Donegal v Kerry

corkrebel

Lads Paul galvin shouldn't be playing. Disgraceful tackle against Clare that only got him a second yellow car! Clearly a straight red I would have thought

Old news lad.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 01/08/2012 11:03:51    1235331

Donegal won't freeze against Kerry. I am expecting the match of the championship; Jim has both long term vision and a sound tactical brain. He showed none of his cards against Kerry in the league & that game will be no reflection on next Sunday. I expect we will see the next stage of Donegals development against Kerry; their intensity, tackling ability, team work and defensive play is alreadywell developed. They have excellent skillful forwards and this year have demonstrated a higher scoring potential. McGuiness will have assessed Kerry's weaknesses and will be ready to play against that if needed. However, to me, he seems to be able to get the opposition teams to play HIS game (think of the semi-final last year) so if he manages to do that to Kerry, I think it will give him a 4 point advantage.

Of course, he will target Kerrys strengths too but here Kerry have a broader advantage to adapt. It could be a rough affair-red cards could make all the difference as could the square ball and the tall front scoring men.

As a Kerry person I am hopeful that Jack & his selectors have the tactical vision and we won't witness some of the errors that we see at last years AI final and in this years championship matches (I am thinking especially against Westmeath). What I will say is that it looks like the Kerry lads have regained their hunger and expect a big crowd of Kerry folk in Croker. Ciarrai Abu!!!

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 01/08/2012 11:49:46    1235368

I think the Kerry lads will be going into this game very confident after Tyrone and Clare wins. They will fancy themselves against Donegal.
Donegal however will be looking to prove themselves against Kerry, as winning this game will earn them huge respect by their peers.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 01/08/2012 12:58:24    1235456

I can see donegal laying back and playing defensively in the first half, just to get a feel of how kerry are going to play the match and then come out after half time with a counter attack to it. I'd say it will be a very tight match, and whoever can keep their composure the longest will win.

tirchonaill_12 (Donegal) - Posts: 1 - 01/08/2012 13:58:27    1235544

31/07/2012 17:59:11
updekingdom

1234902 Mcfadden seems to be their main go to man this year. Judging on past performances in the heat of the battle he goes missing. Doesn't seem to have the pace for big pitches like croker. Marc o se I feel would be wasted on him. McBrearty is much more dangerous I feel. Goals will be crucial and if james donoghue or cooper get the slightest chance I feel they can be more effective. The donegal backs seem to be wreaking havoc going forward this year but can they afford to do that and leave forwards like darran sullivan and gooch unmarked. Looks like a blnket defence will be used by both teams

I'd agree with nearly all of this. For years my view on Colm Anthony was that he was very effective in league games under high ball, he makes room in crowded space gets on the left and scores, His best championship games have been in Ulster and often on days when the weather has been poor, the pitch heavy and the game crowded - Tyrone 2004 and Derry 2011 the most stand out. The trend with all of these have been the space was at a premium. He has yet to have a good game in Croke park and does seem to get lost in the open spaces and faster games in August. Also he can be a confidence player - if the first chance goes over he can have a blinder - if he misses a 30 yard free the opposite. In the semi final last year he hit the Upright with a free from the sideline which in my view was nearly a more important miss that the goal chance.

All that aside I think that he his better this year, he has been more consistent - has improved with each game - and most importantly he looks much leaner and fitter than he has ever done. He recycled a lost cause in the corner against Down that lead to a McCloone point against two Down players, which is something he has never done before. So I hold out hope that he will "come of age" on the big stage this year - But its hope rather than expectation.

The backs running forward has to leave some space. Mcglynn and Co are super fit, McHgh has the pace to act as cover, and if this fails they do alternate the tactical fouling to regroup if needed but this is not a 100% safety net. Whilst not condeding any goal from play they have in my view been exposed at the back in particular in the middle of the first half against both Tyrone and Down. On a bad day this could have led to a brace of goals in either games. As you say Gooch will not be as wasteful. Also they have looked under pressue if attacked by a straight runner from the 45 to the 21 - McMenamin made the difference last year - Darren O sullivan is the right type of player for this with the other O sullivan on his shoulder.

