Are Dublin overrated?

as ky its a loaded question
Heres why
would the kerry team of the 70's/80's in their pomp beat the current Dubs team in their pomp....no. In fact they wouldnt get within 10 points of them.
Why? Fitness levels. Would the Kery team of the 70's/80's beat the current not so great Kerry team? They wouldnt get near them. Why? Same reason.
Different level altogether nowadays. Conpletely uncomparable.

But, have the Current Dubs teams made anything liek the same impact as that great Kerry team on the GAA World? No, not atall. Not even close. But.............they might yet and if they do....then re ask the question in a few years.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/08/2014 14:26:32    1635623

as_ky

This dublin team been described by some posters as better than the kerry team of the 70's and 80' is up there with mchugh comments that jod is better than gooch! To befair though, dublin form so far has been better than previous years, u would have to go back to 2009 sunce they were last this impressive early on!

Nice attempt at being a smart ass but as far as I remember we were well beaten in the QF that year :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 12/08/2014 14:31:53    1635633

If Dublin don't win the AI championship this year we will never hear the end of it. Thy hype machine is in full swing now. Dublin are favorites but it is by no means a foregone conclusion. Hopefully Jim can keep the team grounded. Kerry are probably the most improved team this year from shaky league campaign. Donegal are going to be hard to beat and the pressure is on Dublin.
Id expect Dublin to win against Donegal but its not going to be easy.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 12/08/2014 14:36:20    1635638

Interesting point on the whole comparison to the Kerry teams of old. If Dublin win 7 all Irelands can they be considered as good? Even if they rotate through a glut of different players in that period? That isn't really a Dublin team, but rather a win for the Dublin setup that is producing de facto professional gaa players.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/08/2014 14:48:58    1635655

Treaty Exile- Agree with a lot of previous post . FFS , we won only two Sams and I found after 2012 that it was exhausting work . Counties and people go way OTT to degrade champions, as you stated Treaty , that's what comes with the territory . Luckily we in Donegal will probably go into hiding for another 20 years lol

Ps: Royal Dunne , it's becoming harder to take your posts serious !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 12/08/2014 14:49:03    1635656

Liamwalkinstown

as ky its a loaded question
Heres why
would the kerry team of the 70's/80's in their pomp beat the current Dubs team in their pomp....no. In fact they wouldnt get within 10 points of them.
Why? Fitness levels. Would the Kery team of the 70's/80's beat the current not so great Kerry team? They wouldnt get near them. Why? Same reason.
Different level altogether nowadays. Conpletely uncomparable.

But, have the Current Dubs teams made anything liek the same impact as that great Kerry team on the GAA World? No, not atall. Not even close. But.............they might yet and if they do....then re ask the question in a few years.

A sensible post. By the way though, if the Kerry lads of the 70's and 80's were around today, they would be making the same fitness efforts as everybody else ;) I know what you're saying though. It's difficult to compare eras.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 12/08/2014 14:49:49    1635657

Think you could do with a few Yoga sessions

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 12/08/2014 14:53:21    1635659

It's going to be a Rubik's Cube of a game :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 12/08/2014 14:53:51    1635660

jimbo,

You really would want to tone it down a bit. Posts like that really don't add anything to the debate & just put people off HS altogether

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 12/08/2014 14:54:00    1635661

Great post Treaty!

First point is in relation to comparing Kerry/Tyrone players of 70/80's and 00's to the Dublin players. Lads seriously?? I'll get stick for this but I think this Kerry team (which is not a great team by any stretch of the imagination - although they are starting to show potential) would beat the Kerry team of 04-06. Purely because even in the past 8-10 years (I'd even say the last 3 years) the game has changed, the training has changed, the conditioning, the diets, the tactics. You can't compare an athlete from 10 years ago to one nowadays not a mind one 30/40 years ago. So would this Dublin team beat the great one of the 70's?? Ya they probably would, but if the 70's Dublin team existed in this era, who's to say they wouldn't hammer this current Dublin side. Nobody has a clue!! The only way you can compare teams from different eras is based on achievements, and even still that can be skewed. For example Kerry have won a lot of Munster titles in a row in different time periods, when a lot of the time there was a bad Cork team around. Whereas other times Kerry had a really good team but so did Cork and the titles went back and forth. And I'm sure it's very similar in other provinces. Both Darragh O'Se (who retired 5 years ago) and the Gooch (who is technically still playing) have both said they wouldn't have succeeded if they were growing up now in Kerry football. Because of the level of training, conditioning, diets, commitment, has all gone up to almost the stage of professionalism in the last few years!! No one can say that Spillane, Heffo, Sheehy, etc. wouldn't have made a county team now, you've no idea to say they would or wouldn't!!

