Are Dublin overrated?

Dubs are a super team, maybe the best ever. Someone said the pick of mayo/Kerry wouldn't beat them. I think it would take the pick of the entire country to match this current dub squad..

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 12/08/2014 12:17:49    1635506

OLLIE
County: Louth

They are a different animal to 2011 now..and that was Pat Gilroys team with a different style and mentality to the one Jim Gavin has today..there wasnt this much hype about a dublin team dominating for years after 2011

ctownbigguy (Mayo) - Posts: 16 - 12/08/2014 12:21:17    1635508

I think Dublin are a great side. They've no real weakness and their forward power is awesome. There were 3 things on Saturday that I really admired. 1. They played the 15 they said they would play. These dummy teams are pathetic and belong in the past. They are used by managers who think that if they work, the manager will be seen have confused his opponents. Luckily Jim Gavin is above this complete waste of time. 2. They didn't have any specific plan for Monaghan, they just played their own game. And lastly and most importantly, there was no showboating towards the end. How's Mark Vaughan doing these days?

The Face (Monaghan) - Posts: 890 - 12/08/2014 12:26:27    1635515

royaldunne

1635493 Ah would you go away with Spillane and ose neither would get on this current Dublin bench never mind start.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pat Spillane, winner of 8 AIs and 9 All-stars (both football records), selected on both the Team of the Century (1984) and Team of the Millennium (1999), MOTM in 2 AI finals ('84 & 86) and considered the 6th greatest gaelic footballer of all-time by the Independent in their Top 125 (2009), wouldn't even make the bench of the current Dublin side? I doubt that there is a less knowledgeable poster on this forum.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 12/08/2014 12:27:58    1635519

no need for this thread

Dublin are a league ahead

No other county has 20 players to match them for 70 mins. Its simple as that . They have changed the way the game is played and the rest must adapt. Last week they shot 2.22 against a blanket defense.

Unless a team can match their fitness then they wont be at the races. I fancy kerry to beat mayo dublin to take donegal and dublin to win it out. And purely because they have the best 20 players on one team at the moment

their 5 subs would walk onto any other team in the country.

Dublin arent over rated they have simply destroyed every team put in their way in this years championship

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 12/08/2014 12:33:43    1635523

It's as much of a case that their opponents have been over rated this year. Getting the handy side of the draw means no top quality d1 opposition until the final. This is where they could be beaten.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 12/08/2014 12:41:38    1635530

I don't think this team is overrated. But I do believe they will never fully get the praise they deserve.

If Dublin beat Donegal and will probably have to beat Mayo in final to win back to back all-Irelands people will always find reasons to question them ie. Good team in a bad era for football etc etc.

In peoples / Pundits analysis of Dublin the Goal post always seem to move. Prior to championship certain pundits said that Dublins first test would be against Meath Dublin proceed to hammer the royals and all of a sudden meath were poor they were never going to test Dublin.

Then a ulster blanket defence would cause Dublin problems how would they cope etc. etc..Dublin proceeded to dismantle the Blanket then the excuses start Monaghan are not good enough, tired and limited team.

Dublin have the focus and cant see complacency setting in at this stage of the championship. If they go on and win sam they still wont get the recognition they deserve

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 12/08/2014 12:41:48    1635531

Kerry folk very touchy and green eyed

I wonder why?

6 finals in a row thanks to the back door...

You'd swear you won them all with your boasting!

This Dubs team has the potential to outshine any Kerry side

And well you know it... plenty of young lads nowhere near their peak or potential

Hence the reason for this thread... FEAR

The days of Kerry cake walking to AI titles is over... the times have changed

Get used to it...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 12/08/2014 12:48:04    1635533

With massive population and the financial backing dublin gets...there are no excuses not to win all irelands every year...Kerry and Tyrone never had any of that and they dominated..we will wait with bated breath to see if Dublin can do it with every advantage imaginable given to them...i think they are an awesome team by the way..im not saying they arent but they have no excuses not to be

ctownbigguy (Mayo) - Posts: 16 - 12/08/2014 12:57:57    1635538

Jesus wept!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/08/2014 13:05:46    1635543

Could've sworn we reached 6 consecutive finals in the 70s with no back door !?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 12/08/2014 13:08:29    1635546

If the All Stars are done right this year and not a political balancing act as they normally are, Dublin could get 11 or 12.

The Face (Monaghan) - Posts: 890 - 12/08/2014 13:08:30    1635547

Heard it all before lad about teams like Kilkenny, there reserve 15 were only team that supposedly put it up to them, now Kilkenny are a fading light albeit one admirably refusing to die just yet. Dublin will share the same fate as all teams do. thank comfort in the fact you one a couple of titles while Kerry went through a transitional and rebuilding phase ;)

Looking forward to the next Kerry/Dublin meeting lad. Third times a charm!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/08/2014 13:37:59    1635571

Dublin will share the same fate as all teams do.

