Donegal v Kerry

benjyyy

Lads I don't mean to be the eternal pessimist, but let's not forget we got our asses handed to us by Kerry in the league this year. Now I know the league is the league and all that but we had basically our strongest 15 on and Kerry were missing the Gooch, D Walsh, o donnaghue and Tomas o se. Our first choice midfield was taken to the cleaners. Jack O Connor talked after the game about making sure they played clever football and not taking the ball into tackles. Kerry are smart enough to beat our defence but I'm not sure if we have the firepower to beat theirs going by the way they played against Tyrone.

I just really hope we can do ourselves justice. Nerves are gonna be shot by throw in on Sunday!

That game won't have any relevance Benjyyy. It's going to be tight for sure.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 30/07/2012 20:12:31    1234036

bluedubstar

You actually haven't got a clue mate. You could say take Murphy out of Donegal and what are we left with? I can guarantee you with all certainty if you lost him Donegal would not get in touching distance of Kerry, Cork or Dublin.

__________________________________________-

Seems you haven't a clue either mate. Murphy scored one point in the Ulster final... meaning the rest of the team scored 2-17. Yes he contributed to a lot of scores aswell but Donegal certainly do not depend on Murphy like we used to. I feel our panel is strong enough that losing Murphy would not be as massive a blow as it wud have been, say last year. We lost our all-star full back against Tyrone and still managed to win when declan walsh came in for neil mcgee and did a fine job. declan came in again last week for neils brother eamon and did another fantastic job. last week we were also missing our best midfielder of the year ad mustered an 11 point win. down an allstar from lastyear and things are going grand. with 11 different scorers lastweek i would strongly question what you said above. how about actually watching donegal play instead of relying on what happened lastyear or what the media says before making a sensless comment like that ?

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 30/07/2012 20:23:14    1234049

Lockjaw

1233828 dubbydave.

1233787 ha ha ha donegal without murphy is like a tractor without the back wheels ;-)

Again. Factually incorrect. Murphy has been good this year but not quite the colossus we know he can be. A lot of this was down to the injury he sustained against your lads in the league. But there were signs in the Down game that he s getting back to the level we know. Indeed his first point from play in this year's Championship only came in the Ulster final. So to suggest that we won a provincial title relying totally on him is more lazy analysis that doesn't actually stand up in reality...

dont mind me only having a laugh earlier true enough point the lads are playing well while he is finding form and what a time to do it ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 30/07/2012 20:25:05    1234052

So james h crawls out from under his rock, well i wonder is it a hunch this time or a feeling or a PREMONITION ,if it's like his last were home and hosed or is it more of a WISH.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 30/07/2012 21:47:01    1234112

I'm very worried about Sundays game for the following reasons.

Kerry played poorly against Cork yet were able to stay with them for long periods of that game. Cork are my No.1 for the AI and Kerry have improved considerably since then which is the first point of concern.
All Kerry's main players are playing well and they have 6 forwards that are all potential match winners, they only need two or three of these to be on form and we're in trouble.
The way we play defensively leaves a scoring zone of about 40m from goal. Watch Kerr'y wins against Tyrone and Clare - they can score with ease from this zone. If we push out further then they will just play it over the zone into Donaghy.
We are conceding goal chances, The Cavan full forward got chances, Derry had two, Tyrone one and Down two. Kerry won't miss!!!
Like the Dublin game last year I think our best chance of success is to smother them for 3/4 of the game and if we're within 2-3 points with 15 minutes to go I'd fancy us to win but that's a big if.
Going to be exciting though and at least I know our lads will give it their all!!

Tir Conaill Abú

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 30/07/2012 21:54:15    1234123

Tir Conaill Abu

1234123 I'm very worried about Sundays game for the following reasons.

Kerry played poorly against Cork yet were able to stay with them for long periods of that game. Cork are my No.1 for the AI and Kerry have improved considerably since then which is the first point of concern.
All Kerry's main players are playing well and they have 6 forwards that are all potential match winners, they only need two or three of these to be on form and we're in trouble.
The way we play defensively leaves a scoring zone of about 40m from goal. Watch Kerr'y wins against Tyrone and Clare - they can score with ease from this zone. If we push out further then they will just play it over the zone into Donaghy.
We are conceding goal chances, The Cavan full forward got chances, Derry had two, Tyrone one and Down two. Kerry won't miss!!!
Like the Dublin game last year I think our best chance of success is to smother them for 3/4 of the game and if we're within 2-3 points with 15 minutes to go I'd fancy us to win but that's a big if.
Going to be exciting though and at least I know our lads will give it their all!!

