Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To Richieq:  "Optimism, blind or otherwise, is very important. Sooner or later a team is going to have to go out and face the Dubs not believing that they are beaten before the ball is thrown up, the mentality has to change, whether it's us, Kildare, Laois whoever someone has to do it and the sooner it happens the better for everyone, Dublin included."
You'll still be beaten out the gate

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 20/06/2019 21:16:19    2198127

Replying To lilypad:  "You'll still be beaten out the gate"
Maybe, maybe not, but we still are on an upward curve with a group of players who are playing for their manager and doing their best to improve the lot of the county, we have Division 1 football to look forward to next year and to learn from just as we can learn plenty yet in 2019, many counties sound envy that position.......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/06/2019 21:43:57    2198136

Replying To Richieq:  "Maybe, maybe not, but we still are on an upward curve with a group of players who are playing for their manager and doing their best to improve the lot of the county, we have Division 1 football to look forward to next year and to learn from just as we can learn plenty yet in 2019, many counties sound envy that position......."
Fair play to ya boy

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 20/06/2019 22:03:57    2198143

Replying To Richieq:  "Maybe, maybe not, but we still are on an upward curve with a group of players who are playing for their manager and doing their best to improve the lot of the county, we have Division 1 football to look forward to next year and to learn from just as we can learn plenty yet in 2019, many counties sound envy that position......."
Meath have improved in recent years , still a great dubiln team , however, this game won't matter as much to Dublin. Put your tenner on Meath to win this weekend, crazy odds for a two horse race. Also if they are to beat the dubs I recon they will have to do it with goals , so put Meath to win by 4+.

NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 20/06/2019 22:21:40    2198149

Jaysus I go away for a few days and I miss all the action on here. To that Meath poster slagging off the Drawda accent he is just annoyed that some girl from Mar Park broke his heart when she ate his staaa baaa and packet of tayto.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 20/06/2019 22:35:52    2198160

Kildare were a Div1 team last year and still got pasted this year by Dublin. What makes you think you are so far ahead? One of the worst Offaly teams in recent times had you on the ropes in Navan.

The_Biler (Westmeath) - Posts: 84 - 20/06/2019 22:45:07    2198163

Replying To royaldunne:  "Obviously you don't. And I couldn't be asked explaining it to you. Google it."
https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.the42.ie/donegal-meath-division-2-final-report-4568833-Mar2019/%3famp=1

Read this article and all will be explained. You'll be telling me next that Ireland won the last rugby world cup because they won all their group games.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 20/06/2019 22:57:16    2198164

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah ok. Well as someone with a extremely successful business, family, and life. I'll leave you to it. Enjoy the qualifiers and try not to envy the royal too much. :)"
Only 40,000 going to the game the next day, should be enough room for your ego.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 20/06/2019 23:19:51    2198172

Replying To OLLIE:  "Jaysus I go away for a few days and I miss all the action on here. To that Meath poster slagging off the Drawda accent he is just annoyed that some girl from Mar Park broke his heart when she ate his staaa baaa and packet of tayto."
Maybe he met her in the bull. Any sign of betty? I miss him

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/06/2019 10:24:47    2198237

The Meath posters now think everyone is against them ha lads yiz are brutal your in for a hiding, lads are abusing certain posters who think your going to win completely different to hating Meath , no one hates a brutal team even we miss ya's we'd never say that 30 years ago.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/06/2019 11:04:03    2198243

Replying To moc.dna:  "Only 40,000 going to the game the next day, should be enough room for your ego."
You'd think, but doubtful

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/06/2019 12:52:05    2198271

Replying To clondalkindub:  "The Meath posters now think everyone is against them ha lads yiz are brutal your in for a hiding, lads are abusing certain posters who think your going to win completely different to hating Meath , no one hates a brutal team even we miss ya's we'd never say that 30 years ago."
Another 5 past the most over rated player of ALL TIME.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/06/2019 12:53:14    2198272