Of course they will, and then it'll be back to that lovely patronising from our Kerry friends, the one where Dublin are putting up a good show but Kerry still winning. I prefer ye moaning whinging and giving out about our 'riches' means things are going just dandy :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 12/08/2014 13:54:53    1635584

I have lived in Kerry for almost 22 years now. Kerry people are often portrayed as a breed of monster. They aren't. I actually quite like the wife and kids.

Reading through a few threads these last few days, the strong dislike people have for Kerry is quite something. You can read any thread at any time, and that's the case. I regard Kerry as one of the finest GAA counties in the country, and without doubt the greatest football county. That's not a case of being overawed by Kerry, and far from it. It's quite simply true. Kerry have been labelled as being green eyed of other's success, but people should really call themselves aside. What was it that was once said about glass houses?

Much of this happened during the 00's, when Tyrone got under Kerry's skin big time. Were Kerry the team of the decade? I think they were marginally, but who cares? What cannot be denied is that Tyrone put a massive blot on the legacy of that Kerry team.

Now, Dublin, who currently have two All-Irelands to their name, are being put out there as being better than Kerry's team of the 70's and 80's. Would people get a grip! Dublin MAY WELL go on to win seven, eight, nine All-Irelands, but first they have to get to three. If they achieve the aforementioned, then they can start laying claim to being the best ever. But right now, it just smacks of point scoring against Kerry.

As a football fan, I've been on the receiving end of Kerry many times, and at times in very cruel fashion. 2004 is forever etched in my memory, and I felt like hating Kerry after that. But it would be wrong to do so. Great teams don't just win 50-50 games, they win 40-60 games, and they did it that day against us. Do I love Kerry? Nah, but I will defend them. A minority are sometimes susceptible of being very arrogant about Kerry's success, but that's not a Kerry thing, it's a success thing. Do they react badly to criticism? Well, considering they are CONSTANTLY being downgraded, more so than any other county, then of course it will get irritating. If Donegal beat Dublin in three weeks, Dublin will have to put up with a lot of crap. That's what comes with success.

I've heard people before going on about how annoying Kilkenny folk are. I asked them if they'd ever been to Kilkenny. It shut them up. Kerry are the same. They are made out to be 'green eyed monsters', 'they hate those that stand up to them', etc. I bet a lot of people making these comments have never been to Kerry, or have never had a conversation with a Kerry person. They won't admit to that, but it's probably the case.

They are no worse or better than any other county of people in this country. I was present with the kids when they beat Tyrone in 2012, and on that day, Kerry people revealed their true nature: a memorable and beautiful ovation to Mickey Harte after the most traumatic year of his life.

That's Kerry. You don't have to love them, but you don't have to hate them either.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 12/08/2014 13:57:38    1635589

Pat Spillane in his day would be the best player on this Dublin team Royaldunne

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/08/2014 14:01:23    1635592

BTW.....If Kerry ship a hiding V Mayo and as a result JOD doesnt get POTY, next in line has to be James McCarthy. Immense all year.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/08/2014 14:03:07    1635593

Overrated. Not a hope. They the best anyone has ever seen and to say anytthing else is a lie.
Sickened by the thought of them winning for years to come. Absolutely. 5 in a row is not impossible also this year will mean back to back league provincial and all ire success. When was that done last 30s or something. They have the potential to be the greatest ever. And to say anything else is sour grapes.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 12/08/2014 14:05:45    1635597

This dublin team been described by some posters as better than the kerry team of the 70's and 80' is up there with mchugh comments that jod is better than gooch! To befair though, dublin form so far has been better than previous years, u would have to go back to 2009 sunce they were last this impressive early on!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 12/08/2014 14:09:16    1635602

've been to the depths of despair throughout my time following the dubs. Took some amount of crap on HS and other boards but I knew our day would come when we would be the ones laughing. I am incredibly proud of this team. Not just because of their success but because of the way they carry themselves. No showboating no bravado unlike previous dublin teams that used to make me cringe. I love that they play in an exciting way. I love that they just put the head down and work till the game is over. As a supporter you ask for nothing more. We have a good team now but we wont always have and you can all go back to having us where you like us!

Our lads put in the same amount of work and make the same sacrifices as other county teams. They have the same feelings and hopes as other county teams. For some posters to devalue all their hard work saying this team wouldn't be where they are without all the perceived advantages is highly offensive.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/08/2014 14:18:26    1635613