Meath V Tipperary NFL Rd 1

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "Looking at the fixtures, there's a huge opportunity this year to make a push for promotion.

Last year our first four fixtures were Roscommon (away), Clare (home), Cavan (away) and Tipp (away). In hindsight, it was always going to be difficult to come away with more than 2 points from that run of fixtures. Hence why we found ourselves in a relegation battle.

This year, the first four fixtures are Tipp (home), Donegal (away), Armagh (home) and Cork (away). It will be tough but there's no reason why we shouldn't pick up 6 points out of 8. We should be beating Tipp and Armagh at home. Wouldn't expect anything from Donegal away but you never know. Cork lost all but one of their home fixtures last year. 6 out of 8 would put us in a great position for promotion with 3 winnable fixtures still to come. I could be dreaming but this could be McEntee's last year and if we stay in Div 2 the fixtures won't be as kind next year. It's now or never."
I think we say this every year, its now or never we should get out of this division and then reflect the following year going oh the fixtures weren't kind and the run was terrible etc. Not aimed at you here gwan more a general comment

First things first we have to beat Tipp on Sunday. They're short some of the better players (Quinlivan being one) and we've close to our best selection available to us now. Win that and its two points on the board.

Donegal will still be missing their Gweedore contingent so we should be looking to get something out of that match. Our recent fixtures v Donegal have been very close so no reason we can't look to get a point.

Armagh are a tough game no matter where you play them and made the McKenna Cup final recently.

I agree it could be Andy's last year but I'm stumped as to who'd come in to replace him but that's for a separate conversation,

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 24/01/2019 10:22:20    2159231

Replying To brian:  "I think we say this every year, its now or never we should get out of this division and then reflect the following year going oh the fixtures weren't kind and the run was terrible etc. Not aimed at you here gwan more a general comment

First things first we have to beat Tipp on Sunday. They're short some of the better players (Quinlivan being one) and we've close to our best selection available to us now. Win that and its two points on the board.

Donegal will still be missing their Gweedore contingent so we should be looking to get something out of that match. Our recent fixtures v Donegal have been very close so no reason we can't look to get a point.

Armagh are a tough game no matter where you play them and made the McKenna Cup final recently.

I agree it could be Andy's last year but I'm stumped as to who'd come in to replace him but that's for a separate conversation,"
We need to stop this rubbish of 'its his final year' etc. As soon as we get a manager in the door, we are talking about whisking him out and getting someone else in! That is one of the main factors as to why we have been doing nothing at Senior level for 15 years now. Constantly chopping and changing management teams. Five years is what a manager deserves to give players proper stability and to also have someone in place to step up to the job after the current manager goes, i.e. Barry Callaghan with the U20's, who should be given this campaign and the next one with the U20's before stepping up to the senior job, which is the proper way it should be done. Andy has the best players in the county available to him and hopefully more players will develop with the U17's/U20's over the next three years and that we then have a constant conveyer belt of talent coming into the Senior squad. Chopping and changing managers every two or three years is detrimental to players development and to the entire structure of the county teams system. Look at the job Andy did with Ballyboden St Endas, a team with very talented players, who had achieved nothing before he arrived, and have achieved nothing since he has left. Supporters do not know even half of the levels of dedication poured into Meath football by everyone involved from the U14 development squad up to Senior over the past few years, and this dedication will be rewarded eventually but it wont happen over night, but it will happen, we just have to keep going.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 932 - 24/01/2019 11:53:29    2159254

Replying To brian:  "I think we say this every year, its now or never we should get out of this division and then reflect the following year going oh the fixtures weren't kind and the run was terrible etc. Not aimed at you here gwan more a general comment

I agree it could be Andy's last year but I'm stumped as to who'd come in to replace him but that's for a separate conversation,"
Valid points and tbh you have to play with the fixtures you given. Yes the 4 games should give us a decent return, however it must be one game at a time. All focus should be on tipp. A win there is 2 points on the board and should lead to confidence heading to donegal, which I would be hopeful (not overly) of getting maybe even a point , Armagh ? Who knows, hopefully home advantage will count. Then cork? Hey we could be here after the 4 games sitting on 8 points, we could be here sitting on two. It's a good chance. The players manager back room staff and cb have all said promotion is the objective, and Tbh I think the league is more important this year than championship, for what it will bring to the team supporters and the next generation, back in the top flight is where we need to be.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2019 13:04:47    2159271

Replying To BigJoe14:  "

