2019 Division 1 League Final.

Magnificent Mayo!!

Well deserved, they should really have won by more, they got 3 goals but could've had 7/8 goals today!

A harsh lesson for the young Kerry lads playing in Croke Pk against a team like Mayo hunting you down but they'll learn.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 31/03/2019 17:40:28    2176686

Take nothing away from Mayo but that one naive Kerry team today......it was men against boys. Kerry full of individual talent but they will need to man up a bit. Hadn't a clue how to win that game. Well done Mayo, delighted for yee. Bit of silverware in Croker could set you up now for Sam. Serious squad of players

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 31/03/2019 17:40:50    2176687

A wonderful game which was a super advertisement for the league.

If we see many games like that in the championship then it will be a great 2019.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/03/2019 17:43:39    2176689

Great win. Excellent second half. Still need to tidy things up front but Cillian will help that. The likes of Coen isn't good enough. I had to defend Diarmuid O Connor on here many times but the lad is a class act. And Aidan O Se was excellent again. It's only the league but people were dying to have a pop had they lost another final. The same people will try and play it down now.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 31/03/2019 17:43:41    2176690

It pains me to say it but mayo have the best fans. They stuck with them through the bad times I can't think of any other gaa fans who have done that in such numbers. I talked to a taxi man in Dublin on the way to the semi final last year and he says he makes more money when mayo are in the final. He goes to the team's hotel and just picks up fans going back to town . Then picks up fans in town who want to go back and greet their team for their effort throughout the year. He can do that for hours . Hes never seen that with fans of any other losing team

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 31/03/2019 17:44:12    2176691

Brilliant stuff from Mayo! They were far and away the better team. Fair play to Diarmud O'Connor - he really stepped up when needed in the second-half. A O'Shea is playing the best football of his career and Robbie Hennelly exorcised his Croke Park demons. The championship is shaping up to be far more interesting than most people would have predicted a couple of months ago.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 31/03/2019 17:44:35    2176692

Well done Mayo!!!

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 31/03/2019 17:44:47    2176693

who said football was dead? great game well done mayo, thought ye were finished as a team, so happy to be wrong,

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 31/03/2019 17:44:53    2176694

Well done mayo. Totally deserved win. We have no excuses

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 31/03/2019 17:47:23    2176696

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Great win. Excellent second half. Still need to tidy things up front but Cillian will help that. The likes of Coen isn't good enough. I had to defend Diarmuid O Connor on here many times but the lad is a class act. And Aidan O Se was excellent again. It's only the league but people were dying to have a pop had they lost another final. The same people will try and play it down now."
Diarmuid O'Connor and Aiden O'Shea were both magnificent today I thought.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 31/03/2019 17:50:27    2176697

We have seen today 2 brilliant teams with some players still come back in ,Galway have players to come back in ,Tyrone came strong towards end of league.
Dublin still the team to beat but it does look like there will be strong competition for them and they won't have it as easy as last summer,hopefully I'm right and an entertaining summer is ahead for us all

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 31/03/2019 17:54:45    2176698

Ba mhaith liom chomgardeas a dhéanamh go dtí foireann Maigh Eo. Well done, scrappy at the end, but did I not jump when he buried the ball in the net. Pity about the handbags at the end though. Mayo need to calm down, enjoy their title and focus on the Summer. Maigh Eo abú

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 31/03/2019 17:55:40    2176699

Well done Mayo, great football played & great supporters, massive crowd. The atmosphere was unbelievable,brilliant scenes, raw emotion.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 31/03/2019 17:57:29    2176700

Congratulations Mayo, great scenes here after final whistle well done .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/03/2019 17:58:45    2176703

Well done Mayo, great game and nice for them to lift a national title, badly needed. They did their best to lose it in the last few mins by kicking hail Marys into the Kerry square instead of holding the ball and working it in, but they just about got away with it and well done to them.
Very good performance from the young Kerry side and they should take a lot of positives going forward. Big summer ahead, and it'll be far from plain sailing for Dublin.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 31/03/2019 18:07:10    2176704

Just a side note. I'm not bashing A O Shea but while he had a good game he does silly stupid things. That second yellow was childish. Had Clifford scored that late chance and Kerry win he would have been crucified.

For me he needs to grow up a bit.

Well done Mayo.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 31/03/2019 18:07:19    2176705

Mayo should they are still a force to be reckoned with, superb second half display. The mayo fans really do give this team a huge boost when needed, brilliant support.

Same story with us not able to see out games when having a decent lead but I fully expected Mayo to give a big effort in the second half. Clifford did have an amazing chance to sneak it but Mayo had missed chances of their own.

Kerry were very poor in the second half and looked like we were beaten well from the end but credit goes to Mayo for the pressure they applied. Hopefully the younger players will learn from this and drive on. Congrats to Mayo.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 31/03/2019 18:07:24    2176706

At last we leave Croke Park with silverware...not the cup we crave but a good start to the year. I'm calling in sick tomorrow. Up Mayo !

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 31/03/2019 18:12:42    2176709

Great game first off, played hard and fast some fantastic goals some brilliant goalkeeping. Delighted with the Mayo win. Looks like it might be 1 of the best GAA Foorball summers for a long time. Dublin, Kerry, Galway, Tyrone & Mayo. Donegal have shown a vast improvement. I'll be surprised if these 6 don't make the Super 8s. There's always hiccups, roll on the championship. Maigh Eo Abú

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 31/03/2019 18:17:47    2176712

Looks like Aidan O'Rourke was more on the money about Kerry's defence than he was given credit for.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 31/03/2019 18:19:59    2176713