Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To KildareKelly:  "'Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

I think a lot on here (& I'm probably one of them) need to heed this wise old statement more often.'"
Yeah ok. Well as someone with a extremely successful business, family, and life. I'll leave you to it. Enjoy the qualifiers and try not to envy the royal too much. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2019 18:17:17    2198068

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yes Kerry won the league in division one they didn't win the play off. What's so hard to understand??"
Donegal lifted the d2 trophy. They also beat meath twice including the actual final. Mayo lifted the d1 trophy, therefore won division 1. If you cant see and accept that then you need help.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/06/2019 18:20:53    2198070

Replying To Htaem:  "Good man Liam, this fixture certainly used to be the highlight of the Gaa calendar for both counties for many years barring an All-Ireland final I suppose.

Obviously in recent years the rivalry has fallen dormant, and maybe doesn't mean as much to younger fans who never witnessed the intense, legendary battles of the 80s, 90s and to a lesser extent early 00s. Even to fans who did witness the battles such as yourself and myself (I was born in the late 80s so I only remember the 90s and early 00s), a lot of the spice has been lost give the gap between the two teams today.

But I have to admit, deep down the rivalry still means a hell of a lot to me. When I see the blue jersey up against our lads, I want a win more than anything.

As for the game this weekend, I'm not going to make any bold predictions and I'm not waving the white flag in advance either. Our lads need to focus on performing their absolute best for the full 70+mins and see where that takes them.

I would like to see us having a go though, I think trying to contain Dublin is utterly futile. If we are to pull off the impossible then we'll need goals and plenty of them.

So long story short, here's to another 5 past Cluxton :-) enjoy the game Liamo"
Yeehaww

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2019 18:21:28    2198072

Replying To cavanman47:  "But but but . . .we didn't get relegated, we finished 8th on the 32 team league table you see. . .and we'll play against the Connacht champions next year and Armagh who had McGeaney and McOnville playing with them recently and won the All-Ireland in 2002 beating Kerry. . .and we're Ulster champions after going 3 matches unbeaten and our play-off against Donegal on Sunday is meaningless because everyone knows we're ulster champions.

What's so hard to understand?"
And I use to tell people not to stone Cavan going through Kells.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2019 18:22:42    2198074

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah ok. Well as someone with a extremely successful business, family, and life. I'll leave you to it. Enjoy the qualifiers and try not to envy the royal too much. :)"
What made you think he was referring to you??

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 20/06/2019 18:35:46    2198075

Replying To St.Conleth:  "What made you think he was referring to you??"
Meath certainly won't be celebrating a 9 point defeat as if we won the all ire.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2019 18:44:53    2198078

Now don't forget to log out and into one of ur Meath accounts to red thumb this

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2019 18:45:42    2198079

Replying To waynoI:  "Donegal lifted the d2 trophy. They also beat meath twice including the actual final. Mayo lifted the d1 trophy, therefore won division 1. If you cant see and accept that then you need help."
The league part was won by Meath and Kerry. What is so hard to understand about that? Jees if this is the intelligence dubs are sending to Meath , I think we need to send some of them back.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2019 18:47:59    2198080

I'm arguing with myself these days, half of me thinks we could struggle to contain this Dublin outfit and have a difficult day, the other half thinks we are going to come out and not give two f***ks about peoples opinions and build on what we have achieved this year and put in one hell of a performance. I can find reasons to support both arguments yet until that ball is thrown in and we see how the first few minutes pan out we just won't know, I'm leaning towards the belief that we will surprise a few people on Sunday, McEntee will have that team going out with no other intention but to go win the game, that man doesn't do moral victories or respectable scorelines and that is undoubtedly a good thing. Our physical conditioning is as good as it has been in years, mentally I believe the belief and confidence players have in their own ability and each other has improved, we have won games this year we would have lost last year no doubt. We have forwards now that are more capable of hurting Dublin than we had in 2014 and 2016, there is more directness to our play and more intent, we are just overall a better team but this is Dublin and despite the fact that I think their potency has waned a bit, understandably after such a run of success, they are still a country mile ahead of what we have played this year or last and I include Donegal and Tyrone in that bracket. Attitude will be important Sunday, as will belief, if the Meath players can blank out the fact that the 15 players they are up against are wearing Dublin jersies and concentrate purely on their own game and performance then they could well put on a show and surprise a lot of people, we shall see.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/06/2019 19:04:04    2198087