And yes the Blanket defence will be used by both teams. Some of the comments about football styles made on here clearly show that many posters did not watch or understand Dublins set up against Donegal last or both Kerry and Dublin's set-up in the AI final.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 01/08/2012 14:30:57    1235581

I think it is reasonable to expect Colm Anthony to play well since he has had 4 good performances on the trot. If the right ball goes to either of the 3 front men we can do damage. I am looking forward to Sunday. Hope Duffy has a good game in the middle and may the best team win.

DLGael (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 03/08/2012 19:46:09    1237612

Inoperable Kerry aren't as cynical as they were against Tyronee in Killarney , it was absolutely sickening to watch. Doneg

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 03/08/2012 20:48:10    1237655

Im telling you now M.Duffy will ruin sundays game.

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 316 - 03/08/2012 21:30:05    1237686

10 minutes to go, eyeball to eyeball, Kerry will look down first. Donegal's gameplan, hunger and freshness will carry the day.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 03/08/2012 21:35:36    1237690

As much as Coldrick would?

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 03/08/2012 21:38:35    1237694

The best of luck to Donegal today.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 05/08/2012 11:27:05    1238332

Kerry 2-14 Donegal 0-11. q.e.d.

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 05/08/2012 11:38:31    1238341

The very best of luck to Donegal today. I really, really hope ye can turn them over, even more so since Mayo are still in there!

But I think this will be a test too far. Donegal IMO have not come up against any forwards of the class of Kerry and while Donegal have done brilliant to win 2 Ulsters, Tyrone's loss to Kerry and Down's loss to Mayo shows winning an Ulster in 2012 is not the same as it was it was in the past decade.

I think the most Donegal can hope for is to hang in there with Kerry for as long as they can and win with a finish like Dublin did last year. Kerry forwards have just too much class. For me its Kerry by 2/3 pts but I hope I'm wrong

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 05/08/2012 12:15:30    1238368

Well todays the day for Donegal! I've watched this project of Jim Mc Guinness over the last two years with great interest and what he has done is very impressive. He has taken an average set of players and put them in a position in which they are very much capable of competing and defeating the very best in the country. Donegal are the physically and mentally fittest team in the country and this is the reason why they are regarded as challengers for this years All Ireland, not through the superior footballing skills of their players! This is where i see the flaw in this Donegal outfit. With this style of play Donegal could beat anyone on their day, however there are at least three teams with more talented groups of players that also possess excellent standards of fitness. Donegal's greatest attribute will most likely be nullified by these teams superior quality and I'm afraid end their All Ireland dream. Donegal may beat Kerry, but I dont believe they will be capable both Cork and Dublin as well. It will be a good day for GAA if Kerry win as it will highlight that the basic skills of gaelic football are still more important than strength and conditioning in the race for Sam!

oakleafman (Derry) - Posts: 8 - 05/08/2012 12:42:20    1238409

Will be a tight, aggressive game, Donegal to pull away in the last 10!
Tir Connaill abu.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 05/08/2012 15:59:56    1238702

the big one kicks off!!!

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 05/08/2012 16:02:03    1238711

Donegal 1-12 vs Kerry 1-10

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 05/08/2012 17:56:51    1238866

First time commenting on the match. Cloud 9 is a hard place to come down from! :P

The game went as I expected really. Donegal played cagey in the first half and gave little away while at the same time managed a lucky goal. (Something they couldn't manage against Dublin in the semis last year) I feel that this was the critical score in the match as it allowed Donegal to invite Kerry onto them and sucker them on the counter attack.

I thought we were home and hosed but it just shows the character, hunger and skill of this great Kerry side that they almost pulled it out of the fire. Thank God the Gooch wasn't on that Curtin chance near the end. It was fitting that Lacey burst up the field at the end to fire over the insurance point because he was immense. Another All-Star surely beckons!

To all the Kerry fans I met afterwards, thanks for the well wishes in the semis. You were all gracious in defeat.

Finally 1 last wee word to clondalkindub, how are the nerves now? Your all comsuming fear of Donegal must be at fever pitch at this stage!!!!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 07/08/2012 10:30:42    1240490

Lockjaw, congrats, a deserved win. I've said everything else on the Donegal page so no need to repeat myself here.

GO AND WIN IT NOW!!!!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 07/08/2012 10:39:20    1240504

Wasnt long before the recent Tyrone/Kerry 'love-in' ran its course and normal service resumed!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 07/08/2012 15:10:12    1240878