Now in regards to Dublin. Absolutely rightly so they are favourites, I think the bookies odds are a little over the top 1/7 or 2/7 whatever it is seems bizarre with 4 teams left in it, but there's no doubt they are favourites. I'm not trying to play mind games, so I can come back on later and say oh Dublin failed or anything like that, but it is Dublin's All Ireland to lose in my opinion. They are 2 victories away from winning a back to back and 3 in 4. They are the best team yet again this year, league champs, and they beat both Kerry and Mayo in last years championship (2 of the 3 remaining teams). I think a team who have only really been around for 4 years, it's hard to say they are one of the greats yet, but that's just my reasoning, people started talking about Clare last year too after just 1 All Ireland and look what happened there. But there's no doubt that if Dublin keep going the way they are, they will be considered one of the greats, and I firmly believe they will. I think other teams are behind Dublin in regards to conditioning etc. so it'll be interesting to see can teams adjust in the next few years, but I wouldn't consider conditioning to be the main source of success within Dublin. I don't think the main reason is money, or youth structures either. Of course they all help but I genuinely believe what has put this Dublin team on the path to greatness is Jim Gavin. I think he is one of the best managers to ever grace the game of Gaelic football, again time will tell it's still a little early to be building statues in his honour, but he's the reason for their success in my opinion. And yes I know Pat Gilroy was manager in 2011, but I think Dublin 2012-2014 is a far different machine to Dublin 2011. He has great tactical awareness, he is calmness personified, he makes good changes, he has the respect of the team. All his attributes have shown up in the players on the field. Sure training and youth systems have played a big part, but who's in charge of training? Who was u21 manager before this? I think this Dublin squad will become one of the greats and I think Gavin will play the biggest part. Move over Micko and Mickey ye have some competition!!

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 12/08/2014 14:55:19    1635662

For me no one touches Kerry of the late 70's/mid 80's.
A long way to go before even comparing the two!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 12/08/2014 14:58:10    1635669

I think the only way Dublin will be beat this year, is down to tiredness. They've had some very long campaigns over last 4 years and they've trained as hard if not harder than other teams. We saw it last year in the final they are susceptible to being human and getting worn out. I think they'll be wiser this year though. Dublin 2014 AI Champs is hard to argue with. I can only hope Kerry put up a good showing in last 1/2 games and they learn some lessons and come back next year better and stronger!! Although it may seem like a forgone conclusion I can't wait for the last 3 games of this championship!!

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 12/08/2014 15:01:42    1635674

They are easily the best of their era. That is all they can be. They are not overrated. They are exceptional.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 12/08/2014 15:10:38    1635682

Master

Bitter Much :)

I surprised you came up for air atall!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/08/2014 15:20:35    1635692

Agreed muckross. That sort of nasty stuff brings nothing to the debate and puts people off posting on the topic.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/08/2014 15:33:46    1635706

No not at all liam. You seem to think everyone is jealous if they say anything other than you are the greatest thing since sliced bread in everything you do. I don't want to win all Irelands the way Dublin have done it if I am perfectly honest. Give me Kerry's record every day of the week. Maybe that is just me, but you asked if I was jealous, not one bit. Remember, the success fades, the story of how you got there doesn't.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/08/2014 16:04:26    1635749

I give up. The Dublin lads are a magnificent team and wonderful athletes, but I stand by what I said in regards footballing ability I don't think they are as good as Kerry 04-06. Dublin have taken amateur GAA to a new level and fair play to them. On a sidenote, I have never seen so many Meath posters talk up a Dublin team since they were beaten by them. What a difference a game makes.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 12/08/2014 16:15:18    1635756

Didn't stop either of you posting

I responded in kind...

It's no coincidence that the Kerry lads are a wee bit sensitive

But coming from a bunch that has only talked down their own county for many years

Now up in arms because Dublin are being praised

And I have no doubt that it troubles most with a chip on their shoulder about Dublin

Get used to it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 12/08/2014 16:17:47    1635760

No not at all liam. You seem to think everyone is jealous if they say anything other than you are the greatest thing since sliced bread in everything you do. I don't want to win all Irelands the way Dublin have done it if I am perfectly honest. Give me Kerry's record every day of the week. Maybe that is just me, but you asked if I was jealous, not one bit. Remember, the success fades, the story of how you got there doesn't.

Ha!

I've no idea how Mayo won the All-Ireland in the 1950s.........but I know they did!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 12/08/2014 16:21:21    1635764

Themaster

Mayo spent close to 700,000 last year on the senior footballers

So please tell me how then you would like to win an All Ireland?

Because you tried the money route.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 12/08/2014 16:22:35    1635765