Are Dublin overrated?

I don't want to win all Irelands the way Dublin have done it if I am perfectly honest. [/b

I can see your point, I'd much rather not winning an AI since '51 than put in a lot of time and effort to bring success. Feck that, it's just not progress when it happens like that is it?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 12/08/2014 16:34:24    1635776

"I don't want to win all Irelands the way Dublin have done it if I am perfectly honest."

What way have Dublin won All-Ireland's????

I would have thought Mayo would take an All-Ireland any way they could get one.

Anti-Dublin begrudgery as asual

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 12/08/2014 16:34:55    1635777

Dublin are a wonderful team, but they have a long way to go before they get the plaudits that some here are giving them. I'm talking five or six more All-Irelands. That's not to say they can't do it. But right now, they should just be thinking about winning a third in four years. A third in four years is a wonderful achievement, but it's not best of all time material. Seven (very nearly eight) in nine years is.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 12/08/2014 16:35:13    1635779

They're a great team, I wouldn't say the best ever. Plenty of Kerry players from the noughties for example would start for this Dublin team in my opinion - Darragh, Gooch, Declan O'Sullivan (more consistent than Connolly imo), Tomas and Marc O'Se, the likes Tom O'Sullivan and Mike McCarthy. Maybe Galvin, choosing between him and Flynn would be touch and go. Don't know how Tyrone ever matched them when I put it like that. Just think it's odd that at this present time someone could consider the Dubs the greatest side ever (which was Kerry's golden years team).

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 12/08/2014 16:43:18    1635791

i dont have a clue what the master is on about..a fellow mayo man and all!jesus i would sell all my blood relatives for an all ireland..would not care how it happened as long as it did!dont agree with how some counties go about it but would gladly take one by any means necessary...we are not in a position to pass any up

ctownbigguy (Mayo) - Posts: 16 - 12/08/2014 16:47:41    1635799

So themaster...

You going to answer the question

You tried the money route

Close to 700,000 on one team

It was the closest you've come to winning one in a long time

Spending that sort of money... So in response to your own logic....Would you preferred not to win it last year with so much money spent?

?????????

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 12/08/2014 16:48:39    1635801

Where did the comparison between era's start???

The Topic of the thread are Dublin being over-rated my answer to that question is no they are not but iam not not comparing it to any particular era I am just basing it on what I have seen this year I ask myself one simple question are they are a better team than last year and the answer is yes.

They have improved game by game and the most pleasing aspect from my point of view is there Defence there supposed weak link..There concession rate has improved game on game from 16, 15, 14, 11 pts conceded.

You simply cant compare era's to much has changed and the game has evolved.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 12/08/2014 17:00:19    1635807

God almighty, Mayo have another great chance this year, I really think if they beat Kerry, and they should, probably their best chance of putting one over on the Kingdom as Kerry are not as good as they were in the noughties and Mayo are better, I'd be VERY wary of them if we got to the final to be honest!

Come back and moan when we've done the only thing that will outshine any of the great Kerry teams, winning 5-in-a-row. But even if that almost impossible feat is achieved, you won't hear too much on here about the quality of the Dublin players that's for sure.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 12/08/2014 17:00:38    1635808

Master
I don't want to win all Irelands the way Dublin have done it if I am perfectly honest

What type of statement is that coming from a Mayo man starved of All Ireland's.???
Would have thought you would take 1 no matter what way ye got it.
The mind boggles......

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 12/08/2014 17:00:43    1635809

Knock it if you like, but that is my genuine opinion. Others might disagree, that is their business. You can be perfectly happy with it if you like and that is your business. For me, Dublin, or another side who followed the same path, could win 20 all Irelands, but it still wouldn't match what Kerry did, nor would they get the same level of respect that Kerry get, that should be obvious to you. That is just the nature of it lads. You call it begrudgery or bias, but I don't buy that, deep down you know that this isn't the case. We see it in the EPL with man city and Chelsea, the same idea applies here. I don't see how you can claim that is a bias against Dublin, it is human nature.

Get used to it, as they say.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/08/2014 17:01:39    1635811

Mayo have a great set up that cost a fortune, they haven't been quite good enough so far, money has not stopped them.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 12/08/2014 17:02:26    1635812

Yes the top counties are putting a hell of a lot of money into the game. Some are better run businesses than others, the same way that some golf clubs around the country are better run than others, and still are amateur organizations. The bottom line from now on is that you have got to have a good sponsor, and have the infrastructure in situ for a successful campaign. Otherwise it is curtains.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 12/08/2014 17:03:51    1635814

realdub
Come back and moan when we've done the only thing that will outshine any of the great Kerry teams, winning 5-in-a-row. But even if that almost impossible feat is achieved, you won't hear too much on here about the quality of the Dublin players that's for sure.

Here is the thing realdub, if a team beat them along the way, we would hear even less about the quality of that team on here, that is for certain. Casting the cynical eye closer to home once in a while doesn't hurt you know.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/08/2014 17:08:32    1635818

Yeah, typical.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 12/08/2014 17:24:00    1635834

Yes Master, you're right, unfortunately jealousy and begrudging seem to be part of human nature!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 12/08/2014 17:27:01    1635837

"For me, Dublin, or another side who followed the same path, could win 20 all Irelands, but it still wouldn't match what Kerry did"

That statement alone show your anti Dublin begrudgery.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 12/08/2014 17:45:36    1635849

Yes The Flaker

In fact spending big has been a big part of this Mayo setup under Horan

Some might say that it's the best Mayo team ever

And I'm sure the money has gone a long way to helping

Even though Mayo are in considerable debt

Mayo still pumped in millions into their team under Horan in the search for an AI title

But hey... Money doesn't work without the talent to spend it on

Hopefully all of your county men will rejoice if you win one...

But some have high standards but as proven in the past

Such high standards don't always apply to their own county... So here's hoping

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 12/08/2014 17:49:01    1635852

Dont want to win an all ireland the way dublin did ???

christ i'd take an all ireland anyway we can get it !!!

HurlerOnTheFenc (Mayo) - Posts: 282 - 12/08/2014 17:54:19    1635858

Can't agree Master, I'm no begrudger and will pay compliments where due, no problemo, I can take my beating!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 12/08/2014 18:06:50    1635868

jacktheDub
"For me, Dublin, or another side who followed the same path, could win 20 all Irelands, but it still wouldn't match what Kerry did"

That statement alone show your anti Dublin begrudgery.

How?
When it says Dublin or another side who done the same as Dublin, then how can it only be about Dublin alone? The line you quoted totally contradicts what you are trying to say.

Another observation, I have made a well reasoned point on the topic, yet all the responses are about being jealous, or begrudging, etc etc. I don't get this striving to be a victim thing. Ye sold out, it isn't for me but best of luck with it. You can have your wins, but Im pointing out you wont be getting the type of respect that Kerry deserve because of the different ways you reached the top. Pretty straightforward in fairness. No big drama about everyone being jealous etc etc.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/08/2014 18:10:41    1635872