Minor Hurling Championships Standings

Replying To heartbroken:  "Poor you ye Dublin have a shit minor and senior hurling team.. underage footballers are no better, all ye have is a senior professional football team playing in a puke football period. Are Dublin responsible for puke football NO but despite dublins success it is tarnished with the fouling mentality of Dublin players of the ball."
True, but they still as good as your shower of bottlers, congrats to your U16 team how title's now? Legends

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 18/08/2019 22:40:17    2227313

Replying To Trump2020:  "Keep in mind they work just as hard and have to have extreme commitment like the Seniors to win their championships."
Really, I am impressed

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 18/08/2019 22:41:16    2227315

Replying To heartbroken:  "Poor you ye Dublin have a shit minor and senior hurling team.. underage footballers are no better, all ye have is a senior professional football team playing in a puke football period. Are Dublin responsible for puke football NO but despite dublins success it is tarnished with the fouling mentality of Dublin players of the ball."
A sh1t senior team that beat your shower of bottlers. We only need a few Footballers coming through to keep the good times rolling. Your lot with your track in both codes need more than a Juvenile cup winning team, need some serious surgery.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 18/08/2019 22:50:33    2227317

Replying To endgame:  "Agreed.Galway have won 12 minor All-Irelands since 1988 but only one senior title in the same time.Hard to understand really."
Not so hard imo. We were disadvantaged at U20/21 level by not having a provincial championship to play in so our minors coming through basically had just one game per year at the older age grade since they almost invariably lost in their first championship outing given that they were playing teams battle hardened from coming though a tough provincial system. You wont bring through many minors to senior in that scenario and the ones you do bring through arent going to bring much change to our win/loss ratio at senior level. Thar's changed now...our U20's are in Leinster for the past 2 years. I think in time we will see the fruits of this coming through at senior level.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 19/08/2019 08:42:20    2227340

Must acknowledge Clare minors for their 2 pt loss to Galway, no big difference there. But the nonsense of Galway having to play losers of Leinster and Munster is not fair, please put Galway minors into one of the provinces and level the playing field, KK had 3 losses in senior and minor and still was in 2 All-Irelands, not that it did them a pile of good.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 19/08/2019 12:02:46    2227428

Replying To arock:  "True, but they still as good as your shower of bottlers, congrats to your U16 team how title's now? Legends"
I don't think this is a coherent sentence. Interesting. Might give some indication of age/intelligence level...............

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 19/08/2019 12:04:47    2227430

Replying To corkcelt:  "Once more Galway produce an absolutely cracking Minor Hurling Team. How do they do it? & where do all these Minors go to.
Over the years Galway have been first class in producing fantastic underage hurlers but the pay off at Senior Level hasn't been what it should.
Anyway congratulations Galway, outstanding performance."
KK winning 11 of the 16 titles from 2000-2015 is the most significant factor in Galway's pay off over the same period. Since we finally drew a firm line under KK's greatness after the 2015 win, and KK became mortal & ordinary looking again 2016-2019, Galway are one of only three counties to have tasted senior all-ireland success. Where do all these Minors go? The bulk of Galway's 2017 all-ireland winning squad had minor or u21 all-ireland medals, or both in a few cases.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 19/08/2019 12:45:45    2227457

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Must acknowledge Clare minors for their 2 pt loss to Galway, no big difference there. But the nonsense of Galway having to play losers of Leinster and Munster is not fair, please put Galway minors into one of the provinces and level the playing field, KK had 3 losses in senior and minor and still was in 2 All-Irelands, not that it did them a pile of good."
Why did Galway ever agree to go into Leinster at all levels like they were when in Munster long ago.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 19/08/2019 13:20:41    2227478

Replying To arock:  "Minor grade is unwatchable now, a Juvenile game certainly no longer a TV spectacle. Hard to justify it."
Why did you think it was unwatchable? Wasn't there lots of skill on display from both sides and honest endeavor with the minimum of cynicism. A bit one sided I give you that, but as your county knows well, you can only aim to deliver your own performance.