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah ok. Well as someone with a extremely successful business, family, and life. I'll leave you to it. Enjoy the qualifiers and try not to envy the royal too much. :)"
And now that you've mentioned it, so is Donald Trump

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 20/06/2019 19:06:06    2198089

Just read this. It's insightful and it's how we play these days. The players mentioned are all extremely important, and all need to be in form if we are to win. Got to say a great article. Fair balanced and accurate, now if only Sunday game would catch up.
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/gaa-statistics-meath-s-direct-running-game-faces-the-ultimate-test-1.3931300?mode=amp&utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2019 19:09:32    2198091

Good to have you back as yourself

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2019 19:10:28    2198092

Martin O'Connell 3 times all ire winner, all star and of course team of millennium member. Meath must go in believing they going to win, containing dubs doesn't work.
I wonder how many red thumbs one of the greatest players ever to play the game would get if he joined hoganstand??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2019 19:22:29    2198095

Replying To royaldunne:  "Now don't forget to log out and into one of ur Meath accounts to red thumb this"
Ok, just for the craic. Which one should I use?

You really do believe that any Meath poster that doesn't have the same guff as yourself is an imposter. This is actually worrying. I'll leave you alone from now

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 20/06/2019 19:35:46    2198098

For fecks sake lads we all suffer from blind optimism from time to time but ye will be beaten out the gate

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 20/06/2019 19:48:24    2198103

Replying To royaldunne:  "The league part was won by Meath and Kerry. What is so hard to understand about that? Jees if this is the intelligence dubs are sending to Meath , I think we need to send some of them back."
Such scutter talk

The_Biler (Westmeath) - Posts: 84 - 20/06/2019 19:56:43    2198104

Replying To royaldunne:  "
Replying To Jack_Goff:  "[quote=royaldunne:  "[quote=Whyalwaysmeath:  "[quote=ConnollyDub:  "[quote=Jack_Goff:  "link

20,000 tickets sold by Tuesday and at best they expect 45,000 to be in attendance. Still only tickets for the lower tiers and hill 16 isn't sold out. This may seem bad now but it Meath get a hiding and Dublin do the 5 in a row things will be far worse next year."
by god will you ever give it a rest"
Agreed! Couldn't give a rats if there are 100 people at it! I'll be there, I'll enjoy it and I'll have a few pints with my Dublin mates after it, can't wait!"]It's tiresome at this stage.
Jack I admire your single mindedness of splitting Dublin in two. Go for it, but it won't happen this year. (Personally I don't think it ever will happen) you have said you not going to match so the gaa will change its mind if less people turn up. The fact is the Leinster council will look at the bottom line, and the bottom line is that if only 40k show up its still a bigger attendance than last year. So you effectively peeing against the wind.
If 50 people turn up I don't care. And anyone who is there won't care. Take up your grievances with Leinster council."]All relative. Meath in the final this year instead of Laois. The biggest Derby fixture in Leinster. And in a year which meath got promoted so hopes are obviously high.

I do agree I've gone on about this too much and will try to stop. Hope you all enjoy the game. I'll be back for the post mortem next week."]Jack your not a bad lad.
If I can impart one bit of advice to you, I've been going to games since mid 70s I've seen some of the greats
Go to the game, forget about all the advantages dubs have. Go enjoy it. There's many a fan who would rip your hand off for a chance to be there.
All the best."]I've been to almost every match since the late 80's but I won't be changing my mind. I'll be back for the next match after.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 20/06/2019 20:01:29    2198106

Meath appear to be dining at the top table now and the dubs don't like it .

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 20/06/2019 20:05:56    2198108

Replying To lilypad:  "For fecks sake lads we all suffer from blind optimism from time to time but ye will be beaten out the gate"
Optimism, blind or otherwise, is very important. Sooner or later a team is going to have to go out and face the Dubs not believing that they are beaten before the ball is thrown up, the mentality has to change, whether it's us, Kildare, Laois whoever someone has to do it and the sooner it happens the better for everyone, Dublin included.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/06/2019 20:06:18    2198109

Replying To Richieq:  "Optimism, blind or otherwise, is very important. Sooner or later a team is going to have to go out and face the Dubs not believing that they are beaten before the ball is thrown up, the mentality has to change, whether it's us, Kildare, Laois whoever someone has to do it and the sooner it happens the better for everyone, Dublin included."
If we look over west we can learn a thing or two from the likes of Mayo and Donegal .
Over the past decade they have shown to have the mindset and fanbase to create an occasion rather than a formality on a big day at croke park.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 20/06/2019 21:04:16    2198125