/08/2014 20:55:43    1640213

Don't expect TheMaster to answer you!

He do run, run run run, he do run run!

Realman2, most of your suggestions are pie in the sky and aren't based on reality.

The GAA need to continuously fund Dublin and win the hearts and minds of the kids in the city. Why you ask!? Cash!

Kildare have massive advantages over Carlow, would you like to hand over Kildares Brady's Ham money to them!? Would you like the GAA to transfer Kildares game development funding to Carlow!?

I think not.

Have Mayo been developing Leitrim with the 700k they spent on their football set up last year....... Why not!?

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 21/08/2014 21:09:35    1640220

RealHypocrite, u say we needed the population advantage to beat ye down the years.....??
Funny that, cos ye have twice the population of Meath, never did ye any good tho did it!

If you dont have it, you just dont have it!!

Hon de Royals!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/08/2014 09:15:40    1640287

1640083 Sorry, but if it is 'nobody's business' what funds Dublin can generate themselves, then it is 'nobody's business' how the gaa decide to divide up their money... You cant have it every way.

I know you didn't mean to but you just made my argument for me, unless you mean that it's nobody's business how the GAA divide up their money as long as Dublin don't get any.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 22/08/2014 09:32:49    1640289

realman2
[url=County: Kildare

I'm responding to a lot of silly stuff on here so let me throw Dublin a bone.

If Dublin gets spilt you will unoffically have won Gaelic Football. They will have changed the rules just for you because us culchies couldn't compete with you. You would be ableto lord it over us for all time. You really aren't seeing the good in all this.

Its much more fun to lord it over you on the pitch.

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 22/08/2014 11:36:23    1640365

Open Letter to the administrator

From this day forward can you stop any thread that leads to dublin bashing at its source. Can you also stop and nonsensical thread like this one that basically insults all other counties. Seriously going on about loaning out dublin players cause they have too much talent.

Ok perspective time for all hogan stand readers.

1995 2011 2013 THATS DUBLINS ALL IRELAND COLLECTION IN LAST 31 YEARS.

Now kerry did six in one decade
Kilkenny did 4 in four years.

Lads the tide always turns teams will always have good times and bad. Cork we cant buy an all ireland at the moment.
Remember back in 2010 after we won an all ireland we were the county that was supposed to go on and dominate the all ireland series. We havent contested an all ireland since. Do people honestly think that the money dublin have literally started the last couple of years. They are the highest populated county so get big grants its always been the way like.

Im blue in the face from saying the obvious. The dublin team we are looking at was built decades ago. 6/7/8 years of age at the local clubs with local men and women training them for no money. I have taken time away from my own family my kids my own training to train under age football. Those that do the same will never raise the arguement about monies cause they know the starting point to all gaa careers is at the local club.

So lets take it further .

Dublin hurling who i assume has access to some of this money are in the horrors. Reality AD has taken them as far as he can so new management is needed but my point is they are way off the pace so the monies hasnt helped them in the slightest.
So that negates the monies arguement

The query i keep asking is this.

Kilkenny completely dominated hurling with no one asking questions
Kerry dominated football no one asking questions

So this is my question. Why is it that Dublin are the source of your attacks ????

In cork were years behind in our development squads. Smaller counties with a lesser budgets are way ahead of us... Clare being a fantastic example....

Were not a poor county (as the redevelopment of PUC would suggest) what we dont have is the commitment from people to give up their time and train our young fellas. And those that do its more politics and bs rather than just getting the kids trained.

I remember training an underage football team and they used to send one parent to sit in the car while training was on so that i was supervised with the kids but on one would actually get off their hole and help me with the training.

Instead of prattling on about what dublin have money wise why not be envious of the commitment they have to their underage structures at club level cause thats where the brogans and the cluxtons start and we all know that the clubs in dublin are doing trogan work at underage level

Also before the next stupid dublin related post ask your self this when was the last time i gave up a thursday night to go down to my club and help out with the underage trainings. When was the last time i carried the young lads and ladies to a match in the back arse of no where. Have i helped put out the cones carried the water found the jerseys ????

Want your county to be successful then u have to start with your club and dublin certainly doing that with football.

And to the lovely gentle man who decided to be condecending to the other counties by loaning out players to other counties. Is your memory so small that you cant remember recent drubbings by kerry . Mayo coming back seriously from the death to beat ye . You belittle the talents of your current teams cause they know the level of work it takes to stay ahead of the other counties and they also know it wont last for ever. Will you be so gracious when dublin are struggling to win leinster and cant get to an allireland semi final cause thrust me like every other county in ireland that day will come to you too.

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 22/08/2014 13:18:13    1640447

Ritchie,
2 things

1. Outstanding post, well written, well said and completely right. Cant wait to hear Masters reply!
2. Re Loaning out players- for an obviously intelligent man, i am surprised you did not see this thread for what it was...Have another read of the OP and in particular the very last line!! Do u actually think I was seriously suggesting we loan players out!!! Come on man! Read it again!!

Anyways, as I said, your post was excellent and 99% of it makes perfect sense. Well written. I congratulate you.