Spudsareboilin (Galway) - Posts: 46 - 19/08/2019 13:29:41    2227484

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Why did Galway ever agree to go into Leinster at all levels like they were when in Munster long ago."
They are not in Leinster at all levels.
They should be but they're not.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 19/08/2019 13:50:33    2227495

Replying To Condorman:  "They are not in Leinster at all levels.
They should be but they're not."
He knows his stuff, so I'm going to presume that OTM meant to write "Why didn't Galway ever agree to go into Leinster at all levels."

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 19/08/2019 14:43:15    2227519

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Why did Galway ever agree to go into Leinster at all levels like they were when in Munster long ago."
It was for home venue games, unbiased match officials, or a fair slice of the 'gate action' anyway.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 19/08/2019 14:52:00    2227524

not sure why, makes no sense

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 19/08/2019 17:27:30    2227607

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Must acknowledge Clare minors for their 2 pt loss to Galway, no big difference there. But the nonsense of Galway having to play losers of Leinster and Munster is not fair, please put Galway minors into one of the provinces and level the playing field, KK had 3 losses in senior and minor and still was in 2 All-Irelands, not that it did them a pile of good."
That's typical though when Clare and Galway meet in any level of Hurling. Two bordering counties that know each other well.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 20/08/2019 12:25:03    2227849

Replying To festinog:  "He knows his stuff, so I'm going to presume that OTM meant to write "Why didn't Galway ever agree to go into Leinster at all levels.""
Thanks Festinog. That is what I meant. Sorry for the confusion.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 20/08/2019 13:46:58    2227886

Re the minor final, no speech for the winning captain is scandalous. Straight into that "Galway Girl" sh1te after the captain lifts the cup.

The reason for the scrapping of the speech is even more scandalous. The Archbishop of Cashel or whoever the feck he was, used introduce the minor winner with his own little speech beforehand. Totally unnecessary but you know, tradition and that.

Then after the 09 final, when Galway beat Kilkenny, the Archbishop gave a very long and frankly scurrilous speech in which he said "justice has been done" as Kilkenny had been lucky to beat Galway in the final the year before! What a thing to say to a bunch of kids who've just lost an All Ireland final, most of whom were probably not even involved in the previous year's final.

So instead of the GAA telling this insufferable priest to do one, and just have the winning captain's speech from then on, they decided to scrap the whole thing altogether!

I was fuming after that speech in 2009 and even 10 years later in still makes me mad!

Anyway, that's the reason for no speech for the winning minor captain.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 21/08/2019 03:14:23    2228064

Replying To ballydalane:  "Re the minor final, no speech for the winning captain is scandalous. Straight into that "Galway Girl" sh1te after the captain lifts the cup.

The reason for the scrapping of the speech is even more scandalous. The Archbishop of Cashel or whoever the feck he was, used introduce the minor winner with his own little speech beforehand. Totally unnecessary but you know, tradition and that.

Then after the 09 final, when Galway beat Kilkenny, the Archbishop gave a very long and frankly scurrilous speech in which he said "justice has been done" as Kilkenny had been lucky to beat Galway in the final the year before! What a thing to say to a bunch of kids who've just lost an All Ireland final, most of whom were probably not even involved in the previous year's final.

So instead of the GAA telling this insufferable priest to do one, and just have the winning captain's speech from then on, they decided to scrap the whole thing altogether!

I was fuming after that speech in 2009 and even 10 years later in still makes me mad!

Anyway, that's the reason for no speech for the winning minor captain."
Didn't know this. Thanks for the insight BD.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 21/08/2019 13:15:44    2228192

Talking about speeches and interviews, the only decent speakers are the bilingual one's like Ciaran Kilkenny and a few others. Too much cursing and slurred speech by the majority sadly. Embarrassing.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 21/08/2019 13:30:13    2228211