Replying To royaldunne:  "Maybe he met her in the bull. Any sign of betty? I miss him"
The last I seen Betty was in the Bull. He was all over a woman from Mar Park. I heard both of them moved together up to the Cooley Mountains.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 21/06/2019 13:24:32    2198287

Replying To moc.dna:  "Only 40,000 going to the game the next day, should be enough room for your ego."
Hahahahah.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/06/2019 13:40:56    2198294

Replying To The_Biler:  "Kildare were a Div1 team last year and still got pasted this year by Dublin. What makes you think you are so far ahead? One of the worst Offaly teams in recent times had you on the ropes in Navan."
And where did I say exactly that we were so far ahead??? Stop twisting my words to suit your own bitter little agenda.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 21/06/2019 13:41:15    2198295

Replying To royaldunne:  "Another 5 past the most over rated player of ALL TIME."
please stop embarrassing yourself and all meath fans on here. talking about how successful you are? good god. this is a football forum. you genuinely seem to believe you are some kind of hoganstand celebrity? meath did not win the league i can confirm (sadly). i suggest you seek medical help or maybe just get a rattle and shake it. that should garner enough of the attention you are seeking so badly.

Dubs by 6 on sunday but meath to put in a good performance to keep the momentum going into the super 8s. see where it takes us after that.

edd (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 21/06/2019 13:54:32    2198296

Some amount of bull being spouted on this thread. Realistically Meath need to improve 100% on the previous performance against Laois and then hope that the dubs are super complacent to stand any sort of chance of winning. Trouble is, under Gaven (since Gilroy really), the Dubs don't do complacent and much and all as I'd like to see a competitive game, I just can't see it.
I'll still be there hurling abuse at the ref, the dubs and also trying to encourage the Meath lads as much as possible.
Best of luck to both teams and hopefully we get a game worthy of a Leinster final.

PS: Best of luck to Cavan in Clones, fixture of the weekend. If I wasn't goin' to Croker, I'd be there.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 21/06/2019 14:12:33    2198299

Replying To edd:  "please stop embarrassing yourself and all meath fans on here. talking about how successful you are? good god. this is a football forum. you genuinely seem to believe you are some kind of hoganstand celebrity? meath did not win the league i can confirm (sadly). i suggest you seek medical help or maybe just get a rattle and shake it. that should garner enough of the attention you are seeking so badly.

Dubs by 6 on sunday but meath to put in a good performance to keep the momentum going into the super 8s. see where it takes us after that."
To be fair though if he was ever on a plane that was going to crash and there was only two parachutes, he really should get both in case one fails because he's so great!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 21/06/2019 14:54:12    2198314

Think Meath are in for an eye opener

Meath haven't played Dublin in Leinster for years.

In that time frame Meath have been regularly beaten in Leinster by Kildare, Westmeath and Longford

Meath came through the easier side of the draw in 2019 and even at that struggled against Offaly

Yep, big eye opener on the way.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/06/2019 15:50:21    2198331

Replying To jimbodub:  "Think Meath are in for an eye opener

Meath haven't played Dublin in Leinster for years.

In that time frame Meath have been regularly beaten in Leinster by Kildare, Westmeath and Longford

Meath came through the easier side of the draw in 2019 and even at that struggled against Offaly

Yep, big eye opener on the way."
You could be right Jimbo, but there are always two ways of looking at things. You could say that in that time we have gained promotion to Division 1 and while we were on the easier aide of draw we came through comfortably against Carlow and Laois. Paints a slightly better picture.

Not saying that's going to be enough to get within a few points of Dublin, I don't think it will (hope against hope I'm wrong) but it demonstrates progress, especially when as you said yourself, we were beaten by Kildare Westmeath and Longford before that.

It's likely that this year's aims have been achieved and now we are in bonus territory so a barometer of where we are at, be it a 1 point win or a 15 point loss, will still be useful looking ahead to the future.

Whyalwaysmeath (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 21/06/2019 16:24:01    2198345