The time keeping issue

We could of played for 3 days and still not have beaten Donegal the best team by a mile won, this post is just about the time keeping again, like 2 minutes injury time at the end was comical seriously will someone sort this out once and for all it's just not right. I honestly was happy it was only 2 cause 6 points could have been 9 if it went on any longer but it should have been at least 6 minutes added time, Durkan took a minute to kick every ball out (fair play to him) and instead of the ref saying to himself I'll add that on at the end he's basically saying take your time Paul I won't punish you for taking a minute for kickouts, like come on ref , why can't they take the time off refs it's ridiculous.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/09/2014 10:10:09    1645746

2 mins was ridiculous and the whole added time issue is a bit of a joke. Refs seem afraid to add on more than 3 mins and they don't play any extra even though most of the added time is wasted. If in doubt, play 2 mins extra time. In reality, most games these days deserve at least 4 or 5 mins added on.

That said, it was irrelevant yesterday.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 01/09/2014 10:18:21    1645764

Yes my point has nothing to do with yesterday's result just how bad the time keeping is. Durkan's kickouts players down injured subs on and off come on ref two minutes was a joke.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/09/2014 10:27:38    1645776

Jaysus lads i was praying for the final whistle yesterday but i agree in general timekeeping us awful.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/09/2014 10:39:39    1645803

Im happy to agree. Was obviously happy to see 2 mins but probably should have been at least 3, probably 4. And in most other games its the same story

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 01/09/2014 11:04:07    1645827

Problem with this is that the clock does not stop for Kick outs or Freekicks & no time is added on for Subs as it is in soccer. The only added time if for INJURIES. It needs to be looked at because in a tight game this can make all the difference. Remember last year with COC took his time over a free and then Cluxton done the same on a Kick out? That time wasn't added on because the clock still runs when players are completeing these actions. I 100% Agree that 30secs or something similar should be added on for ALL subs and maybe stop the clock until the Goalkeeper places the ball down to kick it out. That would stop time wasting and add a good few minutes at the end as well

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 01/09/2014 12:13:19    1645889