We need to stop this rubbish of 'its his final year' etc. As soon as we get a manager in the door, we are talking about whisking him out and getting someone else in! That is one of the main factors as to why we have been doing nothing at Senior level for 15 years now. Constantly chopping and changing management teams. Five years is what a manager deserves to give players proper stability and to also have someone in place to step up to the job after the current manager goes, i.e. Barry Callaghan with the U20's, who should be given this campaign and the next one with the U20's before stepping up to the senior job, which is the proper way it should be done. Andy has the best players in the county available to him and hopefully more players will develop with the U17's/U20's over the next three years and that we then have a constant conveyer belt of talent coming into the Senior squad. Chopping and changing managers every two or three years is detrimental to players development and to the entire structure of the county teams system. Look at the job Andy did with Ballyboden St Endas, a team with very talented players, who had achieved nothing before he arrived, and have achieved nothing since he has left. Supporters do not know even half of the levels of dedication poured into Meath football by everyone involved from the U14 development squad up to Senior over the past few years, and this dedication will be rewarded eventually but it wont happen over night, but it will happen, we just have to keep going."
Completely agree with you. But...officially it's the final year of his agreed term and he'll know that if the results go badly his term might not be extended. Who knows, maybe he'll want to step away himself anyway regardless of results. The point is that he and the team will be gunning to make progress on last year and progress = promotion.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 24/01/2019 13:17:59    2159276

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "Looking at the fixtures, there's a huge opportunity this year to make a push for promotion.

Last year our first four fixtures were Roscommon (away), Clare (home), Cavan (away) and Tipp (away). In hindsight, it was always going to be difficult to come away with more than 2 points from that run of fixtures. Hence why we found ourselves in a relegation battle.

This year, the first four fixtures are Tipp (home), Donegal (away), Armagh (home) and Cork (away). It will be tough but there's no reason why we shouldn't pick up 6 points out of 8. We should be beating Tipp and Armagh at home. Wouldn't expect anything from Donegal away but you never know. Cork lost all but one of their home fixtures last year. 6 out of 8 would put us in a great position for promotion with 3 winnable fixtures still to come. I could be dreaming but this could be McEntee's last year and if we stay in Div 2 the fixtures won't be as kind next year. It's now or never."
Hold on a second,

"Last year our first four fixtures were Roscommon (away), Clare (home), Cavan (away) and Tipp (away). In hindsight, it was always going to be difficult to come away with more than 2 points from that run of fixtures".

On your analysis 2 points from a potential 8 against the above teams was always going to be difficult.

If that is the mindset then we may as well pack the bags a d shut up shop.

If you want promotion to Division 1 and want to be in a place where you're playing the best teams worrying about "difficult" tasks against Tipperary, Clare, Cavan and Roscommon means it's a sad state of affairs. Those should be games a team with promotion in mind should be targeting.

Unfortunately, Meath are where they are and on our day I would not bet money on us getting a result.

But as I say, once your accepting that the game is already up.

Going on recent years you cant afford to drop more than 4 points or you will be out of the race

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 24/01/2019 19:41:12    2159336

I would take 4 out of a possible 8 there, and I think that is a realistic goal. It would also mean we have a good chance with 2 more home games and an away trip to Clare to achieve our goal of 9pts which usually has u in the shake up

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 25/01/2019 06:30:05    2159392

Starting 2019 with little knowledge of where we are at. After 2 years of building i do not see any real improvement to date. Physical fitness improved yes maybe. My only interest now is what has been learned in that time, and can we begin to see the evidence? If no visible evidence at this point then we are really in a poor state. In that case i would not expect Andy to hang around after this year.
However, maybe the 2018 review by the CB did prove worthwhile. Maybe key areas identified were worked on. Perhaps the new coach Colm Nally will add to our efforts to adapt a much more direct style of football. I note his coaching course next sat in Dunganny has this as a heading....interesting !!
Team selection i am happy to leave that to the management. Attitude and mental strenght as a team is key when the chips are down. Without that it is largely irrelevant who is selected. Our options are limited anyway . Some very good lads have decided to walk away. Some for very good reasons. Andy has a massive job . He will no doubt give it his best shot and good luck to him and his team.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1211 - 25/01/2019 11:45:46    2159433

I presume team will be named in the morning??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/01/2019 14:54:26    2159484

Winners: Donegal

Runners-up: Armagh

Relegation: Fermanagh, Clare

Outright odds (PaddyPower): Donegal 5/4; Kildare 4/1; Cork 11/2; Armagh 13/2; Meath 7/1; Tipperary 10/1; Clare 25/1; Fermanagh 25/1

So this is what the bookies think! Mind you if you were to go by the odds surely Kildare would be Runners Up??!

