Meath V Tipperary NFL Rd 1

Replying To brian:  "Anyone going to hazard a guess at the starting 15 v Tipp?

I'd imagine he's gonna go with

1 - Dardis
2 - Lavin 3 - McGill 4 - Ryan
5 - J McEntee 6 - Keoghan 7 - Kane
8 - Menton 9 - S McEntee
10 - Campion 11 - Brennan 12 - O'Sullivan
13 - G Reilly 14 - Newman 15 - T O'Reilly

16 - Colgan/ Brennan (assuming Beakey is not on squad) 17 - Glynn 18 - Gallagher 19 - Flanagan 20 - MacMahon 21 - Devine 22 - McCoy 23 - Ferguson 24 - Tobin 25 - Burke 26 - Quinn

Still leaves you with Harnan to come into the squad as his fitness gets up to scratch. Then O'Neill, Lynch, Garry, McGovern brothers, Clarke, Sean Reilly, McDonnell, Hickey and Devlin as squad options.

Wasn't sure if I should include James Conlon or not. Is he still U-20 eligible?? Anyone an idea on Sean Curran? Is he available. Not sure if I saw his name during the O'Byrne cup. And what's the story with the Ratoath lads? The Wallace's were taking the year out I believe or was that just Eamonn and Joey got injured? Is Brian Power unavailable? Are the O'Briens out too? And either of the McGowan brothers considered?

Looking at that I still think we're very light of forwards to come in and change the game up. MacMahon could run at defences but he can be hot and cold. Unless Mickey can rediscover his all star nominee form we're still short a top quality forward who teams will look to quieten. RD before you get on your horse about Graham Reilly he was anonymous v Tyrone. He would not (nor any other forward for that matter) get their place on a top 8 team. We're light in midfield too. Maybe that could be where you'd fit Padraic Harnan into the team. Pity both Breen Conlon and Harry Rooney have fallen out with Andy as they'd be immediate starters there."
I'll totally disagree with you on Graham Reilly (also all star nominated) he was very well marshaled v Tyrone, which the top teams do. It's a known fact take Graham Reilly out of Meath team and they easily beat. Said by Kildare management after the semi final win over us.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/01/2019 19:05:21    2158729

Replying To royaldunne:  "I'll totally disagree with you on Graham Reilly (also all star nominated) he was very well marshaled v Tyrone, which the top teams do. It's a known fact take Graham Reilly out of Meath team and they easily beat. Said by Kildare management after the semi final win over us."
Sorry RD but I dont see that argument. I wouldnt doubt the commitment and talent of the man, he's a stalwart. But he's been in decline for years and his on-field performances of hot-cold and frustration shows he knows that himself. I think its insulting to the rest of the men on that Meath panel to hold Reilly above them, he's a good player. A great player against poor to average opposition but not a great player against top 8 teams.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 21/01/2019 19:17:58    2158736

Replying To ASaminthehand:  "Brian McMahon is injured - out for at least the first two games I've been told! Same person told me, Brian Power is not in squad, Joe Wallace is injured (not sure about Eamon), Cian O'Brien out injured and Bob O'Brien is in Australia for the past 18 months at least!
You don't have James Conlon listed - why wouldn't Beakey be in the squad?"
James Conlon will play some part, Eamonn Wallace is gone traveling.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/01/2019 19:23:46    2158739

Replying To royaldunne:  "I'll totally disagree with you on Graham Reilly (also all star nominated) he was very well marshaled v Tyrone, which the top teams do. It's a known fact take Graham Reilly out of Meath team and they easily beat. Said by Kildare management after the semi final win over us."
Tyrone took Reilly completely out of the game and they didn't beat us easy. The big thing here is Reilly hasn't shown up against a top side in the last 3 to 4 years so his position in the team is certainly under question.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 21/01/2019 21:58:47    2158774

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Tyrone took Reilly completely out of the game and they didn't beat us easy. The big thing here is Reilly hasn't shown up against a top side in the last 3 to 4 years so his position in the team is certainly under question."
Really? Think you need to look back on many of those games. Is performances against down and Louth last year ensured our status in division two. Showed up in plenty. Funny thing is many people on here (myself including) how we will miss Lenihan this year. He was completely absent v Tyrone last year too.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/01/2019 22:06:38    2158776

Anyway this is not a debate about any individual players graham will play v tipp and once he has a great game is all that matters.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/01/2019 22:07:59    2158778

Replying To royaldunne:  "Really? Think you need to look back on many of those games. Is performances against down and Louth last year ensured our status in division two. Showed up in plenty. Funny thing is many people on here (myself including) how we will miss Lenihan this year. He was completely absent v Tyrone last year too."
Simple Question, which Meath player lost possession in the final minute of normal time in the Tyrone game to let them equalise? And the loss of possession was totally avoidable.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1062 - 22/01/2019 00:17:25    2158805

