Meath v Cavan

Good to see Tobin getting a shot at midfield has the engine to get about the field. Tormey was never a long term solution. Game we cannot afford to loose.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 26/02/2016 17:50:43    1828494

Andy Tormey is suspended. Great analysis! The brains on this site here is staggering!

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 26/02/2016 20:46:21    1828539

"The brains on this site here is staggering!"

Absolutely right David. The collective wisdom of all of us on here would put Einstein to shame. Sure even MOD logs on here regularly to see what team he should be picking for the big games. Isn't that why he had picked Donnacha Tobin at midfield - because the brains trust on here have told him to do it!
Now i only I could get him to read my posts about changing the goalkeeper!

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 27/02/2016 08:04:45    1828562

Tormey was booked against Armagh,a black card counts as a yellow.So in effect he had had 3 yellows

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts:4611 - 26/02/2016 17:34:15

Thanks Ziggy, I taught it was 3 yellows and black needed. That was very costly sending off for us so.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 27/02/2016 09:02:08    1828569

If a yellow card plus a black card equals a red card in the same match (or two yellows), why are red cards not mentioned in the rules at all re suspensions, even allowing for the obvious by association.

The rules state:

3 x Black Cards = 1 Game suspension
3 x Double Yellow Cards = 1 Game suspension
3 x Yellow followed by a Black Card = 1 Game suspension

OR

A Combination of all three (totalling 3) = 1 Game suspension

Note the word ALL three above, not any three. If Andrew Tormey got a yellow vs. Armagh and a yellow plus black (= red) vs. Fermanagh is it because he effectively got a red, the real reason he is suspended. So if he got two yellows and a black but spread out over three different games (one card per game, rather than two in one game) he would be OK.

Because in the Chronicle (I know, I know, only the paper) it states "Blackhall Gaels' Donnacha Tobin will make his first appearance of the season when he starts at midfield in place of Donaghmore/Ashbourne's Andy Tormey who drops to the bench following his first-half dismissal against the Erne men." Drops to the bench isn't quite the same as suspended unless a poor (less accurate) choice of words.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 27/02/2016 12:36:28    1828594

I'm no expert on the rules so I'm not sure whether he's suspended or not but LMFM said yesterday he's not.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 27/02/2016 13:46:06    1828600

I didn't think he was suspended either, unless the rules re suspensions on the GAA website (link on page 3) are incomplete.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 27/02/2016 14:20:49    1828611

Well he hasn't been playing too well(Tormey) so if he is not suspended,its up to him to get back into the side.He is one of our few players who can break through tackles.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/02/2016 14:53:19    1828627

beginning quote 'and it's probably the strongest we've had in terms of players available' - I do not agree as their are at least 4-5 players on the panel who are better than what is lined out. A couple of them are forwards and a couple are defenders and all are key players with their own clubs - senior clubs!- time will show that. I think Keoghan should be CB and we need a CF - not yet convinced about midfield although I think a 75% fit D. Tobin is better than most of the players on the team- good to see him fit again. This is a game we can win but will be tight and those sort of games can go either way- the best of luck to all involved and just hope for no injuries.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 27/02/2016 16:17:34    1828639

Browncows

5 players on the bench better? :D

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/02/2016 16:35:33    1828645

Great day for a game of football, hopefully this will suit us.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 28/02/2016 10:19:53    1828737

If we loose this after being 8 points up MOD should be got rid of straight away .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 267 - 28/02/2016 15:23:30    1828813

Winning by 7

Losing by 6 in injury time.

Credit where its due, Serious heart from Cavan. Unreal turn around.

What about Meath though? After a good opening win, The wheels have just, fallen off.

Scary.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/02/2016 15:34:28    1828818

Well that was a disaster!!!

pim (Meath) - Posts: 119 - 28/02/2016 15:55:29    1828834

waynol, was actually 8 up then out scored 1-15 to 0-3 after that

pim (Meath) - Posts: 119 - 28/02/2016 15:58:12    1828839

I have a large popcorn and coke and I'm going to enjoy the moaning on this forum for the next few days. Hit me with your analysis lads and lassies

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 28/02/2016 15:58:30    1828840

Meath were playing with the wind in the first half, though Cavan created more chances. Cavan took over in the second half. Impressive display.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 28/02/2016 15:59:38    1828842

Cavan's first half wides just made Meath look decent. Another second-half collapse and much like Laois last year, MOD just looked on and did nothing of note before and after it was too late.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 28/02/2016 16:06:32    1828850

waynol, was actually 8 up then out scored 1-15 to 0-3 after that

Jaysus!

Not going to lie. Dont feel sorry for yiz.

But im surprised by how far Meath are away from the top table. Gap is just getting bigger.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/02/2016 16:08:27    1828853

Meath lack quality and the incompetency of the current management exacerbates that. I see the same discussions year in year out for the last number of years on here regarding substandard Meath displays.

Reality check lads. We're not a top team so lower the expectations. Cavan are a decent side and deserve credit and I'm not surprised at all. We'll be gone for a while yet lads I'm afraid. Division 3 is looming.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 28/02/2016 16:11:55    1828859