One way or another - we are neither promotion prospects or relegation prospects if you were to go by this and based on last year that is probably a fair indication of where we are at! For me - promotion would be a massive achievement and relegation would be a disaster! Sunday is so important - a good start and a marker required!! Best of luck to Andy and the lads!!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 25/01/2019 15:40:53    2159493

Replying To ASaminthehand:  "Winners: Donegal

Runners-up: Armagh

Relegation: Fermanagh, Clare

Outright odds (PaddyPower): Donegal 5/4; Kildare 4/1; Cork 11/2; Armagh 13/2; Meath 7/1; Tipperary 10/1; Clare 25/1; Fermanagh 25/1

So this is what the bookies think! Mind you if you were to go by the odds surely Kildare would be Runners Up??!

One way or another - we are neither promotion prospects or relegation prospects if you were to go by this and based on last year that is probably a fair indication of where we are at! For me - promotion would be a massive achievement and relegation would be a disaster! Sunday is so important - a good start and a marker required!! Best of luck to Andy and the lads!!"
For last two years cork have been hot favorite for promotion, Really until rd 3 it's impossible to know what way things will pan out.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/01/2019 16:53:06    2159511

Replying To royaldunne:  "I presume team will be named in the morning??"
Examiner named Meath team in this mornings paper, was a bit surprised when I read it. Backs and midfield as expected but forwards looked a bit lightweight. No idea where they got team news from, only forum I have seen it on. Not so sure it is correct.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 25/01/2019 17:48:57    2159521

Replying To seadog54:  "Examiner named Meath team in this mornings paper, was a bit surprised when I read it. Backs and midfield as expected but forwards looked a bit lightweight. No idea where they got team news from, only forum I have seen it on. Not so sure it is correct."
Have you a link to it or what team had they said it was?

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 25/01/2019 18:34:34    2159531

Replying To seadog54:  "Examiner named Meath team in this mornings paper, was a bit surprised when I read it. Backs and midfield as expected but forwards looked a bit lightweight. No idea where they got team news from, only forum I have seen it on. Not so sure it is correct."
That's very strange. Wonder where they got that from?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/01/2019 19:58:34    2159546

Replying To royaldunne:  "That's very strange. Wonder where they got that from?"
Maybe a team put out by Meath in O Byrne Cup, just a mix up?

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 25/01/2019 21:54:17    2159575

my prediction is win v tipp
lose v donegal
draw v armagh
lose v kildare
lose v cork
win v clare
win fermanagh 7 points mid table

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 685 - 25/01/2019 22:04:03    2159579

Replying To seadog54:  "Maybe a team put out by Meath in O Byrne Cup, just a mix up?"
Yeah you probably right

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/01/2019 22:52:05    2159587

Just want to wish Andy and the lads the best of luck on Sunday. I actually can't sleep because of a mixture of nerves and excitement. This HAS to be our year! Hon the Royal!

Evernal (Meath) - Posts: 74 - 26/01/2019 01:55:55    2159597

Team named

1 - Colgan
2 - Lavin 3 - McGill 4 - Ryan
5 - J McEntee 6 - Keoghan 7 - Kane
8 - Menton 9 - Flanagan
10 - Devine 11 - Brennan 12 - Burke
13 - Campion 14 - Newman 15 - O'Reilly

Subs - Dardis, O'Sullivan, McCoy, S. McEntee, G. Reilly, Lynch, Tobin, Hickey, Conlon, McMahon, Quinn

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 26/01/2019 07:42:03    2159602

Andrew Colgan; Seamus Lavin, Conor McGill, Ronan Ryan; James McEntee, Donal Keogan, Niall Kane; Bryan Menton, Adam Flanagan; Ethan Devine, Ben Brennan, Michael Burke; Darragh Campion, Michael Newman, Thomas O'Reilly. Subs: Barry Dardis, Cillian O'Sullivan, Gavin McCoy, Shane McEntee, Graham Reilly, Eoin Lynch, Sean Tobin, Niall Hickey, James Conlon, Bryan McMahon, Danny Quinn.

Well not the team I expected, colgan retains no1 jersey, neither O'Sullivan or Reilly start. Shane mcentee and McMahon returns from injury to be named on subs . Interesting to see if it is the team that will start. Best of luck to all

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/01/2019 08:46:31    2159607

Replying To seadog54:  "Maybe a team put out by Meath in O Byrne Cup, just a mix up?"
Is the team named any where near what they had?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/01/2019 09:08:50    2159609