Tir Conaill Abú

good post especially about scoring from the 40m if kerry get a chance this is were they could do the most damage...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 30/07/2012 22:01:44    1234131

You actually haven't got a clue mate. You could say take Murphy out of Donegal and what are we left with? I can guarantee you with all certainty if you lost him Donegal would not get in touching distance of Kerry, Cork or Dublin.

Well Bluestar, I think we have more on the team this year than just Murphy, in fact 11 of our players scored in the Ulster final. I dont know for certain if Donegal can beat Kerry with or without him, but we would give the Dubs their fill of it this time with our without him. We will have to meet in the final to find out for sure.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 31/07/2012 10:17:29    1234180

30/07/2012 20:23:14
up_donegal

bluedubstar

Seems you haven't a clue either mate. Murphy scored one point in the Ulster final... meaning the rest of the team scored 2-17. Yes he contributed to a lot of scores aswell but Donegal certainly do not depend on Murphy like we used to. I feel our panel is strong enough that losing Murphy would not be as massive a blow as it wud have been, say last year. We lost our all-star full back against Tyrone and still managed to win when declan walsh came in for neil mcgee and did a fine job. declan came in again last week for neils brother eamon and did another fantastic job. last week we were also missing our best midfielder of the year ad mustered an 11 point win. down an allstar from lastyear and things are going grand. with 11 different scorers lastweek i would strongly question what you said above. how about actually watching donegal play instead of relying on what happened lastyear or what the media says before making a sensless comment like that ?

Well we'll beg to differ there as to whos the most clueless! Still doesn't change the fact that your original statement was a load of bull. Kev Mc has been great this year and I am not taking anything away from him but we have lot more options than Kevin.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 31/07/2012 10:24:15    1234186

bluedubstar

up_donegal

bluedubstar

Well we'll beg to differ there as to whos the most clueless! Still doesn't change the fact that your original statement was a load of bull. Kev Mc has been great this year and I am not taking anything away from him but we have lot more options than Kevin.

CLUELUESS STATEMENT TALLY:
BLUEDUBSTAR: 2
UP_DONEGAL: 0

CONGRATS... YOU'RE WINNING. I SHALL BE IN CROKE PARK ON SUNDAY EVENING, I'LL GIVE YE A WEE MEDAL THEN SHUR :D

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 31/07/2012 11:40:20    1234257

If Kerry win again what excuses will be used this time?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 31/07/2012 12:44:08    1234379

up_donegal

bluedubstar

up_donegal

bluedubstar

CLUELUESS STATEMENT TALLY:
BLUEDUBSTAR: 2
UP_DONEGAL: 0

CONGRATS... YOU'RE WINNING. I SHALL BE IN CROKE PARK ON SUNDAY EVENING, I'LL GIVE YE A WEE MEDAL THEN SHUR :D

****! Apologies man all these Donegal usernames are starting to look the same plus a six month old baby teething is depriving me of me 8 hours but regardless I'll still take that medal!

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 31/07/2012 12:57:11    1234397

31/07/2012 12:44:08
moomoo

If Kerry win again what excuses will be used this time?

Yerra? :)

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 31/07/2012 12:58:27    1234401

moomoo

1234379 If Kerry win again what excuses will be used this time?

Perhaps constant whinging and crying about the ref??... months and months after the event!

Nah...no ones that pathetic.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 31/07/2012 13:02:52    1234406

bluedubstar

Aw congrats on the baby ! No doubt he/she will be kitted out in blue on saturday !

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 31/07/2012 14:06:11    1234485

bluedubstar

congrats on the newborn and best wishes for future too ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 31/07/2012 15:42:36    1234681

moomoo

1234379 If Kerry win again what excuses will be used this time?

Perhaps constant whinging and crying about the ref??... months and months after the event!

Nah...no ones that pathetic.

What a very Snuf like reply

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 31/07/2012 16:37:13    1234770

Moomoo, do you ever consider making a constructive contribution to the board?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 31/07/2012 16:48:36    1234785

Really looking forward to the match.
Donegal the new boys in town, starting to earn the plaudits from pundits and supporters this year.
Kerry looked upon as a team in their final chapter.

Hopefully we can keep the new kids on the block at bay for another year but should be a cracing match

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 31/07/2012 16:50:11    1234788

moomoo

Is it... you'd know man. You follow him around like a bad smell...

Either way.

Well... I got you between the eyes with that one... and all you have is...

You're Snuff... blah blah blah

I welcome your next whinge... just more ammo for me in order to make you look like a hypocritical eejit.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 31/07/2012 17:07:21    1234809

Breffni39

1234785 Moomoo, do you ever consider making a constructive contribution to the board?
_______

Leave him at it... it amuses me.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 31/07/2012 17:10:25    1234815