RD he was nominated for an all star 9 years ago. That's like saying the Spain team that won the world cup or the Cork team that won the all ireland that year could win it now.. He has never showed up against a top calibre team in the championship. You can reference league all ye want but championship is where it matters most and against the best opposition Graham is always found wanting. He's great v anyone at or below our level but if its a better calibre of team he's not at the races. Great players find ways to perform at higher levels unfortunately Graham doesn't have that ability. In 2010 he had stephen bray being the main focus of the attack allowing him extra space and not as much attention.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 22/01/2019 09:26:36    2158826

Replying To MillerX:  "Simple Question, which Meath player lost possession in the final minute of normal time in the Tyrone game to let them equalise? And the loss of possession was totally avoidable."
I am not getting involved but Andy Mc Antee counted 7 "system errors" as called it in two minutes of extra time against Tyrone

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 22/01/2019 11:28:25    2158852

If we play Wicklow or Wexford then Graham is the man

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 22/01/2019 12:31:22    2158868

Replying To brian:  "RD he was nominated for an all star 9 years ago. That's like saying the Spain team that won the world cup or the Cork team that won the all ireland that year could win it now.. He has never showed up against a top calibre team in the championship. You can reference league all ye want but championship is where it matters most and against the best opposition Graham is always found wanting. He's great v anyone at or below our level but if its a better calibre of team he's not at the races. Great players find ways to perform at higher levels unfortunately Graham doesn't have that ability. In 2010 he had stephen bray being the main focus of the attack allowing him extra space and not as much attention."
Don't want to get into this , but again that is either downright lies or stupidity. Last time we played dubs (in championship) highest rated Meath player. Please please do some research before posting nonsense.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/01/2019 13:08:41    2158876

Replying To Analyst:  "If we play Wicklow or Wexford then Graham is the man"
And that comment shows you know NOTHING about football.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/01/2019 13:09:59    2158877

Replying To brian:  "RD he was nominated for an all star 9 years ago. That's like saying the Spain team that won the world cup or the Cork team that won the all ireland that year could win it now.. He has never showed up against a top calibre team in the championship. You can reference league all ye want but championship is where it matters most and against the best opposition Graham is always found wanting. He's great v anyone at or below our level but if its a better calibre of team he's not at the races. Great players find ways to perform at higher levels unfortunately Graham doesn't have that ability. In 2010 he had stephen bray being the main focus of the attack allowing him extra space and not as much attention."
Since 2010 how many of the top 8 have we played? Who are the top 8? Dubs, Kerry , Tyrone, Monaghan, Mayo, Roscommon, Galway donegal? Haven't played Kerry mayo , Galway has always shown great against them, Monaghan destroyed Meath the twice we met them (league) Roscommon last year played excellent (league) dubs best Meath player last time we played , (papers ratings after match ) including 3 points from play, no complaints v donegal either a couple of years ago , so you see when u look at it the argument doesn't stack up, and is lazy analysis, and to borrow a term. Fake news.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/01/2019 13:18:18    2158880

Replying To royaldunne:  "
Since 2010 how many of the top 8 have we played? Who are the top 8? Dubs, Kerry , Tyrone, Monaghan, Mayo, Roscommon, Galway donegal? Haven't played Kerry mayo , Galway has always shown great against them, Monaghan destroyed Meath the twice we met them (league) Roscommon last year played excellent (league) dubs best Meath player last time we played , (papers ratings after match ) including 3 points from play, no complaints v donegal either a couple of years ago , so you see when u look at it the argument doesn't stack up, and is lazy analysis, and to borrow a term. Fake news."
RD people are entitled to their opinion and I admire and respect yours. Don't run down my opinion with your "fake news". Its insulting and personal. There's no need for it.

As you can see in my post in bold i said in the championship. In his most recent championship game he wasn't good enough. We've played Tyrone three times in recent years and he wasn't good enough in any of those games. The last game against Dublin there wasn't one player who played well. Saying he was top rated of a team that was abysmal is a nothing argument. The Donegal game he wasn't very god either. The rest of your comments relate to league matches where teams are not playing their full teams.