Now, please, read it again and think about it!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/08/2014 13:36:56    1640453

The best and fairest way is to distribute GAA funds equally to counties for underage development. No more Dublin getting 1.5 million while the rest of Leinster gets 100k a year. That would be a starting point. Otherwise Dublin will continue to dominate u18 & u21. Senior they can do well without dominating underage but it's pretty much guaranteed when they do.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 22/08/2014 17:24:19    1640604

Jack_Goff

The best and fairest way is to distribute GAA funds equally to counties for underage development. No more Dublin getting 1.5 million while the rest of Leinster gets 100k a year. That would be a starting point. Otherwise Dublin will continue to dominate u18 & u21. Senior they can do well without dominating underage but it's pretty much guaranteed when they do.

---
Yes but that's just too simple isn't it. You have to bear in mind population, number of clubs and codes supported. You're seriously not proposing that Leitrim would get the same amount as Dublin or Cork for example. The sentiment is good but the means of spreading the wealth more evenly, if that is what is needed, would have to be well thought out.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/08/2014 21:01:32    1640708

Ritchie my man best post in a very long time , kinda looks out of place on here , too informative , not enough knee jerk shouting its a disgrace knda thing from the roof tops .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/08/2014 21:56:22    1640736

No need to split Dublin, should never even be discussed. Also the idea of loaning out players , again should never be discussed.
Don't forget that over the next 10 years any ammount of counties are capable of getting a good team together again
Do you think Kerry won't win an A I in the next ten years ?? What about Tyrone , do you think they will stand still????
Armagh seem to be shaping nicely, Galway could come with a decent side and any of Meath, Kildare, Cork, Roscommon and Down to name a few could all figure in the next 10 years.
Certain counties will look at Dublin and make the improvements nesserery to get up. To Dublin's level.
If Dublin are good enough to win the next few AI's good luck to them. They might win this Years and next years but I could not see them doing 4 or 5 in a row.
With a bit of luck their run might come to an end next Sunday week ( I hope so ) but if Donegal do get beat I would hope they will learn things from the game , go back and regroup and get a team together that can challenge again for Sam.

As Dublin stands now I think it's a great challenge for us to go up on Sunday week and try and beat them. If Dublin keep winning they will always be the target of the stronger counties and of course they will get beat. Nobody knows how long Dublin's run of success will last , to me two to three years if that. Imagine the pressure that will be on them to keep winning.
Things keep changing and don't forget it took a Leinster county 10 years to even get to a AI final 2001/2011. So I for one have no problem with Dublin being successful::: result of hard work down along the line , from under10 right to under 21/ senior

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 23/08/2014 09:21:56    1640745

Banty's comments make for interesting reading. .

"Most of the Dublin players don't work in full-time jobs"

Is he right? Anyone know what each of the Dublin starting 15 works at, How many are still in college, etc?

In comparison, I would say the majority of the Cavan panel are in college - tho we probably have the youngest panel in the country.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 23/08/2014 10:09:40    1640754

cavanman47

1640754 Banty's comments make for interesting reading. .

"Most of the Dublin players don't work in full-time jobs"

Is he right? Anyone know what each of the Dublin starting 15 works at, How many are still in college, etc?

In comparison, I would say the majority of the Cavan panel are in college - tho we probably have the youngest panel in the country.

Flynner is in Dublin Airpot, Cian is tax accountant, Berno qualified chartered accountant (now sports company?agency with cousin),Mdmc recent qualified teacher,Ger Brennan teacher, Cluxton teacher, Bastick banking, Kev mc own business supplying food , Alan Brogan Sales manager, Connolly qualified electrican ,Darren Daly (health and safety officer). Kevin Nolan teacher. Philly mc Mahon (strength and conditioning coach),Brian Cullen strenght and conditioning Leinster ,James mc Carthy (college),Jack mc Caffrey (college). A few of the younger lads still in college.
Is it any different to most counties.
Does it really have to be said by an ex intercounty manager just to stirr things. To add to the growing myths about what Dublin do and dont have.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/08/2014 11:06:35    1640768

The Dublin " resources " "professionalism" etc is a god send for many in the game , discuss at length someone elses pros and con,s and you dont have to face up to your own failings , there are many sound sports people on here who as a supporter can are up to the challenge , I dont doubt for one minute that the players in the three remaining camps are steadfast in the believe that they can do us , thank god .
However back to the naysayers they cant lose , if we win its an I told you so scenario and role out the whinging , however if or when it happens that we lose then they are in seventh heaven for they get to give it socks as they have for years , bottling , no quality , gym monkeys etc ,
Yes a very well constructed position has been carved over time , one which gives the so called fan the best of both worlds .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/08/2014 11:15:08    1640772

AthCliath

No, I don't think it's any different to any other county and think, based on those jobs you listed, that he's just having a bit of a swipe.

In fact, if I remember correctly, didn't the Tyrone County Board offer to pay its players wages so they could take time off work in the build-up to the All Ireland in 08?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 23/08/2014 11:21:41    1640774