Here's another way to judge it. Would Graham get into our 80's or 90's team. For me he would only make the bench and wouldn't be first sub in for either team. Again you can argue the point and I'm sure you'd put him in but for me he's not close.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 22/01/2019 14:43:29    2158901

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I am not getting involved but Andy Mc Antee counted 7 "system errors" as called it in two minutes of extra time against Tyrone"
Question was addressed to RD and no answer yet. It was not about system error but about a "Basic Error" and I just want him to cough up a simple answer.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1062 - 22/01/2019 15:32:55    2158913

Replying To brian:  "
Replying To royaldunne:  "[quote=brian:  "RD he was nominated for an all star 9 years ago. That's like saying the Spain team that won the world cup or the Cork team that won the all ireland that year could win it now.. He has never showed up against a top calibre team in the championship. You can reference league all ye want but championship is where it matters most and against the best opposition Graham is always found wanting. He's great v anyone at or below our level but if its a better calibre of team he's not at the races. Great players find ways to perform at higher levels unfortunately Graham doesn't have that ability. In 2010 he had stephen bray being the main focus of the attack allowing him extra space and not as much attention."
Since 2010 how many of the top 8 have we played? Who are the top 8? Dubs, Kerry , Tyrone, Monaghan, Mayo, Roscommon, Galway donegal? Haven't played Kerry mayo , Galway has always shown great against them, Monaghan destroyed Meath the twice we met them (league) Roscommon last year played excellent (league) dubs best Meath player last time we played , (papers ratings after match ) including 3 points from play, no complaints v donegal either a couple of years ago , so you see when u look at it the argument doesn't stack up, and is lazy analysis, and to borrow a term. Fake news."
RD people are entitled to their opinion and I admire and respect yours. Don't run down my opinion with your "fake news". Its insulting and personal. There's no need for it.

As you can see in my post in bold i said in the championship. In his most recent championship game he wasn't good enough. We've played Tyrone three times in recent years and he wasn't good enough in any of those games. The last game against Dublin there wasn't one player who played well. Saying he was top rated of a team that was abysmal is a nothing argument. The Donegal game he wasn't very god either. The rest of your comments relate to league matches where teams are not playing their full teams.

Here's another way to judge it. Would Graham get into our 80's or 90's team. For me he would only make the bench and wouldn't be first sub in for either team. Again you can argue the point and I'm sure you'd put him in but for me he's not close."]I know RD is a big fan of Graham Reilly and fair play to him for that but I wouldn't have him even on the Meath panel. There is no doubting his athleticism or talent on a given day but without wanting to criticize him too much, he's not the kind of player that winning teams carry. He's an individual talent and this is a team sport. If Jim Gavin was over Meath, there's no way he'd tolerate him.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 22/01/2019 16:44:35    2158923

Replying To royaldunne:  "Anyway this is not a debate about any individual players graham will play v tipp and once he has a great game is all that matters."
Ironically you have just summarized rather nicely the issue with Graham Reilly.

All that matters is that the team performs, not Graham Reilly. Graham has the athleticism and talent to score 4/5 nice points from distance against Tipp...but the of those 4/5 points, you can be sure that if he'd given the ball earlier or looked up he'd have maybe given a pass that led to a goal or another player might have scored and brought them into the game. And for those 4/5 points, you can be sure he'll have done too much for each individual score, beating a number of men with herculean effort, and so will be out of the game for the next 5 minutes with his hands on his hips absolutely knackered, making the team down to 14 men essentially.

You're a big fan RD and I respect that. But you have to see the other side that I and a lot of other Meath fans see. I've all the respect in the world for Graham Reilly for the service he gives to Meath but I personally wouldn't have him involved...and I don't think I'm alone on these pages in thinking that.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 22/01/2019 16:56:58    2158925

Replying To Crinigan:  "Ironically you have just summarized rather nicely the issue with Graham Reilly.

All that matters is that the team performs, not Graham Reilly. Graham has the athleticism and talent to score 4/5 nice points from distance against Tipp...but the of those 4/5 points, you can be sure that if he'd given the ball earlier or looked up he'd have maybe given a pass that led to a goal or another player might have scored and brought them into the game. And for those 4/5 points, you can be sure he'll have done too much for each individual score, beating a number of men with herculean effort, and so will be out of the game for the next 5 minutes with his hands on his hips absolutely knackered, making the team down to 14 men essentially.

You're a big fan RD and I respect that. But you have to see the other side that I and a lot of other Meath fans see. I've all the respect in the world for Graham Reilly for the service he gives to Meath but I personally wouldn't have him involved...and I don't think I'm alone on these pages in thinking that."
The problem is we don't have another player who can get 4/5 scores from play in a game. The only one with potential to do that is Conlon. And as yet he is still too inexperienced. And I think he will only truly be appreciated for what he did, after he is gone.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/01/2019 17:08:10    2158928

Reading interview with Liam Kearns in one of todays papers, stated Tipp will be short several regulars for game v Meath, including M Quinlivan. If so,this is an advantage we cannot afford to pass up.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 22/01/2019 17:17:35    2158931

Everyone has their opinions on Biggie but surely most people would say he is one of the best 6 forwards CURRENTLY on the panel?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 22/01/2019 17:18:13    2158932